Used 2005 Ford Taurus Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,864 - $4,096

Used Taurus for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...10

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Not bad value

darin4, 12/10/2012
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2007 with 130,000kms. on it. The first winter it would not start when cold. Dealer replaced the fuel sending unit ($600). Have had little to no problems since. I now have close to 280,000 kms. and the car works great. It's nothing fancy, but for the price I hit a home run.

Report Abuse

Ok in the city gave me money's worth.

bob, 12/16/2015
SE 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

1990 to 1996 had transmission problems and Ford paid out generously to repair. After improving design they decided in mid 2000's to use the old style transmission and they went out again, but Ford refuses to repair past 36000. That cost me 2000.00. The rack and pinion steering handles well on the road and at high speeds. I've gotten 185000 out of vehicle. The accelerator pedal sticks when starting out from a stop. If you expect it just pump the pedal and that unsticks it. The catylictic convertor is bad and their design requires 3 converters be replaced at cost of 3500.00(happened at 150,000). I didnt replace instead use mystery oil in the gas tank eliminates any performance problems(8 oz per week)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

better than expected

maaky, 06/21/2011
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

The taurus really hasn't had a good name in quite some time.The 05 that i bought used in 05 has certainly changed my opinion of ford and the taurus.While it is not a flashy sporty ride by any means it has provided the reliability that I needed from a vehicle.Just rolled 90k 2 weeks ago without any failures.The only time it didn't start as back at 20k took it into ford they reprogramed it have had no problems since outside of basic maintenance.Averaging 25mpg per tank the ride is smooth (even at 80+),fairly quiet and accelerates smoothly as well. I must be lucky to have gotten one of the good ones off the line. Can't wait till the wife lets me get one of the new ones.

Report Abuse

Piece of Crap

Tigerman19, 05/20/2016
SEL 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
27 of 30 people found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY THIS CAR! Long story short.......this car has major transmission issues that FORD knows about but is too cheap to recall and fix. This started with the torque converter being sheered off at 60,000 miles and the total bill with the tow costing me right at $1,200. Then, only 14 months later, the transmission is now shot again. The cylinder clutch drum s going out and the transmission shop in town wants somewhere between $3,500 to $4,500 to completely rebuild the transmission. They will do a patch on it but won't guarantee how long that will last for only the low price of $1,500. When I purchased this car the vehicle had 46,000 miles on it. The car now only has 76,000 miles on it but is basically useless to drive as you can only get to 20 MPH before it kicks out of gear. I have been a lifetime Ford owner starting with the 1975 Maverick that I bought when I was in high school. I have owned also a 1988 Thunderbird which I loved and then a 1997 Expedition which was a very good vehicle. Besides the Taurus I have a 01 Expedition that I upgraded too after the 97 Expedition. I have had my share of headaches with the 01 Expedition as well. I am truly disappointed in FORD for their refusal to acknowledge they have a major flaw in the transmission of the Taurus for models around 2005. I have been a lifetime FORD advocate but not anymore. I will never buy another FORD again and hope that if you read this review that you think twice before buying a FORD and especially the Taurus.

Performance
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Big comfy haul anything land Yacht

connemara, 09/18/2012
SE 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Just turned 200,000 Kms and love this car. Big, comfortable for long trips, reliable and can pack in as much as most half tons. Other than a prematurely rusted weld in the gas tank neck I only do regular maintenance to this car. I look after it, keep the rustproofing going, fix anything like paint chips etc. After I do a total clean-up and wax it it looks, runs and drives like new. Just changed the left ball joint and did a complete brake job (only the 3rd since new- hyway miles only). Tried the new Taurus and it felt claustraphobic due to the small windows and I don't like the way it and the new Focus are high in the rear. Vulcan engine is a Will keep mine until it is done - 6 more years???

Report Abuse

Love my Taurus

Steve Book, 01/02/2016
SEL 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Solid Car - its a tank in the snow, and for a 3.0L engine, has lots of low end power.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't Waste Your Time

DDM, 04/28/2017
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
15 of 17 people found this review helpful

I had this car for about 4 1/2 years before a drunk driver totaled it. Before this one, I drove a 1999 Ford Taurus. As far as the car itself goes, I actually loved it. It was very comfortable, roomy (for a mid-sized sedan), and met the needs of my four-person family. I really liked the great gas economy, I tended to average 30 - 31 mpg hwy and 27 - 28 mpg city. I took care of this car to the best of my financial ability - getting everything serviced when it was time to according to the service manual. I did not neglect this car at all. So, that being said, let me warn you why you should not buy a Ford Taurus unless it was built 2012 or newer.....My '99 Taurus was bad enough, I just outright learned my lesson with the 2005 one: 1) The transmission goes out completely (needing a full rebuilt at $2k a pop) at around 140k miles. 2) The power steering goes completely out on you around 120k miles 3) When you hit 100k miles, everything electrical needs to be replaced 4) the windshield fluid hose is too close to the engine and actually constantly gets burned through, not to mention the sprayers get constantly clogged 5)The power steering fluid is somehow affected by the AC system - Our AC/Heat kept both going out and each time the power steering would act up. We'd flush the powersteering and the AC would work again, then act up and the power steering fluid would be thick and black. No mechanic (3 looked at it) could figure it out other than to constantly flush the power steering and charge us $80 a pop. So in a nutshell: buy a Taurus and wind up spending thousands of dollars in maintenance per year. The resale values of these are the lowest of any car on the market just about. The market is so saturated with junk Tauruses, you'd be better off not buying one unless you just love visiting your mechanic.

Safety
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This Might Help - Eccelerator petal gets stuck

Terri Smalls, 09/22/2015
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
18 of 21 people found this review helpful

I would not recommend ANYONE to ever by this car! Do you research on your own. This model has a record of the eccelerator petal getting stuck. Over 3 million reports. It happened to me and I had to call 911 while I was driving!! They refuse to recall until a certain number of fatalities. I am still paying for the car and can't drive it. This has been a nightmare!! I still owe a lot of money on the car, so MONTHS later. I watched a video on youtube of an older man suggesting a FIX for this EXACT model. I gave the Ford Mechanic the info from the video, he did it and it has worked for several months! The video man told us to do something with the Cruse Control Switch. It appears that once we fixed that. It would help. He was not sure how long, but it has HELPED! Once I can afford another car, I will get one QUICK! I called the better business bureau with my findings to contact ALL of you with the same problem to share info, but that brushed me off. This is a dangerous car. Don't buy it if you have not already!

Report Abuse

2005 Taurus Transmission Nightmare

sarany123, 10/14/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
16 of 19 people found this review helpful

The car was great until this week! No issues at all, until going 70 mph on major highway and revved to 7,000rpms, lost all gears except park and neutral. No warning light, no noise. We could have been killed! Just paid $3,000 for new transmission on a car that just turned 65,000 miles. Called Ford to complain,they are sorry, but too bad! No powertrain warranty after 36,000 miles. No recalls on this year/model! Yet hundreds of complaints of same situation on internet. Ford does nothing! This is my first and last Ford!

Report Abuse

I like my car taurus

irfan, 04/17/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in August 2009 with 74,500 miles though it's damaged from one side and mechanical problems when i got this car, i just changed the battery and the wheels in winter. Nothing else. Now 86k. No problem at all. Never went to mechanic. Reliable in any weather conditions. Ac works perfectly.

Report Abuse
12345...10
Items per page:
51050