Used 2004 Ford Taurus Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,682 - $3,904

Used Taurus for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Thanks to this car, 5 people survived a rollover crash....

flymetotheisle, 11/05/2011
SEL 4dr Sedan w/Duratec (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
45 of 46 people found this review helpful

I am a big fan of this car...Nothing much to write except that it is because of this Ford Taurus SEL that our whole family is alive right now......We survived a rollover crash and all came out without a scratch...the car was considered totalled and with the safety features that Ford has installed in this vehicle I am alive right now to write about it...amazingly to say the least...Thank you....

Report Abuse

Very good

johnny127, 12/08/2014
LX 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

Have had this car about 5 years and have found it to be very reliable. Corrosion resistance has been very good, as we live in the rust belt and on a dirt road. Car has about 130k on it. One weak point on this car is the rear coil springs. They sag prematurely even with no load in the rear and cause the tires to wear unevenly. We've had no mechanical problems with the transmission, though I wouldn't consider it a top performer compared to others in its class. Gas mileage is adequate but, again, I think others in it's class do better. The styling and road hugging ability is about as exciting as vanilla, but it gets you where you need to go.

Report Abuse

2004 Tardus

bsr2, 06/16/2014
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
28 of 30 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2004 Taurus SE 3.0L. I paid $400 for it. Second owner. I put new rear brakes in myself for $124. I bought the car at 209000. It's now up to 306000, all highway km. The windows quit working at one point, simple design flaw in the boot between car and drivers door. 10 min fix have windows working. This car will not stop. Still doesn't leak oil, shifts nice. The car is still tight. It's alright for comfort and the road noise is rather quiet. I doubt I'll buy another, but this car doesn't owe me a dime.

Report Abuse

Very Reliable well built car!

Jaxflguy, 11/19/2010
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Since new, this car has not had one issue or problem. There is not a squeak or rattle to be found. Very reliable comfortable car. Safe. You can't go wrong for the price with these cars. Proud to own another Ford and will purchase one again!

Report Abuse

My Third Taurus

kimbah, 02/15/2009
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I've owned my third Taurus for just shy of 5 years and I love it. Bought it brand new. I have 80,000 miles on it and have only replaced tires at 60k miles; no other repairs. Still has original brakes which I consistently have checked and they're still good. Now that's amazing!

Report Abuse

Best Station Wagon Ever

Alex, 10/28/2010
SE 4dr Wagon w/Duratec (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is by far the best vehicle I've ever owned. It is very practical, comfortable, and smooth running. This car really shines on road trips because there is a lot of room for people and baggage. The roof rack is adjustable and comes in handy. A 6'2" tall person can sleep comfortably in the back when the seats are folded down

Report Abuse

Worth every 'used penny'

Predrex, 05/27/2006
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is a great low priced, family or individual vehicle. I have found it to be a GREAT rush hour vehicle as well as a very nice open road vehicle. It could use more power in the powertrain area but it's satisfactory unless you're just looking for a performance sedan. I feel that it is far under rated. However, with the Fusion and new 500 series its days are probably numbered. With the added safety package you just simply cannot find a better car in the same class. Opt for the upgraded interior package (leather, command center, etc) and you will be more than happy with the choice. The ride of the vehicle can easily be compared to the higher priced (or class) of family sedans.

Report Abuse

Dependable Taurus? not so much

Luna, 11/03/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
20 of 23 people found this review helpful

I bought this car 5 years ago, one other person had used it, it had about 15,000 miles on it but it was in very good condition. My parents told me it was a dependable car, and since I was 22 at the time I knew so little about cars and trusted their judgment, and knew I it would take me a while to get through college, so dependable seemed ideal. Even if I was already a little wary of Fords, and the color is awful. A year and a half after I bought it we paid $800 to fix a problem with the transmission. Now it appears the transmission may need fixed again, maybe even replaced. It has difficulty shifting gears, which can be nerve wracking when you are trying to get onto a freeway.

Report Abuse

A very reliable car

DTMAN, 06/18/2010
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

While there are some build quality issues, some whistling for example, but not intolerable, this Taurus has over 115K and I have put in a $250.00 coil (was cutting out) and tires, brakes and oil, that's it. Engine is super quiet, runs great and my mechanic says it's dry, no leaks, etc. I get 28+ mpg highway and about 19.5 city, great for a car this substantial My first Taurus, a 1987 performed much in the same way.

Report Abuse

I regret getting this car

joe shmoe, 08/08/2003
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
22 of 27 people found this review helpful

Let me just get over the good stuff first.Pretty nice-looking car from the outside and smooth ride...Thats it! This car is SLOW. And talk about a POS engine: a 3.0 liter V6 that ONLY makes 155hp?! that's ridiculous, only 52 hp per liter. The interior looks as if Ford designers TRIED to make it look cheap. It handles terribly and feels like its going to fall apart above 70 MPH. My wife was car shoping and test drove the taurus only because she thought it was pretty. The day after, she brought me to the dealer and we bought the car. She rushed into it and now she hates the car too. The car was only $19,000, so I guess you get what you pay for eh?

Report Abuse

COMFORT, FUEL, SNOW, CRASH

aardvark, 01/20/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I found it to be a very comfortable car,I'm 5 ft and could see well out back when reversing. I found it a little scary going on ramps on highways, at the posted speed, felt like car wanted to overturn. Bad gas consumption, 12-13 miles per gallon in town between 13-20 at best on highway. Car skidded very easily on snow. It had great tires, so I think car was just light in back. Had a horrific wreck and survived and I believe it was because car was built well and I wore my seatbelt. But I am thinking of buying another Taurus. I did love my car.

Report Abuse

2004 Ford Taurus SE

David, 04/09/2008
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I put a considerable amount of miles on this car each year; mostly highway. Car has averaged 20mpg. For the most part the Taurus has been reliable, but soon after I passed 60,000 miles (warranty expire) I started to have nagging issues. I performed the regular maintenance, but mechanical elements still broke down (i.e. transmission, alternator, etc.)

Report Abuse

Excellent value.

khc410, 10/14/2011
SE 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2004 Taurus wagon used 2 years ago . I get 28mpg on highway. No major problem over the past 2 years. In addition to trip odometer, the dash also shows mpg and miles to empty fuel. I found those very useful. Traction control and ABS added peace of mind. Overall, I am very happy with this purchase.

Report Abuse

Decent student car for the money

SDLA, 12/01/2009
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Great car overall. The body construction is solid, and it has comfortable seats. This is a great student car for the money; just boring to drive and look at.

Report Abuse

Functional Vehicle

ottem82, 01/13/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is a great point A to point B vehicle. There is nothing exciting or flashy about it, at the same time it is comfortable, gets decent mileage, and is quite reliable. I bought it with 108000 on it and currently have 146000. I change the oil, put gas in it and drive it. Mileage in everyday driving is 21-25. On the highway driving 80 with the AC on 27-29. Overall it was cheap to purchase and easy to own. If the transmission holds up I'm hoping to run it past 200000.

Report Abuse

04 Taurus

avenge69, 07/04/2006
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

First off, this is our 3rd Taurus. All 3 have had no problems at all. You cannot beat this car for the money, reliability, features, safety, and comfort. This is a well made and safe car. Even after 2, we had tested out a new Camry and Altima. Once in the Taurus again it was just a better fit with a less "tinny" feel overall. Just being hit in this car down the whole driver's side without a scratch makes you appreciate the safety and the way the car held up. People can say what they want but this is a very good looking American car you can trust. We are on our 3rd for a reason. I guess the next car will be a Fusion or a Five Hundred.

Report Abuse

Troubled Taurus

Big_Guy_Green, 08/12/2008
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The week after my girlfriend bought this car with 43000mi on it, she took it on a trip from central MN to Colorado. They encountered problems the entire way! It stalled 3 times in the mountains, twice needing to be jumped, and once more when they got back in MN. 5 trips to the dealer and 3 batteries later, we thought it was fixed. Now whenever the temp gets above 65 it will sputter at idle and accelerate like tortuise for the first 150 feet. Also, we started learning why this car is called "disposable" when parts started falling off and breaking in the interior. Not to mention the annoying heat shield rattle and fuel cap sensor! At least it gets 28mpg avg. We'll get a Malibu next time.

Report Abuse

Reliable car

Nicos, 06/19/2009
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2004 Taurus new for $17,000 out the door. I put 120,000 miles on it by the time I sold it in Feb 2009. The car was great, comfortable and had good accelaration at higher sppeds. The only problem I had after the warranty expired was I had to replace the bushing between the transmission and engine. Otherwise it was 100% reliable.

Report Abuse

Pretty good

Trex, 12/21/2009
LX 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought the car off a Ford dealer in 2006 with 25K miles for $10K. It needed tires about 2 years ago and I put on the expensive Goodyear Assurance Triple Treads. This team of tires and vehicle has been the best traction I have ever had in a 2 WD car. I began using it as a courier vehicle part time in 2008, putting on average 40K miles a year. Just went past 125K with only one $150 repair, and oil changes. Feels like I will break 200K getting 25-26 mpg highway and 19-22 city. I gave a little up on mpg for superior traction in all weather with these great tires. It's great to pass a stuck 4 WD car in the snow. May be the best car so far.

Report Abuse

Smooth ride, a bit sluggish

Taurus 04, 03/26/2005
LX 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought this car brand new about a year ago. Paid $12,000 for it. No major problems with it. Front wheel makes squeaky noises, and the dealer cannot fix the problem. It is no big deal, I can barely hear it with the windows down. The car is really smooth to drive. The suspension is extremely soft, but it also handles like a boat. The previous car that I owned was a '99 Chevy Lumina; the Ford handles better overall. The engine is slow and sluggish. The transmission is even worse; it never knows what gear it is supposed to be in. However if you drive normally you won't have any problems, just don't expect much from the V6. Overall it has been a good experience. Smooth, soft, fast on the highway.

Report Abuse

Ford Wagon

THWSR, 11/13/2003
SE 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We traded in a 97 Taurus on the 2003 Taurus wagon. This model was chosen due to our need to combine extra space and decent gas mileage. Price was an option and resale value not important as we keep our cars for a long period of time. Personally, I don't think you can beat this model for reliability, room, comfort and price. We did not buy new vehicle but chose a program car with 13,300 miles on it. This saved on cost & depreciation. Having had a van in the past we wouldn't be getting 24mgp as we are averaging in overall mileage. Very satisfied with this vehicle! A good sensible vehicle!

Report Abuse

Love My Taurus

CarolC, 01/18/2004
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My 2004 SE had the upgrade package with spoiler, drivers lumbar seat, CD changer, etc, which except for some detailing on the exterior is just like the SES, but costing a couple grand less. This is the only sedan in this price range, where I can stretch my legs out to drive in, other makes didn't have enough leg room for the driver. Rides VERY quiet, great radio/Cassette and CD player, Gas mileage as expected.. 20 around town.

Report Abuse

Disappointed

Dave, 02/09/2006
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My wife and I traded in our Chevy minivan to buy a new Taurus because we have a family, and wanted a car to get better fuel economy. What a big mistake! From day one this car has gotten the worst fuel mileage of anything I have ever owned. The stated fuel mileage is suppose to be 26mpg highway, HA what a joke, we're lucky to get 19mpg. We don't drive fast (55 to 65), and the dealer said the car is fine. Our minivan (Chevy Astro) got 23mpg on the highway steadily, even though is was 1500lbs heavier and had a bigger engine, and my 4 x 4 Dodge with 95,000 miles gets 20mpg! I wish I had never bought this piece of junk.

Report Abuse

A GREAT VALUE

LOVETAURUS, 03/05/2004
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I had a 2000 Taurus previous to this 2004 car and there are improvements. The new "driver adapting" transmission shifts perfectly. The base engine seems more powerful and quieter than in the past. You don't really need to buy the more expensive Duratec engine. Power peddles, power seat and standard 6 cylinder engine make this car an extremely comfortable long distance car. Taurus has been at the top of the list of the safest full size cars (Insurance Institute) for a number of model years. I found no quality faults when this car was first delivered. I still have not found any faults.

Report Abuse

excellent car!

glen1, 04/09/2004
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

the car is super to travel in.excellent room for travels and or daily commutes.

Report Abuse

Need part time job for gas

Craig, 03/10/2007
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Nice mid-sized vehicle, very comfortable, smooth ride. But forget the gas savings,13-14 in the city and mine only has 15000 miles on it. Replaced my 454 4 barrel 88 Suburban with this, what a mistake - got 12 miles to the gallon with that driving in the city. Forget the resale value, was $6000.00 in the hole. Maybe they'll wise up and come up with more economical engine with new 08!

Report Abuse

Bring back into production

MasterTech, 03/13/2008
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought this under D-plan as a Ford technician for around $12K brand new. This car is now a wow factor, but a solid family car. Wish I could have bought a fleet to last our family for the next millenium. So far I have only put tires and a starter on this vehicle after 83K miles. 1 recall for reflash PCM for flex fuel usage. The 3.0 Vulcan is bulletproof and these cars are easy to work on when they do require service. We will be keeping this vehicle until it can't go anymore in a million years.

Report Abuse

Very good value

Charles Haynes, 01/09/2017
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great car at a great price. Minimal maintenance outside of scheduled.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Still driving mine with 300,000 miles

Michael B., 03/22/2018
SES 4dr Sedan w/Duratec (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car 10 years ago with just over 100,000 miles on it. It was in great shape. I believe I only gave $3,800 for it at the time? It is hard to beat for driveability and comfort. I guess the reason I have driven the car so long is that I really like it! Really haven't found anything I'm interested in trading for. However driving the car this long was sort of a mistake. I would have been much better off letting it go at about 200,000 miles. Little by little I replaced everything major on the car with the exception of the engine (seems perfect still) First big items was the catalytic converters. (3 of them in the Duratec model) $2,400. at 224,000 miles. Then the transmission let go with only 282,000 miles. That was another $2,400. Then a week later the A/C goes. $1,600. A week after that the power steering pump along with a very hard to replace line. $600. Still, I figure I've driven the car 200,000 miles for and investment of about $11,000 total. Of course I've replaces brakes, shocks, tires, plugs, filters, coil packs and things like that numerous times like you would in any car. I've suffered little from depreciation and in our state, taxes and license are almost free. Insurance is downright cheap. So....at this point I've got a really good car again. I'll keep driving it. At this point and time would I recommend doing the same thing I did? Probably not? The car is still a great car but in 2018 it is getting beyond it's freshness date. Transmissions, airconditioners and cats are expensive. However, a nice Grandma's garage 75,000 mile Taurus might be hard to pass up?

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Loyal Ford Customer

wendy harbach, 08/10/2009
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have only owned fords all of my life so when I was looking for a mid size car I fell in love with the taurus. I had it for about 3 weeks when the air conditioning unit went out. Then the breaks and finally the alternator. The vehicle only had 36000 when I purchased it. Since those wonderful days things have only gotten worse. Now the car dies for no reason as I drive it. The breaks have been replace 3 times and The air conditioner doesn't work again. This car has really let me down. I don't think I will ever own another taurus. Just watch it this model seems to have alot of problems. When the repair man saw me coming in he laughed and said whats wrong with this one. Not good!!!!

Report Abuse

Buyer Beware

Connie, 08/16/2006
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used with 34,000 miles. Car was making small rattle noise with engine, dealership said was normal for this car. I trusted them & didn't buy extended warranty (bad experience in past). Thought it would last many miles before any problems. Two months later at 38,000 miles the transmission went out; stayed in shop for over a month and cost $2600.00 to rebuild. So if you hear noise check it out, don't trust dealership.

Report Abuse

Ford replace GM - mistake

8thstbridge, 04/14/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Whistle noise from drivers side doors; worst gas mileage of any car I have owned *including a '67 GTO! 46K - just replaced STARTER. Water on floor mats; someone else had same problem - factory MISSED a windshield seal & dealer just over stuffed with silicone sealant. Poor side door design, R Side Passenger window regulator failure already and when going through drive throughs and any winter driving or in rain, when you put the window down - all the rain etc. comes in on power buttons at armrest. Windshield washer hoses to spray heads have both cracked and had to be replaced....

Report Abuse

Taurus troubles

rcb, 06/10/2006
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Sorry I tried to save a few thousand by buying an American car. After 20 months and 37,000 miles I am faced with replacing the a/c compressor which was used for 1 season only! The cost $750.00+. Very poor quality overall .

Report Abuse

Wanna Trade?

Wanna trade?, 03/13/2008
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have had this vehicle for a little over a year now - my Gma bought it new and passed away, so I got it - and I have had to put tons of $ into it. I expected some, but not nearly the expense I've had. I get ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE gas mileage. 13/14 mpg at most... 15 if I want to spend the $50+ for 93 octane gas, but it's obviously not worth it.

Report Abuse

Drive it until it dies

Scottj04, 06/22/2008
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Love this car. Economical, roomy and wonderful highway feel. Bought it in 2006 with 18K miles and have had little problems. Mostly highway driving (60 mile rural commute) I average 390 - 420 miles on a tank. Twice got 455 miles with still 18 Miles to E! The duratec engine is a fuel-sipping work horse. Highway performance is adequate, and even with four people and luggage (that all fit comfortably), the car still gets wonderful gas mileage! City mileage has gotten horrid. 1 week of it showed about 250 miles to a tank. and transmission seems to be slipping slighty at only 57K. A/C also robs engine performance. Staying with regular maintanence, this car will last forever!

Report Abuse

A Winner

JLS, 09/24/2008
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This SES has the Duretc 24 Valve and on the highway at 2000 RPM consistently delivers 32 MPG - in town it fluctuates from 25-27 MPG. Leather seats comfotable, even for my 6'5: frame. At 2000 miles the check engine limit came on and the dealer replaced the entire gas tank and gage system. No problems since. At 61,000 miles the trnasaxle seal leaked and the dealer replaced it no charge. 1st Saturday of every month gets oil changed, tires rotated etc. Very good vehicle.

Report Abuse

Nice ride

Heavy one, 11/16/2008
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I enjoy the car. I have 2 complaints- bad gas mileage and the leather seats are uncomfortable, especially with the cup holder up. I am a large guy and my leg falls off the seat. when the cupholder is put away the car is great.

Report Abuse

Good Car - Wish they still made wagon

D, 01/07/2009
SE 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We really enjoy this car. Bought it used 18 months ago, the transmission did need rebuilt after we owned it for 1 year with only 66,000 miles on it, but we got a great initial price on the vehicle. Runs great on the road and handles much better than the MiniVan it replaced. Good gas mileage 23 on highway with family of 5 and car topper.

Report Abuse

A very good car

Doug, 02/10/2009
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this car new. Currently have 175,000 miles and have had no problems. Replaced the tires and battery. I have not even needed brakes. 29mpg on the highway. I hope I can drive this car 400K.

Report Abuse

Great for long drives

Pat, 03/30/2009
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this Taurus because it was a reliable used car. It is a good car so far. The longer I own it the more I like it. It is a big comfortable car with very good gas mileage. I get 29 mpg on the highway and have never got less than 22 mpg. Last winter I had a problem with water leaking into the passenger floor. It turned out to be shoddy workmanship from the factory. This is a good car but Ford needs to keep improving on reliability. They are catching up with the Japanese and I think they can surpass them if they choose to do so.

Report Abuse

se

don123, 09/04/2003
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

nice car rides excellent handles well for i inexpencive luxery sedan. could stop better but overall i am very pleased

Report Abuse

taurus

roldog, 10/01/2003
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

very reliable and good on as and drives smooth..

Report Abuse

It's not that bad

regassert, 10/03/2003
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

First off, 52 Horses per Liter with normal aspiration is not really poor at all. The Ford Explorer with SOHC produces 52.5 horses per liter of displacement. So that being said, if you're going to buy a Taurus, I would get the Duratec DOHC engine option instead of the OHC 2 valve per cylinder V6 that the SE has. This car is good for what it aims to be good at, inexpensive and good enough. Ford seems to have resigned the Taurus to being a fleet car, which mine is, and that's ok.

Report Abuse

SE Wagon, GREAT work and family car!

Oscar, 04/15/2005
SE 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This SE wagon has the Duratec engine and is very strong. It has several upgrades, such as power seat, pedals, windows, CD, etc. It has been both a work and family vehicle, and I have been most impressed with it. It has plenty of power, room, and I can haul anything and everything in it or on top of it. (roof racks). I travel MUCH with my job and have placed 65K miles on this in 1.5 yrs. NO SERVICE PROBLEMS! It is comfortable considering that I ride up to 5-6 hours at a time. Style is a little "basic", but certainly fine. The only negative that I see is depreciation. Value drops FAST from NEW status. Excellent used car buy. I have had several "used" and for the money, they cannot be beat.

Report Abuse

box on wheels

Tim Lynch, 11/03/2003
SEL 4dr Wagon (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The disadvatages of this car is that it rattles when you drive and it sometimes gets stuck into gear when flooring it. The dash controles are inconvenient.

Report Abuse

This relates to a 2001 Taurus SEL

Robert Clower, 11/13/2003
SEL 4dr Sedan w/Duratec (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent car althiugh theresale value is low. The only problemI have had is thr front brakes. Ford replaced the pad and rotors at 14000 miles. The vechile has 30000 miles now.

Report Abuse

our Taurus

Rtom45, 06/10/2005
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My wife uses the car daily for short drive to and from work. We use the car at least once a month for trips across the state. It's comfortable and practical for both. Car is good in the snow (Erie, PA). We bought our first Taurus in '99 and were happy enough to buy this Taurus in '04. We like the newer styling also.

Report Abuse

my taurus

Ruth Wessling, 01/24/2004
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have only owned it a short time but I am enjoying it very much, It has a very smooth quiet ride.

Report Abuse

Problems of the Week

Cliff C., 11/17/2005
SES 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this as a "certified" pre-owned in March. Everything was great for the 1st month. Then one little problem after another every week or two. So far the catalytic converter, motor mounts, exhaust manifold and y-pipe have been replaced. I still get an odd rattle from under the hood. The only thing that is certifiable now is me not buying another Ford!

Report Abuse

Bravo Atlanta!

HB44, 01/31/2004
SE 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Very Happy With 2004 Taurus

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050