Used 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,386 - $2,652

Used PT Cruiser for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...16

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

I love my

ymilsis, 12/28/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

P.T.is cute, I adore it. The performance, fuel economy, different look and more. I love all about it. She is an original! I always had luxurious European cars with big engines. I also spent lots of money for them. With P.T. I get the same pleasures for a lot less money. It is not as powerful engine as my previous cars, but I cant ask for more. Still, it is fast when you need to get out of the way, and that is what counts! With P.T. I am getting luxury and economy all in one cute little funky wagon! P.T. is a great women car! I am a female professional and P.T. makes me look good.

Report Abuse

Looks were deceiving.... VERY disappointed

l8dybg79, 08/04/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

PLEASE reconsider if you are wanting to buy a PT. I bought my '06 used, but only 11 months old & very few miles. I have had a lot of AC problems, heater core, wheels, brakes, and tire problems. AND the back door lock doesn't work (gets stuck locked) until you manually unlock it... a pain when you have kids. It handled well on snow/ice. But that about the only positive thing I can think about it. The biggest complaint I have is the 18-19 mpg! And thats driving 20 miles highway to & from work every day! WHAT A GAS HOG!!!! NOT WHAT THEY SAY IT GETS. And.. I keep up with the maintenance... oil changes, etc. I would definitely reconsider buying a PT Loser!

Report Abuse

2006 PT CRUISER-Van automatic!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

candilovs4u, 09/21/2012
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I am in love with this Car!!! It is extremely comfortable and feels very safe and secure. The build and design seems to be very sturdy. It rides smooth, and very spacious. I haven't had any problems with it so far. I have seen a few reviews about mileage complaints but so far its doing great on gas. It's stylish, comfortable, and most importantly affordable for me. I am most definitely happy about this decision.

Report Abuse

PT Cruiser

Debbie, 09/19/2006
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I'm disappointed with the power and the fuel economy. I had a 6 cylinder car, so I thought I would sacrifice the power for better mileage, but I didn't get better mileage.

Report Abuse

Very Disappointed

Mom buying for daughter, 09/19/2018
Touring 4dr Wagon (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

We bought a 2006 Touring PT Cruiser last March. It has had nothing but constant repair. Radiator fan, then the radiator, then hoses, then control arm and bearing - now rear sway bar. I swear, we've paid more in repairs at this point than we paid for the car. So very disappointed!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

177,000 Miles Later

bacon777, 06/22/2012
8 of 13 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2007 as a used car and got my moneys worth. I just passed the 177,000 mark and have had no serious issues but decided to trade it in after I started having my first mechanical problems. The thermostat went bad and then the heater core followed so instead of paying 800 to fix it, I decided it was time to trade it in, but 177,000 miles without any mechanical issues is impressive. Drives nice, was reliable, and fairly inexpensive but parts can be constly. I was told because it uses Mercedes parts as Mercedes owned Chrysler. Also, you have to deal with the ridicule of driving a PT Cruiser but if you're an older lady, you shouldn't have that problem

Report Abuse

What was I thinking?

What was I thinking?, 10/18/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have a 2006 PT. The gas mileage is robbing me blind. I had only had the car for 4 months when the air condition may the car run hot. I would have to pull over for it to cool off. I was stuck out of town when it first happened. I missed 2 day of work. The steering wheel shakes. I've had the tires rotated and aligned. I say it at least once a day that I hate this car.

Report Abuse

Don't Buy American

Rhodes, 03/31/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I so want to support American-made cars....but when the builders don't support the buyers...there is a problem. HOW TO CLEAN THE SEATS: Use Woolite Oxyclean Spray...it removes all stains and makes the seats look new again. I've had this car at the dealership too many times (thank God I have a warranty). Would not recommend this car to consumers. Overpriced new...and taking a BIG chance buying it used. Lastly, it's a gas guzzler.

Report Abuse

GT Turbo

Michael, 09/11/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This PT is fun to drive and has more than enough power. Gas mileage is not great but respectable. Handles good on the highway. Manufacturer paid a lot of attention to detail and it shows. Turning radius needs to be corrected, cannot make a u turn and expect not to hit curbs. Needs light in glovebox and under the hood. Owner's manual should be for each model instead of multi-models.

Report Abuse

Base Convertible is an amazing value

Kasia, 09/24/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased my '05 base convertible for less than $18K. It now has 19,000 miles on it. It is far better built, better looking, and better performing than its modest price would suggest. I average about 28 mpg in mostly highway driving, but the mpg drops dramatically in city cycle driving. Caveats for winter drivers: "SmartGlass" windows freeze in cold weather, and the side defoggers are weak for harsh winter conditions. Overall, a great value!

Report Abuse
12345...16
Items per page:
51050