Used 2018 Chevrolet Volt Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$18,998 - $24,900

Used Volt for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great Value and Fun to Drive

Murph, 04/14/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
37 of 37 people found this review helpful

I'm a super analytical person, almost to a fault because I'm a bit obsessive too. So after reading countless reviews, articles and doing side by side comparisons using Edmunds and other sites, the Chevy Volt kept coming up as the best choice for myself as a daily commuter. Well all the research paid off because my 2018 Volt which is the 9th new car I've purchased in my life and it is my favorite. For my test drives, I drove a couple Volt Premiers along with a few Volt LTs all of which had the comfort package with heated seats and steering wheel and one LT had leather seat option added. The Premiers were more comfortable and had very nice additional safety and convenience features so it really came down to were they worth the extra money which I concluded were not in my case so I purchased a red LT with the comfort package and heated seat/steering wheel. It's only been a couple months but in that short time I have to say I'm so impressed with this little car; the GM design team should be proud of their effort. DRIVING IMPRESSION: The ride of the Volt is so smooth you forget that you are in a small car. Were I live in Northern NY, there are a lot of potholes but driving over the rough roads I'm familiar with I'm amazed at how well the suspension is tuned and that's compared to my other vehicle which is a 2015 GMC Terrain. ACCELERATION: Off the line, the strong low end torque spins the tires regardless of how well the tires are gripping the road. Yes some of the easy spin is due to the low resistance rating of the tires chosen which were to maximize mileage but still the acceleration will push you back in your seat. At higher speeds there still is enough torque to pass easily but as the 149 HP rating would suggest, the torque does fall off quite a bit at higher speeds. COMFORT: Back support in the front seats are good but I wish there was adjustable lumbar support, seat bottom support SUCKS no other way to say it. I do have cloth seats and a now regret I didn't get leather because the leather smooths out the pressure points on the edges both sides and front better than the cloth seats. Armrest are comfortable for myself and I love the wide center armrest which is impressive for a small vehicle. CONTROLS: The Mylink system and touch screen are easy to use and very functional. It is so cool to watch the energy flow to maximize mileage. Apple CarPlay is also a great feature which I use a lot for navigation and hands free texting while on the road. There is also a convenience tray next to the stick shift to put my IPhone so I can plug in for the CarPlay (I.e., doesn't operate with Bluetooth.) WINTER DRIVING: I did have several opportunities to drive in the snow and I'm pleased with how well the Volt handles but next winter I will have snow tires because the low ground clearance will likely mean quite a bit of snow drag which will require a tire with more aggressive treads. Cold temperatures kick on the engine for heat which is kind of annoying. There is a selection to 'Defer' the engine heat assist which will keep it from turning on till below 15F but that still happens often in Northern NY although the ICE does shut off after a short period of time. INTERIOR SOUND: The Volt is amazingly quiet inside even when the ICE does comes on. I have the standard stereo which is pretty good once you adjust the tone a bit for more bass and midrange. It is such a joy driving around listening to music since the interior acoustics are so nice. BACK SEATS: Seats are fairly comfortable with a big wide armrest in the center but head room is low for taller folks. It also takes a bit of ducking to get into the back which isn't a problem for my 15 year old 5'7" son but could be more difficult for older and taller folks. CARGO SPACE: The Volt holds about two grocery carts worth of bags or a couple medium size suitcases; overall not huge but actually quite convenient for daily use. With back seats down, the Volt will hold a few large storage bins. HANDLING: The low center of balance of the Volt due to the battery placement make this vehicle feel planted to the road. I haven't done any high speed turns but for speeds below 40 mph the Volt hugs the road. In my town, we have a traffic circle that is quite tight and the Volt carves around that tight curve like it was on rails. OVERALL: The Volt is so much fun to drive and really is pretty comfortable and practical as a daily commuter when considering operating costs. Crash tests have shown the Volt to be the only American made vehicle that is 5 star rated across the board. And, with the $7500 federal tax rebate the Volt is a great deal.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Sporty EV on the cheep

Joe Kuprevich, 04/20/2018
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

After driving the car for a year with 4 long distance (1200+ miles) drives, while as a retirement car mostly local. I found it an excellent choice. The car is not for highway use on the battery, but can be switched off with mode control. The small battery drains quickly. Having the built-in generator for running in hybrid mode allowed me to make these long distance trips without having to plan overnight charging stops, while at home all my drives were well within the charge limit of the battery. The acceleration in Sports mode is unbelievable the first time you floor the pedal, along with handling on windy roads makes it feel like a true sports car. Styling both in and out also gives it the sporty look compared to other plug-in's or even full electric at this price point. After putting 13K miles on the car it's still feels brand new and dead quiet inside which is surprising for a small hatchback after running on New England roads all winter. There is essentially no wear on the brakes, since I use the regenerative braking all the time. Another plus for electric cars. I can't believe Chevy doesn't advertise this car with nothing being mentioned on any common media outlet. With the full rebates of $10K in my state this was not a burden at @$34K for what I got in the fully loaded model. Very happy there. The areas not really mentioned that I learned over the New England winter months is the lack of charge. Your charge is basically cut in half and below 32 degrees the generator will run for long periods of time to keep the batteries warm. Winter months averaged 32 miles on battery while in the summer I got up to 67 miles on a charge. The seat comfort for the long trips I made were better then all my past SUV's and sedans over the years. Extremely happy with the front and back leg room even when the front seats are pushed fully back. A full electric car is perfect only when the family also has a gas car for those long trips which makes the Volt a perfect fit, since I only have one car. The Volt is an under advertised beauty of an over engineered quality car for those that fit the criteria for a small 4 passenger hatchback.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Detailed review + buying advice

Anthony G, 07/19/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

We’ve had the Volt a month, and we love it so far. I tested a used 1st gen. Volt before going for this and they feel very different. While the 1st gen. had funky touch controls that weren’t very useable, this 2nd gen. is more conventional but far more intuitive. The look inside is much cleaner now too, almost European — think VW Golf. More importantly, the 2nd gen. feels far more “electric”. Until the battery runs out it feels like an EV, with great low end torque and a very quiet drive. The handling is much tighter too. It’s no sports car, but it’s definitely fun to drive with the *whoosh* of silent acceleration. It’s also got enough left at highway speeds to make matching speed to change lanes easy. Buying advice — LEASING I calculated the depreciation based on previous years, and it’s roughly $3K a year for the 2nd gen. (similar to most non-premium cars), but drops $5K from 1st to 2nd gen. In other words, if a new version comes out before you sell yours, the value will drop significantly. Since the electric/hybrid market is also changing rapidly right now, I think leasing is a safer bet. TRIM AND OPTIONS I tested the LE base model, and for me the cloth seats really weren’t comfortable even on a short drive. The leather seats were much more supportive, and I’d highly recommend them especially if you have any back issues. If you care about music, the Bose Audio upgrade is in a different league to the LE base audio. The base version has no bass (ha!), just a thin sound without any warmth or depth. The Bose is very pleasant, with a likeable balanced sound that doesn’t require tweaking to sound good across most genres of music. The silent electric ride complements it well too. Look carefully at the differences between the LE and Premium versions to see if it’s really worth the significant jump in price. Personally I’d say the Premium is mostly worth it if you also add all the Driver Confidence upgrades on top, but then it gets pretty costly. We went for LE + leather + Bose. There were very few LE models with the Bose, but push and see if they can do a “dealer swap” to get you exactly the trim you want. It’s a big purchase, don’t get talked into compromising! Note — the upcoming 2019 model has more differences between the trim levels, so if you’re buying once it’s out there might be something that makes the Premium trim worth it for you. NIGGLES The liftback style is great — we can get a road bike in the back easily without taking a wheel off — but it opens high so be careful to not hit garage doors etc. Apple CarPlay sometimes connects instantly, sometimes takes a while, and occasionally just doesn’t connect and needs unplugging and a second attempt. Once it works I love it though, and it’s easily the best Siri experience I’ve had. It actually understands me (maybe a good mic near my head?), and is genuinely useful for sending and replying to texts safely while driving. The a/c is a little confusing at first, but works well once you get the hang of it. It’s also great to be able to “pre-condition” the car (start the a/c) remotely using the iPhone app! This still works even if you don’t subscribe to any OnStar plan. The FM radio quality is slightly muddy. It seems better than regular FM, but not as clean as our previous HD radio. Be careful of the low front over speed bumps. The ‘regen’ paddle works well for slowing right down approaching them.

Report Abuse

WOW

Baker McKonly, 02/23/2018
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

This car is amazing, feels and drives like a high end car, I get more electric range than it is rated for. Has all the driver assist technology that is out there. The adaptive cruise is really amazing. I recommend that everybody check this car out if they are in the market for a car. I think it is such a better choice than a pure EV, no range anxiety or need to plan trips around where their are charging stations and have to plug in and wait for a charge to continue travelling. I am getting between 60 to 65 miles per charge when driving around town. No need to buy fuel except when taking a trip. I get 120 MPGE around town. If needed you can get in it and drive across the country not having to worry about charging stations and laying up for it to charge.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Phenomenal car, best in class.

VKS, 04/24/2018
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

The Volt has met my fuel efficiency expectations and then some. I'm getting 50-mile electric range on the freeway and 60-mile electric range in the city. My records are a 67-mile electric range with heavy use of the paddles and 66-mile electric range using adaptive cruise control. I am braking only when I need to stop fast. All slowing and slower stopping can be done using the paddles, which are the more efficient regeneration option to the regenerative braking. So far, I have used a total of 0.7 gallons in the 1100 miles I have driven the car since I bought it. The ergonomics is adequate for my 6-ft 190-lb body. The electronics is the best I have seen in any car. The Volt is bottom heavy and very stable. The acceleration of the two electric motors is fast. The ride is comforting. Will definitely buy again without any hesitation. My advice for all potential buyers is to get the adaptive cruise control package. The Volt drives itself at a fixed speed or a fixed distance from the vehicle ahead, the driver's only functions being the steering, braking for lights or stop signs when there is no vehicle ahead and tapping the accelerator pedal for a restart when the car has come to a complete stop. The adaptive cruise control does the rest. It is an absolute must for me now. I will never buy or rent a car without it.

Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Saving the World

Pat Jordan, 10/16/2017
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
25 of 27 people found this review helpful

To me the Volt is unique among pure electric and hybrid automobiles. It allows you to drive in the electric mode for fifty miles before needing a recharge. That usually covers my everyday driving. However, if you need to go farther, it changes over seamlessly to the gas powered motor to produce energy to run the electric drive motor. This allows you to drive in the electric mode most of the time with no range anxiety. With a full charge and tank of gas it will go almost 400 miles with no need to spend the night or day at a charging station. The premier version has all the bells and whistles that most of new cars have such as blind spot awareness, backup camera, lane keeping, collision avoidance, bluetooth, navigation, Onstar, and heated steering wheel and seats. I would have liked it to have been a little longer, more like a midsize sedan. I am not a big fan of the fastback, which I think makes for poor rear visibility. The rear seats are a little tight to get into but I've had several regular size men say they were comfortable enough. I have really enjoyed driving my Volt. It is quiet and smooth and has great acceleration.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

WOW

Baker McKonly, 02/23/2018
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

This car is amazing, feels and drives like a high end car, I get more electric range than it is rated for. Has all the driver assist technology that is out there. The adaptive cruise is really amazing. I recommend that everybody check this car out if they are in the market for a car. I think it is such a better choice than a pure EV, no range anxiety or need to plan trips around where their are charging stations and have to plug in and wait for a charge to continue travelling. I am getting between 60 to 65 miles per charge when driving around town. No need to buy fuel except when taking a trip. I get 120 MPGE around town. If needed you can get in it and drive across the country not having to worry about charging stations and laying up for it to charge.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A real electric car, with a back-up plan.

Dennis, 09/07/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Here's the important point: The Volt is the ONLY plug-in hybrid (PHEV) that operates as a FULLY electric vehicle until the battery is exhausted. Every other PHEV on the market will kick on the gas engine if you floor the throttle, and most will kick on the gas engine if you turn on the heater even in mild weather. Not the Volt. It is an honest-to-goodness electric car for 53 miles. After that, it operates as a very smooth and quiet hybrid. In other words, the Volt isn't aimed at the would-be hybrid buyer who just wants a plug for a few extra MPG. It's aimed at the would-be electric car buyer who doesn't want to be restricted by the limited availability of public charging infrastructure. For most drivers, 53 miles of EV range is enough that all normal daily driving will take place on electricity. And when it's time for a road trip, there's no need to plan ahead to find charging stations and allow extra charging time---just put gas in the car and go, just like a normal gas vehicle. It's the best of both worlds. The only real downsides to the Volt are so-so visibility from the driver's seat---though available safety nannies mitigate that---and limited rear headroom.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love not visiting the one arm bandit gas pumps

Kevin Roberts, 04/22/2018
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

On my second Volt in five years. The first time ever owning a vehicle that I had no repairs to pay for. After four years my Volt was running so well I gave it to my son to drive and he is loving it as well. My new VOLT averages 64 miles per charge and I live with a lot of terrains. The highest mileage on one charge is 66.7 and the lowest was 51.9 It's a wonderful car Navigation and control panel is hard to get used to it's a bit whacky in my opinion. But a solid overall car. I leased the fully loaded VOLT Premier with 15,000 miles a year with $1,500 down which included the first payment I received a rebate back from California for $1,500 and 35 more payments at $355 per month. My lease price was $29,200 and my residual is $18,300. The only reason I didn't purchase the car is I feel the cars value at the end of the lease will be in the $14,000 range from my past experience. My 2014 Volt was still running like it did the day I bought it and felt the value of the car was far greater than the market value which is the reason for passing it on.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

1st gen was so good, I bought a Gen 2 ... LOVE IT!

Paulie Bee, 11/01/2018
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

This car is so under appreciated by the mass majority of people looking to purchase a hybrid of any kind. It's also one that GM needs to be more aggressive on advertising and getting people to truly understand it's capabilities. To the reviewer on this site about only getting 40 miles of charge, I'd say he should get it checked, but also to read the manual and realize that the "estimated" range is based upon previous drive cycles. If you're hard in the throttle, or driving over 60 mph, the range will certainly be less. My wife LOVES driving our Gen 2 Volt, to the point that she prefers to drive the newer Volt over our 2017 Camaro SS. The infotainment and center stack in general is much better than the touch sensitive center stack of the first generation Volt due to ease of operation. Reliability has been a huge plus from our Gen 1 Volt, which is another reason we purchased a second one ... and rather than trade in the one that was paid off, we decided to keep it instead for our daughter to drive in a couple years. There are a few things I like better with the Gen 1 and many improvements for the Gen 2, but I guess I wish we'd have waited for the 2019 to come out, as there are still more features that I'd like to have on my 2018 Volt. The ICE (gas engine) definitely gets better highway mpg after there are more miles driven on it. I recently took a trip to California, and saw nearly 43 mpg on all gas driving 75-85 mph on I-70 and I-15 through Utah, Nevada, and on into California. There's some rather hilly terrain on that trek, but the Volt just chugged right along with no problems whatsoever. We love both our Volts, and hopefully, GM will keep improving it while maintaining it's reliability in the future generations. I also hope GM starts to advertise the car better, as it deserves so much more that people give it credit for. There's not a day that goes by in which someone doesn't stop me to ask about the car after I park somewhere or while filling up at a gas station. The worst estimated EV range I've had is 48 miles (daily mountain driving). My best estimated range so far is 73 miles. I know I could surpass that if I were to keep driving that same trip for a week, but I'd rather put more miles on the older Volt (currently at 175K miles). If you're even thinking of a new 4 passenger car, you owe it to yourself to test drive a Volt and compare it to other cars. And don't forget that nice $7,500 federal tax credit ... as in, you'll get $7,500 dollars back when you file your taxes, not $7,500 less of taxable income. Update: the Gen2 has not disappointed, and makes me wonder WHY on Earth did GM cancel this technological wonder? It should be used in their large trucks and SUVs if you ask me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Much more than I expected

Tom, 03/31/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Short review. This car is fantastic. Enough full EV miles to commute on charge only yet has the range for a long road trip. Performance of a full electric but without the range anxiety. Ability to charge on 120 volt in garage huge. Attractive exterior. Comfortable drive, ride and seats but not luxury. With the tax exemption in the State of Washington and the 7.5k rebate in my mind a no brainer. Assuming you dont get a lemon....maintenance should be non existent. Do yourself a favor. Take it for a spin.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good Early Experience in Complex Vehicle

Bruce Clarkson, 08/07/2018
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

So far so good. We've only put a few thousand miles on it but have had no problem. This is a car for which you need to read the manual. There's a bunch of features, etc. That said, once you've gone through it once, it's pretty friendly to operate. Perhaps the weirdest thing is how if you ignore the look of the instrumentation you may forget that you're driving a battery/hybrid vehicle. It just drives like a regular car should. That said, pickup, braking, handing and ride comfort are all better than I expected but, of course, still not a muscle car. We've routinely achieved Chevy's promised electric-only range. It works well for us for around-town trips in our moderate sized town. Around town we're using _no_ gasoline. We've put a higher percentage of long haul miles on it so far. It's been comfortable for that too. Gas mileage has been (only) slightly less that Chevy promised. The combined mileage has been a real significant cost decrease over the vehicle it replaced. If I had to complain (all minor), the sat nav is OK but not as handy as the Garmin that I am used to. I think I wish the forward collision avoidance would actually stop the vehicle in critical situations such as how I think Subaru performs. (Never owned a vehicle with that feature but I think I'd like it.) I occasionally hit my head getting into the car. The interior seems a little spartan. I wish the cruise control was adaptive or not (fixed for 2019?). The dynamic-only brake activation is too binary (not true of the brake pedal where Chevy has done a good job of integrating dynamic and friction braking). All in all, we're pleasantly surprised by this vehicle.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Brand New 2018 Volt Stalled While Driving

Sam, 10/28/2017
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
23 of 28 people found this review helpful

I Just leased brand new 2018 Volt and encountered serious problems with the car. (1) The battery could not be charged very first time. (2) Noticed some burning smell for the 1st couple of days after each drive (with no warning light on). (3) On the 3rd day, the check engine and battery lights came on. While driving the car to the dealer, it certainly stalled on the road (such a scary moment and so lucky not to have any accident or injury). So the car had to be towed to the dealer that day. The OnStar diagnostic codes showed, P0D4D (issue with the Litium-Ion Battery issue), P1F5A (issue with the Engine and Transmission System), P1F59 (issue with the Engine and Transmission System), P1EBD (issue with the Charging Cable System). (4) It took the Chevrolet dealer about a week to diagnose and repair (replaced the 12V battery). (5) A few days later the same symptom reappeared with almost identical OnStar diagnostic codes so the car was sent back to the dealer for the 2nd time in about two weeks. (6) This time it also took them about a week to diagnose and repair (replaced the switch and the cable). When doing research on line I found out other owners of 2018 Volt are having similar problems like mine. This car definitely has many serious issues including safety and therefore I strongly urge GM to launch an investigation or even recall to investigate these faulty or defective cars that may cause safety issue.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A case for the Chevy Volt

Adam Cohen, 08/29/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

There is something a plug in hybrid electric vehicle (phev) gives you that no other car does (gas, hybrid or electric) - the flexibility to use different fuels, as well as the ability to obtain a miles per gallon equivalent (mpge) between 30 and 120, depending on how you drive. You can even achieve beyond the 120 mpge if you charge on solar cells or another renewable. The Volt gets 42 mpg on strictly gas (highway and city), which is remarkable considering the car weighs approx 3,550 lbs. Although there are some hybrids that do better on gas, the Malibu, Camry and Accord hybrids, to name a few, they can never achieve any better than about 50 mpg. Other benefits the Volt offers are excellent acceleration, low noise, no noticeable on/off engine at stop light in hybrid mode (the car does not engage the engine until the car has reached a certain speed), good weight balance due to battery placement. Also, the drive train of the Volt, consisting of two electric motors, one efficient internal combustion engine, and two planetary gear sets (in lieu of transmission), is proving to be the platform of choice for performance, efficiency and flexibility.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Different type of Hybrid

EV is the future , 07/02/2020
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I’ve now owned my 2018 Volt LT for just over 2 weeks now. My daily work commute consists of 58 miles round trip. To date I’ve driven 600 miles after purchase and I have yet to use 1 gallon of gas. I charge daily as my EV range is only 62 miles although I’ve driven up to 70 miles on EV alone. I own an EVSE level 2 charger at 220V, it usually takes about 4 hrs as I didn’t realize I didn’t have the 7.2kW on board charger. and instead I have a 3.2kW on board charger. Pay the extra money for the 7.2kW. The cost to charge from 0-61 miles is usually around $1.50-$2. Although this Volt only has a 9 gallon gasoline tank most folks probably won’t fill up often unless traveling more that 350 miles on a given trip. You should expect around 40+ miles per gallon of gasoline. The only down side to this car is the cheap hard plastic used in this car, I’m not sure if this is common with all Chevy vehicles but it sucks and a far departure from my previous VW E golf SEL and my 2015 Hybrid Accord EX-L. I also don’t like the leatherette material used in this car which doesn’t compare to either of the previously mention cars. I will say this Hybrid works on a completely different concept that my previous Hybrid Accord and more like the Prius Prime; Plug in, 2014 Hybrid Accord; Plug in and the all new Honda Clarity. All use electric first then gasoline beyond the EV range. PHEV is where it’s at until EV’s get better range (greater than 350miles per charge) and still cost effective. My dream car is the Tesla S but that will have to wait for now.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Amazing Car

Seth Segall, 10/04/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

This car is amazing! I use it mostly for driving in town and I haven't put any gas in it yet. It recharges just fine overnight using a 120 electrical connection in my garage. It looks sharp and handles like a dream. It accelerates well, handles curves well, brakes are good, and the ride is smooth. Road noise is not a problem. It seats four comfortably and their is sufficient room for my daily cargo and shopping needs. The gas engine gives me the confidence I need to feel I can travel longer distances if I need to without any difficulty. I love the touchscreen and Apple play, and the radio is just fine.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Happy Volt Owner

Happy Volt Owner, 03/23/2019
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Love the car so far. It’s a black LT with leather seats and driver confidence package. I got a GREAT deal on it. Sticker was $36,700, but paid only $20,400 after dealer end-of-year discounts, GM rebates, and $7500 federal rebate. PROS Range - Around town when temps are in the 40s or higher, I can easily get 65-70 miles per charge using the regen paddles. Temps in the 30s or lower provide 35-50 per charge depending on use of heat and defroster. Experimenting with hybrid mode around town, I get 50-55 mpg in warmer temps. Comfort - Just returned from a 1900-mile round trip, and the leather seats are the most comfortable I’ve ever experienced on a long drive. There’s no power lumbar, but I didn’t need it. I’m 5’10” 165 pounds, and the driver seat fits me like a glove. Ride - The overall ride is very smooth, and road noise is minimal. The stiff suspension can make some bumps feel a bit jarring, though. At the same time, the car takes corners with ease and the car feels very planted and secure. Controls - The touch screen is very user friendly. The knobs and buttons for temperature control are very intuitive, much better than our Prius V which made you fidget with a computer screen. Design - I really like the exterior, especially the front. Looks good from all angles except directly behind where the big taillights make the car look boxy. I love the interior design with the black leather - looks very classy. Space - The folding rear seats create a lot of space for transporting stuff. I was able to pack much more than I thought I could on my recent road trip. Headlights - Best headlights I’ve ever had. They really light up the road nicely. The brights are incredible. CONS Back seat - not for anybody over 5’8”. At 5’10”, I am very uncomfortable there because my head hits the rear window. My wife at 5’2” is comfortable, though. The middle back seat is basically useless for anyone. Highway MPG - Disappointing for a hybrid. EPA says 42 mpg, and I can usually beat the EPA estimates in my cars, but I only averaged 40-41 mpg on my recent road trip, mostly interstate driving. Last year, I got 47 mpg on the same trip with a Cruze. It’s very inefficient for a hybrid on the highway. Cargo - pretty small space unless the rear seats are down. Overall, I am very, very happy with my Volt. My wife loved it so much that I used a retirement bonus to buy her a Volt. So, we’re now a two-Volt house! UPDATE - After nine months, I still love this car. All summer, the battery averaged 85 miles per charge for around-town driving! My only complaint is with the entertainment system. 75% of the time it will play music from my USB with no problems; other times like yesterday it won't allow me to play the music at all. Unplugging and plugging in the USB sometimes helps, and other times it doesn't. My wife's Volt doesn't have this issue. I'm really disappointed GM has discontinued the Volt. It is by far my favorite car that I've owned.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Actually reviewing the nearly identical 2018

Joe from Omaha, 06/26/2019
LT 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid DD)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The 2016 through 2019 are virtually identical. The 2019 does have an option (on LT trim level - included in Premium trim level) to have a faster 7.2 KW on-board charger, an improvement from the normal 3.6 KW charger. It really won't matter too often unless you drive more than 50 miles a day and need to "juice up" during the day to get more range. I love my Volt - I really do, but just like any vehicle, this one is built to a narrow range of missions. First, this is a 4 seat vehicle even though it has 5 sets of seatbelts. Back seats are fine for kids, but not great for adults. Acceleration is very, very good. The engine noise on electric mode is very quiet and it ain't too bad on gas. Zero range anxiety - a huge plus. Nice 8 year or 100000 mile Voltec drivetrain warranty - a true necessity. Not sure I would buy a used Volt with high mileage because repairs can be very expensive. True 50+ mile range in summer and 40+ mile range in winter due to the resistance heating elements used in winter. I will say that this car warms up very fast in winter - you will feel the heat before you reach the end of your driveway! Gas mileage on the interstate is around 45 mpg if cruising at 65 MPH and probably 40 MPG at 70 - pretty decent. 90% of the miles I use are all-electric so I have little need to fill the little 9 gallon gas tank more than 5 times a year. I change the engine oil once every 2 years for the same reason. All in all, a great car, but when the warranty expires, I fear that expensive repairs will be headed my way.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New 2018 Owner

Andrew, 12/03/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

Have owned 2018 Volt for almost one month. Instead of enjoying “new car owner” experience I’ve spent most of my month with various loaners from dealership and researching lemon laws as Volt has had reoccuring issues including propulsion issue and electronic stability control vehicle trouble codes.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A Car for all Occasions

Lou, 02/02/2019
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

This is America's car for today (and since it first came out). Able to take you to and from work on pure electricity (getting sometimes up to 200 MPGe depending on the cost of gas and the temperature) while being unlimited to take you anywhere without charging delay due to the gas engine (a charging network is just not available in the USA, yet). Who could want more, good for you and good for the environment. It has the technology to help you prevent accidents and to interface with your smart phone in a logical manner. As a vehicle for getting you from point a to point b this is the right car for most everyone. However, GM must work on getting the cost down (probably not possible due to 2 connected propulsion systems), and getting the technology right (I have had to take the car in 4 times in a little over a year to get the adaptive cruise control to function correctly). Also, like a Tesla, this car should be upgradable to new capabilities where the capability is purely software based (since in one respect this car is a computerized motor with a chassis built around it). For example, GM's new super cruse is rated better than Tesla's. It would be good to have. Also, I understand that Map updates for the navigation software is not free. Glad I have a smart phone where it is not only better but IS free. On the whole I love this car, and I have had several Lexus LS's, a top of the line Audi as well as a Porsche 911S Targa. Still going strong. Great car. Just wish it had the GM Supercruise and on demand 4 wheel drive

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My second Volt

Mike, 11/30/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I liked my 2015 Volt so much I bought another one. Plenty of room for me and a passenger. Back seat leg room not much, but would be okay for children. Car rides very good, handles great, acceleration is super especially in sport mode. My average economy is 94.6 mpg. I spend time on freeway or my economy would be well over 100 mpg. Cargo space is very good in this hatchback. I got a chevy floor mat for the cargo space that was designed for a Equinox. The mat is actually about 3 inches to small for the area. That should tell you something. With the back seats down, there is a lot of room for golf clubs, bowling balls, etc. The tax rebate makes the cost about 25000. My car is the red tint coat and the paint job is great. After I put about 3 layers of Zanio on, it will really look great. Car still does everything Chevrolet said it would do. I have owned for 3 years now and had not one problem. Not a great vehicle on snow though. I have purchased a 2007 Mercury Mariner 4 wheel drive for winter.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Quick and Quiet

Tom Dunstan, 10/28/2019
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 11 months. I have driven it 5000 miles and burned 4 gallons of gas. The volt is fun to drive and has performed flawlessly.

Report Abuse

A very nice car totaled for no good reason.

Stan Ubeki, 02/18/2020
Premier 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid DD)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I really liked my 2018 Volt with 16k miles. I had a very repairable fender bender, but it needed a new rear quarter panel and lights. GM could not / would not provide parts. Their excuse was that the plant is closed and the tooling is gone. I suspect this violates some federal regulation. After three months and getting the state commissioner of insurance involved, they totaled it. I don't understand their decision to discontinue it. The Voltec drivetrain is a great concept. In a small town with a 50+ mile electric range, I rarely burned gas.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Happy Buyer except Seatbelt Dinger&window stickers

Fred Daniel, 08/14/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

Very pleased with the car except for issue [1] - Chevy keeps using driver side window stickers with glue that cannot be removed. These stickers inhibit driver vision and must be removed. When the sticker is removed, a large area of sticky glue remains that catches the rubber window seal and attempts to tear it loose, while making a terrible sound as the window goes up and down. To remove the glue residual, the buyer must use something like gasoline or GOO-BE-GONE to soften the glue so a rag can remove it. After the glue is removed, there is an oily residue remaining, that must be removed with a window cleaner. This 30-minute exercise is not appreciated as I recall I had the same problem on the last Chevy I purchased. Issue [2] - Seatbelt dinger is adjustable from very loud to painfully loud. Wife does not like driving the new car with such a loud seatbelt dinger. I cannot resolve and believe dealer will not consider an actual fault that requires repair.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just what I wanted and expected

JP, 01/29/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Great for commuting! 34 mile commute, saving $300/ month on gasoline and tolls. Car has been fine- no faults at all- but the portable charge cord has failed and GM was sticky about replacement; an certified tech must verify the cord is at fault, apparently. The Volt is still nimble and quick in traffic. Plenty of range for my commute, and an occasional trip to SoCal can be made with one gas stop. 5/2021- 58,000 mi., finally time for new tires. The brake pads are still original- the regenerative braking causes no wear. The savings on gasoline and oil changes is significant. No loss of range from the battery.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Definition of a sleeper car!

Supra Fan2763, 08/18/2020
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

It may not look it with the statistics, but the 2018 Volt has a soul and heart of a sports car! It does lack in top speed, but it’s acceleration and handling is stellar! For a compact car, its quite roomy for luggage and passengers (except the back seats) it’s fierce looking too! A sports car doesn’t have to go twice the speed of this car! It’s comfy and cozy, and has a good atmosphere! It’s a very intelligent car with parking sensors, adaptable cruise control, and Bluetooth! It may not be like Lightning McQueen but it can talk! It’s Bluetooth is a little annoying so I wouldn’t recommend engaging in a conversation! For many car guys like me, this is the perfect sports car that you can afford!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car!

BRUCE MENGLER, 01/01/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
3 of 7 people found this review helpful

Love the regenerative breaking

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Dead in the Water

Oliver, 02/05/2019
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Can loose all power while in motion! Gas engine can rev making the steering wheel brake non functionable, and when not expecting that, this is extremely dangerous. Chevy has reprogrammed some software on my car and they say that will solve the loss of power while moving issue. I hope so. The revving issue is normal per the shop foreman. Really?! The seats sit so low, and so far behind the B-post that the vehicle is difficult to get in and out of, and has caused my back some serious issues. There are very serious blind spots, even with the mirrors! On the positive side, it is enjoyable to drive an EV. Approx. 40% of EV range is lost when the temperatures outdoors are in the 30's (F) and below. The MPG as displayed on the instrumentation has steadily decreased to about 59 now, and having started around 75. Haven't had the car in hot weather yet. The seating material is really cheap! Lastly, for now, there is a driver's left foot rest pedal that is absolutely in the worst possible spot and very uncomfortable.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Our 3rd Volt to bad it will be the last

Gloria, 02/07/2019
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best one yet.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Disappointed

John Brakey, 05/21/2018
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
4 of 31 people found this review helpful

This car is a piece of junk. I cant emagine how GM claims that it charges for 53 miles but it barely charges 40 (brand new). It should be illegal for them to claim that but I guess they can get away with it. Stay away from this, it’s not worth it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Kostas Review

Kostas Stavroulidakis, 03/04/2019
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I believe it is better than an 100% EV vehicle for every day commute.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Best car I have ever owned

George, 03/20/2020
LT 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Volt is a solid plug-in. It is reliable and the mileage is amazing. It is great to know I have that engine as a reserve for charging the battery. I love my Volt hands down.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Go Electric

Victor Chevrolet , 03/28/2020
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just had the 2018 Volt for three days. This was a replacement for a 2012, that was a great car. The technology is awesome, and other car makers are just now finding out what we have known for several years, extended range electric is the only way to go. For me the 2018 Volt is just a newer upgraded version and so far I’m very impressed.

Report Abuse

Blue Lightning

Matt, 03/22/2021
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I’m very happy with the car so far. It’s got the perfect balance of flare and function. You’ve got your around town miles covered with an all electric power train and for longer journeys the gas generator kicks in. Plus a pre owned Volt is an EV that’s actually affordable. Consider this as a value add. For a few hundred dollars you can add an inverter to your Volt and turn it into an emergency backup generator! I love this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My 2018 Chevy Volt

Cynthia , 06/09/2021
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2018 Chevy volt 3 days ago. I already charged it twice. Sadly the EVGO fast changing stations do not charge my car. It takes me about 6 hours to charge my car at a Charge Point station. I drive a lot that is why I picked a hybrid. I did not want a full EV vehicle because I drive into México a lot and would stress out of there were no charging stations. So far I do like the car. I put it at Car Max on Kearny Mesa from Rey. Car Max told me there were no recalls and found out there was one recall. So do not always believe what Car Max says about recalls on vehicles. Certain 2016-18 model years Chevy Volt vehicles may have a condition related to high voltage battery.Which could gradually lose the ability to maintain voltage. Chevy notice was received from the Chevy app I downloaded: Dealers are to update the hybrid powertrain control module 2.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Better than flight ask any bird

George L. Canfield, 06/09/2021
Premier 4dr Hatchback (gas/electric hybrid DD)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd chev volt premier. It is a very safe car. My current mileage is 124 mpg on the dash board. I get 40+ mpg on an extended trip average speed over 60 mph. The car has not had gasoline added in over a year. My electric home bill is about .37 cents a day on average. I am retired and this is the best car I have ever owned. Chevy can not be beat with this EREV. To bad to sad to you suckers who do not own one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050