Used 2008 Cadillac DTS Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,456 - $6,807

Used DTS for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Batmobile... All Grown-up

miguelski, 05/24/2011
Luxury II 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

In considering a replacement for my 2004 black Supercharged SS Monte Carlo (Batmobile) I looked for an American made "grown-up" 4 door car. My internet research led me to the Certified 2008 black-on-black Cadillac DTS which I purchased. I am very pleased with my purchase.

Report Abuse

What a Cadillac is supposed to be!

Southern, 11/30/2008
Luxury III 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

Big, strong and comfortable. Quiet. Economical - using regular gas, long oil intervals and all this with a torquey V8. Really well thought out. No "Idrive" or other difficult to understand user interfaces like the competition offers. Has all the toots and whistles including power lumbar with massage! Side radar that warns if something is in the blind zone. Rear and front parking aids. And a bunch more. Needless to say it is very comparable to more expensive foreign cars, but does some things better. This car just makes you feel good when you drive it.

Report Abuse

9th Cadillac

caddyclassic, 02/18/2009
Luxury III 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

My 9th Cadillac is the best one I've owned. I'm old, but I still want the luxury with performance, the Northstar still amazes me, even after three of them. Wind noise of past cars has been minimized. If you are a long time buyer, this could be the cheapest car to own.

Report Abuse

American Beauty

TomK, 11/20/2008
Luxury II 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

This is the most beautiful auto I have ever seen. Everything about its styling pleases my eyes. There is no defect in appearance inside or out. If I had a blank piece of paper, this is what I would design. Several years ago I attended a comparison drive of luxury autos sponsored by Motor Trend Magazine. I was able to test drive the best of Europe, Asia and the US any way I wanted. Believe me, no expensive import offers anything more than the Cadillac DTS except snob appeal. I had really planned to buy a six cylinder with a six speed transmission. But when I saw this DTS, I couldn't say no.

Report Abuse

Found a peach!

Terry Herron, 12/02/2015
Luxury III 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
27 of 30 people found this review helpful

This 2008 DTS has ALL the bells and whistles! Even an electric roller shade in the back window. It rides like you're in your own living room! When you sit inside and start it up, you think you're in a space ship...lights all around! It's designed to work with OnStar, so we had to get an aftermarket bluetooth adapter. The navigation is CD (DVD?) driven, so future updates should not be a problem. I LOVE the dual heated and cooled front seats, and the rear seats also have heat! TWO YEAR UPDATE: Still going strong with only routine upkeep. She just needed a small touch-up on some surface rust on one door. At 90,000+ miles, still a very reliable car. All electronics work (and it's LOADED). Comfortable to ride. THREE YEAR UPDATE: The 3rd brakelight on the trunk was found to have some lights not working. Bought a new light online and had our local mechanic install it. Nearly 100,000 miles on it and STILL just like new! November 2018: Noting rare slippage in the transmission, we decided to trade-in. Now leasing a Kia Forte instead. Someone will still get many enjoyable years from this Cadillac.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great purchase.

myeaglelimo, 08/13/2009
Luxury III 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle a year ago. I run a limousine company, American Eagle Limousine, and the Cadillac DTS is the customers vehicle of choice. It surpasses the Lincoln Town Car in exterior design. My client are always complimenting on how "smooth" and "bump free" the ride was. The car is a head turner and has been extremely reliable. I purchased this vehicle at 7,500 miles and it has well over 100k on it as of August 2009. I have not experienced any engine problems. The only problem I experienced is with the rear cup holder, which has cheap build quality. Overall, I am extremely happy with my purchase. I will be purchasing more Cadillacs in the future.

Report Abuse

Wanted to love it...but in the end...didnt!

phillip_g, 03/12/2015
Performance 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
25 of 29 people found this review helpful

I have loved Cadillacs since I was 5 years old and rode with my Granny everywhere in her many Cadillacs over the years. I am not the typical age of the traditional Caddy buyer. I like the size, comfort, and style of large American Cars. Family has always driven Caddys or Lincolns and I carry on that tradition with a great amount of pride. Purchased Certified-Used in early 2011, traded a 2005 Deville DTS that I loved. The 2008 DTS is NOT a sports car nor is it intended to be. I am so very disappointed in its reliability issues not only for the cost but also for sentimental reasons.

Report Abuse

American Luxury Car

Ralph, 06/28/2008
Luxury II 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I traded a BMW 745 for a Cadillac DTS. The Cadillac lacks some of the more sophisticated technology of the BMW but it is easier to maintain, it rides beautifully, and is easy to get serviced. Consumer Reports recommended this car for reliability in part because it dispenses with some of the cutting edge technology and, instead, provides reliability and a more affordable price. The large trunk and back seat and good for carrying more passengers and luggage. We use this car as a road car for longer trips. It takes regular gas, parts are easy to get and there is an extensive dealer network. GM has done an excellent job with this car.

Report Abuse

Miss my old Caddy

caddygirl4life, 11/11/2012
Luxury II 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
20 of 23 people found this review helpful

My 2008 DTS is sexy, I have been driving a caddy since 16 and have owened through the years 10 plus cars (caddy's) always upgrading to a newer year... The 2008 is the first caddy I brought brand new and I have to say the even though I think the car looks good, the ride is just not there. I really miss my 97 deville concours and wished I never upgraded.

Report Abuse

2008 DTS Luxury III

2008 DTS Luxury III, 09/11/2010
Luxury III 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 2000 DHS for the 2008 DTS Luxury III Platinum model and regret it. My old DHS was a great car with a bad transmission. I had a few problems and tried to contact the "help" line. They refused to let me talk to a decision maker and were basically worthless. Cadillac apparently does not want to talk to customers. I am trying to go through the dealership and they will not give me the name of the GM Rep so I am not allowed to talk to her. This is unfortunate since I have 3 GM cars and when these are gone will likely not have another.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050