Used 2014 Buick Enclave Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$11,900 - $19,000

Used Enclave for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Excelent Luxury Family SUV

bshapiro1, 03/09/2014
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

Loving our Enclave. Is exactly what we expected. The interior is large and comfortable. There is ample space in all three rows for adults to sit comfortably. Ride is smooth and quiet. Definately feels like top quality craftmanship. Handels well for a vehicle of it's size. The blutooth connection for phones is great and we can easily stream music.

Report Abuse

Believe in Quite Tuning

Rattler, 10/04/2015
Premium Group 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
57 of 60 people found this review helpful

The Enclave is an EXCELLENT value. Very quite, very smooth, spacious, well appointed, comfortable, elegant appearance, perfect drive train package, excellent Infotainment unit with redundant manual controls, no service issues, excellent gas mileage for the size of the vehicle. Does it get any better? Update after 2 years and 12,000 miles. I would not alter my previous ratings. We have enjoyed the Enclave as much if not better than any vehicle we have ever owned. Not one service issue, that just might be the best part. Still believing in quite tuning. Update after 34 months and 15,000 miles. First vehicle I have ever owned with NO service issues. Loving it! Update 4/2017..Deffective battery...premature. OnStar saved the day...excellent service. Vehicle running in 1 hour. WOW! On a rainy Sunday to boot. No charge....warranty. Update 10/2017.....Very satisfied with vehicle. Looking to purchase a revised/restyled 2018 model unless it has stop/start engine...a deal breaker. Update 4/26/2018.....After over 4 years and 20,129 miles. Still enjoying the Enclave as much as ever. Right headlamp bulb replaced out of warranty. Purchased Delco bulb from Amazon for $130.00 and installed it myself, easily. GM dealership quoted $556.26 total for replacement. So sad we couldn't purchase a 2018 Enclave due to stop/start technology. Update 11/5/2018......Just got back from a long road trip. We drove 12 hour days and were pleasantly surprised how we didn't get fatigued at the end of the day.The Enclave is a wonderful road car. No service issues. Current mileage 24652. Considering purchasing a 2018/2019 Enclave since aftermarket now offers a device to disable the ridiculous Start/Stop feature. Update 5/6/2020, mileage 25602, Enclave performing perfectly. Still no service issues..amazing. Wonderful vehicle on road trips. If only I could buy a new one without start/stop feature.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2014 Buick Enclave Engine seized after 3 years

Henrik, 06/28/2017
Premium Group 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

Our 2014 Buick Enclave engine seized after 3 years and 71500 miles. Called the dealers around my area and got the worst respond to how they can help and one of the dealer never called back at all. finally talk to corporate office and they suggest to take the car in to find out what is going on and they were going to help me in repair because the mileage was over 70000. We decided to take it to local mechanic shop to take the engine in part and repair this way we save money. They find out one of the valves spring was broken and land it on top of the piston and cause all the problems. I never heard the engine stop working in 71500 miles because GM uses all made in China parts. This was my first American made car and last American made car going to have. Never will buy another American made car again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Luxury at Value

ugnaut, 08/23/2014
40 of 42 people found this review helpful

We went looking for crossovers we first looked at mid-small size ones. The big issue for my wife was comfortable seats and a little luxury if you drive a lot of miles. Its hard to find in the 20-30 range. We actually like the Encore but that was about 30 with the leather package with no deals. We looked at higher price/luxury cars from Acura, Audi, BMW, etc.. We ended up with Leather package Enclave at around 40k after discounts, rebates. We didn't want to pay 50K+ for name only, the Buick was a nice middle ground between luxury and value. We ignored features such as Nav and more electronics which everybody always complains about on most brands, besides the Iphone works as well. See favs.

Report Abuse

Luxurious, but Nav system needs work.

enclaveguy, 03/10/2014
Leather Group 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

This is my 2nd Enclave. My first was in ’08, the introduction year. I've loved it since. I have the 2014 model & it's equally as nice with more bells & whistles. Overall, I would rate the Enclave as excellent. Its quality and luxury at a fairly affordable price. The Enclave is a heavy vehicle, so the power on the 2008 model seemed to be lacking, but the 2014 seems to have more power to get up to speed on the freeway. The interior color options seem to be lacking however, kind of funky for my tastes and I am not in love with the fake plastic "wood" trim inside. Buick missed the design mark on this. The navigation system leaves a lot to be desired as it is not very intuitive. Update 03-14-16: My original opinions above still hold true today. I love the Buick Enclave. I've had no issues in the past two years, other than the Nav system still needs to be reworked in my opinion. It's not intuitive and the touch response is a lacking. Sometimes you really have to push down on those virtual buttons to get the system to respond. It needs a complete redesign. I'd rather log into my phone for navigation and GPS. The Buick Nav just doesn't cut it. You set something and then months down the line, the system defaults to the factory setting. I didn't push anything (I think!!), but yet my saved settings seem to change on their own. You can't "pinch" the screen to make it smaller, there is no touching the screen to move the map over, you have to use the presets. If you pinch the screen like you would with your cell phone, you end up flipping the map upside down and try not to get into a car accident trying to reset it! Not at all intuitive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Engine Failure at 50k miles

Katie, 03/15/2019
Convenience Group 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I’ve taken excellent care of my 2014 Enclave, including getting all recommended services on time and regular oil changes. I just learned that my Enclave needs $4,000 of engine repairs at only 50k miles! Apparently there is a manufacturer defect in the timing chain that has damaged my engine. Of course, It’s no longer under warranty. This is unacceptable! I will never buy a GM car again. Stay away from this ticking time bomb!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Smooth ride with great styling

phenry, 07/09/2018
Leather Group 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

It took me a long time to convince my husband that I really needed this car! Not just wanted the car, I needed the car! Eventually my dream came true. I love my 2014 Triple white diamond Buick Enclave with leather. The pro's are, room enough to carry just about whatever you may want with the ability to fold down 2 rows of seats, a smooth ride, a quiet ride, classy styling, and most creature comforts at your finger tips. The cons, high price tag, not so stellar fuel economy, large and bulky to maneuver in tight places. Yes, the latter being true to the point of passing up parking spaces to find one a bit less convenient, but at least with enough room to swing the vehicle in place. With that said, now that I have been driving this vehicle for 2 years now, I have learned to except the small flaws and be content with all the positives this vehicle has to offer. I travel often and having a car that makes driving enjoyable is important to me. Its also extremely important to drive a car which makes me feel safe in the event of an accident. I have enough car around me to feel quite substantial and a bonus are the many airbags in place should something happen. Recently my husband offered to buy me a new car, something a bit smaller, but I would have to like it better than what I have and I am not sure that's possible! Time will tell I suppose, but for now, it's me, my Enclave and the highway!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My 2014 Enclave

R.C.K., 08/22/2018
Premium Group 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Overall I am mostly satisfied with the Enclave. I would have given it 5 stars across the board except for four things. The second row of seats are too firm and quite uncomfortable. At 27,000 miles the air conditioning evaporator was leaking and had to be replaced along with blower motor assembly. This was covered under warranty. Bumper to bumper warranty ended in February 2018. In July 2018 the brake power vacuum booster and to be replaced along with a HID bulb for the right front headlight. Neither was covered under warranty and the bulb cost $321.49 plus $130. I hope GM will use LED bulbs.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Front Collision Alert needs improvement

ckaushal, 07/07/2014
Leather Group 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

Overall the car is great but the FCA system still needs improvements. When I started driving the FCA system was detecting collision warning bet the red flash and beep was not working. After few months for some reason it started working again. Either Buick did and update or they system may have some algorithm that learns with time. Now some times it falsely detect the front collision from the cars driving on opposite lanes on turns/curved roads, that does not bothers me. So far no mechanical or electrical failures. We took the car for couple of longs trips (>2k miles) and it was very comfortable and gave us no trouble. One more minor issue I noticed so far with gear shifting at low speed when driving uphill. For some reason I felt little jerks during gear shifting, it felt like car got confused with gear while driving up hill, especially if while driving uphill you let the gas padel go and press it again quickly, the car thinks hat you want to stop and if you speed up again it give a weard jerk. It happened to me few times but it's ok with me as I don't drive much on hills.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very uncomfortable seats

tiorob, 04/01/2015
Leather Group 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
14 of 18 people found this review helpful

Really like the car and the drive however there is one huge issue that makes me wish I never bought this vehicle. Since I bought this car I have had major neck issues. The drivers seat neck rest is extremely uncomfortable and has created ongoing issues. I am upside down on the lease and have been told by two dealers that there is nothing they can do. Yet I understand they completely changed the head rest design in the newer models. My husband refuses to drive it because it is very uncomfortable for him as well. Does anyone have a solution or similar issue? I still have over a year left on the lease. Like the Buick but disappointed in the issue not being resolved.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050