Used 2017 Acura MDX Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$17,500 - $38,376

Used MDX for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great car!

Justin, 01/06/2017
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
59 of 60 people found this review helpful

I cross shopped multiple vehicles prior to purchasing this SUV. My wife and I sat in and drove many SUVs. We felt like this SUV offered a lot more than the others for the price. The biggest/best surprise is the SH-AWD (google torque vectoring if you haven't already) which makes the car a lot of fun to drive and adds a spare tire. The ELS sound system is great. The safety features should be standard on all vehicles -- the technology package adds the blind spot detection which is awesome. I was worried that the transmission would at least take some getting used to given the complaints but it's great actually. Their are plenty of YouTube videos explaining why it feels a little funny between 2 gears but I have honestly not had a problem in any IDS mode (sport, comfort, normal). The complaints don't seem to be primarily regarding reliability. I was also worried I wouldn't like the shifter after so many complaints. It is actually very easy to use and keeps me from ever having to look down. It has the added benefit of protecting you from changing gears when you shouldn't (i.e. P while driving, D while shutting off the engine, etc...) which ultimately saves wear on your transmission. Good warranty compared to the other SUVs (7 years on the drive train). The infotainment system is just ok even with the tech package but has all of the functionality I need. I wish that it had a panoramic sunroof. If you compare to other vehicles in the class, for example the Lexus RX, Audi Q7, Volvo XC90 etc.. or even the Pilot, Pathfinder, Highlander, and Forester, I thought the Acura was ultimately the best bang for your buck.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great relief!!!

RG, 12/01/2016
SH-AWD w/Technology and Entertainment Packages 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

I've owned it for about a month and from all my experiences so far, I'm very impressed with quality of interior as well as luxury feel of the car. I've driven German cars for the last 5 years and decided to go back to old reliable Japanese-made cars and couldn't be more relieved. After spending a ridiculous amount for maintenance on my 328 iX Drive, looking forward to owning this car and not worrying about the next pothole or the next maintenance project that will cost thousands of dollars.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best of all car's I've owned, including S500

Anthony, 11/14/2016
SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
77 of 82 people found this review helpful

Overall, an excellent piece of engineering and design. It's not 100% perfect on design, but it's pretty darn close. Let me summarize simply with Pro's and Con's. PRO'S are: Awesome handling with SH-AWD, I mean really awesome. Just about as good as my E92 M3, I totally mean that, for all intents and purposes on the street. The semi-autonomous driving features are great. The Lane Keeping system, the Adaptive Cruise Control with Follow, Blind spot warning, all make it ALOT safer to drive in these days of distracted driving. You must study the functionality of each system to know when you can and should not rely on them. But overall I find them productive and adding to safety for me and those around me. Comfort is 8.5 of 10. Seats are not super duper, but definitely more than acceptable. You can customize the crap out of all the systems, and if you read the 500 page manual like I did, you will be amazed at what this car can do. Walk away auto locking system is quite nice. WIth the right setup in the menu, you never, ever have to take the key out of your pocket/purse. Just walk in, walk out, the car does exactly what you want, when you want it, and you just never touch a button on the remote, EVER. Worried about the car being locked? You can send it a message via your remote, querying the lock status, and I've tested that at 100 yards remote distance, no problem! Engine is satisfactory - it ain't a Porsche, BMW, but it gets the job done. The 9 spd tranny does fine! All these complaints about transmission hunting around for a gear, but I have not noticed it. Auto engine stop awesome, auto brake hold system awesome. Headlights are freaking amazing, SO BRIGHT. Sound system is 8.5/10. I have heard better, but this is totally fine. Mileage is pretty darn good, on a freeway going about 65 you can easily get 25mpg if not closer to 28-29mpg. CON'S: the navigation system sort of sucks, compared to Google Maps. You can't beat Google with it's machine learning and real-time mobile updates on traffic etc. Plus the processor powering the Nav and the Phone menus is slow and outdated. But usable if you have to. One huge con is for USB flash drives, the search functionality is AWFUL, as you can only scroll the huge list of songs or folders, you cannot search by Artist, Title, etc.... If you want to bring your own music, you better have a large iPOD, in which case the Search/Selection functionality is reasonable. OVERALL: definitely a car you will enjoy taking road trips with.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Now at 67,000 miles: As good as day 1.....

Michael DeWaal, 10/27/2017
SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
40 of 42 people found this review helpful

Update: Now at 67,000 miles. Proven reliability, space for clients, luggage, our dogs, etc. Sometimes, all at once. On our 2nd day of ownership, we had our clients with us in Breckenridge, Colorado. After our meetings, we decided to take them behind the resort to an old mining town site. We had been there several times before on our own for our daily hikes with our dogs - thought it would be a perfect hike for our guests, 4 of which were runners from New Jersey (sea level, not the 10,000 feet of where we were). They left before me on foot with my wife. About 30 minutes in, I got a call. It had started to snow on the ridge behind me - it was not yet snowing where I was and no one was ready for that, nor was it predicted - it's a common fault of the local weather predictions. It started to really come down. So, I had no choice but to get in our new MDX and go rescue 5 people - dirt road first, then dirt road with heavy pockets of emptied out dirt from water flows, etc. Toss in a few boulders and rocks, it's a good test of the SH-AWD, now on slick rocks wetted with snow, mud and some rain, on inclines in excess of 10 degrees, more so depending on where you were. Decent control kicked in, the SUV did not slip, even with the heavy pitching and yaw angles, and I was there in about 6-7 minutes where they were. All 5 piled in, found the back seat/3rd row access quickly and found plenty of head room for 2 adult females in the 3rd row, 2 in the middle captain's chairs and my wife sitting shotgun. Before leaving the driveway, I turned on the captain's chairs seat heaters, the rear heater system to blow warm air all the way in the 3rd row and for the "toe warmers" blowing out from under the 2 front seats for the 2nd row passengers. The "oooo's" and "ahhhhhs" expressed were the best demonstration of what the MDX can do when called upon. Every single person was pretty impressed with the SUV's capability. So, yes - I do recommend the MDX, hands down, over the Lexus RX350/450 and the Audi Q5 SQ5 and the Q7. We are now 2 1/2 years into the ownership experience. We will replace it with an updated MDX in the Fall.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My favorite MDX so far

Nancy, 07/14/2017
Advance Package 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

I've owned 2004, 2010 and now the 2017 Acura MDX. The 2017 is an awesome car. I looked at the Infinity QX60 and Audi Q7, and I thought the MDX drove the nicest and was the most comfortable. The improvements between the 2010 and 2017 were many. The handling is better, the seats are comfortable, the 4 captain chairs are great, the sun shield are handy, the rear camera and views are very helpful. I am averaging 27mpg (on the 2010 I averaged 18mpg) I think the fit and finish is way better with the 2017 model. The sensors work, almost too good. I have noticed that when I'm driving back roads and have a sharp right turn and there is a vehicle is approaching at the turn, the "brake" sensor illuminates. I do not mind the engine energy saving when at a complete stop, I've learned to anticipate when to let the foot off the brake to restart the car and continue on my way. I was concerned about purchasing the MDX after reading some of the reviews here, and I'm so glad that made the decision to buy it. Update: I still own the 2017 MDX. I still enjoy driving it. The seating is comfortable and the controls are convenient. The MDX is different from the previous models and I've had to change my acceleration habit to conform to this automobile. When I accelerate, it needs to be deliberate to avoid a hesitation when start from a stopped position. It's not a big deal and I've gotten used to it. I still do not care for the "brake" sensor, but I have learned that the sensor only senses the direct line of sight, so now I've adapted my driving to help prevent the sensor from detecting a "brake" condition where there isn't one. The gas mileage is much improved over the previous models, If I drive 55-58mph (speed limit) I average 31mpg and I'm happy with that. Update: I've owned the MDX for 9 months and have been able to drive it in winter conditions. The MDX handles Michigan winters flawlessly. I appreciate the Auto Start to warm up the car before I get in it, the seats and steering wheel are warm and toasty when it below zero outside. The 4 captains chairs available with the Advanced package have turned out to be great. There is more room in the 2nd row since the chairs can be adjusted and I do not feel bad having a couple sit back there because of the ample leg room. All in all, the MDX is a great car. I will own it for years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Thunder

Rajeev Kalsi, 11/30/2016
Technology Package 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

"Thunder" that's what we named our MDX. That's based on the black on black combo we got. Bought it after selling our pilot (you will be missed). Anyway , the Pilot's big bro MDX is a great vehicle. I have never seen my wife more happy with a car we ever owned, than with this. On the road its calm , serene and commands a presence of its own. If the diamond grill and 22" wheels don't turn much heads, then the jewel eyes sure do it. It has a mind of its own even if you are feeling sleepy and it will tell you that by beeping every time you get too close to another car. Be it changing lanes or head on. Automatic braking is the most understated feature. Come to think of it, there have been times when I was driving another car and wished they had this one feature. Ample space for a family of 4 and spare seats for those once in 6 months or a year need for extra. Yes it comes with 2 memory sets of mirror and seating paired with 2 sets of keys. So when wife drives it mirror automatically set to her taste and when I do , it welcomes me with open arms and pre-adjusted seats and mirrors. Automatic liftgate, keyless car access and ambient lights give a feeling of luxury so does filling the gas tank with premium, only pinching , while drinking. That's about the only pinch though. For buyers, with remorse, who would get a touring or elite younger brother, this gives a justified peace to its owner with the fact that its just couple of thousand more than the younger sibling. It also displays authority, with the body styling, shows seriousness, with 9 speed auto and means business when compared to the touring or elites, of which it claims none but possesses both. Meanwhile I keep finding reasons to get it out of garage for every little errand. For once, no errand is small.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2017 Acura MDX Improved Looks-Solid Performance

J.Raia, 09/11/2016
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

Excellent ride and performance. Fit an finish not consistently excellent (lift back alignment not up to luxury standards on my vehicle) but this is nit picking an otherwise very solidly constructed vehicle. Previous Acura product (2000 TLX) lasted more than 15 years and 300k miles. Brand is very reliable and safe choice. Most people will be very happy with the MDX. An great value!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Paid over 50 grand for a LEMON

Dr. Khan, 07/06/2017
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
45 of 50 people found this review helpful

Please read about the problems with transmission. Our transmission went out at 3000+ miles on city driving. On calling we were told by the dealer they have no loaner cars due to airbag recall issues. Suddenly stalls and almost got my wife into a terrible accident. P0730 code came on and we are unable to use this expensive car after just 3000 miles. Buy at your own risks. Sales team was excellent but the Cerritos Acura dealership was rude once we sought help for this terrible manufacturing defect in transmission.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Transmission problems already!

Disappointed buyer, 03/05/2018
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
40 of 46 people found this review helpful

I purchased a new, 2017 MDX SH AWD with technology package in February 2018 from Frankel Acura in Maryland and this has been my experience: The salesperson, Mark was helpful. The car had 378 miles on it when I purchased it. Immediately after driving off the lot, I noticed the timing of the transmission seemed to be off. I was pressing the gas, however the car was hesitating and then it would shift into 1st or 2nd gear, but the shifting was rough, enough to jerk you forward when the car finally moved. When I took the car to Frankel Acura for diagnostics and repair, I was told the vehicle was operating properly. I was also told that I would have to deal with the issue until Acura issued a software update for the transmission. The dealership offered no further action regarding the transmission. I was also told that once the car learned my driving habits, the transmission shifting might get better. Needless to say, I am disappointed in the performance of the vehicle and the dealership.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Okay but far from great!

Ron Possehl, 02/09/2018
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

Overall okay...but after 1 year (I wanted to wait long enough to give a fair/accurate review) my biggest issue is the 9-speed transmission. Sadly it doesn't know which gear it belongs in. Around town it's completely confused! For that reason this will most likely be my last MDX...very disappointed....the pleasure is gone! I am already looking to see what my next SUV will be. This is my third MDX but can't believe Acura could put out such a dud/poor quality to save a couple MPG. My wife has a 2016 Highlander Limited that performs circles around my luxury MDX.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Much improved over 2014 MDX

Chuck, 12/12/2016
Technology Package 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

The styling, handling, and safety features are the biggest improvement over previous models. The addition of the chrome to a black MDX makes it look sharp. The added safety features are vastly improved. The tranny could be a little smoother. Pairing an android phone can be a tricky situation. Overall a very good choice for a family or if you need cargo space. Set your cruise control to normal instead of adaptive and set your tranny to sport mode to improve your driving comfort.

Performance
Report Abuse

Big connectivity issues

Jennifer Penley, 11/14/2017
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I love this vehicle overall, except for two main areas: one of which I knew about before I purchased it, and the other of which I didn't discover until after. The vehicle is pretty much top notch in all categories but it doesn't necessarily scream luxury on the inside. It is definitely very well appointed but I was hoping for just a bit more of a luxurious feeling on the inside. That's the negative I knew about and purchased the car anyway. The other negative about this vehicle is the clunkiness of the technology (which I guess if I'd test driven it for more than 15 minutes I might have eventually discovered) and the fact that the iPhone connectivity is poor (which I didn't know until after the fact). All menu and sub-menu options are toggled to and selected via a main dial that's about as big as the channel dial on a very old television, and there's a small bit of lag between pressing/turning the dial and the system responding. In addition, and even more bothersome, is the fact that iphone contacts do not seamlessly synchronize via Bluetooth. I have hundreds of contacts in my phone, and only about 5 of them synchronize. After wondering what the heck I was doing wrong because I just couldn't get my contacts to synchronize - in addition to the voice command system not properly recognizing prompts - I turned to Google and, alas, found forum after forum of other MDXers complaining about this very same issue for years now. In the end, I'd still probably have purchased this vehicle because it was the highest rated for safety in this vehicle class by IIHS and NHTSA, and safety is my number 1 criterion when I purchase a vehicle, but I might not have opted for the Tech package if I'd have been aware of these issues. Another disappointment is the fact that the AcuraLink app doesn't have functionality to remotely start the car, yet it can remotely lock & unlock doors. That ability/convenience would be a small luxury that would go a long way.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Entirely Different MDX!!

Jake, 08/21/2017
Sport Hybrid SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid 7AM)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

This is my 5th MDX- 2003, 06, 11, 16, 17. I had a 2016 w/Tech. Hated it!! Loved my others. The transmission and brakes were horrible!! I should have kept my 2011. But with the help of my dealer, I was able to trade in my leased 2016 for a 2017 Hybrid w/Advance. (I test drove it a month earlier when it was released to dealerships.) Totally different vehicle! This hybrid is what I expected in a petrol MDX. The system is SUPER quiet and seamless. Actually have more power (torque wise) than my 2016. The technology of the Hybrid is nothing short of spectacular! Smooth, quiet, powerful, and informative. Has a cool information screen to tell u what system is working and which is charging the battery! The suspension and brakes are also different from the standard MDX. Much smoother with the adaptive dampers and the brake travel is firm with a short throw. When having my Hybrid accessorized I had a MDX w/Advance loaner. Now I could actually do a comparison. Unfortunately it drove like my 2016 with the exception of stop/start feature which was an annoyance. In the Hybrid, the system works the same way EXCEPT when u accelerate you are actually on electric motors THEN the motor starts seamlessly. By the way it doesn't use a conventional starter! The front electric motor IS the starter! How cool is that. AND when driving you would never know when the engine is on or off unless you are looking at the tachometer! Even when you initially start the vehicle you can barely hear it. And the gas mileage is EXACTLY as advertised- 26.6 city/27-28 highway so far. I cannot see anyone who tests drives BOTH vehicles to not go with the Hybrid. It's only $1500 more than a comparable equipped MDX. The best bargain I have ever seen for this much technology (and I am a tech guy)! Out of the 21 vehicles I have owned since 1965 this by far the BEST vehicle I have ever had!! And that includes 2 sports cars that I loved!! Only one real drawback, Acura is no longer including a spare tire kit so I had to purchase one. One day Acura may only be making Hybrids (so far RLX, NSX, MDX). But for a newly introduced vehicle to the market, YOU CAN'T GO WRONG!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2017 Acura MDX

B. Nine, 08/15/2017
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

This is my second MDX as I had a 2015. While the 2015 was a fine vehicle I was pleased to see some cosmetic changes for 2017 to grille and headlamps as well as making more features standard like lane warning departure. It has the push button shifter which takes a little getting used to but has been fine. Last night the honeymoon came to a very short stop.The vehicle began bucking and shaking and then all the dashboard lights came on! Engine failure; brake failure; the sound system was going on and off by itself. The a/c would go on and off and the seats started shifting. When I pulled into my driveway I couldn't shut the car off. When I finally did, the sound system came back on. Dealer told me that they were having problems with the vehicle and needless to say, I will be driving the dealers loaner for a while. I'm hoping for a positive outcome but I have serious concerns. No bashing of the Acura brand as I like and respect it.Lets see how they repair it and what the outcome is.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

BAD THUMPING IN REAR!!!!!!!!

Evelene Monroe, 07/15/2017
SH-AWD w/Technology and Entertainment Packages 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Need know that this SUV comes with a loud and hard thumping in rear when going over any non smooth road. Please do a real road test not test track.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Transmission sucks

Kathy P, 01/04/2018
Technology Package 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have owned 3 MDX Suv's and the 2017 MDX is dangerous. It is a 9 speed transmission versus previous 6 speed transmissions and will accelerate and surge forward without you increasing the gas pedal. My previous 2011 MDX was smooth and the transmission never gave me a problem. Acura dealership is aware of this and referred me to the Acura Client Relationship 800# but no fix is planned or recall on this car. Beware you may rear end someone when the car lurches forward.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2017 MDX transmission safety nightmare

One Driver, 07/13/2017
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
24 of 30 people found this review helpful

My brand new MDX almost killed me yesterday. It drove jerky from day one. It is not just "me getting used to a 9-speed transmission" like the dealer is telling me. It does shift jerky and frequently slows down independent of what I am doing on the gas or brake. Will occasionally jerk strongly and repeatedly like it is about to stall when driving 35mph for several miles with no need for gears to shift at all. I took it back to dealer within 2-3 weeks of purchase. They claimed could find nothing wrong. It continued as before and before I could get back to the dealer a week or so later this happened: Stuck in stop and go highway traffic for half hour. Every press on the gas was herky jerky but suddenly when traffic finally started to move freely, a press on the gas produced nothing but RPM's revving. I took my foot off the gas and tried again 2-3 times. I put on my flashers and barely rolled to the shoulder through the swerving traffic. I turned off the car and restarted to make my way jerkily back home. Second trip to dealer is so far producing the same bs that they can find no problem. I just found several stories online of same problem. Unless they fix this I am not driving this death machine.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2017 MDX

al labrusciano, 12/03/2016
SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Super car at a great price the advanced package as every thing you could ask for in a SUV heater and cooled leather seats.Super ride and power, plus a a lot of other features that are just too many to list

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My new 2017 MDX

Marianne Kanning, 09/08/2016
Technology and Entertainment Packages 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

This is a great car for the price. This is my third MDX since 2001 and I put many miles on a car. With regular maintenance, this car can go at least 200.000. A very stylish ride.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't Invest in the NAV Package!

hsg33, 07/25/2017
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd Acura. Have always loved the cars. My family all drive them. But this car...11 months later and the navigation system still doesn't work. It looks like I'm driving through the park when I'm driving down major roads. They say there will be a fix, but they don't know when. Don't return my calls in a timely manner. I'm profoundly disappointed in Acura. Won't own another. *Updating this review a year later. They have called my car in once to "fix the navigation system." Still, not fixed. It's now 2 years old. I'm incredibly disappointed with Acura and their customer service. If it impacted more cars, I'm sure they'd have it fixed. But don't seem to have enough customer service to care about the however many folks have been impacted by this problem.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fuel Door does not sit flush and ruins the lines.

Tim Asaro, 04/11/2017
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
20 of 25 people found this review helpful

The fuel door does not sit flush and it is appears cheap! Take away from the quality of the car. I only noticed this after getting delivery of the car. The dealership did their best to adjust the door and it is better than when first delivered but after a months the door is back to looking bad. The fuel door appears not closed! That said, each time I walk up to the car, I see that the door is not sitting flush. I contacted client relations and they said they can't change the design at this point and nothing they can do. So, if quality is what you like. perhaps you should take a 2nd look at the fuel door. I am not at all happy with the answer from Acura client Relations nor the dealership knowingly selling this car with this problem. I connected with 80+ 2017 Acura MDX Owners on Facebook and several others stated a similar problem. Acura has not bothered to notice these social posts but they don't hesitate to solicit new owners for feedback on the quality of the car. I reply to all the surveys and restated my issue. Still no acknowledgement. $50k for a car and lip service from Acura.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

safe, but no acceleration, noisy steering

Simon C, 10/04/2016
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

I agree with previous post the transmission sometimes is jerky. Also when you turn the wheel it makes a noisy grinding sound.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Attractive, economical, and fun-to-drive

Manuel, 04/16/2017
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

We shopped for a long time. The MDX remained our favorite throughout. Elegant, stylish, athletic, and comfortable. Great car!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Gas door cannot be closed to align the car body

Jim Y, 09/27/2017
Technology Package 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The fuel door does not close to align to the surface of car body. I noticed the case door does't close tightly before I bought it. I thought someone opened it accidentally until the time I tried to close the door. The dealer told me then it is a manufacture problem because they saw more than one MDX like this. The dealership did their best to adjust the door and it is better. I mentioned the issue in the customer survey and then a case was opened by Acura Client Relations. I was told they are thinking this is the characteristic of the car and have no repair solution yet. I am very disappointed with the answer from Acura client Relations.

Report Abuse

Is this really a Honda

Joe, 10/10/2016
Technology Package 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
40 of 55 people found this review helpful

Before you buy this car, try the electronic system with the caveats below I have been a loyal buyer of Honda cars for years. However this will be my last purchase from them. I have an 2017 MDX. The GPS and entertainment system is unusable. Don't take my word for it try it before you think about a purchase. GPS does not work- If you try take a different turn then directed on the route, most GPS is will recalculate and redirect you. Not this system. They have made a design change where the GPS will actually direct you off the road. Apparently my dealer tells me that they know about the problem for a long time and hoping for a fix. The car does not allow you to cancel the route as you are driving. The voice activated commands absent do not work. Dealer says they know about this. They tell you not to use the voice activated system. The dealer tells me that the MDX system is not entertainment compatible with iPhone (somewhat odd given their popularity).

Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

2017 MDX

John L Sipe, 10/02/2016
Advance Package 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
13 of 17 people found this review helpful

Love the car except for the transmission. Poor performance for a quality vehicle. Apparently Acura does not have a fix.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

No fix for flawed technology; A-Link to Phone book

Jim Shone, 12/15/2017
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

Generally I like the vehicle, but IPhone phonebook does not download and it is evident that there is no solution. Support from the dealer and Acura is empathetic. The response I get from both is that Apple IOS updates are too frequent and Acura cannot react in a timely manner with a compatible fix for the A-Link system. Whatever the excuse, the feature is flawed. It is upsetting that the dealer knew connectivity was an issue as the salesperson said you can use Siri to access your address book, but did not tell the rest of the story. MDX owners all paid for a hands free phone feature with voice activation, a common feature even in economy cars today that promotes safe driving. Acura, along with the dealer network, knew the problem existed and were glad to charge for the feature. So what about resale value? Would you buy this car with this sort of defect? All that said, I like most everything else about the car so I'm close to being a satisfied customer. Waiting to see what Acura will do to resolve the issue.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice ride but cheap backup camera

Disappointed car buyer, 12/18/2016
SH-AWD 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
16 of 23 people found this review helpful

This car has a surprisingly blurry backup camera. Taken back for adjustment/replacement and the tech said "diagnostics" says its working fine. I asked them to use their eyeballs and look at the image and tell me its ok. They neither agreed or disagreed except to say they will replace it as a courtesy and if the camera is the same, there is nothing they can do since its an Acura issued camera. Well, it was replaced and it looks just as bad. I am relying on good old fashion eyeballs to back this car into parking. Very disappointed and frankly surprised that Acura would install such a "behind the times" old technology blurry camera from another decade into this high end car. I have had other cars that cost less and their cameras are far more superior and way sharper then this one. Fix the problem or recall it Acura!!! Its dangerous to rely on your blurry camera to back up. Its a lawsuit waiting to happen. Also, for this caliber of car, the steering wheel feels like hollow plastic, maneuvering with it takes some adjustment. It feels smaller then the car's handling. And it feels plastic-ky to the touch even though its wrapped with leather or pleather.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Dealer says Deal with the Manufacturer!!!

Sylvia DeVera, 07/12/2017
SH-AWD 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
16 of 23 people found this review helpful

Our transmission gave up in 3500 miles and when complained to dealer he states that they are only sales and I need to take this up with the manufacturer. Very dangerously unsafe vehicle. Filed with HTSA #11003847

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Hybrid MDX - the MDX to buy

Tony, 09/05/2017
Sport Hybrid SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid 7AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We were looking to replace my wife's 2010 Pilot with something modern and a bit smaller (as we didn't need as much space anymore). She wanted something with an interesting design, high quality and would be fun to drive. Kids asked for second row captain chairs with heating. 3-rd row would also be nice to have, since we occasionally need more than 4 people in a car. And finally, we needed an SUV comfortable enough to handle our long family trips. Besides comfortable seats, it had to have driver-assistance capabilities to reduce driver's fatigue. The budget was around $65K. When we started putting together a list of models we wanted to check out, my wife mentioned that one BMW is more than enough for our garage (my 01' M-roadster), so she'd exclude x5/x6 right away. Over the course of 2 weekends of dealership visits, the following options were rejected: Cayenne (only 2-row seating, pricey fun-to-drive models), Macan (just too small), MB GLE (didn't like overall philosophy), Jag F-pace (seating config, compromised rear-seat comfort due to its sedan-based platform), Model X (fabulous car, but way above the budget), Lexus RX (liked the interior and design, but non-heated and somewhat cramped 2-nd row). As such, MDX and Lexus GX were short-listed for test drives. Initially, we tested a gasoline version of MDX (sh-awd). My wife's impression about it was "safe and boring". I think it's because of the transmission on the gasoline model, which takes it's time to decide which gear would be better to use right now, considering a few dozen of factors, which probably include speed, inclination, ambient temperature, recent driving pattern, weather on Mars etc. etc. All this, while you have a really small window in traffic to merge into. Our Pilot was way better in such cases. I asked the sales guy to call me when they get a hybrid version, since I knew it should behave differently in that sense. My wife was excited to test the GX because she preferred its design and interior, due to some reason. Her impression after driving it was: ok on a straight, but so horrible even in moderate curves that it wasn't safe. We decided to wait for the hybrid MDX and keep the Pilot for another year or two in case we didn't like it. When the test car arrived a few weeks later, it exceeded our expectations. For $1500 premium you get two major improvements over the gas AWD version: the Acura's hybrid drive with dual-clutch transmission and the adaptive suspension. The former makes the acceleration faster and much smoother, while the latter allows configuring it for agility or comfort, depending on the situation. As a bonus, you get an outstanding fuel economy. With a bit of knowledge of how hybrids work, it's easy to beat the EPA numbers by 1-2 mpg. If it's not your thing and you prefer active driving style (like my wife), you will get the stated 26-27 mpg. At current gas prices, $1500 extra should pay back in 3-4 years with 12K miles per year. Considering all that, the only meaningful reason of going for a non-hybrid MDX I can think of is the budget limitation only enough to get a base FWD model. FWD Tech package and especially AWD Tech and above doesn't make sense in a non-hybrid model.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Super Handling All Wheel Drive is Great

Joanna, 10/23/2017
SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

2017 Acura MDX SHAWD Advance, after a lot of research and test driving different SUV (RX350, GLC and JX) we decided to purchased the MDX. We loved the Super handling all wheel drive performed. For the value and well equipped Safety you cannot go wrong. Although, one thing I like to point out is the shifting of the transmission feels not as smooth as others I mentioned.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Acura MDX AWD Hybrid Advanced-Look no further!

brad nielsen, 12/19/2017
Sport Hybrid SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid 7AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Acura hit a home run with this car. I have owned Honda’s and Acura’s for 30+ years and this SUV is by far the best and top of the line. It is equipped with everything you will ever want or need. Averaging 26ish mph. Seats are like butter....nothing more comfortable! Wipers come on automatically. Smooth ride....you feel no bumps. Best deal out there for well equipped mid-size SUV. You will not be disappointed. Updated: We were hit broad side at 40mph....side and front airbags deployed and we did not suffer any injuries. Car was totaled, but survived accident like a champ!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great vehicle, horrible transmission

Steve, 03/17/2018
SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My wife loves this vehicle. We've had several SUV's and apart from the transmission, this is her favorite. But the transmission....... when the vehicle is cold, it slips into 4th gear. It has from new and continued to get worse to the point the dealership replaced the transmission at 12,000. After replacing, the same thing is occurring as it did when it was new. So I anticipate in 12,000, if my attorney doesn't make Acura act more quickly, I'll be getting another transmission. After agreeing to replace the transmission, Acura factory reps, now say it is normal. I'd like to tell everyone to buy the MDX but you better really like your Acura Service Writer because you'll be spending some serious time with them.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Second MDX 2017 traded 2015

SN Bueti, 06/25/2018
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

2017 MDX is quite different 2015: tires are larger-9 speed transmission-finished exhaust system instead of hidden exhausts with reflectors. The 9 speed takes a second and a half to down shift but after that it just goes through the gears. Finished rear end similar to what is on Mercedes, a great touch. Don't especially like the leather or shall we say 'fake-leather' interior. Not good, and between the transmission and fake leather had to take a point off the 5 star rating. Great paint and nice chrome accents that 2015 didn't have. Not terrific in the snow, tires are touring, main culprit. Nice looking grill-another reason I traded in '15 for '17. Really like the vehicle and so do other people, that is why there are a ton of them out there! Great lease price on tech package, again change of year model and opted for only 7500 a year as Acura rolled in the 2015 14,000 miles under, only paying $433 month for 36 months and most likely will purchase vehicle at the end of lease for only 30K!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Certified 2017 AWD

Frank Drebin, 08/10/2018
SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my MDX with 4K miles Certified from Acura. I was all set to buy a 2018 until I saw this 2017 and saved 10K over a new one. Only difference is CarPlay in 2018 and a quicker Navigation and radio screen. (see below) It was a service loaner vehicle so I had a few issues taken care of under warranty after purchasing. Let's start with the pros: What's all the fuss with the transmission? If you want better response and shifting put the car in Sports mode it makes a world of difference in performance, or use the paddle shifters on the wheel for more control. Gas mileage is about 27 on the highway. Seats in the Advance package are more comfortable than the Technology Package. Overall very comfortable car to drive in. Cons: The radio and navigation is outdated and very slow. This is where you may want a 2018 where you can use google maps for your navigation, I tunes, Spotify etc with ease and as noted the system is much quicker than 2016-2017 models. I just couldn't justify the cost. Only other con I can think of is that rear tailgate makes a loud beep when closing. It's so loud you may not want to use your tailgate in the early morning hours. Dealer says it's for safety and can't be turned off which seems odd because if you try to stop it from going down it goes right back up to avoid injuring anyone like a garage door which last I checked doesn't beep going down. Anyway, I would recommend this vehicle to anyone. If you need high tech and a better sound system I would check out the Audi's which are up to date on the latest tech stuff for cars.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Acura MDX 2017 Jerky and Choking transmission

David, 05/28/2019
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Acura MDX 2017 transmission chokes/stalls, jerks off while starting from STOP to GO. Cars fly by and at times I have been honked from behind. My transmission got a code of p287a. David McDavid Acura Plano just reset the code and told me everything is fine. But I am still experiencing the same hell with this transmission and they say they cannot do anything as their diagnostic run didn't show the code again. So, I guess I am just in a state of hallucination. Acura says that I have to work with the Plano McDavid Acura dealer. They are also of no help. I will never recommend this dealer or Acura to any of my friends. Stay away from them.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great SUV for price

Amit Patel, 02/08/2017
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Definitely a reliable safe SUV that you can depend on for years. Great price point that you can't pass up. Although Acura puts out great reliable cars I always purchase the extended warranty from either the dealer or credit union.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This is not a luxury car. Tech doesn’t work

Francis Eshun, 01/12/2018
SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I owned a Toyota sequoia prior to buying Acura. The handling of the car is excellent, especially cornering. However, the technology is half-baked. Whenever I am going from higher ground to lower ground the collision avoidance system kicks in. The collision system even kicks in when I make a turn and there is another car making a turn from the opposite side. The memory seat systems and folding mirrors works sometimes and sometimes not. Very frustrating! The Aha audio and Pandora doesn’t work. Replying to text through the entertainment system doesn’t work either. It is as if the manufacturers never tested the car! I am definitely going back to Toyota or Lexus. Very disappointed. I called acura in car tech and they always blame Apple. what a shame!!!

Report Abuse

You will love your Acura MDX

BigBob, 09/23/2016
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

The MDX with the tech package has everything you need as far as safety and comfort. We added thee otional heated steering wheel sunce we live in the northeast. Great vehicle worth every penny!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sorry I spent this much money

Owner, 12/04/2017
SH-AWD w/Advance and Entertainment Packages 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

The car looks great inside and out but the ride is horrific. You feel every bump even little ones and it shakes you around. The second row can make you seasick and has for passengers. The third row is not for sitting I just use it for cargo space. The air-conditioning can be improved. My daughter has a 2008 and it has served her well for reliability and longevity and safety and is much more comfortable seats than mine. Having the cooling system in it makes the seats harder and smaller. No this is not a car I would say you have to have. Very disappointing. After a year I have not changed my mind on the car. It still has a rough ride and the front seat is still hard. If I wouldn't loose so much money I would trade it in and go with the car I had before a Toyota Highlander.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Giddyup!

Bill, 07/03/2017
Sport Hybrid SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid 7AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The hybrid Advance model handles like it's on rails. This is the 4th model MDX I've owned, and as I'd expected, it's simply far and away superior to any of the others. Pros: Hit the gas (or should it be called the hybrid) pedal and it flies off the line. Quietest interior I've ever been in. Steering is tight and responsive. My kids are big fans of the second row captain's chairs. Driver's assisting safety features (lane departure, etc.) seem top notch. Interior features (seats, wood accents) are very nice. Averaging 26.6 MPG so far. Cons: not a fan of the infotainment system. Miss the old buttons for heating and cooling seats. Takes too long (IMHO) for rear view camera to kick in. Had to wait over a minute yesterday for navigation menu to activate - not a big deal unless you're running late like I was. A few minor things I'll have to get used to. Overall I'm a huge fan of this ride. After test-driving the competition, I'd have to say that the bang you get for your buck with the MDX made my choice a no-brainer. Again - just one man's opinion.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Sweet Ride!

Rob Johnson, 09/19/2017
SH-AWD 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We bought this SUV for my wife who travels at least 4 days a week out of town. Her former Honda Accord Touring was nice, but left her tired and sore from the ride. The MDX is totally different. She arrives safely and comfy. We love this ride. The seats are very comfortable and made well. It handles corners like on a rail. It somehow detects turns and encourages outside wheels to travel faster the the others.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Poor tech package.

Roy, 05/16/2019
Technology Package 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Very antiquated GPS and map display. No surround parking cues.

Technology
Performance
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

software is broken

mdxnyc, 05/15/2020
SH-AWD 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

https://www.classaction.org/news/class-action-filed-over-alleged-software-miscommunication-defect-in-2016-2020-acura-mdx-rdx-vehicles this class action suit summarizes exactly what happened to me. i bought it certified (2017, 36k miles) and it shifted to neutral in the middle of the highway. do not buy this car for safety.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Live Traffic is Awful - Hate that it was changed

Stacey Bauknight, 09/08/2017
Sport Hybrid SH-AWD 4dr SUV AWD w/Technology Package (3.0L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid 7AM)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

I've been a fan of the MDX - it's my 3rd. They just changed the live traffic from Sirius or Acura link based to HD radio based. I live in Charleston SC and there IS NO station that has it = NO TRAFFIC. Bait and switch. DO NOT BUY this model if you need the traffic as I do. It's comfortable, gets good mileage but isn't peppy. Update 9/20 I don’t use console at all just my phone.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Post The Formula

Uncle Keith, 02/07/2018
Advance Package 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

FWD no longer standard. Active suspension no longer standard. Push button shifter awful. Nav system not upgraded for years. Transmission hunts and pecks. Fit/finish not impressive. Looks good but the quality and driving experience has headed south from prior MDX models. Honda has lost the Acura formula. Things like the upgraded wheels on the Advance model of the MDX can be seen on Honda Pilots an Accords. Acura is no longer a luxury line of vehicles.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I’m so glad I leased. Beware

Drue Pizzino, 03/25/2018
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

First off. This 9 speed transmission is absolutely horrible. Driving on the street it does not know what gear it should be in at all and the car literally jerks back and forth as the gears shift extremely rough. Coming to a stop at a stop light the car jerks as it shifts gears down. Then stepping on the gas at a green light and be careful you don’t smash into the car in front of you as the car stumbles into 1st gear and jerks and shoots you forward into second. Then second jerks the car into third. It’s absolutely horrible and very frustrating. I leased this car brand new in December and took it to the dealer two days ago in March. The dealer told me this is normal. When I reverse I hear a loud pop as if I ran over a plastic bottle. This is every time I reverse and again the dealer told me it’s normal. The Bluetooth connectivity is a joke because nothing works besides my music in my phone. Pandora doesn’t work, text message retrieval doesn’t work, Hell most of the time it won’t connect to my phone unless I go into my phone and connect to AcuraLink. I’m very dissapointed with the mdx and Acura overall. I won’t be buying another Acura. I will go back to bmw or Mercedes maybe even Land Rover when this lease is up. Acura is supposed to be a luxury brand but from my experience with them vs my experience with Mercedes, Lexus, bmw, and Cadillac. Acura has a lot to learn about being a luxury brand. I’m highly highly dissatisfied and await for the day I return this car and get a true luxury suv with a brand that stands behind their products.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Steering Handling Extremely Poor

Al, 09/13/2017
SH-AWD 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Just bought my 2017 Acura MDX. The steering wheel has a huge amount of play. Told service department about the problem, they told me that was normal in this model. When i test drove a similar model the steering was much tighter. Didn't test drive this vehicle b/4 purchase. I would expect something like this in a very low-end vehicle. This disfunction is going to hurt Acura and future sales.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Think twice

Ken, 10/16/2017
Sport Hybrid SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid 7AM)
6 of 12 people found this review helpful

The “drive” is quite nice. smooth albeit a bit firm for a luxury vehicle although mine is deemed a sport model so I guess I should expect to give a little on the comfort. The front seat is really an unfortable piece of work. Limit of adjustment and steering wheel make this a never ending quest for comfort. The firmness factor is unbearable for any drive over 30 minutes. Not suitable for a 6 ft person. The Technology is total mess. While the world is racing to compete with advanced user interfaces like Apple and Android, for some insane reason this cludge of function is reminiscent of a Dos computer. A night time drive was out right dangerous with distraction of radio controls buried in a mess of heater, ac, seat, presets, tuning, and an array of hard buttons and knobs, each with multiple degrees of function. 6 steps required to change map orientation from North to direction of travel. ?? Are you kidding... Fit and finish one glaring miss aligned fuel door jump out at you and the service manager said they’re all like that with no fix in site.. Overhead control panel has me constantly calling Acura link or emergency when simply trying to open the garage. Net.. a nice platform with 1980’s implementation. Way overpriced for this awful level of refinement. The pilot and odessey have both abandoned the two display infotainment system along with the rest of the industry. . Update..basically reaffirm the above but I would add the 2018 finally added CarPlay but the goofy two display has not yet caught up to the Pilot and the depreciation is far beyond disappointing. Much worse than expected.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Come for the Honda badge, walk away before you buy

Miss My Tahoe, 07/11/2017
SH-AWD w/Advance Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
4 of 8 people found this review helpful

You will hate the center console that slides back and forth, and the stereo that beeps on every button push is trash. Transmission can never decide what gear it wants to be in. They also charge a $700 upgrade for autostart. This isn't a KIA. This car also has more rattles that have to be addressed.. Shouldn't have to bring a new car in for them to fix rattling Chinese plastic. Wish we would of bought another Tahoe.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050