Used 2003 Volvo XC90 Consumer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
160 reviews
List Price Estimate
$2,446 - $4,231

Used XC90 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
3.5 out of 5 stars

What a nightmare!!!

dok, 09/11/2010
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have finally solved all of my 2003 XC90 problems, I GOT RID OF IT! Let me count the thousands of dollars I spent in 7 years on maintenance, 4 sets of tires, 2 were the crappy pirelli's, then 1 set of michellins and finally 1 set of goodyear assurance tires rated for 80,000 miles. A leaky power steering unit, both front lower ball joints and tie rod ends. And a new transmission after 57000 miles along with a leaky sun roof and the emissions evporative pump and charcoal canister. but what realy hurts IS not being able to find a volvo dealer that could fix the car reliably and honestly. steer clear of volvo of edison's service department.

Report Abuse

4.13 out of 5 stars

Very happy @ 200,000

in_a_hurry, 11/09/2011
2.5T Fwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
28 of 31 people found this review helpful

I've read the recent reviews and it appears most folks are pretty miffed with their XC-90's. I couldn't be happier with mine. A couple car pool trips shy of 200,000 miles (I bought it new) and no major issues - never a tranny, motor, A/C or electrical problem. I get about 45,000 miles on tires - not great but a willing compromise knowing I'm driving a stout porker that's as safe as anything on the road. I have an honest, reliable mechanic who has taken care of a couple cars for me - a bonus. Other than scheduled maintenance items, there hasn't been much to repair on the car that would not be expected, given the mileage. Ball joints and motor mounts are the only things that come to mind

Report Abuse
2.13 out of 5 stars

15 + Years A Volvo Owner - No More !!

Stephen J. Lalor, 01/02/2007
2.5T Fwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Was true Volvo believer here for over 15 years but no more! I have always loved this brand and believed in but the XC 90 is the most unreliable, high maintenance auto I have ever owned. 60 k miles now, and am in need of (4th set of 4 tires)and front-end ball joints; heating and air conditioning system has never worked correctly (and they can't figure it out), passenger side front window has broken at least 4 times; wind shield wiper blades fly off car.... shall I continue? I just purchased a different brand SUV even though I have 3 months to go on my Volvo-KLUNKER lease! 2007 Buyers - beware and consider alternative, less expensive SUVs unless you enjoy visiting dealer service facilities.

Report Abuse

2.63 out of 5 stars

What Volvo is not telling you about this car.

marigold1, 03/09/2012
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
40 of 48 people found this review helpful

I would stay far away from buying another Volvo after everything my family has been through with our 2003 XC90. The engines are not built to work with the transmissions. We have replaced the transmission every 30,000 miles. It has now become a safety issue. It has broken down on me too many times to count. I have dumped almost $12,000 into it. Go look at the service center at your local Volvo dealership. The lot is full of cars needing repairs. We have replaced the transmission 3 times, radiator, shocks, struts, axles, arm bushings...even down to the door handles. Do not make the same mistake we did. It is not a reliable car and I consider it a safety risk to drive.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

5th Volvo

SK Love, 05/15/2009
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

The XC90 was my 5th Volvo. I have loved every Volvo and have but good things to say. I rarely have had to go to service in between my maintenance service. The XC90 is so much fun to drive and get around in. It is quick & a VERY smooth ride. Love it!!

Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

First Year XC90...Gremlins

hpark, 02/25/2007
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Bought the T6 as a certified used car from a local dealership in 2004 with 24K on it...thank goodness for warranty as this vehicle was in the shop too often..during our first year of ownership approx 4 visits and about 1.5 months of non-use as they finally determined the engine block was cracked which caused a perpetual coolant bleed into the cylinders...plus since then sunroof drain blockage caused water to leak into the vehicle and soak all of the electrical in front. Tires burn through in about 20k miles and a window switch that sank into the door panel. Guess this is part of the First year gremlins that came out...long story short...I think the Japanese earned their quality reputation.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

03 volvo xc90 tranny becomes granny after all this

Flo hernandez, 07/04/2018
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Make sure that the transmission is taken care if when purchasing old n have all the records that has been done to the car before purchasing.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

My Favorite Car

Vicki, 04/04/2006
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

Almost the perfect vehicle! I'm in sales so I live in my car...consequently the interior is very important. I would love to have an electronic lumbar support adjustment. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this vehicle. Drives and performs like a dream! I will definitely buy another one when the time comes! I did not like the factory tires however and replaced those with ones that give better ride, handle and wear!

Report Abuse
1.63 out of 5 stars

Bad reliabitlity had to get rid ,very disappointed

klosterfrau1, 05/29/2013
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
17 of 26 people found this review helpful

I was lucky to get this car to 125k almost every month I had it in the shop for all kinds of problems from shocks to spark plug and coils replaced. brakes squeaking and replaced that didn’t fix the problem and the rotors were replaced and still didn’t fix the problem. The transmission gave out and had to be replaced, a piston gave out it was replaced, dashboard lights out , brake lights were out and the mechanic could not find the short so the wiring was replaced but the dash warning came on every time you step on the brakes. It leaks! The gas tank was leaking, then coolant started leaking and then wiper washer fluid started to leak as well. Tsc gave out, electric system warning came on.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Safety with style

comp, 10/31/2003
2.5T Fwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Outstanding daily driver. Easy to navigate in city traffic. Lot's of power when needed. Very comfortable on long trips. Excellent gas mileage.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

Frequent Service

Sad volvo owner, 11/22/2006
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Second volvo to own. Other was turbo S80. Both required frequent servicing. The S80 become costly after the warranty period. I was happy that I did not purchase the extended warranty because most of the problems were not covered or I used up the time before reaching the mileage. We are now located in Houston and recently their service is not user friendly. At least in St. Louis, the service was user friendly. Frequent service but user friendly. Service problems in this XC90 included the transmission needing replacement, the Turbo needing service and then multiple small electronic issues. I guess the Swedes haven't mastered computers yet. With only 28K, looking for a new vehicle!

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Not overly impressed

Wedge, 11/04/2003
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought my first Volvo instead of Lexus. Not overly impressed. I have had it in shop 5 times: Loud knocking from front wheel hubs. Foudn out after second complaint that hubs were not knocking when torque added or removed via gas pedal. Front windows a nightmare. Creaking and noisy over bumps. Customer service at dealer not good. They will call you incessantly for feedback then do NOTHING with it! Anyone else find the driver's seat not very comfortable?

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

SLPAKP's Review

slpakp, 11/04/2003
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I really love my new XC90...it is great fun to drive after moving from a Chrylser Town and County. Less room, but great handling. One complaint is the way the key/remote control lock is designed. The key attaches to one's keyring via a small metal connector that is not permanently attached to the remote control device. Twice, I have almost lost my key when my key ring and the metal connector have separated. Volvo should design a higher quality connector, one that is integral to the remote control device itself, not something that connects to it and then to your key ring.

Report Abuse
1.63 out of 5 stars

Never Again

phred3717, 07/15/2011
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
8 of 15 people found this review helpful

I will never buy another Volvo. This car cost me countless hours and huge sums of money to keep running. I had an extended waranty to begin with but then the real problems began. Brake pads annually, main engine seals, tierod ends, transmission. Broke down on family trips even after being serviced faithfully by dealer! Last straw - the turbos blew on a road trip 1,000 Km from home with family and friends onboard. Got $100 for it and was happy to see the end of it. Fool me once shame on you Volvo - wont happen again.

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

Worst Car I Ever Owned

Tom, 07/08/2010
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

This was my first and will be my last Volvo. This thing needs new tires every 20,000 miles, grinds through brake pads, needed a new transmission at 80,000 miles and now at 100,000 miles the turbo is blown. Probably had this car in the shop 2 to 3x per year for various electrical and mechanical problems. Volvo was gracious enough to replace the transmission for only the cost of labor (I am convinced they have a silent recall going on) but it still cost me $1,600. Now to fix the turbo will cost another $5,000. It is time to trade in this albatross....I should have done it 30,000 miles ago. Volvo should just recall this vehicle and give everybody their money back.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

good car but expensive to keep

Anonymous, 12/07/2010
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

i bought this car this past summer with 144xxx miles on it but when i bought it the motor was gone so i got a good deal on it, i bought a motor for $3000 with 70xxx miles and first it ran great but then one of the turbos quit. the transmission has ever been an issue for me but this car is very expensive to keep it only gets about 8 mpg but it rides nice so i guess its not too bad

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Volvo is Swedish for Unreliable Money-Pit

rogerb41, 10/30/2011
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
6 of 14 people found this review helpful

Be careful of what you wish for. We liked the design of the Volvo XC90, but after we bought it..... Let's see: 30k miles, the ENTIRE front end had to be replaced (after about 4 shots by the dealer to fix it). At 80k miles, Transmission failed. Wow! $5,000 for a transmission!! Around 110k miles, the CD changer and radio stopped working. Would come on and go off randomly; sometimes staying on after the car was turned off. The roof liner on both sides of the windhshield came off. The At 113k miles, Transmission failed AGAIN! Said Good-bye this morning to the Money-pit. Will never own another Volvo (my wife's 2002 S40 was the same story)

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Less than thrilled- Consider the T5

farsidejohn, 02/09/2003
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am not delighted with this car. There is a noticeable squealing whenever I back off the accelerator. The problem (thought to be turbocharger back-pressure) is currently "under investigation" by Volvo. The windshield washers are loose and turn on their own. Not the kind of build quality you would expect on a $40K+ car. Fuel economy on the T6 is awful. In summary, there are no major problems but this is not what I expected for $43K. Do not overlook the T5 version as it is nearly as fast as the T6 with smoother performance due to the 5 speed transmission. It also has much better fuel economy. If I had it to do over again, I would have bought the T5.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

VOLVO XC90

SLMCPA, 11/06/2003
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

NICE SOLID DRIVING CAR, BUT DISSAPPOINTING OVERALL. I HAVE HAD TO TAKE THE CAR BACK FOR WARRANTY WORK NEARLY EVERY OTHER WEEK. TIRES WERE WORN OUT AT 10,000 MILES. SEATS DROP ALL MEMORY IF MORE THAN ONE DRIVER USES THE SAME KEYLESS ENTRY. FIELD OF VISION ON THE SIDE AND SIDE VIEW MIRRORS IS VERY BAD. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL NEAR MISSES. WE HAVE THE THIRD ROW SEATING OPTION AND THE INTERIOR FEELS VERY CRAMPED IN ALL THREE ROWS. RUBBER GASKET UNDER ROOF RACK IN THE FRONT MADE A TERRIBLE HUMMING NOISE AND HAD TO BE REPLACED.

Report Abuse
2.75 out of 5 stars

Don't waste your money!

Soured on Volvo, 01/27/2004
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This vehicle has been in and out of the shop for the past 5 weeks. For some reason a lot of sensors keep going BAD. The last one to go bad was the gas pedal sensor while I was pulling out into traffic! I have put one set of new tires on at 10,000 miles-Volvo says this is normal. New brakes at 16,000. Now at 26,000 miles-600 extra miles traveling back and forth to the dealership for repairs and then back home I need another set of new tires! I have had it with this vehicle and will never own another Volvo. Volvo is willing to give me some kind of assitence with getting a new Volvo, but will not admit there is anything wrong with this particular xc 90

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

really disappointed

oliver986, 06/17/2004
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

love the looks, but could not be more disappointed with volvo and the vehicle. vehicle died on me 3 times, including a road trip, and other than a dealer in florida i took the car to on vacation, the dealers were not very helpful. i know 1 other xc90 t6 owner who has had the same computer ignition problem, so i'm not the only one. i wrote a letter to the ceo of volvo, who, in my owner information, said to contact him with any concerns. i have never heard back from anyone at volvo on my problems. nor did i ever hear from anyone to confirm my car was working after several roadside assistance calls. not the kind of upscale experience i expected. so i trade

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

Leaky Volvo XC-90

MammaDean, 10/17/2005
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We recently had a series of problems and are very unhappy with both the local dealer and Volvo Customer Service. We had the car towed in 3 times for electrical problems before they found the problem and at the same time it was leaking. We had seen leaking around the sun roof but the car was flooding into the passenger floor - which was blamed on the sunroof drain. Again, we took it in 3 times - were accused of parking it outside! and even dumping a bucket of water in it. We paid over $1500 dollars to clean up the mess and Volvo refused to cover it under warranty. Our car was either dead or in the shop for 42 days out of the past 2 months. I will sell it and NEVER buy another Volvo

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Bad Stereo

xc90owner, 04/03/2003
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased a loaded XC90 T6, W/NAV, 12 speaker premium stereo and 3rd row. THE STEREO IS FLAT OUT - FLAT. There is absolutely no bass (except for a bit from the door speakers. I was told that the optional subwoofer is not a possible option with a 3rd row. After spending $48,000, it is very disappointing.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV

Wizardatruestar, 11/14/2002
2.5T Fwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is the best and safest SUV ever built. The safety features simply blow away the competition with innovative, state-of-the-art engineering. This vehical definatly raised the bar in the luxury SUV market. Now...try to get one!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Great Test Drive

M3M, 01/06/2003
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Test Drive...Very comfortable. I'm 6'3 and my wife is 5'1; we were both comfortable. It rides extremely smoothly and shifts gears well. The geartronic trans didn't shift quite so smoothly, but still useful and fun. The 5 cyl (5 speed) had better pick-up than the 6 cyl (4 speed).

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

curtr, 08/24/2003
2.5T Fwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The safetst SUV out there. Exudes confidence in all types of driving from local city city to extreme mountain terrain. Gas mileage for this size vehicle is above average. Currently at 19.2 city and 24.6 highway on premium fuel. Interior comfort is best in its class. Total experience is above average.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Meets High Expectations

Doug , 07/08/2007
2.5T Fwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The vehicle continues to look and ride like new after four years. 2.5T cruises great at 60-80 mph. Wear on tires and brakes is more than we had anticipated. Great on long trips. City mileage is a modest disappointment.

Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

Too many troubles

Renee Blei, 10/07/2005
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have not been satisfied with this vehicle's workmanship at all. I have had a wheel hub replaced, rear shocks, front sway bar, 2 rear sway bars, turbo boost valve, front cupholder has been repaired 3 times, floor mat tensioners replaced twice, 2 sets of front brakes, and the worst tire performance of any car I have ever had. I really was in love with this car until recently. It is behaving worse than an American car. Hate to give it up but I will not be able to afford this car much longer

Report Abuse
1.88 out of 5 stars

Test Drive of XC90

MikeNLPD-9, 11/07/2002
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

The car some what tight inside

Report Abuse
1.38 out of 5 stars

Worst SUV I have ever purchased

Janeen, 10/06/2003
2.5T Fwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

So many problems with my XC90. Volvo sent this SUV out and did not finish putting it together. The carpet fell down in the front seat, outside window trim was not attached, numerous problems with the braking system-very loud noise, exhaust was entering car, Anti skid warning light kept coming on, When unlocking the front door the trim around the lock came off, made repeated trips to dealership and they said they fixed it and they did not. Can't wait to get rid of this SUV!

Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

Volvo XC 90 T6 Sucks !

Volvo XC 90 sucks, 04/24/2003
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 4 people found this review helpful

XC 90 is the greatest disappointment in 35 years of buying and driving new cars. The engine lags at odd times, feeling like engine is stalling out on acceleration,cutting vehicle speed. Dealer checked OBD computer. No faults,therefore,no problem. Premium Dolby II Surround Sound system cuts out intermittantly in both radio and CD modes.Display disappears and sound stops. Dealer checked with Volvo. There may be "software" fixes for both problems, so I have to wait until May 2 for the Volvo Tech Rep to examine the car.After a week and a half of owning this vehicle, I'm ready to sell it, or JUNK IT!

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Serious Competition

RPM3, 10/21/2002
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 5 people found this review helpful

Well I had a chance to test drive this SUV at the SF preview and I am very impressed. Quality is excellent and Volvo has done their homework with respect to providing a complete package. I always knew Volvo's were safe, but this SUV is truly amazing. Even at full throttle it is impossible to flip this thing. During the test drive we had it going almost sideways at about 55mph and the safety features kept the vehicle always in control.

Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

Safe but Sorry

John, 03/22/2010
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

We've had Volvos in the past and this one has been a real disappointment. Requested an extended warranty after multiple problems and Volvo did honor our request. You feel safe driving it but the rattles and excessive tire wear are just a few of the issues. This was a model year but we took the risk becasue of our luck in the past with Volvo.

Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

avoid the 2003 XC90

steveswife1, 01/08/2006
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

We've had tons of service problems. Volvo keeps telling us it is because the vehicle is the first year for the model. The vehicle absolutely cannot hold an alignment (we get it realigned every 3-6K miles) and burns thru tires rapidly (every 10-12K miles). Every time we have something fixed, a new problem emerges within 500 miles of driving. Lots of stuff (rear shocks, bearings, brake pads) have had to be replaced prematurely, and there have been many minor problems (stench from HVAC, radio malfunctions, etc.) on top of more serious concerns.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

pretty solid

jj, 01/27/2005
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had this auto for two years now. I still get looks while driving. It is a very comfortable auto to drive and lots of safety stuff too.

Report Abuse
2.25 out of 5 stars

Ball and Chain

XC90 Owner, 06/22/2008
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought our XC90 used, knowing that it had a couple of problems to fix, but thought that the discount of buying it used would make up the difference, were we wrong. After multiple trips to the Volvo dealership for engine light issues, door seal leaks, transmission seal leaks, brake master cylinder leak/failure, and several other small engine repairs. We've deemed the check engine light the "$1000 light", because every time it comes on or we make a trip to the dealership for repairs it costs at least $1000. Great idea for Volvo's first SUV, but plagued with problems. Later years don't seem to be much better. Fun to drive, looks great, way too expensive to maintain and repair!

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

Nice Car, Costs a small fortune to maint

Dennis, 03/01/2009
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned a lot of cars over the years, this one is buy far the most expensive to maintain. I'm on my third set of tires with only 56,000 miles. The first two sets from the dealership got less than 20K each. The tires generally recommended are too light for this car. The third set was Michelins but they aren't up to the task either. For my next set of tires I'm going to try the GoodYear Assurance ComforTred tires. It took the service department about 3 years to finally fix the leak in my power steering. And the funny noise the front end suspension made every time I made a right turn. Now let me count how many suspension parts and brake pads I've had to replace... The gas mileage sucks.

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

Volvo Owner No More!

Edashcash, 09/13/2010
2.5T Fwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When I first got the vehicle I loved it, but after having it for 2 + years, it's not reliable..something is always wrong with it..had so much trouble with the Axles where it would shake rigourously 60-70 mph..the A/C stops blowing out consistently after 20 min..and when it's on its too darn cold! The temp. gauge doesn't work so it's either freezing or hot.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Test drive

mla, 11/15/2002
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just recently took one for a spin at the Volvo test drive event. Was impressed by all the safety features. Drove like a sedan. Great roll control. Integrated child booster seats. Wonderful handling and control.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

AWESOME

Volvoman, 11/16/2002
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have been driving a demo model T-6 AWD for the better part of a week, and have fallen in love with every mile. More carlike ride and handling than I had wxpected and fuel mileage is decent. Am looking forward to more seat time in a 2.5T as it becomes available

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The SUV to Drive

MLB2003, 11/21/2002
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After much anticipation I finally test drove this vehicle and have already put my order in. The drive is smooth and quiet and the interior is so luxurious. It has great handling and there is room for me to put groceries in the back with the 3rd row seat in. The safety features alone really impressed me and I LOVE the booster seat that comes with the versatility package. Now I can hand my son his juicy juice with ease. We've always wanted an SUV and now we are so glad we waited. This is undeniable the car for our family.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

XC90- Wow

FarsideJohn, 11/23/2002
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Volvo XC90 is an incredible vehicle combining luxury and utility. Every aspect of this car has been thoroughly thought through. This is easily the best SUV available on the market today.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Best of the Best

FredM, 11/28/2002
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I felt that this was the best SUV that I drove. I drove the x5 (all over the road), the Acura MDX (Too stiff) but lots of goodies for the price. I have to wait for mine to come in. Seems like there is a long waiting list

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best Luxury SUV

Chnc, 12/05/2002
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I looked at all the competitors (mercedes, bmw, acura, lexus, jeep, toyota, etc.) and nothing compares at this price point. Best combination of value, safety, luxury and versatility. Volvo did a great job with this vehicle. Over 50% more space then the BMW on the inside while only being a few inches longer. Only a few thousand more then the Acura MDX but offers so much more in terms of safety and luxury features.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

grrrrrrreat

McGrady, 12/07/2002
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is a great car with sooo much traction control and safety and u feel in it that u own the whole steert

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Volvo SUV Review

Rcnee, 12/07/2002
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Unreal Suv. The best and compared to the BMW a lot less $. The 3rd row seat is great and easy to get back to them.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

First 1000 miles

nicksal, 12/23/2002
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Traded a 2000 Suburban on the XC90. Clearly a fantastic vehicle. My wife and I have enjoyed every mile so far. Our 3 children 7,4 and 3 are very comfortable without any compromise. No matter where we are, people stop and look at the car, often being complimentary. I recommend this car over a Suburban or an Expedition based on personal experience.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Finallly

TinCup, 12/24/2002
2.5T AWD 4dr SUV (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After months of waiting with a deposit on a car I had never seen my XC90 finally arrived. The 2.5T AWD drives great. It has a high fun factor for an SUV of this size. Very verstile, very nice. The car gets a lot of attention on the road.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Test Drive

Alex1212, 12/22/2002
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Watch out BMW and Mercedes! This vehicle is simply the best. It feels tight and is very easy to drive. I have test driven many Lux SUV's and the Volvo tops them all. The Acura is it's closest match in size, but the Volvo's looks, opions and safety is beyond compare. I feel sorry for those who are willing to pay so much more and get so much less!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Volvo xc90

cphammer, 12/24/2002
T6 AWD 4dr SUV (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Nice vehicle, turns heads on the street. Perhaps the safest SUV on the road. Superb interior amenities. Downside. Large pillar members increase lateral blind spots when driving.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050