Used 2006 Volvo C70 Consumer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
25 reviews
List Price Estimate
$4,766 - $9,118

Used C70 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.88 out of 5 stars

A Convertible For Adults

Steve, 06/03/2006
T5 2dr Convertible (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

If top-down driving inspires you but safety, build quality and seating for 4 motivate you, then this is your convertible. A head-turner with the top up or down, the converting process is guaranteed to stop traffic. Actual adults can fit in the rear seat, and if you drive like an adult (i.e. - don't need to prove your manhood by speeding, snaking through traffic or excessive horsepower) the C70 will keep you smiling for years to come.

Report Abuse

4.38 out of 5 stars

Suspension and tire woes

"Tired" Out, 09/06/2009
T5 2dr Convertible (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6M)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Wonderful to look at, and fun to drive, but a disaster on tire wear. Dealer states that suspension is designed for high speed driving, so tire wear will be an issue. Originals wore out at 14000, and this set will be about the same. Dealer suggests going with H rated tires for better wear, but they aren't authorized to put them on. I'm thinking a trade is in the near future. Hate to do it, because I love the car, but $1000 + for tires every 14000 miles is no good. Local tire dealer says the suspension system (camber) is not adjustable, so Im stuck. Beware and watch for tire cupping.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Never again

chris292, 09/26/2011
T5 2dr Convertible (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6M)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for 5 years and it has 104k miles. First off, tires. This thing eats them. The best we've done is 20k miles, the worst was 10k. I've put 6 sets on it, and we have them rotated and realigned every 4k miles. Brakes. These have been replaced 4 times so far. Other replacements include the nav (twice), alternator, motor mounts, suspension (entire thing) and several "fixes" to the top. The car is driven on regular public roads and we go slow over speed bumps. The seats have twice now decided to move backwards on their own while I was getting stuff out of the back seat. On both occasions I was stuck and had to have help to get out.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2006 Volvo C70 T5 Convertible

JKaderlik, 06/21/2019
T5 2dr Convertible (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought this car site on seen at an auto dealership advertising on CL on 12/18/2018. Had 147k on it. Purchased for 3,900.00 cash. Car was a huge upgrade from my previous commuter (2006 Chevy HHR). Talk about a major head turner of a car. Bright red, black leather w/chrome accents , 6 speed manual. Car is absolutely gorgeous in design and a blast to drive! People have stopped me at gas stations asking me what is that car and where did I get it.Had several issues with coolant leaking from underneath the engine but turned out it was old worn out radiator hoses. Simple fix. As of 6/23/2021, I Have driven it 45K miles with car now sitting at 192k and still no other issues otherwise. Drove it from Galveston Texas to Faribault Mn in one day only stopping for gas. Trip took 4 gas fill ups with total trip mileage at 1,039 miles. Smooth sailing all the way! My 1st Volvo and will certainly will not be my last.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3.13 out of 5 stars

Tire issues are a problem

Bay area gal, 07/24/2010
T5 2dr Convertible (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 6M)
13 of 16 people found this review helpful

Told first set of tires were just bad tires and replaced at 20 k miles due to excessive cupping. Within 10 k miles back tires cupping again dealer monitored and replaced back tires only after stating they fixed the issue. Volvo would not replace front tires. Told tires on front had at least 20k miles at least on them with plenty of wear left. 3 months after replacing the back, cupping noise back. Dealer stated they did in fact hear and see cupping starting again. Did alignment and asked me to bring back for check in 5k miles. Waited 3k miles 2 months and was just told back tires are fine, no cupping which is discrepancy from 3 months ago and told front tires need replaced. Incredible

Report Abuse
Items per page: