Used 2018 Subaru Outback Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$19,000 - $34,998

Used Outback for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Less noise than last year

Scott M., 08/12/2017
3.6R Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
133 of 135 people found this review helpful

I drove the 2017 Outback and really liked it, except for the wind noise and road noise. I read that Subaru was going to make improvements in that department with new glass and insulation in the wheel wells. I'm glad I waited for the 2018. The difference is very noticeable. The new interface for the infotainment system is nice, too. The fit and finish is excellent. I'm very pleased with this vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

3rd Outback

CW, 11/05/2017
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
48 of 48 people found this review helpful

This review is based relative to my experience with my 2 previous Outbacks both of which were also Premium models. The 2018 is an entirely different vehicle. Drivers seat is less slippery and feels ab it deeper, in my 2011 and 2015 I was always repositioning myself. The seat does sit a bit lower than I like. The new gearing/programing on the CVT was needed and my 2018 performs like a real car now rather than the past 2 tach screamers. The new media center is so much easier to use than the past one I just wanted to bet with a hammer sometimes. mileage is about the same and still great. Ride is a whole lot quieter and I'm still getting used to the eyesight feature but a nice option so far. Just before I traded in my 2015 I put new 60k Cooper tires on it and they were awesome, the stock tires on new Outbacks are short lived and somewhat noisy but that's about the only negative......so far

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car but Electronic Gremlins

Roger Harrison, 10/12/2017
3.6R Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
105 of 109 people found this review helpful

We traded our 2015 Legacy on a 2018 3.6R touring and embarked on a 3000 mile tour of the West. The four was best around town; performance, particularly at 6000 ft. where we live, was adequate at best and the engine note was like rattling a coffee can full of rocks. It was an engine you felt sorry for. The 3.6R is an entirely different proposition - a great, quiet, confidence inducing long distance cruiser with plenty of power from an engine that sounds like it's enjoying itself. We averaged 28MPH with a lot of two-lane driving. Blind spot warning is much better now; a big yellow light nearer the driver that's easy to see. The HD rear view camera is very good, and the cross traffic alert is a life saver (literally) in crowded parking lots. Lane keep departure and assist work like they are supposed to. I think I finally found the right settings on the cruise control, but it takes a while; it brakes later than I would. Perhaps most impressive were the headlights; the auto high beams work so well they can be left on, and I like the diretional function of the headlight very much. But electronic gremlins came early and often: the car locked us out on the first day; the control center/navigation screen has frozen three times - once on a doo wop station that we couldn't turn off, and twice when it was navigating us somewhere. The navigation's voice command is not always syncronized with the onscreen prompts, and I find the Tom Tom navigation ackward to use, with a only a vague idea of where it is. Having to use the touchscreen to adjust the scale on the navigation map is distracting and it won't adjust behind 1/4 mile, at least on mine. Strangely, I find the audio in the 2018 Touring not up to the one in the 2015 Legacy although both are Harmon Karden. The new on is just OK.

Technology
Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

For what it is, great. Some updates needed

Pj smith, 12/21/2017
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
47 of 48 people found this review helpful

Moving from a 528 to this, so my expectations are moderate, but have been exceeded. Great safety features with the eyesight package. Decent power with the 6 cylinder (the 2.5 felt anemic to me). Not great gas mileage, but the car has s normally aspirated, so no need for premium fuels, which helps. About the only true beef I have is that the infotainment system is a known week spot. It’s been in need of a software update for a year, and Subaru America has been ignoring it. My quirks are generally minor and infrequent. Other owners I know have lost the whole system for a day at a time, which the dealer can’t replicate in most instances, and for which there is no fix until the Manufacturer rolls out a cleaned up patch

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good SUV alternative uncomfortable seats

slm66, 11/25/2017
3.6R Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
62 of 64 people found this review helpful

This is an update to earlier review. Now have owned car, radio head unit died and was replaced under warranty. Thus far new unit appears to be working although volume inconsistent. Sometimes after phone call radio volume comes back far louder than it was set. Road noise much more noticeable than in my former car especially noticeable to other people if using phone. I miss feature on old car that lowered fan speed on a/c during call and volume adjust for speed on radio. Any driver with back or neck issues should consider an extended test drive. I test drove the outback several times and even took it home for a weekend. I had some tightness in mid back but attributed that to some yard work I had been doing. A The seats are extremely firm and as others have mentioned the lumbar is aggressive and seems a little misplaced for me. I am 5'4". I believe the angle of the seat bottom (angled toward the back) is an issue. There is no way with the power adjustable seat to level out the seat cushion. It leaves your hips postioned at less than a 90 degree angle which is not comfortable for me. Each day I find my back pain increasing to the point that I may need to sell this car at a loss. After a four hour road trip (2 hours driving and 2 as passenger) I was uncomfortable. Positives of this car. It is great for difficult terrain. We climbed a dirt road hill with a significant incline using the xmode and it handled it with ease. Gas mileage is good for a 6 cylinder and size of car is great for around town. The touring edition has all the latest safety features. My windshield has cracked due to a rock. Windshields seems less strong than other cars. BE aware that the eyesight technology requires that any chip or crack in windshield be repaired with a Subaru windshield. Chips can not be filled or it interferes with the eyesight system per Subaru service dept. A windshield and recalibration of eyesight can run upwards of $1500. They do offer a windshield extended warranty type contract. Sales will likely not point this out during your test drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Car Shakes at Highway Speed

Old Vet, 11/08/2017
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
95 of 99 people found this review helpful

Before buying, test drive this vehicle on a smooth Interstate. I didn't and it cost me. While the driver's seat is very comfy, driver vision excellent, power adequate and amenities (Bluetooth, CD, radio) easily accessible, the fact that the vehicle developed what I'm told is a harmonic vibration at speeds in excess of 60 mph made it unacceptable to me. The dealer balanced the tires and ultimately replaced all of them, to no avail. Firmly informed that the vibration is "normal" (state lemon law only requires a vehicle to behave normally), I had to get used to a mild shake or take the loss and trade it on something else. If you are not bothered by a mild but constant vibration on the highway, beyond what the pavement causes, then this may be the car for you. In any case, be sure to test it on the highway before writing the check.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Head Unit Nightmare

K. Howard, 12/31/2017
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
123 of 129 people found this review helpful

One week after purchasing the 2018 Outback, the infotainment system began having problems. It would repeatedly turn off and on during my daily commute. A week later, the entire head unit shut down and would not restart and the backup camera would not come on. Contacted the dealer who said it needed a software update, so scheduled an appointment with service department for the same week. The day before I was scheduled to take the car in, the car would not start. Nothing on the car worked. I had it towed into the dealership through roadside assistance. They performed the software update and installed a new battery. Three days later, and the head unit is repeatedly turning off and on again. Apparently, the software update was not effective. Very unhappy with this vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Beware the Squirrely Screen!!

GFE, 08/13/2018
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

Very, very happy with this purchase. Handles like a dream, gets a dependable 33 MPG on the highway, fantastic visibility and road feel. The ONE thing that disappoints me is the "screen" in the dashboard -- the nerve center of the vehicle. We had it less than a month when, one day, the screen went blank. No back-up camera, no "home" screen, no radio...nothing. Just. Went. Blank. It came back later in the day, but that was not much consolation...know that the screen could crap out at any moment. It has worked fine ever since. BUT...the Android Auto app is also a bit janky -- and doesn't work reliably. Disconnects from the USB-connected phone, or sometimes doesn't want to connect at all. When it works, it's great. But when it's being difficult, it's infuriating.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Electronic nightmare!

Barbara J., 11/19/2018
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

My 2018 Outback's multi-media system went to black 7 months after I bought the car - no GPS, Bluetooth, radio, CD, phone functions. I was also having a problem with my brakes seizing on my driveway because apparently the safety sensors thought there was an obstacle (but there wasn't.) When I went into the service department, I was informed that they couldn't repair the multi-media system because it wasn't a Subaru part and they had no parts for the electronic system. Three weeks later, they have no definite date as to when this problem can be repaired. The service manager told me that there were 3 other customers waiting to have this multi-media system replaced. The service agent informed me that the braking problem was simply "because your car thinks there is an obstacle." I was so disgusted, I asked Subaru to buy back my car but was informed that this was not an option. I have never owned a Subaru until recently - I wish I never bought one!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Right Choice Update II

Kit Harma, 12/13/2017
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
66 of 69 people found this review helpful

After 20,000 miles and 21 months of ownership here is my update: Same over all satisfaction with the comfort and fuel efficiency but getting a little bit annoyed with the buggy electronics. We have had the rear hatch position sensor replaced, the head unit and fuel remaining software updated and just last week the amplifier was replaced as per Subaru Service Bulletin 15-235-18R. We have made two round trips from Washington to Arizona taking four days to cover each leg comfortably and getting 32 mpg. We haven't found the limit on how much stuff can be transported in this vehicle. The clearcoat finish scratches very easily.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Do research before buying

Rick Schein, 02/19/2018
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
50 of 52 people found this review helpful

Navigation system is poor - turns on road from middle of bridge. Android Auto and Starlink are intermittent (4 vists to dealer, replaced radio head, replaced firmware) They have no idea. They replaced radio head with a remanufactuired unit (car was 2 weeks old!) Still doesn't work. They have no one who understands the computer side of the car. National support is poor.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

What took me so long?

Keith, 02/08/2018
2.5i Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
90 of 95 people found this review helpful

My purchase of a 2018 Subaru was a bit of a fluke. I was replacing a 2014 Honda CR-V, my second one in a row. Although the Honda is a great value and roomy for it's class, we were simply tired of all the road noise! The 2018 Honda was supposed to be quieter....I don't think so, and so the search began in earnest for a replacement. Bottom line we wanted something that had the gas mileage, Utility, and reliability of the CR-V, but needed to ride and be much more "travel" (quiet) friendly. After testing 8 vehicles; i.e.; Volvo XC60, Toyota Highlander, Kia Sorento, Honda CR-V, Honda Pilot, Acura RDX, Mazda CX9, & the Ford Edge, we still were not happy...Either they used premium fuel, had large noisy tires, too expensive or simply the same as everybody else; and then we finally drove the Subaru. We knew folks that owed them, and not one person who actually owned them said nothing but positive things about theirs. After our test drive, I finally "got it"...The new 2018 Outback Touring is simply excellent. We heard the reviews about the 2.5i 4 cycl. being under powered....I have owned over 23 automobiles. Under powered is relative, and in the real world, this vehicle will do what it needs to do and economically as well. Our first trip from Tennessee to Ohio was 32mpg and that's AWD. Our CR-V which was 2-wheel drive did not do much better. It is much quieter with the changes in acoustic front and side glass and design features to the front end. Inside we have received countless comments about how nice the interior looked. Yes, it is a bit simple...simple elegance beats out "flavor of the year" any day. Cargo capacity is on the larger side for it's category. Heated and reclining seats front and back makes trips very comfortable. My wife likes it, because she sits high in it like other CUVs. Electronics: From adaptive cruise, blu-tooth, to senors galore, it has everything you want except photon torpedoes. Our insurance went up only $30 dollars/yr going from a 5 year old Honda to our new Subaru due to all the safety features. The only negative we've seen thus far...the Harmon Kardon 14 speaker stereo...Honestly, my 18 year old Ford Sport Trac sounds better. We can't seem to find the "sweet spot" for this set-up yet. There have been some complaints by other reviewers about the navigation. We prefer Subaru's nav based on Tom-Tom, than other autos based on Garmin. Personal preference for everyone. More intuitive for us. I've also read other reviewers talk about the seats....We don't see the issue. In fact, we thought the seats were another positive point for the Outback especially given that our model has the seat memory. Last item: The attention to detail in both design and construction really sealed the deal. All-in-all, we wished we would have looked at Subaru a long time ago. If your tired of the same big box, noisy, hard to park vehicles out there, try Subaru....the "weird" alternative...Highly recommend.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Extremely Disappointing

Diana Buckley, 11/09/2018
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
31 of 32 people found this review helpful

The Head Unit which basically controls everything on the screen is completely broken which means there is no navigation system, no map, no radio, no cd player, and no Carplay. The screen is totally black. We understand that things like this can happen, but what is not okay is the response of the dealer - or Subaru itself. We were told that the new systems are on "back order" with absolutely no approximate time when it could be replaced. Literally, this could be months. The system is made by Harman Kardon and according to our dealer, there are no replacements available. We don't know what that really means but it seems ridiculous to have paid as much money as we did - we specifically waited for the 2018 model to get Carplay - and not have it functional or fixed. What is most frustrating is that we have been complaining to the dealer for months about problems with the system (shutting down without warning, but then coming back up, map cutting out suddenly, carplay not working, etc). Nothing was done to repair this - we even asked about getting a new system. It wasn't until the screen became completely black they are saying that it needs to be replaced. We will say that we like the car, the comfort, and how it drives. We did a lot of research before buying this (it is our first Subaru) but are incredibly disappointed at this point.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Disappearing infotainment system

Riley, 12/19/2018
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
31 of 32 people found this review helpful

Be aware that there is apparently a BIG problem with the so-called "head unit" in the 2018 Outback. Mine stopped working after about 8 months. No back up camera, can't listen to the radio, play any music, use CD player, no Bluetooth, no navigation and the parts of the system that still light up flash or go dark erratically. It's almost 4 weeks now and we called the dealer (again-because we thought they forgot us) and, this time, they said they don't know when the replacement will be available. We don't get the sense that anyone is really advocating for the owners in spite of this rather spectacular failure. We spent 37K on this car and now wish we bought a Toyota or a Honda. We are very disappointed. As for rating the car - it's hard to be charitable under the circumstances even though it certainly still gets me to work. Of course, so did the 15 year old Cavalier we had; and that radio worked!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Harman Kardon Entertainment Head Unit Failure

Very Disappointed Owner, 11/29/2018
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

After 8,000 miles my Harman Kardon radio head unit failed-black screen. This results in no radio, back up camera, navigation or phone. My Subaru dealership informed me it was not a Subaru issue but, a Harman Kardon parts issue. Therefore they cannot begin to give me an estimate of when my new part will arrive. Per the parts manager, "there are so many units needed and the replacement process is out of our hands. It's up to the radio manufacturer." It has been 2 weeks now -no idea of when I may get the part. Needless to say, I am extremely disappointed. I could have used that $38,000.00 and purchased a much better product.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

What's with Subaru????

KR, 08/07/2018
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
53 of 56 people found this review helpful

This is my first Subaru, a 2018 3.6R Limited Outback. It's now about 7 months after driving the new vehicle from the dealer and it has about 6400 miles on it. About two weeks after I had the car, the radio and screen froze, but ultimately fixed itself after either continued driving or with the vehicle being parked and shut off for a while, and subsequently restarted. Apparently the same problem has been happening to other owners. After a few more times with the same thing, I had the dealer install the latest firmware, but that didn't fix anything, as I had a few more freezes, with either the radio blasting, the screen going dark, or both. Sometime later, the driver's front window would no longer always close. Brought that to the dealer and it was fixed. Apparently some computer sensing glitch. Who knows? Sometime after my 6 month service the radio and main screen console finally died and went blank. No radio, no NAV, no control over settings, no rear back-up screen, nothing. I subsequently left the car with the dealer overnight so they could start working on it first thing in the morning. They had it all of the following day and some of the next. Besides analyzing the problem, I was advised that the technician had to fill out a 23 page report. The next morning I learned that a new part would not be ordered until someone remote at Subaru got to reviewing everything and approves a replacement. I went back to the dealer and picked up the car, which is now and has been in my possession for a few days. I also called Subaru customer service and they started a complaint ticket. But I'm still waiting to get the car fixed. I don't get it-as I reported and as confirmed by the dealer technician, the screen and radio are dead!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Driver seat comfort issues

JC, 09/17/2017
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
85 of 92 people found this review helpful

I have wanted to puchase a new Subaru for several months but the driver's seat comfort has always been an issue for me. I waited for the 2018 Outback to arrive but after a test drive there doesn't appear to be any improvement. The seat cushion is to still too short and firm without much memory foam. There are many other makes of cars with more comfortable seats. I like just about every thing else about the car. Subaru's have a great ride and handling. They are a great value that does about everything well but if the seats are not comfortable it will probably not work for me. I suppose if Subaru can still keep increasing sales volume they are not concerned about seat comfort. This would have been my 4th Subaru.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Great SUV w/ a sedan ride but Noisy. engine Noise

Thang Nguyen, 01/31/2018
2.5i Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

Updates after 3 years: Battery is junk, started to lose sufficient amperage within 2.5 years, and had to replace coming up 3 years. Without proper voltage, the back trunk kept locking up and had to do the whole battery disconnect and reprogramming- pain in the rear... My Toyota factory battery lasted 5 years. Engine was noisy. seems like it is more noisy now. The engine started to idle rough, vibrating after 3 years. Not sure why, I'll try higher octane gas to see if it'll help. I still like the vehicle overall less the road noise. Great SUV without having to climb up to the vehicle. Lot's of leg and headroom and plenty of cargo space in the back. Great hight clearance as compared to other compact and midsized SUV. The ride is smooth but loud engine noise compared to my 2004 Toyota 4Runner. The acceleration kind of hesitate a bit because of the continuous transmission engine but once it kicks in it fly. Combined gas mileage is average for the type of car that it is. The touring trim has all the active safety features that I wanted. Love the steering sensitive headlights. . The Starlink system is terrible if it is important to you; it comes with the car but doesn't really offer much, save your money if you have to pay for it. Traction is good on snow and ice. visibility around the car is great. The heated steering wheel is great as an extra. The seat lumbar support is comfortable, the 10-way seat control is good but I do wish that the seat can be raised about another inch or two. It doesn't have a full-sized spare tire but I had never had to drive on my spare tire for long in the past 30 years so no big deal. Coming from Toyota (Toyota didn't have a comparable vehicle with features I wanted) so this is my first Subaru so I can't say much about reliability but my brother and his wife have had Subaru in the past 30 years and have had no problem. It's a shame that it doesn't have a panorama moonroof like it's little brother (Forester). There's plenty of USB ports but does not provide 2 amp charging. It is lacking the AC plug like my 2004 4runner so a little inconvenient to have to buy an inverter. The built-in navigation is pretty basic but you have a choice of using casting the google map from your phone onto the car's screen so not a big deal. Love the feature of providing low fuel warning on the screen and asking you if you want to search for a gas station. It does a good job of finding a gas station. Getting in and out of the vehicle is good, lots of legroom in the back seat and everyone loves the standard rear heated seats.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car and way above the rest that are more

Kevin, 11/26/2017
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
24 of 25 people found this review helpful

Well what can I say, we love this car. I bought this car for my wife because we live in the country and our driveway is 1\2 mile long and our house sits on top of the tallest hill for miles. I'm really surprised of all the features that this car has for the price point that it is. Great entertainment system, amazing saftey features, and it will climb hills that most mountain goats would turn around and head the other way. We test drove just about every other car that was in it's class, even the subaru Forester, but the outback was far and away the best. I can safely say that if you don't like this car, it's you and not the car turning you off. You would be hard-pressed to find a better car at it's price.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Steering Problems

steve simmons, 04/22/2018
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
32 of 34 people found this review helpful

For the most part, this is a nice car. I like the value and the Eyesight. The longer I have the Eyesight, the more I like it. There is however a major flaw in this vehicle which prevents me from recommending this car and that is the steering. There are some major flaws here. At higher Interstate speeds, the steering control will temporarily leave, it feels like you are hydroplaning in water, when the tires lose contact with the roadway and then when the tires settle back down to the roadway, your control resumes. In addition, if you are in a strong cross-wind and you need to adjust the angle of your steering to crab into the wind, the steering will attempt to steer on its own temporarily and you have to physically over power the surge that your steering wheel generates. This happens when the Lane Change mechanism is turned off. But it feels like it is turned on. This is the safety feature Subaru has on its Limited trim Outback. It's a quick and temporary surge but both of these conditions are very scary. Every try to pass a semi at 80+ mph and your steering temporarily leaves? I've done some internet research and I've seen several other complaints with the very same problem, so I am not an isolated incident. I have not yet called my Subaru dealer as this is a weekend review, but I have notified the NHTSB of my problem. Caveat Emptor!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great vehicle e

Anthony J. Rao, 11/03/2018
3.6R Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

In year one I had big problems with the navigation system. Subaru replaced it and since then (1 year later) I've had no problems whatsoever. Works beautifully. Otherwise I love the vehicle especially because it has the 3.6 6-cylinder engine. Rides very smoothly, has great acceleration, lots of room for passengers, very roomy for groceries and luggage in trunk area. Quality of materials is on par with luxury brands and are very attractive. I would surely purchase another when the time comes.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This is my second Outback 3.6R

FRED, 11/18/2017
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
99 of 110 people found this review helpful

this is my 2nd Outback. I had 2014 Outback 3.6R — bought it new and from day 1, I had this weird vibration problem with the car, attempt to fix the issue several times, no success. After 3 years, I sold the vehicle and I bought another Outback. Yes, I bought another one because I loved the car except for the vibration. Since I've suffered with the vibration issue, I test drove the vehicle very carefully on the surface street and I did not feel any vibration — I was wrong... After purchasing the vehicle, on the way home, I got on the freeway and... it shakes... it shakes above 75 mph and get worse as the speed increase. I took it to the one of the best local tire shop near my house to check the tires. I was hoping it was just a tire balance issue. This shop has road force balance machine — $25 per wheel — end up paying $100 for the rebalancing tires. During the process, the owner of the place pulled me next to the machine and told me that my front left wheel (rim) is bent. I was like, what do you mean... I just got the car yesterday... oh crap. I bought a brand new car with a bent wheel... Anyways, I made an appointment with the dealer and took it back next week, told them exactly what I was told. I dropped off the car and got the loaner, 2018 Outback 3.6 — so this became direct comparison for me because this one was smooth as butter. I noticed many other difference. I didn't get any road feedback vibration on the steering wheel — mine has this weird vibration through the steering. No weird body shake, no vibration on the seats, etc... 3 days later I went to pick up the car, and they told me that they DIDN'T feel the vibration but they found out the front left tire was out of round so they replaced it. What? it's not the tire, it is the rim itself. Oh crap. I need to come back again... Anyways on the way home, nothing changed. In fact, as soon as I drove off the lot from the dealer, I immediately noticed the vibration — it was not just high speed vibration, it vibrates ALL THE TIME!!! Since I've just got off the buttery driving Outback, I could feel the vibration even beyond I could have before. I'm taking it back next week again. No matter what you do, test drive it on the highway if you don't want to stress out like me overtime you step into the car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Almost 2 years of happy ownership

SuefromVa, 12/24/2017
2.5i Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
27 of 29 people found this review helpful

As 66 year olds who drive cars until they die, newly moved back to the Midwest, we wanted comfort, reliability, safety features and comfort again. We’re short so accessibility was Important. This car was head and shoulders above its small suv peers that we test drove...Toyota, Honda and Mazda. We added a few additional items to the top of the line touring including the specialized heated rear view mirrors. Features important to us that differentiated the Outback...dual temperature control, vents to back seat, heated seats in rear, heated steering wheel, tracking headlights, blind side indicator positioning, heated exterior mirror...mountains, remote start, comfortable passenger seat, rubberized cover over back bumper to protect it from scratches..and of course all the safety features. Whether for running errands or a long trip...we did a 2,500 mile trip recently, mountains desert, prairie. It was comfortable and handled well.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Problems with the 2018 Subaru Outback

L. Lawrence, 06/22/2018
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
39 of 43 people found this review helpful

I have had the most difficult time with this car. I have taken my 2018 Subaru Outback in for violently swaying side to side when driving at 65 mph and hitting bumps in the road. It hops and skips into the adjoining lane. I have been at the dealership 4 times on this condition and each time have been told this is the way a vehicle is supposed to drive or they can't duplicate the problem therefore they can't fix it. When we went on a test drive they only took me on nicely paved roads. So finally I had to call the 800-subaru3 number and spoke with Richard Ambrose, only to have him tell me that because they can't duplicate the problem that it does not qualify for the lemon law. I asked to speak to his supervisor and he would not let me. He said he did not have a supervisor. I went to other professional alignment companies that drove my car and told me they can feel the swaying as. But Subaru can't find it???? I am afraid to drive this vehicle. I am a single woman with children who travels to Chicago and I am afraid to drive this vehicle. These people do not care at all, they sold their car and that is the end of it. There are many other people online who are saying the same thing about these cars swaying back and forth. I showed the dealership these online complaints. They didn't care. I had problems with the seat belt retracting. They said as long as the seatbelt is in the down position for shorter people that it catches on the seat and doesn't retract. What????

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my Outback

Jay, 08/22/2017
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
27 of 30 people found this review helpful

After researching for several months and test driving the 2018 Honda CRV ( noisy, loud , no acceleration, 2017 Mazda CX5(no acceleration noisy, too cramped), 2018 Acura RDX( too expensive), we decided to go with the 2018 Subaru outback. It drives very smooth, acceleration is great for a 4 cylinder, very spacious 2nd row and trunk space. The safety features are awesome , my favorite being the rear cross traffic alert system where the car automatically breaks when reversing if it detects a object. ( great feature for parking lot in a mall where people are in a hurry ). Apple CAR PLAY works great.I can send text messages using voice commands.The EYE SIGHT safety system is awesome. Downhill assist, X mode, the list goes on. You get a lot of bang for the buck for sure.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

If only the car was comfortable!

Renee, 07/16/2018
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
27 of 30 people found this review helpful

The Subaru Outback is a beautiful car, inside and out. All of the safety features are great. The car handles really well and has great visibility. The cargo space is perfect. The back seat area is very nice. The exterior is gorgeous. I want so much to love it. However, the driver's seat is incredibly uncomfortable. The lumbar support digs into my pelvis, even when I have turned it all the way off. The bottom seat doesn't offer enough length to support the legs. I've tried every possible adjustment to make the driver's seat comfortable. However, within 10-15 minutes by lower back is screaming at me. Don't get me wrong, I have back issues, but I can usually stay comfortable in a car for at least an hour. I drove my Volkswagon Passat Wagon for over 10 years with minimal problems and the problems only occurred after several hours in that car. I can ride in my husband's 2002 Audi S4 without any pain for hours. However, I would not recommend the Subaru Outback for anyone with the slightest lower back issues. The passenger seat is even worse than the driver's seat! You can't adjust the passanger seat up and down at all so you feel like you are sitting on a bus seat on the ground. I really want to be comfortable in this car since I love all it's features, but after a month of owning it I'm looking at cutting my losses and trading it in for a different car. I should have taken it for a longer test drive. I've learned my lesson with this car. I'll never go for a short test drive again. After 2 months of owning the vehicle I'm back in the market for a new car. Every car I've purchased I've owned until it completely died. I can't believe I'm ready to trade in a brand new car, but that is how horrible the comfort level is. I can't imagine another month sitting in this car. Everything about this car is what I want, but all the features cannot compensate for a painful driving experience. Anyone with the slightest back issues considering this car should take a very long test drive in both the driver's seat and passenger seat. I'm 5'4" and 130 pounds. Purhaps this vehicle would work for a large person. My husband doesn't have the same discomfort in the driver's seat as I do and he's much taller and heavier. However, the passenger seat is a bad experience for him since he can't adjust the seats up and down.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mostly great after 3 months and 2K miles, (UPDATE)

Pete R., 05/14/2018
2.5i Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

On the plus side, this Outback is very quiet and comfortable, which were among my primary requirements. It gives a nice smooth ride, much better than the X3 I considered buying. I'm getting 30MPG in mixed driving, higher than the combined 28 indicated by the EPA, which is outstanding for a vehicle this size. But, despite the great combined MPG, when primarily doing highway driving, I struggle to get close to the 32 highway EPA number. The adaptive headlights work great and provide outstanding visibility. I'm happy with my Outback but I wouldn't say that I'm loving it. Yesterday, I ran out of gas when the trip computer indicated I still had 30 miles remaining! That was an unpleasant surprise. I understand the computer provides only an estimate, but my Toyotas never let me run out of gas. A few other complaints: I can't see the clock when I have my hands on the steering wheel because my right arm blocks the view of the clock, which is low on the dash. My preference is to have the clock high on the dashboard, so it can be easily viewed by all passengers. The Harmon Kardon sound system is good, but not as rich as I would expect in a car with a $38K sticker. Even with the bass at full level, it just doesn't give that full, rich sound I expected. Also, the radio can't be turned off. The volume can be turned down to "0", but there's no power button, which seems like an odd design. Unlocking the power rear gate does not unlock all the doors, which seems odd as well. Sometimes, the rear gate release on the dashboard doesn't work, but I haven't figured out under what circumstances that happens. If a passenger unbuckles their seat belt before I stop and put the car in park, the seat belt warning will sound and it doesn't stop even after I put the car in park. Again, an odd design choice. Lastly, the EyeSight safety suite can be overly aggressive. I often veer left or right to avoid hitting a pothole, which sometimes causes the LKAS to move the wheel against my wishes because it detects me crossing either the left or right lane line. Not a big deal, but a little annoying. So, in conclusion, I'm happy with my Outback, but not in love with it. 9/3/19 UPDATE: Well, after a year and a half, and 12K miles with my Outback, I still didn't love it, so I traded it in for a 2016 Lincoln MKX, which I'm loving! I got a good trade-in amount for the Outback, because, if nothing else, Subarus are a great investment and hold their value. The Outback was very comfortable, and my gas mileage increased from the earlier review to 31 MPG in mixed driving, which is outstanding. But, there were little things that bothered me about the car, most of which are outlined above, and I decided I wanted something with more luxury features, specifically, a better sound system, air conditioned seats (which I understand are now available on the redesigned 2020 Outback) and ambient lighting. So, someone will be getting a very nice Outback with only 12K miles on it. I hope it goes to a good home. It just wasn't the right car for me at this time in my life.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car missing just a few minor things

Michael K, 11/14/2017
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

Be great if the blind spot warning made a noise when the turn signal is on. Also wish the interior lighting was better. Low blue light makes it hard to see anything. The trunk needs a light. It’s a dark hole at night.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very poor infotainment system

Tomm, 12/01/2018
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I love my 2018 Outback except for the infotainment/GPS/backup camera/telephone connection/ voice commands. Yes, all of these things stopped working when the car was about 6 months old. I brought the car in for service on these things and was told that the software was already the current up to date software. The dealer said they would order a new radio for the car. After waiting 2 weeks to hear back about the radio I called them and was told it usually takes about FIVE WEEKS for them to get in a rebuilt radio. I have demanded a new radio to replace the defective new radio. Why should I accept a rebuilt radio system in my brand new car ?? Now I’m waiting to see what they say about that. Update 12-03-2020. Since I bought the car new in April 2018 it has had two separate infotainment systems installed because they kept failing. The infotainment system not only controls the radio but the GPS etc. Finally on the third system it has been working for the past 9 months. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice Car But One Obvious Improvement(s) Needed

Midwest Hoosier, 01/26/2018
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

In nearly all regards the Outback is a nice car. I rent it often. A couple of call-outs on improvements that can be made: 1) Most needed is a Voice Recognition system that WORKS. It's the worse of all the car makes that I rent. As an example: Just try and get it to call "Home." Not matter how many times I say the word "Home" the recognition system takes me to someone else. Say it slowly ... H....O....M....E and it doesn't work. Say it quickly, it doesn't work. Emphasize the HO...me and it doesn't work. It's simply ... pathetic. 2) Also, Subaru please upgrade the seat comfort, especially on Limited or at the very least, Touring. Look at Volvo and others as a model.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

So Great In Many Ways but seat comfort still poor

Wanted to Buy but still waiting for Seat Comfort Improvement, 11/01/2017
3.6R Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
34 of 40 people found this review helpful

I have to mirror someone else's comment that I just read. I recently test drove both a 2018 Subaru Outback Premium (cloth seats/no sunroof); and 3.6 Touring (top of line model). Incidentally, I also test drove a BMW 3 Wagon. I currently drive a 2011 Volvo XC70 with cloth seats and no sunroof. My wife drove a Saab 9-2X (based on Impreza and manufactured by Subaru for Saab/GM) for several years so we became familiar with Subaru; and my retired mother had a Legacy wagon; and now a Forester. Going into the test drive, I was ready to buy or put in an order that day. Great visibility (like Volvo) and much better turning radius. But the seat comfort is just a deal-breaker. Truly awful. My mother does use various cushions to improve her Forester seat comfort and the compromise is worth it for her. The BMW 3 Wagon is marginally better than Outback because it has a little more adjustability but unfortunately neither compare with Volvo. I don't understand why Volvo and the now defunct Saab are the only 2 car manufacturers who make cars with comfortable seats. If Subaru sub-contracted with the company used by Volvo (and/or Saab before them), they would finally have a car worth buying.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Sweet spot

pfw, 10/08/2017
3.6R Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
16 of 18 people found this review helpful

I have an audi A5 and a rav4. This finds the sweet spot in between. Luxury and comfort for every day driver. Does not have the driving feel or refinement of the Audi. Significant upgrade from the rav4 however with basically the same utility, and can be thrashed without anxiety, unlike the audi.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

We love our 2018 Outback Limited!

Mira Nenonen, 02/03/2018
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

We finally traded in our sweet old 1995 Impreza after 22 years of reliable service. Although we experienced sticker shock with this new Outback Limited (came loaded with extra bells & whistles; went for optional protections, extended plans & warranties), we really love this car. It's very comfortable for both driver and passengers, and the heated seats really help to relieve aching hips and backs. We made sure that we measured old car's width (including mirrors), length & height, along with garage space before buying. We compared against Outback Limited's dimensions (including mirrors). Outback is long, tall & wide! We have to use the hatch height memory feature in order to safely open the hatch in our 1-car garage, but it works! I highly recommend this car. I don't even mind the long work commute so much! Infotainment system works great for us, too. Car is attractive inside and out. Love the moonroof! Fun!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Practical Utility with Comfort (UPDATE)

Turp, 04/13/2018
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Before taking delivery of our this 2018, we drove an 2017 Outback 2.5 on a 350mi trip in the mountains. The 2018, for us, is much improved in the area of noise insulation, ride, and brake pedal feel. As far as the Outback model, this vehicle is in the sweet spot of utility, comfort, and price. We bought this because we wanted more comfort than a compact SUV and less size than a mid or large SUV. The Outback fits this well. The passenger space is ample and all seats are very comfortable. The electronics are user friendly. This is my first tech laden car and I've achieved proficiency without the owners manual. The ride and handling is well controlled and predictable. Cabin noise from road surface is insulated nicely and wind noise is also muted very well. Engine, we bought the 2.5. In town and highway it gets in and out of traffic without any concern or real lag. Where it shows it's short coming is extremes; mountain curves with speed changes and acceleration exiting curves. That said it gets it done and manages to maintain speed without pushing high revs excessively. In town, which is my 99% driving, it quickly gets to 25-40ish and so well that I have no regrets of not getting the 3.6. Highway driving, it also does a very good job cruising and easily maintaining speed. Where I'd consider a 3.6 is frequent towing or frequent heavy packed trips in the mountains. That said, the 2.5 and CVT operate quietly. Even pushing them some, they never sound or feel like they are overly taxed by the load. The CVT barely ever indicates a change. Interior quality, wow. The interior and design just nails it for the Limited. The Limited interior sold me on that trim level. The grey leather blends well with the other interior trim and exterior. The feel and look in the interior is high quality and great fit and finish. It does compete here with luxury vehicles I've experienced. There's a lot of competition for the Outback, but in the price range, I think it edges the rivals for comfort and utility. (UPDATE) We've now owned this car 2 1/2 years, and put about 18K miles on it. We still enjoy it and believe it checks the boxes we need; utility and comfort. As for how the vehicle is "wearing"? Overall very well, but there are some areas that are seemingly just some quirks, but, Ill mention them. 1 The paint is soft. Modern paint is more environmentally safe, but on the Outback it seems prone to damage physically and chemically from bird droppings. Paint is just that and any paint can be damaged, but I've found this car is more vulnerable to bird droppings and shows some very slight etching from it if not addressed in a timely manner. That said the car still looks new 2. There is a issue with the driver side passenger seat latch pushing into the seat back when folded down. This has pushed the foam in that area of the seat. The latch does not recede enough into the seat bottom pocket. I noticed it early after a couple trips, so now I lay a sheet of hi-density foam over the latch before I fold the seat. 3. The right side suspension is developing a little more detectable sound that occurs on rough pavement or surface. I haven't noticed any difference in handling or ride but the front passenger suspension sounds a little like there is some play or slack in the suspension, like a worn bushing, when that wheel is going over rough patches. The rear passenger side does it very infrequently. I had it checked out at the dealership and I've checked the front. I didn't see or feel any issues. It's a "minor quirk" and I'll monitor it. 4. I had a squeak in the driver seat. It's common issue related to a bushing. I found the problem area and sprayed some silicone; hasn't squeaked since. The car's performance is still good for us. I've packed this car for vacations and one trip with a canoe and paddleboard on top, and bikes on the back. This was a mountain vacation and the car pulled the hills and tight twisty roads great. Sadly, I've only had it in one snow. It was buried in 14” of snow. When I went to move it the next day, it also had to climb out of the mound of snow I had cleaned off the day before. It literally felt like it popped out of the hole and came out much better than my Jeep did. The Outback feels very sure footed driving in bad road conditions. What is exceptional- The Seating: when I drive this car on a trip, I don't experience travel fatigue like I have with SUV's, and some cars I've owned. This is also a testament to the ride and cabin noise isolation. The Stereo- Awesome: In my youth, I put together auto and home/AV sound systems. The Harmon Kardon system is powerful, clean, and balanced. The Subaru Outback is not a luxury vehicle, but is equipped with and demonstrates luxury qualities. If I couldn't have the Outback, I'd consider a Toyota Highlander,or Lexus RX350. However, those are priced into another league, but I think that's where you have to go to find a real challenger for the Subaru Outback Limited.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice Car, A Few Quibbles

Ron, 06/18/2018
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Rented this vehicle for 10 days and put some 2800 miles on it. Driving was 80% highway, 20% local. The highway miles consisted of some curvy moutain driving in NC, VA, and W VA. PROS: 1. Nice ride, decent acceleration (motor is loud on hard acceleration), comfortable driving position, good handling and lots of storage for suitcases and other assorted travel junk. Those who occasionally rode in the back seat appreciated the comfort and spaciousness. 2. The gas mileage was surprisingly good, exceeding 30mpg on high speed interstate driving on a couple of tankfuls. 3. Liked the Eye Sight feature which automatically slowed down for slower moving traffic when on cruise controls. 4. The lane wandering beeps were annoying at first, but got used to them. Good safety feature. 5. Last but not least: Security of AWD. CONS: 1. Used to driving a Forester at home (175k miles), so the outward visibility seemed constricted in this Outback. 2. Also, the rear headrests obscured about 30% of the rearward visibility (I ended up removing them). 3. The side view mirrors were oddly shaped and didn't give a decent view rearward, in my opinion. 4. There was more air and road noise, especially on less than the smoothest roads than I would have expected from a $30K+ vehicle. 5. The lights and wiper controls are still the traditional ones that stick out from each side of the steering column. The steering wheel spokes are very wide, and partially obscure these stalks, so that if not totally familiar by touch with each setting, the driver's eyes have to be taken off the road to choose them. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE, IN MY OPINION. WOULD I BUY THIS CAR? A qualified "yes", but I'd look at others AWDs in this price range also, even though I realize that Subaru is the only mass market AWD all the time vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Pretty cool (for a wagon)

Barry F, 06/30/2018
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Just upgraded from a 2013 Outback Limited 2.5i, so I know what to expect. The 4-cylinder engine doesn’t set the road on fire but hard to complain about the excellent fuel economy. AWD is plenty capable for anyone but the off-road enthusiast. Interior has been upgraded for the better but is a little less utilitarian than prior years (for example, the all-weather mats are much thinner and cheaper than before, and the lower door storage spaces have been eliminated - all that remains are cup holders). EyeSight is a nice option for most drivers, and I’ve been told will be standard starting in 2019. However, much like Toyota’s Safety Sense (and others), it’s a little too “big brother” at times, so I chose a model without it. Lastly, outward visibility is very good, making the Outback a very easy car (er, wagon) to drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Outstanding in both performance and Safety

William Comer, 11/01/2018
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

The Outback is an exceptional vehicle to travel in in both comfort and gas mileage, 32+ MPG. I had some screen issues that took several software upgrade to correct. I would buy another without hesitation and highly recommend.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Give me back my 2011

Kevin, 02/25/2018
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I had a 2011 and put 250,000 miles on it without any problems. I bought a 2018 outback and it was been back to the dealer three times in three months. The gas gauge digital and old school is not accurate. I have run out of gas two times although the digital gas gauge read 100 and 280 miles till gas needed. Another problem is that radio stops working for different periods of times. For exampl, it stopped working for two days and sometimes it stopped working for twenty minutes and then just starts working again. Subaru lemon lawed the 2018 Outback and gave me back everything I put into it. I am currently driving a new 2018 Outback and have five thousand mile on it and no trouble. It was a very long process but worth it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Continued problems with Outback CVT transmission

Ginny, 10/22/2018
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I just got a letter from Subaru extending my CVT transmission warranty to 100000 miles or 10 years, which ever comes first. I read online (Forbes) that Subaru has been having problems (stalling) with this transmission for quite a while. The Forbes article says this problem is a safety issue and that there should be a recall and repairs, not just an extended warranty. I don't know why Subaru is allowed to continue to sell a vehicle with a known safety issue and not disclose this to customers.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Great practical car with TERRIBLE technology

Vlad Presnyak, 11/18/2017
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
31 of 37 people found this review helpful

In a nutshell, I would not recommend this car to anybody. It is practical, versatile, and quite comfortable. However, the infotainment system is so horribly bad that driving the car has become an exercise in frustration. The system is incredibly buggy and Subaru is aware but does not seem to care. The manufacturer seems to go out of their way to show their customers that they don't care.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2018 Outback - Huge Issue with Harmon Kardan Radio

Laura, 12/06/2018
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

Overall, was happy until 5800 miles and my center display console stopped working. No back-up camera, no maps, no Bluetooth, no radio or CD player. It's a huge KNOWN issue with Subaru. New "radio" is on back order with absolutely no known shipping date. My display tanked on November 13th. If you take your car to the dealer before the radio goes out, they'll do a download to correct the issue. Once the radio goes out, there's nothing that can be done.

Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best SUV for us.

Delancy Hotalen , 02/04/2018
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

This is our first SUV. Drives more like a sedan than an SUV. Love the “Eye sight “. Mileage is about 27 or 28 depends on the weather and type of roads. Acceleration with the 4 cylinder engine is fine with our type of driving. Our driving is, 50 percent 65 to 75 MPH, 25 percent 30 to 45 MPH and 25 percent 45 to 55 MPH. Lots of good high speed highways in this area. After 4 months we have about 4500 Miles on the Outback. Plenty of room and we moved a chest of drawers without any problem. I researched vehicles for months and decided this was going to be the best for us. Would have liked to have had the push button start but it came with a package of things we would ever use. Research for yourself and choose wisely because a new vehicle is expensive.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

Beware of week stock battery and recalls

yosemite, 03/10/2018
3.6R Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

update 9/13/19; the new non stock battery actually has made it through the winter and it has started every time, as long as we dont leave the doors or hatch open for bit, and yes all hatch lights are off. camping is another story as we sleep in the back and it is nice to leave the hatch open which of course kills the battery if left open for to long. we found a fix online and it involves tripping the hatch lever on the hatch and this makes the car think the hatch is closed and it goes to sleep. then you have go through a process to get it closed; STUPID!!!!! i also defeated the backup sensors that would jam on the brakes anytime you backed up faster than 5mph and almost chipped my wifes teeth. it also wouldnet let us back up as there was a fern in our driveway. duct tape over the sensors and now i can back up normally. update: 3/13/19 we have now replaced the battery with a stronger one that subaru paid for. went to yellowstone last fall and that battery died overnight! not much faith in the electronic system. there is a display and fuel gauge recall. took it to the dealer on 3/9/19 who said they had the fixes and when we got there there was no fuel gauge fix! so now we have to make another 4 hour trip to get that fixed. never had so much problems with car. beware that the stock battery on this car is REALLY BAD! if you keep the FOB within 20', or leave the rear hatch or doors open for longer than 10 mins, leave the car parked for several days you will have a dead battery. this has happened to us 5 times already in 5 months. just google, subaru outback dead battery, most folks end buying a stronger battery within months of owning the car and that is what we are going to have to do, besides that we are very happy with the car so far, only 1,200 miles up here in the mountains of yosemite. works great on snowy roads

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best daily driver ever

SSafran, 04/07/2018
3.6R Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This is the best daily driver I've ever owned. Comfortable, easy to leave with, great driving position, logical controls, safety features are all excellent but what really makes this car great is how smooth, refined and competent on the road it is. Balanced and nimble, fun to drive, smooth and quiet and just fantastic in bad weather it is really a pleasure to drive every day. Previous cars include Mercedes, BMW, Toyota, Jeep, Suburban etc. but this car is just the best all around vehicle I've owned. Love it. Plenty of room for passengers and cargo, GREAT driving position, fantastic visibility make this easy to use on a daily basis. Get about 24mpg average with 6 cylinder engine. I was concerned about a CVT but the one in this car works just great.....no droning or buzzing. Engine is very smooth and has a nice growl. Car is very nimble and tossable for what it is. My wife's GLC 300 handles a bit tighter but this is the better all around vehicle in my opinion.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Wasn't really looking at this car at all

Rick, 04/21/2018
2.5i 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I had a 3003 Passat wagon which I really loved until it got too old and too expensive to keep on the road. I had been looking at the new Tiquan but the problems seem to be plenty on the first year model. I saw an add for small discount on some Subaru models so I went to the dealership to check them out. First let me say I'm one of the few people in the US that LIKES station wagons. I went into the dealership and there was a base model in the showroom so the sales guy first had me take a look at it. By the way, It was the best buying expericence I've ever had getting a car. The guy was so knowledgeable about the car it was impressive. Any way to shorten the story, after he showed me what had on the lot, we went back to the base model, I sat it, saw the easy air con controls and the size of the back are with seats down, said this is it!.......never test drove it. as some have said it's a bit jumpy on the gas pedal as the car engages immediatly, the brakes felt a bit mushy but they are very effiecient. ride is comfortable and quiet (to me) gas mileage so far is fairly good aroun 26 average (i live on and island so no freeway driving. Cargo space is fantastic, I got the seat back protectors and when seats folded down, tones of space (i use the care for deliveries) It's no sports car and is not sold as that. engine noise is minimal, road sounds is subdued (better than the passat). I've not put too many miles on it so a later review would be appropriate. the screen did go blank once but i just turned the radio off and back on and that seem to fix it (you should hear the stories on the VW"s!)......so far I'm happy with a station wagon that portrays itself as a SUV.....everyone that I've told I've got a subaru have said "Oh those a great cars" I'm serious not one back personal review. I see some have had problems here, coming from VW this car is a dream! UPDATE: averaging 26 mpg island driving, the car has loosened up a bit so steering isn't so touchy, the gas peddle has either loosened up or I'm used to the car. Had the first oil change at 6 months and it was done quickly probably not longer than an hour and a half which was half a day shorter than i'm used to. Car rides nicely and still happy with the purchase. I think people need to be reminded that Subaru is not marketed as a luxury car, expectation seem to run high. as an aside We drove through Mass, Vermont, NH and Maine on a holiday and I've never seen so many outbacks, foresters and a few imprezza's, crosstrek. very popular car in snow country

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Swiss army knife on wheels

Bud, 06/13/2018
3.6R Touring 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This is my fourth Subaru and based upon our initial experience, this is the best yet. While we only have 3,500 miles on the car, we were able to break it in on a long road trip and it was extremely comfortable. Combined hwy/city mileage was 25mpg, it's quiet, the transmission is amazing, there's tons of room and the 3.6R engine is sneaky fast. While this is not a rock crawler, ground clearance and off road capability of the car are exceptional. We bought this vehicle after owning three 4Rnr's and if you are looking for an SUV of any type, I'd highly recommend the Outback.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Subaru

Caroline Burns, 06/23/2018
2.5i Premium 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Love this car and the new car smell. I am small (5'2") and the front seat is super uncomfortable where the lumbar hits my back. I now have 1500 miles and still struggling with this problem. Besides this and the heavy weight of the back hatch i absolutely love this car...could use better gas mileage but willing to put up with that for the awesomeness of my new subaru outback!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2018 Subaru Outback 2.5iTouring

Scott, 08/07/2018
2.5i Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Updated February 2019: Now have over 7,000 miles on the Outback and have had it in lots of snow and rain events. Vehicle handles very well in snow and ice situations. Drove it through a blizzard on I-70 Thanksgiving time and it did fantastic. Have had lots of snow and ice this winter and haven't missed a day of work or any scheduled plans. Very comfortable driving in the Outback. I really like the heated seats and heated steering wheel. No issues to report. Have had it in for its first service visit covered in purchase price. It has been to Little Rock Arkansas and St. Louis as well. I have owned this Outback for one week now and only have driven it about 300 miles, but I am very pleased with the vehicle overall. It is exactly what I expected, not winning any speed races, but feel very safe and it is quiet and drives very nice. Have not had it out in any rain yet (none falling from the sky here) so I can't say how well it does in any kind of inclement weather. Cargo space is great for the vehicle size. Ride is comfortable. Still learning all the bells and whistles. Trying to read through the manual, but life keeps interfering. Overal;l at this point I am very pleased with my purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2018 Subaru outback head unit

Jerry Shepherd, 10/24/2018
2.5i Limited 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl CVT)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have 50, 600 miles on this new ride and the Bluetooth stopped voice texting and call by voice recong on its on, I re-paired phone with texting and it still will not text or call contacts in the list, then yesterday the head unit just went completely out!! no backup camera, no screen, no radio nothing on the apps side. Poor design by Subaru , but however im getting it to the dealer this weekend. If Subaru dont get this resolved I will trade for another brand of vehicle. Oct 2020 update> my subaru has 45k miles on it, the left front driver seat has 2 in tear in the manmade leather seat. not under warranty, even extended 88k warranty does not cover it. Head unit still sux . software works sometimes, Navigation system on auto day/night mode will not change as it should, must change manually. Sometimes the head unit works and sometimes not. This is my only complaint other than the 4 cylinder sounds Raucous when you step on it. Overall very dependable vehicle but leather interior is cheap and well as a horrible head unit. You would think subaru would do better for the price of the vehicle. Having my Subaru drivers seat manmade leather repaired. $150.00 cheap leather . New head unit under warranty installed, Im hearing others complain about the cheap CRV tranny thats been going out at 80K

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good car but a couple of REALLY STUPID things

Hanx85258, 11/19/2017
3.6R Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl CVT)
82 of 104 people found this review helpful

I'll get to the good parts about this car in a moment. After all, I did like it enough to buy it. But here are a couple of really STUPID things about the car that Subaru should FIX. 1. The radio does not mute when the navigation voice is speaking. So, if you are listening to the radio or other source at anything over a whisper, you cannot understand the navigation because it is garbled along with the music or talk on the radio. Also, the radio buttons are badly placed. They are at the top of the radio and you have to lean forward awkwardly to get to them. They should be at the bottom so you don’t have to strain (and potentially lose focus driving) to get to the buttons. 2. The digital speed readout is great, so long as you are not on the phone. In that case, you get a stupid little indicator that you are on the phone that replaces the speed readout. Guess what, Subaru, I fricking know I am on the phone. After all, I’m talking here!! What I need to know is how fast I am going while I am talking. And yes, I know I can look at the analog speedometer, but one of the biggest reasons I got this car instead of some others (I talking to you, Lexus) is because of the digital speed readout. You also lose the digital speed readout when you use navigation, but if you are willing to go through the menu using the buttons/levers just below the steering wheel, you can navigate back to the speed readout, but you have to do it after every time the navigation tells you about a course adjustment. 3. The radio turns on when you start the car. Every time. It doesn’t matter if you turned it completely off before you turned the car off. It just comes back on by itself. And sometimes the Starlink system just freezes on startup. There is nothing to do except re-boot by restarting the car. 4. If you are listening to anything other than the radio, say a CD or music on your phone, and the screen has all of the apps showing, there is no way to get to the screen that shows what you are playing. You have to stop listening to what you were listening to by selecting select radio and, once the radio is playing, then you can go back to your selected source and the screen will show what you are playing. 5. You cannot open the trunk unless the doors are unlocked. So, even if you are sitting in the car in park and you push the “open trunk lid” button on the dash, it will not open unless you first press the door unlock button. This also means that you cannot use the button on the trunk itself unless the doors are unlocked. Just an annoying, wasted extra step. 6. The auto bright beam to regular beam function is so sensitive that some street lights, the reflection of the car’s own lights, and lots of lights other than a car coming towards you, will trigger it. It basically just turns your brights off most of the time. You can go off “auto” mode for the lights and manually turn on your brights, but then you are likely to forget to put it back into auto mode to have the lights turn on at all the next time you drive at night. 7. The navigation system gives you waaaaay too little time to spit out an address. Where I live, some street numbers have 5 digits, and the street names are long Spanish derived words (try to say 15343 E Via De La Escuela in 3 seconds). So it is very difficult, if not impossible, to get the whole address out in time. And even when you do, the system more often than not misunderstands you. 8. And speaking of speaking to the system, mine will perfectly do all of the things it is supposed to do except set the temperature. I have tried to set the temperature (using the exact phrasing required by the system) loud, soft, slow, fast, and I have had 4 other people do the same, and it misses it about 90% of the time. I am a very clear speaker with precise enunciation. I have zero problems dictating long letters with Dragon Naturally Speaking and, as I said, the Subaru understands all of the other commands perfectly well. Subaru needs to improve the voice recognition and issue a software update. 9. The windshield wipers do not have a rain sensor mode. 10. Only the front windows are automatic. If you want to put the rear windows up, you need to hold the levers the whole way. The front windows are automatic. Would it have broken the bank to just use the same feature on the rear windows? 11. The interior light is weak, very weak. I guess someone thought using a blueish LED was cool and contemporary, but all it is is a very weak light. 12. And finally, for an even dozen, the garage door opener. Oh, I’m sorry, the HomeLink system. I spent 10 minutes looking through the various manuals for “garage door opener.” Isn’t that what everyone calls it? But no, there is no listing in the contents or index for “garage door opener.” You have to figure out that it is called “Homelink” before you can find it. Would it have killed them to call it by the name everyone knows it by? Or at least

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050