Skip to main content
12345...38

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2010 Vibe, so we've included reviews for other years of the Vibe since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.75 out of 5 stars

2009 Vibe 1.8 automatic

brisan, 11/20/2014
2009 Pontiac Vibe 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
44 of 44 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 8000 miles on it and put on an additional 60,000 miles before it was totalled out in a crash with a 4 wheel drive pickup truck. We were driving almost 50 mph when the truck turned into us from the turn lane. We hit drivers side bumpers and came to an instant stop. My wife and I were banged up and bruised but able to walk away. We found out it had 4 and 5 stars in crash tests. We loved this car and got between 32 and 36 mpg depending on driving habits and time of the year. We never had a single problem with it and are now in the process of finding another one to purchase.

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Great Value & Utility

Rob, 02/23/2017
updated 02/23/2018
2010 Pontiac Vibe 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

My Vibe is a former rental car that I bought with 30K miles on the odometer. I've put 110K more miles on it, with replacement struts and a new battery the only non-routine maintenance in seven years of ownership. The Vibe is very reliable, gets good fuel economy (31 MPG highway with the 1.8L engine), and handles like a compact but has the passenger/cargo space of a station wagon. I have found two issues with it--the flip side of the 1.8L engine's fuel economy is that it has sluggish acceleration. There's also a common problem with the radio volume knob breaking...which I fixed by sawing it off and slipping a new one on. That said, I love this car. It has a combination of versatility, value, reliability, and handling that's hard to beat. I'm planning to drive it until it breaks--which could take a while.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Great little car

George Dossett, 11/09/2015
2009 Pontiac Vibe GT 4dr Hatchback (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

Very reliable. Found many good condition cars with 200k miles.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

This car does everything well (almost)

Daniel C, 07/11/2018
updated 01/19/2021
2009 Pontiac Vibe 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

This car is a real looker. It's what the Kia Soul should have looked like, if the Soul were a hatchback as in a normal, not boxy car. The engine is great, starter is quiet for an economy car. This model was equipped with GM's auto-crank technology (flick the key to start and release, the starter will keep cranking until the engine catches.) It's the Toyota 1.8 from the Corolla and it's excellent in this car. Great match to the automatic 4 speed transmission. Easier to get into and out of than lower slung cars. XM radio and stability control are nice touches, although I've tried to provoke the VSC and it seems to kick in a little late (this could be due to Pontiac's marketing of a "sporting" demeanor.) They put an actual 115 volt household outlet in the car too, although there is a cutoff point to how many watts the plugged in object can be. The outlet will shut down if the limit is exceeded. A good driving position for tall people still leaves your feet a little closer to the pedals than you'll really be comfortable with, but, minor issue. Handling is stable but not sport worthy. The ride can best be described as firm but not punishing, well controlled. Climate controls are Toyota and very easy to figure out. Lots of cupholders and storage space. There's even (flimsy) cup holders in the back and storage space under the trunk floor (it's not much space though). Cargo space is good and expandable to one back seat down, both and even the front passenger seat folds if needed. Overall a great driving car for what it is. 4 speed automatic transmission shifts VERY smoothly. if it doesn't something's wrong. Keep up on the maintenance and repairs and this car will run forever. I did the normal maintenance (update 1-15-21), and have not done any unexpected repairs, replaced shocks and brakes (normal wear/tear), and the car has been very good to me. Road and engine noise are not the best, but hey it's an economy car. The VSC computer has a feature, where if it senses you are rolling downhill and if you apply more than a certain amount of pressure on the brakes, the transmission will actually downshift to keep your speed in check. Nice feature.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

MyVibeGT

Greg, 07/01/2018
2009 Pontiac Vibe GT 4dr Hatchback (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

Just about the best car I have ever owned! Best things: Super reliable, Toyota sibling but with Pontiac styling. At 170,000 still going strong. Peppy acceleration, great handling, awesome sound system, 30+MPG Hwy. Worst things: Ride is stiff, seats somewhat uncomfortable for long trips. Engine vibration, I think I need new motor mounts. Wish they still made them, I'd but another one today!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...38
Items per page: