Skip to main content
MSRP Starting at
$28,400

Save as much as $2,176
Select your trim:

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2023 Hardtop 4 Door, so we've included reviews for other years of the Hardtop 4 Door since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Super Fun AND Practical

Karen Shaw, 05/24/2020
2020 MINI Hardtop 4 Door Cooper S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

LOVE THIS CAR! The more I drive it, the more I love it!!! It’s a blast to drive, hugs the road, and has some good heft to it, so you don’t feel like you’re in a tin box. You get a lot of bang for your buck with this little gem. A lot of attention to detail was put into this vehicle. Lots of fun little surprises. The ONLY thing I wish it had more of was storage space....the center console is very small. But that’s just a personal thing for me.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Delightful in every way

Smerdyakov , 06/04/2022
2023 MINI Hardtop 4 Door Cooper S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

On 6-4-2022 I took delivery of a Cooper S five door hardtop, having traded my 2018 Corvette for it. Compared to the Mini, the Corvette felt stupid and lumpish. The Mini has many delightful design details, inside and out (see th Stephenson video on YouTube for insights into what drove the design). It handles very well, has excellent acceleration and a surprisingly smooth and quiet ride. I have owned several Porsche and Audi sports cars in the last ten years, and the Mini is more practical and just as much fun to drive. The free service for three years is also a much appreciated benefit. Minis are more expensive than other cars in their class, but their unique details justify their cost. There is one negative area: the rear hatch. It is very heavy, and is manually operated, so that opening and closing it is difficult. To sun up: When driving in a Mini Never mind the whether If you have a Mini The holiday’s forever

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

First car my wife still LOVES!

Cooper S Lover, 03/28/2021
updated 10/05/2021
2018 MINI Hardtop 4 Door Cooper S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Just a week after we took delivery of her Cooper S my wife told me, if anything happens to this car I want another one. After 50K miles she still feels the same. It's easy to see why. While outwardly small the feel inside is comfortable and refined, finishes are first class. The driving experience is unlike any other car I have driven. Coming clean, I used to race SCCA. I have had Austin Healey's, Porsche 911 and 944, Fiat 124 Spider racer and other hotties. This Cooper S is the bomb. It has a sport mode that winds the tranny and gives instant boost. This thing sticks to the road. It's handling compares to the 911, to be fair the 911 had a smoother ride. I cannot think of a better urban attack vehicle. The Cooper S is front wheel drive but understeer is very manageable even when powering into traffic. The 4 door Cooper S is not a long hauler, a trip over 3 hours will become tiring though not impossible. Stopping every couple of hours makes a trip doable. If we need hauling space after a Costco trip simply drop the back seats, plenty of space. Premium gas is required or the engine will not deliver all its capable of, at 30 mpg overall that's no problem. The 2018 is a third generation Mini built in Germany. Fit and finish are tight. Regular maintenance is the same as any other car. Reliability so far has been perfect. Bottom line, if you want a car for the city this is it. FAST, Nimble and easy to park. You'll love it. Another 10K miles, everything I said Again.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Best Kept Secret...Everyone should own one!

Gare R., 02/18/2021
2021 MINI Hardtop 4 Door Cooper S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

It may be small on the outside and if you are not hauling stuff 24/7, this is truly a PERFECT car to own. There’s a MINI for everyone and to my surprise, I took the Hardtop 4-door over the Countryman (which I thought I would get). This German infused UK import is superbly built, 189 hp punchy, and incredible generous cargo space boot (almost 43 cu ft with rear seats folded which have a very simple, uncomplicated pulley to release/lift). Heated seats and awesome dual zone AC with leather seating makes for a comfortable drive. My MINI parallel parks itself, has proximity sensors all around, love the auto-dimming rear view mirror, and wireless cellphone charging. This truly is a SMART car that has me smiling every time. If you love VW, Audi, BMW engineering and driving feel, MINI offers you a refreshing take on European luxury. Only two things I wish the MINI had: interior storage space in doors, under seats, cubbys, etc. — and a larger fuel tank (approx. 11 gallons). From convertible, electric, Clubman (station wagon like) and Countryman (SUV), MINI has motoring covered for all. I’m impressed with the very minimal manufacturer suggested maintenance schedule. I think this is a perfect car for one person or a couple. For a smaller family of 3 or 4, Countryman would be what I would consider only.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

I love this Mini

Greg, 06/04/2019
updated 06/07/2023
2019 MINI Hardtop 4 Door Cooper S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

After a series of Jeep Wranglers I wanted to go the opposite direction. From sluggish to peppy and from cumbersome to precise. What a joy this little pup is! Like a Wrangler, there is a give-and-take feel...a love/hate relationship that adds up to a love affair unlike most other cars I've owned. It's why I enjoyed my Jeeps and why I so much enjoy my Mini. If these cost $80k you would say...so now I see why. They are quality well beyond the price tag and driving one is a sheer joy. Keep wanting to get in and go somewhere I don't need to go. Update to my review after 12k additional miles of fun; Ditto to the above!! ZERO issues. I will probably trade this 2016 Mini Hardtop S for a JCW version in the next year or so. Update at 55k miles. Still loving this Mini. Would like to get a new one but this one is still pretty much perfect. So far I have had only had to replace a cracked rubber engine mount bushing, brake pads and rotors and a new horn switch. All were relatively minor repairs/costs.

Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page: