Skip to main content

Used 2009 Mercury Grand Marquis Consumer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
63 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2009 Grand Marquis, so we've included reviews for other years of the Grand Marquis since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

jim5660, 06/19/2013
2008 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
69 of 69 people found this review helpful

Most of the reviews on the car are positive. However,if you read the Edmunds review, it sounds like this car belongs in the 19th century. What is the purpose of a car? To get one from point A to point B safely, comfortably, and reasonably economically. The Grand Marquis does all of this very well. I get 27 MPG on the highway and average 23 around town. I drive it conservatively. I'm tired of Edmunds and others running down these cars in favor of more sporty handling vehicles that corner better. What the heck do you need that for? As for interior space, the claim that the Sable is just as big is just not true. The Sable is 6" narrower. Maybe the 'experts' need to reassess a cars purpose.

Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

Terrific Value In A Traditional Car

hpr2, 08/02/2011
2009 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
44 of 44 people found this review helpful

I've owned 12 Crown Victoria and Grand Marquis sedans since 1989. I came across a 2009 Grand Marquis LS Ultimate Collection with just 8.400 miles on June 1, 2011. This car is not only the best full size Ford product I've ever owned, but the BEST car I've ever owned ! Say all you want about being dated, but these cars were a salesman's dream....no failure along the side of the road. Ever. The evolution from 2004 to 2009 was a continued improvement in ride and transmission driveability, shift points, etc. I've just retired and feel set for many years to come. Remember the "special feel of an Oldsmobile" ? As long as I can, I will have the "special feel of a full size Ford product".

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful car!!

sadchevyowner, 09/10/2011
2008 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
40 of 40 people found this review helpful

My wife and I love her 2008 Mercury Grand Marquis "Palm Beach" edition. We purchased her Grand Marquis 14 months ago. It had 15700 miles. My wife had been driving a 2006 Lexus ES330 that was purchased new. It only had 18000 miles when we sold it. In many ways the Lexus was nice, but it had very uncomfortable seats. The Grand Marquis has exceedingly comfortable seats with lumbar support on both sides. Her Mercury also has the air suspension system and it rides like a dream. We would highly recommend this car. It is really a shame that it is no longer available as a new car, so my advice would be to find a low mileage late model Grand Marquis

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Mercury Grand Marquis LS

Tom Stipp, 04/22/2010
2008 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
25 of 25 people found this review helpful

Having owned and driven many late model cars, my 2008 Grand Marquis is one of the very best.Fuel mileage in the upper 20's hwy, extremely comfortable and roomy, excellent reliability, award winning safety record many years in a row. The so called experts would have you believe the body style is outdated and recommends buying one of the newer more up to date not so safe and not very comfortable boxie vehicles on the market they say is more stylish. Had you rather be in a not so safe stylish one or one that has won safety records years in a row if involved in a serious crash which could happen to anyone at anytime? I will stick to my Merc, its a great car.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car For Tall Drivers

DavidW9819, 07/12/2015
2009 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

I'm 6'3" and 300 lbs., and most cars made since 2000 are WAY too small to accommodate a man my size. Not so with the 2009 Grand Marquis. I have more headroom and legroom in this car than I'll ever need, although the back seat is a bit cramped. That's not an issue for me, as I rarely have any passengers in the car with me, and if I did odds are they'd be a lot smaller than me and just fine with the rear seat accommodations. I bought this car in 2011 for less than 1/2 the original MSRP and something like 27 K on the odometer because it was a fleet vehicle and the Grand Marquis was slated to go out of production that year. In the four years I've owned this car, the only maintenance costs I've had are a new set of tires and regular oil changes. I wouldn't even had to purchase new tires if the ones that were on the car when I purchased it hadn't dry-rotted. (I live in the West, and the desert sun and heat rots rubber like you wouldn't believe.) The steering column shaft was replaced under recall by the local Ford dealership in April 2015 even though my car is six years old, so kudos to Ford for having the integrity to stand behind its products even though they've discontinued the Mercury nameplate. The only downside of the car are the low (around 11) MPG's, but that's probably because I do mostly city driving and run the A/C (terrific, by the way) 8-9 months of the year. Fortunately, my round trip mileage to work is less than 10 miles, so even with gas currently at $3.15/gallon locally, the low MPG isn't really an issue for me. I'm sure that the fuel economy would probably double if I drove on the interstate more often. The 2009 Grand Marquis is one of two vehicles (the other being the Ford Ranger) that I wish Ford hadn't discontinued. Both are reliable, low maintenance vehicles that will easily go 200,000 miles with proper care. Hey Ford, how about making more vehicles without all the latest gadgets for us old guys?

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5