Used 2012 Lincoln MKZ Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$9,662 - $14,595

Used MKZ for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Awsome Vehicle MKZ Hybrid 2011

kensnek, 06/08/2011
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
78 of 78 people found this review helpful

We have had this car since March of 2011 and love everything about it. Have averaged 39.1 long term combination city/hwy. This car has exceeded our expectations for mileage,comfort,handling and looks. We never expected to own a Lincoln let alone a hybrid. This car is a well kept secret!

Report Abuse

New to Hybrid Cars

dieselfest, 09/04/2012
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

Just passed 600 miles on new Ultimate Pkg MKZ Hybrid. On short trips about 2 miles I get about 26 mpg. Commute to work 22 miles one way 30City/70Hyw, I get 42 mpg consistently. Strange results considering city should be 41 mpg and thats what the short trips are. If I drive normally meaning faster off the line at stop lights and break later and harder, I can only get about 33 mpg average. This isn't too bad and I can live with those numbers. The car really teaches me how to drive more efficiently. I do go past 65 mph but under 75 on the highway regularly and still get 42 mpg. I find that hard acceleration and hard breaking is my biggest problem.

Report Abuse

put your doubts behind, get the hybrid

bbq_pitmaster, 11/11/2011
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

If there's no difference in price why would you want the gas-eating V6? Our average fuel economy is 37.8 MPG and could be better, depending on how much you're pushed in traffic. You do not have to trade off on power, it just comes from another source. It's quiet and responsive; regenerative breaks are great, nice wood trim, more if you get the exec pkg (plus suede inserts); heated and cooled seats; blind spot system is also very helpful. Headroom is not as spacious because of the moonroof. Center console hits the arm just right, the ones on the door are too low, so you rest your arm on the window sill. Decent turning radius, adjustable LED dash display. THX sound is very nice.

Report Abuse

The Perfect Commuter Car

Michael Lincoln, 09/09/2015
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

This is a comfortable and reliable car to get you to work each day. It does not excel at anything and is very predictable. The exception is the Sync infotainment. Specifically the Applink function is hit or miss each day. I can blame my cellphone as it updates itself weekly or monthly, and Sync never updates. However, it always fixes itself when you disconnect the battery and reconnect. Other than that, I recommend you get this model used as it somehow depreciates to a lower amount than the same year Fusion, which it is based on. Maintain it and keep it clean. Lastly, use all the money you save with zero repairs and get a nice sports car, motorcycle, or boat you can have fun with on the weekends. Update 9-11-16: It is still a great car. Sync is a dud - at least Bluetooth works. Can't be bothered with disconnecting battery cable. Paint and interior holding up perfectly. Very quiet, very comfortable. Handling not as great as a BMW but did not pay alot for the car. No repairs - definitely a keeper. Update 9-12-17: Still a very good car. Sync is better since I installed a software update. Applink still bad, but at least now, Bluetooth connections will display song and artist. I have replaced the battery and tires. No problems in snow with Michelin Premier tires and AWD. Aside from oil changes, that's it. I would really like a new Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Shaker Hood as a play car - but hard to justify since this car has everything I NEED, just not everything I WANT. Update 3-13-18: Trying to justify getting rid of this to get a Kia Stinger, Audi A-4, 2018 MKZ 3.0 Turbo, etc. I just can't . This car has everything I need, enough power, great in the snow with AWD, quiet, comfortable, and I can fit by bike in the trunk with the seats down. It also has zero problems and low trade in value. I guess I will keep it for quite a while. Update 3-17-20: Purchased new tires last month as car was riding horrible. New tires did not fix it. Exchanged for really smooth tires Pirelli P7 AS Plus II. Car still vibrates, especially at low speeds. My mechanic is unsure of problem - blames tires. Earlier MKZs had driveshaft problems that produced vibrations but appeared to be resolved a year before mine. I guess next step is to bring to dealer. Other than that, car is extremely reliable. No major work other than tires and changed transmission fluid. Update 9-12-20 70K. Rebalancing tires improved vibration issues. Got new brakes pads and rotors. Was advised draft shaft may need to be replaced soon. This a common problem with Ford AWD systems. Still looks and runs like new.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2011 Lincoln MKZ

jbradsh1, 06/29/2011
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I test drove the Ford Fusion and the Mercury Milan and then drove the MKZ. What a difference! The Lincoln has a larger 3.5 L V-6 so it has more power. It is VERY QUIET unlike the Ford and Mercury. It's steering is perfectly smooth and doesn't want to jump back to straight and level after a turn. All the controls are Lincoln smooth so it's a real pleasure to drive this car. I drove the hybrid MKZ but it's ride was much firmer, too firm actually, it was a deal breaker for me. My MKZ was the base model which is so well equipped I didn't need any other options at all. The Lincoln dealer gave me $4K off the sticker price so at $31.5K it's a real bargain in my opinion. I love it.

Report Abuse

Still Nice Hybrid

tuko, 11/19/2015
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

Purchased 2012 MKZ Hybrid with around 30,000 miles off lease. Certified pre-owned with extended Lincoln warranty. Pros: Great gas mileage averaging 40.5mpg since purchase. Will get upwards of 50+mpg strictly city but "only" high 30s on the highway. Goes down in winter or with A/C on. Crystal white exterior with beige interior makes this a nice looking car but hard to keep clean. Ok ride on smooth roads but a little choppy on rough roads but I've been spoiled with my old Town Car. Main advantage over a 2013 or newer MKZ Hybrid is the size of the gas tank. 2012 was last year for a 17.5 gallon tank which means I maybe fill it up once a month. Previously owned a 2013 Fusion Hybrid with only a 13 gallon tank so needed to fill up more often despite similar gas mileage. Cons: Battery does intrude on trunk space. No indicator on dash to tell you if head lights are on which is weird. Nav option, sun-roof and rear camera are nice options. Overall, wife and I like the car. Now about 74,000 miles. If I need to haul lots of stuff, there's always my Town Car. Would buy another one if they still made them.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Classy Car, Smooth Ride

Eileen, 10/12/2015
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

True Lincoln engineered ride... Crystal White exterior, light cashmere interior, nice interior wood features... ample trunk room, moon roof seldom use ... leather could be more durable... why black carpet ... should have been cashmere color. Purchased July 2015 --- one owner, spotless, looks new ... Bad mileage with AC on. Climate control & AC works great. Love backup camera... Received all manuals with some warranty remaining. Manual describes a replaceable interior air filter to mitigate dust, which I need to figure out. Was seeking a luxury car and refused to drop $45K as I drive only 7,000 miles per year, so this was a perfect pick! Considered the Cadillac CTS, but was a bit turned off for a few reasons and my mechanic advised to steer away- too many issues. He worked on MKZ's over the years and gives high marks for reliability and no major issues. Newer MKZ's 2013/14 are gaudy with back spoiler, takes away class appeal and interior looked cheap with no crafted wood moldings. Receive many compliments on mine and it's a smooth drive, nice smooth pull. Very happy!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Used Value On the Market

Steve, 01/18/2016
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
26 of 29 people found this review helpful

I bought the car six months ago with 30,000 miles on it, still under warranty. I had a new, long commute and wanted something comfy that wouldn't use a ton of fuel. It was obviously very well cared for, and equipped with every available option, including the dealer added remote start. The ride is quiet, and very solid, not as luxurious as the MKS I had a few years ago, but very nice for its size. BTW-this is not a big car. I drove the 2016 MKZ as a loaner car and is noticeably larger. I changed out the original Michelins for Continentals due to a road hazard problem; the Conti's have been great. It's enjoyable to drive, but if you get aggressive on a curve you're reminded that this car was built for cruising. Not a problem, just a characteristic. Couple annoyances : the driver's seat has required constant adjustment trying to find a comfortable seating position, but I've finally found it. Headroom is at a premium due to the sunroof. That's about it for limitations. It runs smooth as can be, looks good and delivers outstanding mileage. SYNC is just fine when you learn to use it.; I had an MB and the COMAND system wasn't better, just different. While I wouldn't have bought this new at $40++, as a used car this was a great choice. Update after 18 months: : headroom issue didn't change Otherwise this has been a great car. Over 41 mpg in warm weather, minus 10% in winter.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Reliable ride

mkzrrr, 12/19/2011
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Turned in a leased 2008 base car for a loaded 2012. Wanted a Hybrid but would have to pay almost $100.00/ month more for a base car than a loaded regular gas engine. FMC does not want to sell Hybrids. The 2008 handled much better than the 2012 . Improvements are a quieter ride and much nicer interior. Do not pay extra for the THX sound system. The base stereo in some ways was better in the 2008 model. Millage has averaged around 22 mpg in mixed use, 24 hwy. The 2008 had almost 50,000 trouble free miles and I expect the 2012 to be the same. Expect around $7000.00 discount on a loaded car, little or none on Hybrid.

Report Abuse

Great car, but.....

Leon Frank, 07/17/2015
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
17 of 19 people found this review helpful

There's much to love about this car. The drive train is near flawless and does what you want it to do. It accelerates, holds 80 if you set the speed control for that, and glides at any speed relatively quietly and very smoothly. The Synch system was clearly designed by people who knew they'd never have to drive the car and put up with it. In every case, it defaults to the worst possible option. Most screens are so user hostile, even with the Owner's Manual in front of you, you won't easily set whatever you want to do. There are endless buttons and screen prompts to push. I still can't figure out what happens when you push the phone button on the steering wheel, but it's near useless. Ditto the navigation system. I use a stick to the windshield GPS, but to the amazement of every passenger. The real issue is the climate control system. It performed flawlessly all winter, then when summer arrived, I discovered that whoever designed the vents is 5'2" tall and really does not like people. The vents are stopped at mid level, they cannot be raised to your face or over you. The same with right left adjustment, very limited travel. The real amazement is there is no way to throttle down airflow. Ford should have looked at any other car on the planet to learn how to make vents. This may sound insignificant, but on a really hot day, you'll be fighting with them non stop to get air where you want it, and failing every time. Each of my Toyotas, Prius and Solara before that, had outstanding climate control. Car was comfortable in all weather conditions. That a Lincoln is so uncomfortable in hot weather is a true amazement. Test drive the car on a 95 degree day before you write out a check for one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050