Skip to main content
12

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
3.88 out of 5 stars

It's a Jeep thing...you wouldn't understand.

LandersMJ, 09/03/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

First off, this is the best off-road vehicle out there. I love my Jeep, but I did have some quality issues when I first received it. Paint quality is poor, and had to take it back to dealer to get several spots re-painted. New seats since 2003 are large, awkward, too low, and difficult to see around. I had to buy seat risers to be able to see correctly over the hood (and I'm 6'1"). The transmission is 18 wheeler like, not smooth at all. Aside from all that, this is my third and best Wrangler by far. Lockers and transfer case are great. Jeep needs to up their quality control, but still make a good product overall.

Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

Nothing else will do.

0IIIIIII0, 08/21/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 1994 Wrangler for a 2006 Rubicon. I was [just] looking at both the FJ Cruiser and the Hummer(s) but, I have to be faithful to the Jeep line. In owning a Jeep the last 10 years, I wanted to keep with a legacy. Plus, it IS the Jeep thing! Plus, best of all, I know the engine and it is easy to work with after working on my '94 4.0 these past years!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

One Great Jeep

Jeep Vet, 07/22/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Having owned CJ5s and Scramblers in the past I am well pleased with this Jeep. I don't understand the previous reviews complaining about room, MPG etc. This is an off road vehicle, not a cruiser/SUV. It is very comfortable compared to the previous Jeeps I have owned and has almost every feature you could ask for. I live in East TN close to Windrock Mountain and Tellico. Although not great in the mud in its stock form (you need a lift & bigger tires to do any serious mudding), it will climb a brick wall. Snow and bad weather are no sweat for this thing. For years I would not buy a Jeep because I thought they were not as tough as the older models. This may still be true, but I am well pleased.

Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

"old brown shoes"

rkcohen, 11/22/2010
2006 Jeep Wrangler SE 2dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl 6M)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Zero problems with this 63,000 miles Jeep. Routinely get 21-22 mpg back and forth to work, same on the highway - a little touchy at highway speeds, but great to drive to the beach, top-down!

Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

Finally The Car I Allways Wanted

paulkk, 11/04/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

This is my first jeep...long time coming but I have had a burning desire to own one since my junior year in high school (98). It's everything I hoped for and more, every time I drive it I love something new about it. If you don't have one, get one...you will be grinning like the village idiot after running over the most treacherous potholes and banked driveways that would bottom out a regular car's undercarriage.

Report Abuse
1.38 out of 5 stars

jeep just empty each pocket

stoneshihtzu, 02/22/2011
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
18 of 23 people found this review helpful

i bought my 2006 rhd wrangler 4x4, thinking it was a smart decision. thought it would be a great investment. durability & dependability. was going to be the perfect choice for a mail carrier vehicle. in 6,000 miles i have replaced ac/heater switch twice, towed once cause gear shifter cable broke. ran hot on me regularly. transmission fell out before i put 6,000 miles on it. if you purchase a jeep you better have a great warranty because believe me, you will need it. it was just out of factory warranty when i bought it at 73,000 miles and it has been one expense after another. everyone on these reviews sound like it is so great. like to hear if they still feel that way after 80,000 miles.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

It's the last purpose built SUV

JeepJohn, 03/09/2008
2006 Jeep Wrangler X 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

OK this is not a truck for someone who wants to eat a big mac/talk to there boss/change a shirt, as they drive 90mph thu heavy traffic. This is a base model Jeep that can be built up, or left alone and just feed the willing to go where the road does not. It's not a town car so yes it's a Jeep that lets you know there are bumps in the road. It has a I-6 so it's not the smoothest running engine out there. But it will get you from point A-B and back. High reliability. The 6-speed tranny is fun for around town. Driving down a highway, Keep you hands on the road and do not try to multi task. It's a off road built Jeep. It's not meant to go fast it's ment to take a beating. But in high traffic fun!

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

First time Jeep owner

R. Tilghman, 11/12/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

I traded in a 1992 Mercedes 300SL for a 2006 Rubicon. I've driven SL class MB for 20 years. My friends were shocked. The bottom line is I love the Rubicon and have no regrets on the trade. The simplicity of the design and excellent build quality are great. Mileage is only about 16.5 mpg. The highway ride is surprising compliant considering the offroad capabilities. Maneuverability in tight areas is outstanding. The fun factor is +10. The Rubicon has already proved to be a versatile work horse at our farm. Aftermarket parts support is amazing and one of the reason I selected a Jeep. "It's a Jeep thing" has real meaning to me now.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Jeeps are the only way to go

The General, 06/07/2009
2006 Jeep Wrangler X 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my second wrangler I used to own a 97. This was such a vast upgrade even though it was still very similar. I love the 06 because it's the last year they stayed true to the design of the jeep. I love driving the jeep at night during the summer or all the time during the spring it is just so fun to drive. The only problem that I really have is the top was harder to get on then my old jeep. I could put my old top on in 5 minutes or less by myself now I need a little help to pull the top over. But besides that I couldn't ask for much more.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Mileage not that bad

djd2engr, 04/06/2008
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

My wife bought me the 65th Year Anniversary Edition Jeep for my 50th birthday. It's been great fun to drive. The ride is better than I expected and the sunrider top is super!! We drove from Maine to Florida and were pleasantly surprised at how well it drove on the highway. We also travel to Boston frequently and I average over 21 mpg when the cruise control is set @ 60mph. It is not the most practical vehicle we have ever owned but, it is the most fun. With the back seat folded down we have just enough room for our 2 Golden Retrievers.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Golden Eagle

Rains, 09/03/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I just recently purchased a 2006 Golden Eagle. The Jeep has much less road noise than older Jeeps I have driven. It handles well on the highway and having both hard and soft tops is a plus. I get approximately 16.5 MPG. I have not had the chance to take the Jeep off road but have a trip planned in the middle of this month.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Love my Wrangler!

06Red Wrangler, 08/21/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler X 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

27 years ago, when I was 16, I wanted a Wrangler. But, my dad said "No, they're not for an inexperienced driver, they roll too easy." So, 27 years later, I have my Wrangler! 2006 Red Wrangler X, 6 speed. I smile every time I get behind the wheel, it's so much fun to drive. I love dropping the top and cruising around in the sun. So far, no problems whatsoever. Gas mileage is better then I expected. I traded in a 2004 Jeep Liberty, that at best, got 16 MPG. The Wrangler is averaging 18.6 running around town unless I use the A/C, then it drops to 16.5. Not bad, should get better, it's not even broken in yet with 1900 miles on it.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Love It!

Marcus, 05/17/2010
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Recently traded in my 98 Cherokee for an 06 Wrangler Sport. In short, I LOVE IT! The sense of freedom you get with the top down, and even with just the rear and side windows off. Haven't even taken it off-roading yet but look forward to doing so. The ride quality is a little rough but still better than I thought it would be. If you've driven Jeeps, you won't mind it though. The wind noise with a soft top is more tolerable than you'd expect. If you're looking for a cheap convertible, a 4WD off- roading machine, and just a fun vehicle to drive, look no further than a Jeep Wrangler.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Rubicon Fanatic

Mike, 07/22/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I took the giant leap from a 2000 Toyota Camry to a 2006 Rubicon, and even though the gas mileage is a major difference the Jeep is a much better choice. I always hated the phrase,"Its a Jeep thing, you wouldn't understand." That was until I bought one. I have never had so much fun owning and driving a car as I have this Jeep, if you don't own one you don't understand and if you do own one you can't explain it.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Box full of fun

Chuck, 11/20/2009
2006 Jeep Wrangler X 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

My TJ is a weekend driver only. The top never goes up because I purchased it for pure pleasure driving. Had to have it when I found they were changing the body style for 07'. Mileage is good for a box but size would make you think it should be better. Lifted, tires and a winch makes it turn more heads than a Vette. It would be nice if it had better highway manners but I wouldn't trade it for anything else. A go anywhere vehicle with the reliability in the highest degree. Since there won't be anymore "original" jeeps built this one will be mine forever.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

The Death Wobble 2

Sebagolakemoose, 06/19/2010
2006 Jeep Wrangler X 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

At about 20,000 I had the first wobble multiple times to the dealership and was told I made too many left turns and the air pressure was off. New tires tie rods alignment and other parts woble gone. 45,000 same thing new tires. 70000 miles wobble, on new tires parts and we are good again. 97,000 historic wobble on again not as bad as the first one though. Dealership has given us new reasons for the wobble every time from air pressure, to many left turns, tie rods, alignments, rotation, breaks, bad tires, etc always something to blame but the vehicle itself. Appears the passenger side tires wear fast? But it's a Jeep thing and I love my Jeep it needs less work then my 1973 or 1971 cj5s.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Amazing Vehicle

WAjeeper, 01/06/2008
2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is a tremendous amount of fun with the soft top and removable doors. Power is more than adequate for its size and weight. Extremely reliable; the only maintenance issues I have had in two and a half years are regular oil and filter changes every 3000 miles. Gas mileage is 15-17 mpg. Its a rough, loud ride, but its a Jeep not a Camry. Unstoppable off road. Cargo room and towing capacity are limited, but again you must realize what this vehicle is designed for and what it is not designed to do. Every vehicle has limitations and the Jeep is no exception. But it excels at what it was designed to do and I love it. I would buy another without hesitation.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Awesome

Dan, 11/07/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler SE 2dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my 5th Wrangler. 1997, 2000, 2004 and a 2006 were all new. I also had a 1995 used. You can no way beat a Wrangler in the snow or off road. The gas mileage has a bit to be desired but it's worth it for the fun you have. The 95, 97, 00, all had a 2.5 liter 4 cylinders. great 4 cylinders. The 04 had a 2.4 liter, and I had to downshift on every little slope. The 2.4 lacks a lot compared to the 2.5. My 06, which I bought a week ago. is a 4.0 liter and just screams. It wants to go. The 6 speed tranny is great also. No downshifting anymore. I'd recommend a Wrangler to everyone.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Fun but not for everyone.

Will, 10/16/2016
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

Amazing vehicle, great offroad and a ton of fun. However it: gets poor mpg, rides rough, is slow, steering sucks, little storage space with rear seats in, cold in winter hot in summer, etc. It's not a logical purchase, it's not a good daily driver like an average car, and if you buy this without intending to go off road you're a fool. It's an enthusiast vehicle, a street legal offroad toy, designed for those that don't care about comfort or practicality, and are passionate about their vehicle and it's automotive sport. This isn't the vehicle for your daughter sweet 16. This isn't the vehicle you buy to look cool. It's a vehicle you buy because you go off road.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

It's a Jeep thing...and I don't understand.

Taylor, 03/25/2019
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport for my 21st birthday thinking that I would have a blast -- and I did... for about 3 months. I love Jeeps, there's no other vehicle that can compare to the style and durability that Wranglers have. And I loved how cool I looked driving one. However, I soon realized that I made a big mistake. If you don’t have the money for the upkeep (which is constant), this vehicle will soon become a heavy burden. In my experience, every month I was in the repair shop trying to figure out what was wrong because my engine light was on constantly. This vehicle also isn’t very safe. It’s extremely easy to hydroplane, even if you’re driving very slow and not making sharp turns. One thing that no one mentions in reviews about wranglers are that they’re terrible to drive when it’s windy. It often felt like the wind was punching my jeep from each side and it would make me merge on to different lanes involuntarily. Wranglers also have terrible gas mileage; you’ll spend a tremendous amount of money filling up each week. And on top of all of that, it’s an extremely noisy and bumpy ride. In short, Jeep Wranglers are NOT commuter vehicles. They’re really just weekender vehicles to have a fun time in. Jeeps aren’t for people looking for a comfortable, quite, and reliable vehicle. Jeeps are for people that know their way around cars and truly enjoy Wranglers as a whole. So please, really figure out what you're willing to endure if you're considering buying a Wrangler. If you're not a mechanic or have money to constantly repair these things, then I suggest you look elsewhere.

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

Grabage!!

duckydo, 08/20/2013
2006 Jeep Wrangler SE 2dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl 6M)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

just bought this junk 3 months ago for 8400$ , and allready to dealer for pcm replacement .1500$...and like impossible to find cheaper ..out of stock , or discontnued parts ..same has muffler ...im gonnna get this pcm fixed and sell this [non-permissible content removed]!!

Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

120,000 miles and many many problems

tommer1, 11/12/2013
2006 Jeep Wrangler SE 2dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl 6M)
11 of 19 people found this review helpful

I am a very maintenance conscious person, oil changes every 3000 miles, tranny fluid, antifreeze, everything. I have had so many issues with jeep. I have never had this jeep off road at all, i use it to drive back and forth to work. I have had to have two engine rebuilds, the manual transmission rebuilt, the transfer case rebuilt and many other engine problems including repeat censor problems. Most of my problems happened while it was still under warranty but i spent more time in rental cars then i did driving my own car it seems like. the death wobble was fixed when i bought aftermarket parts but jeep knows this is a problem and don't fix it. very poor quality gets maybe 12 mpg.

Report Abuse
3.13 out of 5 stars

A new Jeep w/ 430 miles and a bad motor

Sam Pinheiro, 04/07/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler SE 2dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Looks great. Had it for one week and the motor started ticking. Dealership found metal shavings in the oil, so far this is day 3 without my brand new Jeep. Don't know when I will get it back. Rides well, nice interior.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Wobbly Tires

GAPeach, 11/30/2010
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've had my Jeep for 4 months. We have had issue with the tires wobbling so bad that the front end shakes - took it back to dealership first time, the stabilizer was replaced. Started back up again after 1 month. They argued that nothing wrong - not giving up, they looked again and found that the bushing needed replacing. They said this is an issue with Dodge vehicles. Had the map sensor replaced also - only 36,000 miles. Hopefully this is the last of the issues Otherwise - LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

darlene, 10/11/2005
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Jeep Unlimited is a much smoother & quieter ride than the old Wrangler. Dual top is great for year round driving.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

It's a Jeep Thing

Doug, 05/08/2008
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my first new Jeep. I owned 2 used ones previously. I love it. We needed a new vehicle and I held out for the Jeep. Very happy I did. I like its build quality and simplicity. Just got around to installing the soft top and am wondering why I waited so long! Much better than the older ones, at least to me. Sunridre feature is cool. I am 51 and this is my "toy". My wife and I plan to get out into the Jersey Pine Barrens (once my daughter gets her license and we have the time.) Just wish I had the manual transmission, but the auto is ok.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

MY WRANGLER

DOUG, 04/10/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Jeep Wrangler 2006 with the new six speed is great on gas and has great pick up. This sporty suv is perfect for my bad weather commute from the suburbs of Long Island. It's fun to drive and easy on your kidneys with its 4 wheel independent suspension (coil springs instead of leafs) and 30 inch tires. The sound system is awesome and six compact disk changer is easy to operate and skip proof for uninterrupted listing pleasure. It's so much fun to drive when I get to work I want to keep on going. I am a 49 year old farther of two but when I get behind the wheel of my Jeep I feel like the kid.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Mel, 08/10/2018
updated 08/16/2021
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

You'll want to do more and more to make it off road ready (life kit , wench , bigger tires , off road lights , etc. ) As they say J.E.E.P. -Just Empty Every Pocket. Since this original post l have done a 2" lift kit , installed 31x10.5-15" AT tires , installed a 12,000 lb wench and installed an high lift jack

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

2006 Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited

Mark, 07/05/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my first Wrangler and so far has been a real fun vehicle to own. I bought it with all available options and upgrades including automatic transmission. The ride is a bit stiff and you feel all the bumps in the road but rides good on smooth roads, better than my pickup. Acceleration is good and maneuvers well. The hard top makes it a quiet ride which I will use more than the soft top. Shoulder room felt a bit close at first but have gotten use to it.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Poor mileage

Afficiendo, 10/07/2007
2006 Jeep Wrangler X 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Wrangler is in a class all by itself. It's fun to drive, iconic, easy to maneuver and has the perfect blend of technology with simplicity. You will never know how much all that technology is really unnecessary and annoying until you have owned a Wrangler. Nonetheless, my Wrangler gets terrible gas mileage.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Off-road king

jeeper, 05/23/2007
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had my Unlimited Rubicon for almost a year and love it! I am a hard-core off-roader and I find the Unlimited the perfect compromise for someone with a child and a need to drive to work 5 days a week. The lockers in the Rubi take me everywhere, and the extra cargo space hold all my gear. I'm a Jeeper and added a small lift and bigger tires after a few months. Getting stuck is a thing of the past. I've put this thing up the side of mountains in the National Forest in 1.5 feet of snow and over rocks the size of cars. It isn't the most refined, quite, or comfortable, it's a Jeep

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

Anthony, 05/27/2007
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a great vehicle and it rides better than the short wheel base version. I have already driven it from the east coast out to Kansas City. It works great in the mountains or on the coast. I did have a leaking door seal that took a while for the dealership to figure what was leaking and from where, but once they found it they fixed it very quickly.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Love the LWB

Kevin, 01/04/2019
updated 07/21/2021
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

If you’ve owned a regular Wrangler you’ll think this is a Cadillac. Great motor. Great old fashioned USA made vehicle.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Winter Driving Must Have a Jeep

DAC, 02/20/2007
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We are just finishing clean up after the storm that closed I-78 and schools for days. This Rubicon Unlimited just paid for itself. It drove us safely through and over the ice covered snow on roads that were a nightmare. The 4 wheel high was enough...no need for low gear or the lockers. We were able to go to work, help neighbors, and keep going when the rest of the area was shut down. This jeep just proved why we need one. It provided safety and security in bad weather to equal the fun and enjoyment in good weather. Now when people ask why we need an SUV, we simply refer to the storm of 2007...enough said.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

Future Problems?

postalgal, 11/03/2005
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased the RHD Sport Postal Jeep with high hopes for a quality ride that could take the abuse I can dish out on a daily basis (all you mail folks know what I mean). Anyway, the engine was making noise from the day I picked it up. It sounded like the valves, but just couldn't imagine how a new Jeep could have that kind of problem, but that's what it was! Dealer had to replace valve lifters at 2300 miles. I also am noticing a loud thunking noise and it feels like it is right under my feet. I hope this isn't an indication of how this vehicle is going to hold up. Maybe I should have bought the extended warranty.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

'06 Jeep Unlimited Wrangler

wildbill, 01/14/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a very fun vehicle to drive and own. Lot smoother ride than the '95 wrangler I used to own. It rides as smooth as my wife’s Nissan murano. No problems yet. I have 3,200 miles and am looking forward to getting a hitch since the towing capacity has been increased from 1,500 lbs. to 3,000 lbs. thanks to the added length and an extra crossmember in the frame. I’ll now be able to tow my tent trailer with no problem.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

no PW, leather seats, or cruise

True 2 Door, 07/12/2019
updated 07/23/2021
2006 Jeep Wrangler X 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

bought my rig brand new in WA...last of the real inline 6 and stick transmission and would not give it up for nothing....when chevy makes a 4 door Vette then I might consider a 4 door...not your wifes rig

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Rubicon for the family

YellowRubi, 01/01/2007
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my 5th Jeep, 3rd Wrangler, and 2nd Rubicon. The Rubicon is such a great off-road and fun vacation vehicle that my family selected to upgrade for the space in this Unlimited model. The decrease in MPG in this model was disappointing (23mpg down to 18) however, the extra space has paid off for the 2 kids and dog. My wife loves it so much she took the Jeep 101 course through the dealer and local Jeep Club and now she loves it even more. She became familiar with "lockers". My 8 year old daughter plans to own this Jeep when she reaches 16. I can't blame her. Great Jeep. Great off road. Great for PA winters and traveling the mountains during hunting season. This Jeep is a keeper.

Report Abuse
2.63 out of 5 stars

why does it continually leak water

steve, 12/17/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler X 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the vehicle in August of '06 and now, in December, it has already been in the shop 4 times for a total of 32 days. Before I had purchased this vehicle I had wanted to own one for years. Now all I want to do is get rid of the headache. It's still not fixed and it does not seem that it ever will be. The dealership wants to keep trying to "fix" the issue, but it's never going to be done properly.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

2005 Jeep Wrangler X model

Nick, 09/02/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler X 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great little vehicle, fun too. Not the smoothest ride but I knew that before I bought it. I get about 16-18 MPG, not the best in the world for a 6 cylinder, but not too bad either.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Everything you'd expect in a Jeep and more!

D. Barber, 03/23/2019
updated 09/27/2021
2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

is reliable and reasonable costs to service. Ride is only fair. Handling is nothing to brag about, until the weather turns poor, then you can drive anywhere, if you learn to take your time, watch out for other drivers and refrain from over-driving the limits of simple physics. In other words, you can drive far faster than you could ever hope to stop from. If you keep that fact in mind, the Rubicon is nearly unstoppable.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Awesome

jarrod, 07/20/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Very fun to drive, not very good gas mileage but if you are buying a Jeep you probably do not care about gas anyway. Having both tops is great!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Jeep Sport

charley, 04/13/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Jeep has good power with the 6 speed, miles per gal 18 with a K&N filter system. First is very low, get the 6 cylinder for power. You will like this.

Report Abuse
2.38 out of 5 stars

Did not expect such poor quality

R Reeves, 02/08/2010
2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have a 2006 Jeep Wrangler Right Hand drive, built and sold for Mail Delivery to USPS employees only. This vehicle has had repeated problems starting at 4000 miles. Every time I have taken it to be fixed, the repairs have been blamed as a result of delivery of mail, which it was advertised and sold for. My AC control has been replaced more than 4 times, my transmission went out less than 1000 miles out of warranty. I had asked Chronic to check this transmission on two separated occasions while under warranty and they found no problems. My molding surrounding my front windshield has been replaced 2 times and is hanging down now as a result of sloppy workmanship.

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

Too Late The Hero

Dave Redler, 03/28/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I always wanted a Jeep Wrangler model; you know, topless summer fun. I remember test driving the then new Rubicon Model but it was too rough riding. I waited for the Unlimited version and finally bought the top-of-the-line model; the best of everything (all options & the automatic trannny). It's cutsie and all, but I guess the crux of the story is that wanting is often times more pleasurable than having. I'm having a hard time readjusting from a full-size pickup to the small, narrow, cramped & difficult time getting in & out & the long drives. DC did a good job on the build-quality, very quiet & smooth riding but for you ol' timers getting long-in-the-tooth you may rethink it.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Definably a good buy!

Rob, 06/01/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler X 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love my Jeep. It is also the cheapest vehicle to insure, including 16 year old male drivers. I spent countless hours researching insurance and the Wrangler is the anomaly of the insurance world. The newer the Wrangler the cheaper it is to ensure! Fuel economy is not great but I have installed a cold air intake that increases gas mileage. It is a fun car and I would never trade my Wrangler for anything else.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

JEEP STILL #1 4X4

sjustice64, 08/21/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler X 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

My first car was a 76 CJ5, but I ended up flipping it and blowing the engine. Ten years later, I still drooled at every Jeep, so I finally went out and bought one. I never regret it! Added a 4" lift with 33" tires with a winch and I can go ANYWHERE and EVERYWHERE!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Awesome tough trucklet :)!

kyle D, 11/26/2005
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is an awesome truck!! I love getting in it everyday. Our family has a lot of cars in it - S65, LR3, H2, and the Unlimited! The Jeep would have to win the fun-to-drive factor ... and its a good price too! Our sticker was $29,275 and we got it for $23,980. The automatic transmission shifts perfectly, it absorbs road imperfections awesomely, it's very peppy, and it handles corners like, amazingly. I would seriously recommend this for someone who would want a convertible, but needs an SUV. This is our second Wrangler and we're proud owners :).

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Its a Jeep!

moneyshot, 07/18/2006
2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased a brand new Jeep Wrangler Rubicon for my wife. She loves it and so do I. This thing is incredible in the off road department. It is virtually unstoppable. On the road, it is very nice. I will not be an idiot and compare this vehicle to a Cadillac, or expect this thing to get 100 miles to the gallon, and perform like a Ferrari while doing it. That is not what this vehicle is about. I will say this. The styling of this vehicle is great. The simply stated "RUBICON" words on each side of the hood let people know it isn't a regular 4x4.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

2006 Jeep Wrangler X

rubiru2299, 08/07/2009
2006 Jeep Wrangler X 2dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my first wrangler. Always wanted one since my Barbie's white and pink one! I LOVE the 06 because it's the last year of the original JEEP style. It runs great and I can take it anywhere! The top is a little difficult to get back on and does require two people to put it together, but is def. worth taking off. It's def. a dog friendly vehicle! I have two labs and they love riding in the back with the seat out. They have plenty of room and it's safer for them rather than standing on a seat. I always get compliments on it, both riding and looks wise. Honestly don't know what I'll do for my next vehicle. Hopefully they'll go back to the original style within the next few years or so!!!!!!!

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050