Used 2009 Hyundai Sonata Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$3,800 - $7,995

Used Sonata for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...8

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Seven years and still strong

MICHAEL SLEVENS, 02/27/2016
SE V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
42 of 45 people found this review helpful

Bought this car in 2009 as a dealer demo with 5000 miles on it. Now 2/26/2016 has 55,000 miles and still drives and smells like a new car. Only problems I have had are the rear brakes, which I fixed myself with new calipers and rotors. Got tired of Hyundai denying the design defect and their refusal to fix under bumper to bumper coverage. The car is well designed, tight and as others have written the V-6 and transmission is fast. Pickup is faster than my 2006 Mustang GT. This is one the nicest cars I have ever owned and I have had Lincolns and Cadillacs. It isn't a plush ride but it is soft for a small car. Staying away from the Dealers and doing maintenance and repairs myself. Doing a brake job takes 30 minutes a wheel and changing the oil is just as fast. I just refuse to pay the Dealer $59 to have a $9 Cabin filter (another 15 min.) replaced. AUGUST 2016-UPDATE: Front speakers became intermittant. Always thought there were only two sound systems in the 2009 but found out I have a third..one with an external amplifier in the trunk passenger side wall.It is not an Infinity System. Repair price $275, replacement from Hyundai $550, bought a Rockford Fosgate 4 channel for $200 and cut the old one out . Didnt realize how bad the Hyundai System sounded . Everything working fine now. Car is still performing well although shift patterns sometimes get strange . UPDATE: AUGUST 30, 2017-Car still performing well, another 5k miles on it with no issues. So far very reliable. Will not even consider buying a new one with all the problems reported with them. UPDATE AUGUST 31, 2019- Another two years and 3k miles on the car. Retirement has reduced the amount of usage and we use the Suburban for our long trips. So far no issues, and did bring the car back to the dealer for recall campaign and free oil change. Still very happy with the car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best car ever owned.

Geo, 10/27/2015
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
31 of 33 people found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle, more so than the Corolla, Tacoma, Civic parked in the drive. 123,000 miles, never an issue. Picked it over the Camry & Accord because of comfort. Bought in spring of '08, but is an '09 model. Up to 37.5mpg hwy. Will definitely go Hyundai again. As of 10-28-16, the Sonata now has 123,419 miles, and I won't give it up! Runs perfectly on it's eight and one half year birthday. A couple of issues: First, the dashboard has too much glare in daylight, making it about impossible to see the speedometer with the sun beaming directly into the cockpit. Second, the dimmer rheostat doesn't dim the dash enough for nighttime driving, and as I work nights, it is a bit bothersome. Third, something new for this updated report - some rust on the driver's door, where the door skin folds over to the lower corner closest to the latch, it is crumbling, so it will be interesting to see how severe it becomes. I do wash and wax the car, regularly and it has not been driven on the salted NY winter roads. The car is now parked at our second home in Florida, so I am hoping the rust will not progress. I've also oiled that surface hoping to stop the rusting.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Like A Best Friend

Anthony, 05/20/2016
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
20 of 22 people found this review helpful

I love Sonatas. This is my second one and it has been great overall! Pros: * This car is a work horse and a good cruiser. * Fuel economy is outstanding! I've gotten 40 mpg on the highway many times, during non-stop driving and doing between 70-75 mph. * The satellite radio is a great option, you can listen to your favorite station anywhere! Otherwise the CD/flash-drive (USB) is another good option. * Other than routine maintenance performed at the dealership, this car is solid. * Love the stability control! Some cons: * The driver's seat is uncomfortable. It is narrow and lacks support, however, on long trips, you do tend to settle in and forget about it. * The 4 cylinder engine, while effective for, is somewhat under-powered. When the car is loaded for those long, summer trips, or with the a/c running, it can easily lose up to 20hp and you'll notice it when attempting to merge onto a highway. I should have opted for the 6 cylinder version instead. * Tires are very important! Do not go cheap on them and always get the original or better. You will be thankful, especially when it rains as the car tends to lose grip upon accelerating from a stop or going around corners. * I wish navigation was available when I bought it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

BEWARE!!! Hyundai Manufacturer "Bumper to Bumper" Warranty Not Always Honored by Dealerships!!

jbcanderson, 09/15/2012
Limited V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
31 of 35 people found this review helpful

I bought an 09 Sonata V6 Limited in Dec of 08 and an Azera in Mar of 09. Both cars have needed repairs which I was assured by Hyundai Motors were covered by their bumper to bumper warranties, but which a local dealer, Doral Hyundai, refused to warranty, claiming owner fault rather than factory defect. They are [non-permissible content removed] extraordinaire! It is impossible to get them to fix anything under warranty; they always try to charge the vehicle owner. Hyundai has no way to make a dealer honor the factory warranty, claiming dealers are franchises and they can't make them do anything! Each dealer decides what they will or will not warranty. I had to "shop" for a dealer that would honor the warranty.

Report Abuse

Rare 2009 Hyundai looks like more expensive auto.

Lawrence, 11/26/2018
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

Haven't seen very many 2009 models available. This is a good looking,reliable and comfortable car with lot's of leg room,trunk room,great safety features and good gas mileage too. Owned this car for 10yrs and it has been great.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Another great Hyundai

D Fuller, 11/02/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
15 of 17 people found this review helpful

This is my 4th Hyundai, all great cars. The 09 has 45,000 miles now with absolutely no problems. The 4 cylinder engine has all the performance any normal driver could want. Gas mileage is excellent 44 mpg (imperial gallon) on highway trips. Very well equipped for such an inexpensive car. Move over Toyota!

Report Abuse

Excellent and Reliable Transportation

Dave in STL, 07/20/2018
Limited V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car since it was brand new. It is now 12 years old and have not had ANY problems with it at all. Only time it has been in for repair was/is for routine maintenance and a couple of recalls that were issued and handled promptly. This car has not leaked ANYTHING for over 12 years, runs like new and has a very quiet and comfortable ride. The V6 has great power when needed, but still gets very good gas mileage. I would buy this vehicle again if I had to do it all over! I am extremely pleased with the reliability, low cost of operation, and the comfort and roominess of the interior.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I love this car

Allison, 05/24/2016
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

I previously owned a Chevy Cavalier. It was a cute, comfy, cheap car, but everything in the world went wrong with it and it was only three years old when I bought it. My 2009 Hyundai Sonata was purchased in 2013. I owned it for three years before it was wrecked in an accident. In those three years I never had to do anything other than oil change, wiper blade change, and new tires--all normal stuff. It ran perfectly and gave me no real trouble. Although it is a little too wide near the sideview mirror level, it is extremely spacious. I could sleep comfortably in the trunk or backseat if needed. It is super reliable. The one time the check engine light came on it turned out my gas cap was off. I love this car. It broke my heart when it was wrecked. But, even in that, it was a good car. A car clipped me while speeding. He was coming down the hill at a good speed and did not even brake. He smacked into the front/side of the car, and the car jerked but did not spin. The front was all smashed, but the damage was only about a foot in, and everything moved about a foot to the left from the side swipe. The rest of the car was fine. I could still drive it the few blocks home. The insurer just considered it a "total loss" because the cost of repairing it exceeded the retail value of the car. That is the main drawback. I don't know why, since it is a very good car, but it has very poor resale value (about $7,000 at just 7 years old). I owe more than the car is worth. I would highly recommend this car to anyone--but would recommend bargaining down to the Kelley Blue Book value, which is much less than what most dealers sell it for, to make sure you don't end up with a big gap to cover if the car goes kaput. Or, at least factor in the cost of gap insurance, which is really important if you get this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love this car

Robert Gravel, 02/20/2015
SE V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've owned my Sonata V6 Sport since new from March 2009 til now (Feb 2015) and there's 71,000 km on it.It's been flawless the whole time except 2 years ago I had to get the TPS replaced under warranty (a known issue that I knew about before buying this car).I've stuck to the maintenance schedule and again it's been perfect.I replaced the battery last year but having a battery last THAT long is pretty good especially when I do a lot of city/short distance driving.

Report Abuse

Great Car, Great Value

Clark, 04/25/2008
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I never thought that I would buy a Hyundai. I spent six weeks looking for a 5-door econobox to get better mileage on my long commute. I looked at the Honda Fit, Pontiac Vibe, Toyota Matrix, Mazda 3, etc. I wanted a small car that would carry cargo. So why would I end up with a sedan. I bought the Sonata because it was a great car and a great value. It also gets great mileage (38 mpg on the Interstate at 60 mph). I wanted the four-cylinder to get better mileage. What I didn’t expect was great performance. I also didn’t expect to have a luxury car with almost all the options I could think of for such a low price. If you buy a Sonata, you'll be happy – guaranteed (10 years/100000 miles happy).

Report Abuse

It's definitely a "sleeper"

Jay, 11/30/2015
Limited V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought my 09 sonata used with 70k miles and have had no issues up to 96k miles during my ownership. It's reliability gives me the greatest sense of relief. For what it is, with its smaller v6, it really likes to show off if you let it. With good summer tires, and traction control off and in sport mode while manually shifting, on takeoff tires are almost garunteed to spin a little, very vocal. You can also get tires to spin in motion if you drop into first under 20 and hit it. No it's not a performance car. But I have beat Mustangs, G35s, TL (Older than 2013) Audi A4 & A6, MazdaSpeed3, and many other comparable V6s. Over 4000 rpm you can feel the valves open completely and a small surge in power. The addition of VVT was added in 09 I believe with direct injection. Gas mileage is great for all of this. And runs on regular.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2009 Hyundai Sonata GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)

gwh2, 04/26/2011
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

Great Car! I have get 40 Miles per gallon/6.9 liters per 100 liters on the highway and 35 Highway - City mixed. Just past my second anniversary and the 50,000 Km mark. I have done only regular maintenance. I appreciate the great dealer service too. I cannot say enough positive about the car as it is still just like new. I drove a Volvo before this and the Sonata is a superior car never mind the value for dollar you get!

Report Abuse

Great car for the money

Marc, 11/25/2010
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I commute 80 round-trip to work and average 32 mpg in hilly terrain. No problems so far. This car is very comfortable, roomy, and quiet. I looked at comparable Toyota, Kia, Nissan and Chevrolet products and none compared to Hyundai.

Report Abuse

8 years of non-stop service

Pragnesh Patel, 04/08/2016
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new in Jun 2008. Almost 8 years and 85K. Dealer has free life time oil change. Only maintenance was 25K and 50K service. Two Alignments, One set of 4 tires, couple of lamps, one battery. Looking to change spark plugs in next two weeks and another alignment. Two small hits from behind. Drove every where, sea coast on eastern coast, mountains of yellow stone and smokys, from Northern border to southern border. Works like champ. Hyundai is worth the money. Initially 24 city/39 hwy, now 22 city/34 hwy

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Beautiful inside & out!

seximobile, 03/27/2008
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

The redesign is a lot more fluid and curvy than last years box. I test drove last year's 08 sonata and it only had ok power. The upgrade on the new four-cylinder feels like there is more power off the line and highway passing. If I lived in hilly terrain, I would purchase the v6 but when I climb hills, I use the shiftronic and it goes just fine. Exterior is beautiful and Pearl White is stunning. Could go without steel wheels, but the covers have a Nice design. Interior is very Nice with high quality cloths and plastics. Good stereo.

Report Abuse

The best buy you can make

Moe, 11/06/2017
GLS V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have purchased my Hyundai Sonata V6 about three years ago. I got it with 46K miles on and today it has about 178k miles on it. I have never had an issue with this car. My only issue was that my starter died out of nowhere and it was a pain getting it fixed but other than a new starter, lots and lots of oil changes, tires, and fluid changes. I have never had an issue with this car. It is still a very quiet ride. I feel like this was a deal of the century. Anyways, my next car, I plan to purchase a Hyundai sonata again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My first car

manish chanania, 07/18/2018
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

That’s a great choice but the only problem is it wobbles after 65 miles rest everything is superb.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New Car that is horrible

Clara E. Schrand, 11/22/2009
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have had my Sonata since May 09 and it has been towed 4 times. The first time the day after I bought it would not start. Second day after they fixed it would not start. Third time about 3 weeks later I was driving for about 15 minutes and the car died would not start back up. The fourth time 3.5 months later problem with transmission put it in Drive and it will not go any where. I asked for my money back and they said no. So I have a brand new car that is not reliable. Stress when driving always fear that you will break down.

Report Abuse

Another solid performer in it's class

SevenBizzos, 01/23/2011
Limited V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

After owning an Elantra for 125k miles with no issues (until it met a guardrail), we moved up in class and picked up the Sonata Limited V6. So far, it's been an excellent choice. Our MPG has ranged from 33 on a highway trip with 100% fuel, to 23 that was mostly suburban traffic with E10 winter blend. I think that's a fair number considering the engine displacement and size of the vehicle.

Report Abuse

Still love my Sonata

paul145, 04/20/2011
Limited V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My Sonata Limited V6 has more than 30K and I love it - I have had literally zero problems with it. I commute 30 miles each way through rainy and sometimes icy Pacific Northwest mountain passes and it is a champ. Great acceleration when I need it, excellent mpg (30 mpg highway), handles very well and it can comfortably seat four large adults. My wife and I took it on a 1,000-mile trip down Highway 1 in Washington and Oregon and it was a fun drive.

Report Abuse

best buy

buffalo, 07/13/2008
Limited V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great car - looks really well made. Only minor observation the suspension could be stiffened. Happy I bought it.

Report Abuse

Buy This Car

oceanis281, 11/21/2009
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have put over 17K miles in less then 9 mos and she still rides like a dream. Not ONE issue in any area that had to be fixed under warranty so far. The car rides as nice and quiet as my friends Lexus 350. Great looking car also. Handles well in the snow with just the 2 wheel drive. Whenever one of my friends rides in the car for the first time they almost always ask what kind of car it is and comment on how well it rides and feels. Priced and tested Honda Accord, Nissan Altima, Toyota Camry and this is by far the BEST value. The 100k warranty isn't bad also. This is the FIRST car with a sun/moon roof in which I can fit, being 6-5. and I still have plenty of head and leg room.

Report Abuse

Excellent Car

Andre, 03/09/2010
GLS V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd Sonata. I had the 2003, 2006 and now have owned the 2009 for 9 months. You can't beat the price for such a quality car. I get 33 mpg on hwy and 29 combined city/hwy. The 2009 is superior to both 2003 and 2006 for that. The ride is quiet and comfortable. The oil filter is placed right on top of the engine, which makes it easy to replace... A brilliant idea!

Report Abuse

throttle and tranny problems

Ned, 07/06/2010
GLS V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have 30,000mi. Since about 5,000mi. the transmission sometimes kicks down two gears when lightly applying the brakes. results in a startling heavy thump & deceleration. the throttle has stuck open both on the open highway and in town resulting in scary moments. Had to throw it in neutral and shut the key off then turn the key back on without using the starter, throw it back into drive . engine started back up like nothing ever happened. Doesn't happen often but when it does WOW! dealership has no clue to the cause. said no one else has reported that problem. Wish it had outside temp info. other then this, what a great car ! handles like a sports car, gets 31mpg in cruise from a V6 250 hp

Report Abuse

Safe, Great Car, did I mention Safe?

Rob M, 07/12/2010
SE 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The best car for the dollars, bar none. I had it for two months and then was rear ended by a full size Chevy pickup. Yes, I had some damage but the active headrest moved forward for both my wife and I and despite the impact from the speed of the Chevy we were FINE. I drive this car 96 miles per day and it is economical, reliable, comfortable and, did I mention, safe. Room for my 6+ ft sons in the back. GM has lost me to Hyundai, the only thing I don't like is that mine looks dowdy next to the new ones, very sharp. I have owned dozens of cars in my life and this is the very best for the money spent..a great value.

Report Abuse

A pleasant suprise!!

Michael, 08/31/2016
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2009 Hyundai Sonata in 2010. I was a bit hesitant about the purchase but I scored a really good deal and it had a great warrantee. Looking back, it was one of the best decisions I have made. I'm currently in the market for a new vehicle because my sonata was involved in a car accident. But I've put over 70k miles on the car without hardly any mechanical issues. I had an issue with the power steering pump around 40k but that was it. Besides breaks rotors and fluid changes, I have not had any other mechanical issues with the car. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone in the market for a good used car. It was just as dependable in 100 degree weather or 20 below with a foot of snow on the ground. I hope I am as lucky moving forward to find such a reliable and dependable vehicle.

Report Abuse

Great car, like the safety features

Don, 05/08/2018
Limited V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Six has lots of power, good mileage (28-31), great safety features.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great value

Greg, 06/07/2018
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Easy to maintain. Dependable. Does have its troubles as any vehicle is expected to have. Over 135,000 and going strong. Body holding up well. Fuel mileage still over 30 mpg.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car for the money

princval, 09/07/2018
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Only complaint is wind/road noise at high speeds. Have it for over 100,000 miles. Needed just routine maintenance.

Report Abuse

Trendy and hassle free maintenance

saikat sen, 05/10/2019
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great power but economical to pocket (Good Miles per gallon)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Car Ever!

Jeff R, 09/30/2019
Limited V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned. Have 242,000 miles and still runs like new. Burns no oil and still on the original spark plugs. Mostly what I have had to fix on it is just normal things after this many miles like struts, shocks and brake hardware. Great Infinity sound system. The only complaint is that the interior plastics breaks to easy.

Report Abuse

2009 sonata I love my car.

Brenda Holiday, 06/27/2019
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car certified from dealer with 4800 miles on it after someone returned it for a genesis. It was a hurried purchase as my ford taurus was totaled in an accident. But happily this is the best car I have ever owned. It is not uncommon to get 35-38 mpg on the freeway and I usually am traveling 75-85 mph, a little bit of a lead foot I’m afraid. I do maintain the car religiously, and have used synthetic oil since the 150,000 mile mark. I have not had any major repairs. I have found the best tires to be the same as issued when new. The ABS breaking system has worked as expected in a couple of near misses. The navigator was a disappointment as it went out after 3 years. I wouldn’t spend money on a new one as many apps work just as well with more convenience. The interior has held up very well. Exterior is also in excellent shape. I am dreading the day this car dies because it is a comfortable, reliable old friend.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sonata

Scott thomas, 07/20/2017
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

The sonata was a dependable roomy car that served me very well.... still on the road... solid as a rock!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

"Takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'"

Susan, 10/20/2017
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Don't be scared to put miles on this car. I bought my car used in December 2010 with 14,000 miles on it. During a heavy rain 5 years ago my car died in a flooded low point of an intersection in the city. I would wait a couple minutes, start it, it'd jump a few feet & die. I did this until I got out of the water. I had water to my knee caps! I bailed water with an insulated shopping bag to lower the water and managed to drive home an hour. Vacuumed water, even drove it the next day 2 hours away, but on way home had some problems - more electrical than anything else. Took it to Hyundai - after a few days got an estimate of $14,000 to replace the computer. Took it to local auto shop who did all the repairs needed for $9,000. I now have 142,210 miles on this baby and still get 38 mpg on long trips. It's still comfortable and a pleasure to drive. I've never had problems other than from the flooding. I'm shopping for another used car and am most certain I will buy another Hyundai Sonata!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

bad gas mileage and bad shitf at 38 to 42 mph

eprice5829, 12/26/2010
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
5 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought my sonata new in 5 of 09 and from the very begining had very poor gas mileage and a shifting issue with the trans at about 38 to 40 mph and around 15 to 18 on the rpm gauge when I brought it back to the dealer for service I was told it was how the car was supposed to drive and that there was nothing they could do to fix the problem except to flash the computer and then reset it . I was also told that it was the way that I was driving the car. now that I had the computer reset and the trans flashed I now get 15.9 miles per gallon to a full take of gas and was told that it was because of the winter gas that is now out on the market well to that I say B S

Report Abuse

I Wish I Never Bought the Car

Clara, 11/28/2009
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
4 of 9 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2009 Sonata Limited its looks great. But that is all. I have made 6 payments and it has been towed 4 times. The first 3 times because it didn't start. The last time transmission problems. Run from this car spend a little more and get a better car. Stick with the bigger boys. There's a reason why they give you a 10 year warranty not because its a great car because you are always taking it to the service shop. Be careful with your money....Run

Report Abuse

Be prepared for frequent check engine!

Michael, 09/25/2015
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
3 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bought this car a year and a half ago as a second user. It had only 75K miles on it and it looked in a great condition. 5 Months after, and the check engine was on. It took me days and trial and error at the mechanic to troubleshoot the issue. it wasn't the mechanic fault, it was how complicated the issue was, and the code tells more than 8 different possibilities! Now the engine light is back on again but this time is for transmission! it has only 100K miles, and the transmission specialist told me it would be at least $1800 to get it fixed! That was very unreliable for a car that is only 6 years old with 100K miles exactly on it. I wish I bought a Camry. ============= Updated: 04/2019 Since I bought used it and every year I have to fixe a couple of issues that cost hundreds. Seriously, not a car that you can depend on.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not as great as expected

Karen, 11/09/2008
SE V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Car looks like quality but after driving it a few months can see that I may have overpaid for what I got, Rides stiff (could be the SE model), tires had flat spots, some surprises and some disappointments--lots of storage spaces, vinyl inside doors, dash, seats scratch too easy, good head & leg room, Worst feature is the way all 4 doors unlock when car put into park (I got nervous at a gas station on a recent trip, I was getting my credit card out of my purse before exiting my car and realized some questionable guys nearby were "checking me out" and I wasn't safe with my back doors unlocked--gotta always remember to immediately re-lock the car when parking so no one jumps into backseat or side.

Report Abuse

Don't Hesitate!

Claudia, 06/09/2008
Limited V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Never thought I'd buy a Hyundai but after considering the Cadillac CTS - it just wasn't as comfortable as I expected it to be for the money, nor did it have all the options I wanted. After looking around on the internet for something comparable I came across the Sonata. My husband and I test drove it & fell in love with it. It's loaded with options, has the 60/40 split rear seat, drives & rides like a dream for 1/2 the price of the CTS! It's a beautiful car. Got the camel/pearl. I'm looking for excuses to go places so I can drive it! You can't go wrong with the warranty, the price and the exceptional value you will get with this beauty!It's everything & more than I'd hoped for.

Report Abuse

Simple Elegance

tracer, 06/12/2008
Limited V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I can't believe I bought a Hyundai. I've got a mercedes, BMW, Honda, and now a 2009 Sonata. I've got to say, after having the car 3 weeks, I'd buy another one. This car is what my recent college grad calls Simple Elegance. It's got the ride and interior of a Lexus, and the fuel economy of a Honda. I bought the car because it's got the best warranty in the industry, and the it's built in one of the most (if not the most) technically advanced facilities in the world. I'm proud to own a Hyundai!

Report Abuse

Stepping Up

Gwen D, 06/13/2008
Limited V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am going from a Kia Sportage to the Sonata. Boy what a step up! I feel like I have died and gone to heaven in this car. I was also scared of buying another Korean auto but so far I have not been disappointed.

Report Abuse

"my sonat is hot

rockstar, 10/25/2008
GLS V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After having a 01 Saturn, elantra07 and now the sonata. After originally test driving Genesis, priced to high, but loved it overall. Without even test driving sonata I said, if price was good I'd buy. After the test drive, I was impressed! Bought it, traded 07 elan (elantra). I really enjoy my 09 sonata it turns heads where ever I go it's black on black (black out) and pulling up next to a Toyota cam, Honda accord, even a c-class Benz. I truly recommend if you looking for a great car sonata 09 is it. Buy it now. Proud to drive a sonata.

Report Abuse

Good Commuter/Long Trip Car

Hope it lasts, 02/12/2009
SE V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Not one to buy on price by can't ignore the value of the Sonata. Mind you will lose it on resale so not quite the bargain it seems. Interior is best in class for me. Materials not quite as good as Accord but layout way better. Seats fairly comfortable, quiet ride. 249hp plenty for me - I don't understand the need for 270+ in a fwd family car. Fortunately seem to not have the suspension noise problem (and roads are horrible here right now) and tranny shifts OK. Chassis simply not as sophisticated and composed as Accord or Mazda6. Seems chassis itself is not stout enough and the flex leads to some unsteadiness at speed despite stiff suspension. So far so good - hope it lasts!

Report Abuse

Trip to thru the southern states

cajim1, 06/27/2009
GLS PZEV 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The car belongs to my wife, but because it was new, the 2009 Sonata, GLS, 2.4L pezev, 5 Spd auto. This car replaced a 2006 Sonata. It had been a good car but this new car is an excellent ride and many may not believe the gas mileage we obtained. I drove all but 200 miles of our 6000mi trip. I filled each tank and checked the mileage for the entire trip. The total avg MPG was 30.9. Lowest tank MPG was 27.8 the highest MPG was 34.5. Given just a little care on the acceleration...One can easily get 500 Miles out of a full tank of gas. I recorded several in the hi 400's and one at 497mi another at 488. Ride quality is much improved over the '06. We are a two Hyundai car family love'm both...

Report Abuse

What A Vaule

ZeusCharles, 07/04/2009
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Big car size. Comfortable Ride. Appealing Interior. Decent 4 cyclinder performance. Attractive Dash. Huge trunk. No matter how I worked the numbers I could not justify a Malibu, Accord, or Camry. At least it is assembled in America with 50% U.S. parts. Yes depreciation is tougher, but 60,000 bumper to bumper warranty and $3000 less all up front more than makes up for it since I drive cars to over 100,000.

Report Abuse

Excellent Car

Richard A. Schall, 07/07/2009
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This redesigned Hyundai Sanata GLS has an excellent exterior design and an excellent interior design with comfort, fuel economy quality and style.

Report Abuse

nice car

jmathew926, 07/21/2009
GLS PZEV 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

very nice drive, the tan interior looks great, smooth ride, no complaints about the car

Report Abuse

Still impress me!!!

Ricardo, 07/21/2009
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought my Sonata Limited back in May 2009. Have driven little over 3200 miles and still loved it like new.Ride, comfort and luxury all harmoniously blend in this car. This is my second Hyundai and will not be my last. I've been averaging 25-25 mpg city and averaged even 31 mpg, with three people inside. Best car I've recently owned, and used to have a BMW some time ago.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Scott, 08/04/2009
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After much research, this is by far the best car in it's class for value, quality, warranty, and standard features. The ride is excellent, tight road hugging suspension and great handling. The 2.4L engine is surprisingly strong and much easier on gas than the V6. Interior is quiet, very pleasing to the eye. All electronics are well placed and easy to see. Leather seats are very comfortable. Exterior has great lines with chrome accents and the cocoa metallic finish is beautiful in the sunlight. The 17" wheels and low profile tires are a great accent. Trunk space is huge and rear seats fold down with access to the trunk. Nice headroom in rear. Great savings with CARS and rebates

Report Abuse

Very good car

Jim, 09/06/2009
Limited V6 4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is our second Hyundai after having 2 prior Hondas. Our XG350 was a better travel car, but our V6 Sonata handles better due to a less soft suspension and has 50hp more. Love the GPS and Bluetooth, as well as the standard 350 watt Infiniti sound system. Our onboard mpg computer pegs in-town at 22mpg, and generally 31-32 mpg on a flat, straight highway like I- 20. 5 year bumper-to-bumper and 10 year mechanical warranties will probably go unused.

Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page:
51050