Used 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$5,990 - $7,995

Used Santa Fe for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...36

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Santa Fe alright by me

nebulouse, 12/03/2014
GLS 4dr SUV AWD (2.7L 6cyl 4A)
81 of 82 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2007 Santa Fe in 2010 when it had 58xxx miles. It now has 166xxx miles. I've never reviewed a car so I'm going to throw it all out there. The car is a stud, I've had it through winters in both Colorado and New York. The AWD is exceptional and even in 2 feet+ of snow the vehicle pulls like a beast, even with the smaller engine. I've been stuck in a snowstorm pulling a 5x10 uhaul trailer and buzzed right passed all the stranded vehicles. I have the 3rd row seating model and it has been perfect for all my kids. I added a Phillips rear entertainment system and it wired in easily. Also replaced the head unit with a Sony Bluetooth/XM model. UPDATE*** Edmunds sent me an email and asked me to update the review. Since I posted this review the vehicle now has 187k on it. It is falling apart slowly but surely. About 175k it needed about 3k in front end work. Now some sensors have went out and it shuts off intermittently, it needs another 3k or so of work so it just sits outside and I use it on real snowy days. In all honesty I'd still buy another one but I have newer vehicles. It pulled trailers from New York to Colorado back to Georgia to New York again and back west to Colorado. If I didn't pull trailers all the time it probably would of held up longer. I can't say I regret purchasing the vehicle, it has never needed any major work and all the work it has needed has been well over 100k.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Strong Looking Vehicle

John, 10/14/2006
GLS 4dr SUV (2.7L 6cyl 4A)
41 of 41 people found this review helpful

I just made it to 1,200 miles for the proper break in period. The Santa Fe has performed better than I expected, and I am averaging 20 mpg.It is great fun to drive. I get compliments from eveybody I know.I am suprised that every one thinks I bought a Lexus SUV. Congratulatios Hyundai!

Report Abuse

Nicely Refined SUV

KarlG, 01/04/2007
GLS 4dr SUV (2.7L 6cyl 4A)
37 of 37 people found this review helpful

This vehicle drives beautifully smooth. Feels solid and interior is elegant and functional. Gas mileage is the same as advertised. Already driven it in icy and wet conditions with no problems (it is not the AWD model). The ESC feature rocks. The rest of the features and crash test ratings speak for themselves.

Report Abuse

Saved my life

tweetybeets, 11/17/2006
SE 4dr SUV (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
61 of 62 people found this review helpful

Traded in my 2002 Santa Fe for the 2007. 6 days after purchasing I was broadsided in drivers side door and front tire by a large landscape truck towing a trailer with lawn equipment going 45+mph who completely blew a red light. I was thrown into a bridge, cut out of the SUV and lived! I have every fireman I know who was at the accident stunned by my survival. They said if I didn't have that car I probably would not have lived. I suffered two broken vertebrae, broken sternum, internal bleeding and multiple contusions. Sounds bad, but could have been much worse. Needless to say, I am extremely happy with the safety features.......and it looked nice too. :)

Report Abuse

Outstanding Vehicle

geezer2017, 10/11/2006
GLS 4dr SUV (2.7L 6cyl 4A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

We purchased a GLS 2.7 liter V6 model 2 weeks ago and I've never so enjoyed a new vehicle as much as this. It is the most comfortable, quiet, well-built, and generously appointed car in the way of standard features that I've ever owned(ESC, 4-wheel disc antilock, outstanding sound system, beautiful interior, very roomy, and very nice interior features and storage). It handles very well. Steering is very responsive with no slop and no body sway. Also getting 21 MPG city. Haven't done a trip yet to verify highway but it's rated at 27 highway which is pretty darn good for a 6. It's also built in Alabama so Hyundai is providing US jobs as well. This is a well-built car built in America.

Report Abuse

Younger Than its Years!

Tom Haederle, 11/17/2015
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
75 of 80 people found this review helpful

I bought my used 2007 Limited in late 2014, when it was already nearly eight years old and had 124,500 miles on it. I certainly had doubts about buying a CUV with mileage that high, but the test drive impressed me enough to roll the dice. I'm glad I did. My Santa Fe has been a joy to own for the past year. I've put nearly another 15-k miles on it with no problems. The engine still purrs, the interior and exterior look great (I keep it clean and wash it frequently) and the climate control system works to perfection. The car is for me a perfect combination of size, power, and good looks. The only non-routine expense of the past year was the replacement of both fuel senders, which has been a noted trouble spot for Santa Fe's in general. My previous vehicle was a Mazda Tribute ES, which I loved for its sporty feel and quick acceleration. The Santa Fe isn't quite the same racehorse, but it's a much smoother ride. All in all, a terrific CUV. If you can locate a good used one, don't necessarily be put off by a high odometer reading. With normal maintainence, this car will last.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Tough as nails

Dave, 08/20/2015
GLS 4dr SUV (2.7L 6cyl 5M)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

We tend to be rough on vehicles. With six grandkids (five school age) riding to school each day, then an average of seventy to eighty miles per day being put on this vehicle, it has held up great. Any warranty issues were handled by the dealer with no problem. One hundred and sixty thousand miles and counting!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A lot more than I expected

motorman409, 12/12/2006
SE 4dr SUV AWD w/XM (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

I have been a GM guy my whole lfe. My last ride was an 03 Avalanche. Not a very reliable vehicle. I had not expected to buy a Hyundai, however when I saw it, and then drove it, I was sold. I test drove an Acura RDX, a Murano, a Lexus, a Honda, a Torrent, 2 Toyota's. Not one of them fit my most basic needs, room for 4 sets of golf clubs, a good stereo, and a good looking vehicle. All for a reasonable (not cheap) price.The Sante Fe fit the bill. So far (600 miles, 2 weeks) I am still surprised by it. Gas mileage of 22+, and it looks like its only getting better. Hopefully all of the good things I have been reading about Hyundai's overall quality improvement will hold true.

Report Abuse

Good vehicle overall

Jackie Smith, 07/23/2017
Limited 4dr SUV (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

We bought the vehicle used with 125,000 miles and owned it just over 2 years. The mechanics of driving the car were great! The main problems were 3 of 4 doors stopped unlocking with remote, and door to gas tank had to be manually opened pulling cord in cargo area. And occasional problems with brake lights and turn signals.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe 2WD - 2 Thumbs UP

Rabi Sidawi, 11/23/2006
Limited 4dr SUV (3.3L 6cyl 5A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I just purchasd a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe 2WD Limited on 11-20-2006. I was looking for the "lumbar support" feature, and soon realized that this the best value SUV for your money anywhere. With heated leather seats, Electronic Stabilization Control, superior interior/exterior styling, V6 fuel economy, 10YR/100,000 miles warranty, excellent CD audio system, do not bother to look anywhere else.

Report Abuse
12345...36
Items per page:
51050