Used 2013 Hyundai Azera Consumer Reviews

List Price
$12,995

Used Azera for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

love this car!

dlflyboi, 12/01/2012
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

I was looking tired get a new car and get out of my '09 Accord EXL V6. I test drove the new accord touring model and then the Azera. I had already fell in love with the looks of the Azera. But after driving it I was sold! While the new accord was much improved over the previous model the azera had all the creature features I wanted. I'm 6'1 and this car is very roomy.

Report Abuse

From a practical enthusiast...

tman27, 05/13/2013
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

I have no desire to race my car from stoplight to stoplight. I have no desire to zip thru canyons as fast as possible. I DO like to have ample power for typical driving situations (highway passing, merging, etc.). I DO appreciate a car that handles well. This car delivers on all fronts. Typically, I drive the speed limit +5mph in the city, and +8 to 10mph on the highway. Driving I-10 to LA westbound (against the wind) at an average of 80mph I observe 25 to 27mpg. Eastbound (with the wind) I see 29 to 30. Practical mileage with ample power, luxury, and incredible sound system to boot. Love this car. Side note: big guy 6'2", long legs, 250lbs and completely comfortable for long trips.

Report Abuse

Great Car for the Money

msticks, 04/03/2013
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

As a longtime Infiniti driver, my friends gave me quite a hard time when I traded my Infiniti M35X for a 2013 Hyundai Azera with the technology package. Let them laugh as I laugh all the way to the bank. This is a luxury car in everything but name and price. For well under $40K I got a better ride, more features and much better fuel economy than the Infiniti I traded in. I test drove quite a few cars including Audis and BMWs but based on content and build quality I just couldn't justify $20 to $30K more for a name. Engine is smooth and responsive and the leather is as butter soft as in any other "Luxury" car that I could actually afford.

Report Abuse

Unexpected Find

chazjonathan, 03/10/2014
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Was in the market for a Cadillac, we test drove and was very disappointed in the ride of the vehicle. Owned several Hyundai's in the past and currently own two. None of the cars we owned ever given us any major problems. We to car lot to look at Santa Fe's, Tucson's, and Sonata's when we discovered the Azera. I have always thought that the Azera's were priced in the same category as the Genesis. Long story short love the look, style, and comfort of this vehicle. And it made my wife smile which was the number one reason I Love it..

Report Abuse

Bought First Hyundai in US. Hyundai's Ever Since

Jim Stevens, 03/29/2016
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I and my family have owned Hyundai's for over 29 years. That's right "FOR OVER 29 YEARS. Hyundai entered the U.S. market in 1986 with the introduction of its subcompact Excel. Our family has bought and enjoyed every Hyundai we have purchased since that time. We have owned over 8 Hyundai's since their conception in the United States. Long story short, 'ALL' have performed exceptionally well with minimal and or no repair required. They have improved exceptionally over the years and in my opinion, Hyundai is one of the best keep secrets in the automotive industry and one of the best vehicles on the road today. All of us are committed to Hyundai and will but nothing else. As far as my current vehicle, the 2013 Azera, 'FANTASTIC' . Friends of ours have had their Chevy' s and Fords in the shop multiple times for repairs. Not our Hyundai's.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

...it's a SLEEPER folks!

3sons66, 04/11/2013
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

Wife purchased this car because "it's sexy, looks like a Lexus, has more features than a Lexus, costs thousands less, has twice the warranty and offers a panoramic roof!".. Ok, can't argue with that. So with that she drove home a 2013 Hyper Silver with Black interior Azera with the optional "Tech Package" which gave her the HD Nav screen, Pano roof, heated/cooled seats, 550W Infinity sound system and a list of other features. I do have to say that I'm impressed! I've owned/driven 5-7 Series BMW's, Lexus ES, Toyota Avalon, Cadillacs and this car is truely amazing for the money. I can't believe they don't sell more of them. Quiet, smooth, enough power and SAFE - 9 Airbags including knees!

Report Abuse

Great MPG, luxury for less, awesome stereo

Adam, 08/31/2015
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I buy new cars about every 2 to 3 years, i get bored with them, i have had Lexus, BMW, Infiniti, Honda and Toyotas all good cars but nothing more, but the 2013 Azera had the look, paint color, nice looking wheels, plenty of leg room and back seat has a lot of room for adults not just kids, consistent mpg 21 city and 30 to 32 on interstate i normally set my cruise 5 above limit and leave it, a V6 with great passing power and merging is a breeze always has plenty of get up and go power very smooth six speed auto transmission never wanders looking for gears like my last Lexus did, the heated and cooled seats are great and work awesome also has rear heated seats that my kids love, what sold me on car was the Infinity car stereo plenty of bass and clear crisp music 550 watts sounds are amazing that come from this stereo satellite radio is works great unlike some past cars, and the quiet interior and great ride also surprised me, only thing that really bugged me is the fact that remote start is not on a $40,000 car, and have to pay over $300 a year for bluelink if i want remote start from a phone. The panoramic moon roof is very nice i never liked moon roofs before always thought they were to small but on this Azera its huge. The Navigation is a clear crisp picture not grainy like most, easy to use and read, the bluetooth for phone is very easy to use and setup. The trunk has enough room for 2 full size suit cases, 2 kids suit cases and a full size cooler and still have room in trunk. I have not noticed any difference in fuel octanes 87 or 91 engine always runs smooth and same mpg, unlike other cars i have had that say 87 octane is ok to use but run better and smoother on 91, I never thought i would ever drive or buy a Hyundai but dont knock it till you at least drive it, before i bought the Azera i test drove 2013 Lincoln MKZ and MKS, 2014 Lexus ES350, Infiniti m series, 2012 and 2013 Toyota Avalon, 2012 Nissan Maxima, 2012 Acura TL, 2013 Accord V6, 2014 Impala LTZ, and fell in love with a Azera features and comforts. Began experiencing problems around 50k new timing chains, timing chain tensioner, new cam phasers, oil leaks, misfires on numerous cylinders after that they finally decided to put in a new engine at 55k just got it back today so time will tell

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Loving my Azera!

bluebird79, 05/13/2014
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love this car! I have the Smoke Grey Metallic w/ tech pkg. You rarely see it on the street unlike the Sonata which is everywhere. It's so much car for the money, perfect for business or a night out on the town. Loads of room and I am so glad that they included a 40/60 folding back seat as this does come in handy for those of us with kids. The leather is beautiful and the heated seats are great. Now for the critique: for a car of this price you should not have to subscribe to a service for remote start period Hyundai really dropped the ball with this one; it should be standard period! Also at 2500 miles I am still not getting the advertised mileage but I am getting closer.

Report Abuse

Snazzy Azzy

Livewiremd, 11/10/2017
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I am a previous owner of a new 2006 Azera Limited. That car was newly re-designed and different so I gave it a try .....with NO regrets! I still own that one and it is running trouble free at 160,000 miles with very minimal service of any type. I admit I sometimes skimped on oil changes too! When the newly designed 2012 model came out, I was so impressed by the "look" that I kept my eye on them. As an excuse to go shopping again, I gave my 2006 to my oldest and purchased a 2013 from a dealer with 44,000 miles. This car has it all! I looked and found a "midnight blue" which is spectacular! It actually looks like different colors depending on the angle of the sun. A bit hard to keep clean but it is beautiful and sets off the chrome accents around the car. The 2006 Azera came with the 3.8 L V6 while the 2013 has a 3.3 L GDI V6. The smaller engine seems almost as smooth and powerful as the larger but it has increased horse power and I can get 30 MPG highway at 80 MPH! The cabin is more like a jet airplane with great materials and feel. Seats are extremely nice and the AC cooled seats really give a nice effect when you're hot. There are a lot of options in this car and it took me a few weeks to learn them all. The technology package throws in the kitchen sink. The full size tinted panorama roof is IMPRESSIVE! This may overwhelm people who prefer more basic controls but I love them. The sound system is 550W and powerful. May think of upgrading the speakers. The car even has a cooled glove box!! One of my biggest complaints about the 2006 Azera was poor headlights, even with xenon bulbs. My 2013 has pure white HID low beams which really improve visibility. One thing to note is that in USA, a used Hyundai 100K mile warranty reduces to 60K but that still beats most makers and I had any warranty issues on the 2006 fixed immediately and for free every time. My main issues with the 2013 are (improved) but still numb feel at steering and road noise and feel on rough roads with the stock tires. If this car is as reliable as the 2006 then I will be back for a third Hyundai in the future. If you like to be unique and stand out in the crowd, and impress all who ride with you, this car has the most bang for the buck and can be found reasonably priced in the used market. This car is for someone who likes to be different from the crowd and I personally think the 2013 Azera looks better that the newer Hyundais or Genesis models. Update 11/2018 Car is still going strong after 1 year of ownership. I replaced the Hanook stock tires with Michelins and it really has made a difference for the better in handling and stopping on wet surfaces. The dreaded rough road noise still exists though but the tires were worth the extra cost. Total service costs for 1 year outside of normal oil changes was 175.00 for a new battery. Still NO regrets!

Performance
Report Abuse

Probably Best in Class

romil01, 04/10/2013
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

In a class that includes cars such as the Toyota Avalon, Nissan Maxima, and Buick LaCrosse, the Azera is probably the best. I leased a 2013 Azera with Tech in Feb and have put about 2,500 miles on the car so far. The car is amazing, especially compared to the 2011 Sonata GLS base model I upgraded from. The base model Azera comes standard with features that you have to get pricey options packages on the competitors in order to have. The Tech package adds a lot of cool features as well. This car is very nice to drive and it stands out visually when placed next to its competitors. There aren't very many Azeras on the road so it is also relatively unique.

Report Abuse

My Azera has really changed my opinion of Hyundai!

Ben, 08/07/2015
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My wife and I were in the market for a new car. We looked at Maximas, Fusions, Camrys, Avalons, etc... and could never find a car that we absolutely fell in love with. I mentioned a Hyundai Genesis that I'd driven as a rental while traveling for business. We decided to give Hyundai a look, but wasn't really expecting much. We found the Azera and were instantly blown away by every detail! This tech package car has it all....sleek/sporty looks, plenty of room for a family of 4 (was very surprised by how much space the interior has), premium leather, Infinity sound system, Bluetooth tech package/navigation system, panoramic sunroof, power back glass shade, great power heated AND cooled seats. While all this was nice, we needed something that would be economical. To our surprise, we are able to get anywhere from 26 to 30mpg in this! Plus, this car drives like a sports car! If you haven't tried one, you are DEFINITELY missing out!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Big Value for Price

kk, 10/11/2016
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am 27 years old and I have only owned luxury cars: Mercedes and BMW. When I was ready to move on from my BMW I walked into the dealership knowing I was going to leave with an Acura TLX. I drove the TLX and a Kia Optima but they did not have everything I was looking for. My boyfriend suggested I drive the 2013 Hyundai Azera (used obviously). I was hesitant because I have never heard of it but after driving I was unsure why I have never heard of it!! The exterior looked sporty yet luxurious, the inside was spacious (front, back and trunk space), the interior design was so impressive (comparable to anything I had with my past luxury PLUS some!). I drove it like I would everyday and it was smooth and fast. The cabin was so quiet. The mpg was a huge consideration for me which the Azera did well for a luxury car. And the price for what I was getting was amazing to me! I was sold. I left that day with it. I am almost 5 months into owning it and I could not be happier. I have not had any issues with it and I was in one small fender bender where the other persons car was damaged but mine was not at all which was very impressive. Every time someone gets in my car they ask me "what kind of car is this again? This is really nice!" I had someone get upset after I told them what I spent for it and they felt stupid for buying their car for way more and getting way less. I love my car! This car should be talked about more.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very comfortable to ride, but not to drive

abjee, 06/24/2015
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

We have owned this car for 2 months, and mostly drive it in the foothills of Smoky Mts. The car drives firm. At low speeds it instills a sense of confidence. The ride quality is one of the best – quiet and very comfortable, suited best as a family sedan. But some glaring shortcomings in driving experience show up in hilly roads. The car drives and steers sluggish in the “ECO/Automatic ” modes. In the “Sports/ Manual ” mode, the car is somewhat more fun to drive. Yet, Azera is best suited as chauffer-driven limo, where one can enjoy astounding rear-seat comfort, fantastic leather, and the panorama of the sunroof, and forget the shortcomings in the driving experience.

Report Abuse

Great Valued Sedan

driver335, 06/08/2013
11 of 20 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just bought a 2013 Hyundai Azera after coming from a Nissan dealer, test driving their Maxima. We are old Nissan owners and have owned two Altimas, two Maximas, and two Infinity G35's. This new Azera reminds us of the Infinity G35 Sport Sedan we bought in 2004, except it has many more features. The Bluetooth and stereo are awesome. The interior room and the leather seating are great. We highly recommend this car to anyone who wants a great sedan at a great price that is comparable to a Lexus or BMW or Cadillac.

Report Abuse

Just bought a 2013 Azera

omay, 10/29/2012
31 of 118 people found this review helpful

Unbelievable value for the money. Love driving it, great bluetooth for phone and easy to use navigation. Comfortable leather seats, seats 5 confortably including tall adults in the back. Wish the steering wheel could come out a little but more (an extra inch would have been nice) Overal, great buy, great MPG with potent V6.

Report Abuse

Our second Azera- better than the first-

Rufus Morison, 08/15/2018
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Only available as a used car- this model has been discontinued. It is a comfortable and thoughtfully designed car. Ours is the Tech model- the extras are really worthwhile e.g., heated and cooled seats, rear windows shades-power back window shade, "panoramic" sunroof. Great storage and seat comfort: a really good highway car. Rough pavement bounces are felt. Highway 29-32 mpg. Precise steering and very good handling on road.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Going back to Nissan!

MikeW., 09/05/2016
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 5 people found this review helpful

I had a 2002 Nissan Maxima SE and I loved it. What a super car and my oldest son recently turned it in to purchase his first Car. Back in 2013, just after I turned 50, I decided I would join my wife and get a new car. I liked the way the Azera looked, test drove it and decided to buy one. I wish I hadn't. The pros: the ride is decent, the car looks good, and it is roomy. The Cons: cheap interior(Trim on the steering wheel is peeling), the Bluetooth is (awful had to get it replaced once and people always complain it is hard to hear), Black soot is present in the exhaust pipes(Since Day 1 and I have seen other Azeras with the same issue) and the BIGGEST CON..the finish on all four 19" inch Alloy wheels is peeling and Hyundai(nor my dealer - Burns Hyundai in Marlton, NJ) will not replace them. The car will be sold shortly and I will be going back to Nissan.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Wonda hyndai

Judi, 05/17/2018
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great car but visibility bad for short people, sold it for suv for better biew.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great first 2 years

Bernie, 05/16/2018
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 5 people found this review helpful

Has declined over the last three years. Now 6 years old with only 45K miles, but hasn't aged well.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I hate this car

Jay Skousen, 03/23/2016
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 11 people found this review helpful

This is probably the 15th car I have owned and I have had only a few clunkers, but this one takes the cake. It is not the "big" issues, I have not had any mechanical issues, but it is the little things. If I can recall them, they are: > The placement of the power seat controls are on the doors near the C(?) pillar so that in order for either the driver or passenger to recline the seat or move it all the way to the rear you have to maintain a sit up until the operation is done. Ditto when you want to return the seat to its normal position, a sit up is needed. > The GPS is difficult to program, and it has a tendency to take you on strange routes, going from our home to my daughters in Dallas the last 20 miles it had us on narrow two lane roads when there were major 4 lanes and decent two lanes available, and it would have been shorter, faster. Even on moderately near destinations, 50 miles or so, it has a tendency to misdirect you right as you near the destination, it has had us turn West when we should have gone East on X road just a half mile from the destination. A terrible terrible system. It does not show the roads you are coming upon either. I suppose it does tell you many POIs such as rest areas, but I would have had to take out the manual to find out how, gads this bloody thing has at least 3, yes 3, manuals! The piece de resistance though is that in most cars with the GPS factory installed have a hood surrounding it so the glare from the sun is minimized. Not this car, there are times during a sunny day one cannot see the display. > The sound system has an awesome sound I believe it has 12 speakers, an infinity system. BUT, it is not intuitive on how to program stations you want to save. It is nice to be able to save, what is it 18 stations per band, BUT, when you push the steering wheel control to move to the next station it only allows the six stations shown. To get to the others you have to take your eyes off the road to select the next 6 and so on. On my GMC it flows from channel to channel and once you have gone through all the channels you can reverse. I will say though, the saving grace is the voice command. It works well. (I never did figure out how to instruct it to get directions via the GPS, I only used it to find me a station to listen to). > I have heated and cooling seats in the front and to heater work fine, but after the first summer season the cooling seats for the driver were minimally effective, I could live with it, but when I first got the car it made me cold, not now, though I am comfortable but gee. > I lived in the Detroit area for nearly 40 years and learned to drive there. I was livid to find out that I had wheel locks placed on the car. Not one, not one person I know anywhere has lost a wheel to thieves, not in Detroit or here in Ohio where I now live. The key was gone when I first went for a rotation and was asked for the key, I was nonplussed. I had to order a key for $15, and could not buy new lug nuts as in the infinite wisdom of Hyundai the lug nuts are not a standard size I had to have the dealer replace the lug nuts for another 20. This is not an option I would tout if I were them. Can you imagine your spouse having a tire issue anywhere and not being able to take your wheel/tire off because it is locked? Whew! > It seems to that Hyundai has an issue wherein you press on the gas and the car thinks for 3-4 seconds before it responds. Drives me nuts, and of course the dealer comes back, "it is normal we find nothing wrong" I compained 3 times. I have driven for nearly 40 years and have owned multiple cars and vans. My brother worked at GM in engines as an engineer, this is not normal. I am not a fool. I expected this to be the last car I would buy as I am now in my 60s. but I am going to get rid of this damn thing and buy something else. I am sure there is other issues, for instance I do not like the keyless entry and start feature, but my wife does. The big issue for me is that when I am exiting the car and press the lock button if I am still coming out it will not lock. I don't like that, but my wife has no problem so i mention it but it really is not too big an issue.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Buy!!

heicel Rodriguez, 03/20/2016
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best choice and Hidden Hyundai jewel. My car has nothing TO ENVY to the expensive make and models out there. It it's fully equipped and handles great.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My other Mercedes Benz

Frank Anthony, 03/23/2016
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After owning 3 Mercedes E-Class sedans, we bought this car for $22,000 less and after driving it for 4 years and 43000 miles I say it is better than the Mercedes. It doesn't cost $2000 per year to maintain. Doesn't need new brake pads at 23,000 miles and tires at 30,000 miles and on and on. Now have 37,000 miles and it is 3 years old. definitely the least expensive car to maintain that I have ever owned. Can't say enough about the quiet comfortable ride.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good for the buck

Seth Duncan, 11/08/2016
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love the curves of the car. I love the many options that it came with as standard. I love the price and the power train warranty. The audio is terrible though and the ride a little bumpy. I am getting about 16 miles to the gallon instead of 20 for city driving. Will keep an eye on that especially as I have it on ECO.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Excellent - watch out Toyota

Rufus Morison, 05/16/2018
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have two Azeras, a 2006 Limited and a 2013 Tech. The attention to detail on both is very good. The 2013 is a great travel car and the back seats are very comfortable, we have yet to discover a problem with this car. The panoramic sun-moon roof functions as expected and the heating/cooling is even. The rear window power shade is a great feature. Highway mileage is ~31 mpg. Instrumentation is thoughtful. It is unfortunate that the Azera will no longer be manufactured after 2017.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Review from a pro

Dale DB, 07/10/2018
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am a ride share driver. I drive 2,000 miles a month. This car is extremely comfortable to sit in and drive. Besides looking terrific you want to be comfortable in your car. With the technology package or the Limited trim, this car has everything that a 12 cylinder Mercedes and stretch limo has. Ventilated and heated seats, rear side window shades. Rear window shade that automatically goes down when you back up. Enormous panoramic sunroof. Widest driver seat ever because the power controls to adjust the seat are on the door and not on the lower left side of the seat. Therefore they didn’t need to leave an empty space for your arm to fit between the door and seat to access the seats power controls, thus they used that room to widen the seat. Very comfortable. Lots more bells and whistles, but as many as a $70,000 cars. Enjoy yourself when you drive!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Super car

super car, 10/25/2018
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the most fun sporty sedan I've ever owned...Used to own Nissan Maximas.....Tons of power/ acceleration. Great styling and sound system....Am probably going to look at the 2019 Hyundai for next vehicle...Only complaint of my 2013 Azera is the front seats are not very comfortable....Need more plushness like the Nissan Maxima which my wife owns...I have a bad lower back and after 1.5 hours, the seats in the Azera become very hard even with lumbar...Otherwise, this is a fabulous automobile....very sporty for a sedan.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A "Genesis" in all but the name

Gary, 11/28/2018
4dr Sedan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The best bargain in a luxury car. Competes well with cars many thousands more expensive

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050