Used 2002 Honda Civic Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$2,950 - $3,650

Used Civic for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

The very epidamy Quality and Value

John Holmes, 01/09/2018
EX 2dr Coupe (1.7L 4cyl 5M)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

I was with my son when he purchased this car back in August of 2002 as a graduation gift for himself. He drove it until November of 2008 putting 50K on it with only scheduled maintenance and a set of tires. When he announced he was going to buy a new car - I told him "Just drive it over to my house and park it in the driveway and let me know how much I owe you." - which he did. I've driven it another 50K with only scheduled maintenance up until this past summer when I decided to buy a new car. But, after changing my mind and deciding to keep it, at 107,000 replaced the water pump and timing belt "just in case" and put a new set of Michelin Defender 90K tires mounted on Konig-Z wheels. Despite the salt they put down on our Michigan roads, it still has no rust any where - I can't afford to let go something this dependable, getting 35+ city and 42+ MPG on the highway. Sure hope I can be so lucky when we actually DO purchase our next car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2002 Civic SI review

Stonefield0920, 06/03/2003
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I have owned this vehicle for just over 6 months now and I simply find it a pleasure to drive everyday. I use the car for commuting (approx. 50 miles per day) and it is wonderfully spacious for a hatchback when I go shopping on the weekends. The interior is very simple yet tastefully appointed (the bucket seats may take a little time to get used to) and all major options (power windows/locks, CD player, power moonroof, etc.) are standard. I usually average between 29- 31 miles per gallon (combination of city and highway driving), on regular octane gasoline.

Report Abuse

Best 300,000 miles ever

jhiscivic, 11/13/2009
19 of 22 people found this review helpful

I bought my civic brand new and will never sell. It has 299,000 miles today and have only replaced front pads, tires, and two alternators. No scheduled maintenance or tune-ups ever done. Change the oil with standard oil every 10,000 miles. Car has been a dream come true. Just wish the new ones were not so over priced.

Report Abuse

Such a good time

Blakslee, 10/08/2015
Si 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

2 years update: car is still great. Too much play in the shifter, likely fix with a short shifter and bushings. With good snow tires, car tackles new England just fine. Moved to Maryland in September of '17 and there are tons of back roads and farm roads to exploit. However where I live has long steep hills with 50mph speed limits and the car does not have enough power. I frequently find myself in 4th or third to maintain 50+mph. Ride quality improved greatly by increasing the tire sidewall on my summer 17s Before I got this car I had a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.9 which I love(d). But once I started grad school and began driving close to 400 miles per week, I needed something more economical but because I'm a car nut and feel that my car is a strong reflection of myself the list of cars I could afford, actually wanted and would save me enough money was veeeeery small. I was about to get a Mini cooper when the owners bailed and then I came across a gold 2002 Civic Si on craigslist. Owner was asking $5000 which I felt was a bit high but because it was so clean and very stock I really didn't want to pass it up so I shelled out the money. Being my first stick shift, it took me a few days to be able to drive the car proficiently and really enjoy what an awesome machine it is. Coming from my Jeep which was basically a 4wd muscle car (big engine, crude suspension and really only good in a straight line) to this car was like going from a hovercraft to a go-cart. This thing handles phenomenally well. (My car has lower, stiffer springs on it mind you). The seats hold you in tight and so far the car has only asked me to push it harder. Where my jeep was happiest at 1/3 to 3/4 throttle, the Civic Si is happiest when you're revving the nuts off of it. The car is a bit sluggish from a stop and 1st gear is really short but from then on it is just a blast. I would highly recommend a cold air intake on this car if nothing else just for the induction noise. At about 3k rpm you get the start of a great engine growl what just gets bigger an louder. But (on the stock exhaust) it's quiet enough for me to finally enjoy some classical music on the highway (when you aren't driving like Paul Walker of course). The clutch is nice and light but very squeeky and bites in the upper half/upper third of the travel. The shifter could be notchier and have less play but the car does have 92000 miles on it. It isn't the fastest thing in the world, in fact my old jeep is probably faster, but that is not at all why I bought the civic. I'd already had a car that was fast but I found that I rarely ever got to use all the power and because it was an automatic, the only time I really ever enjoyed the car was when I was flooring it (which was almost never). The 2002 civic si is fast enough where giving it the full berries is just as much fun as it was in the jeep but I'm not breaking the speed limit...as much. This is going to sound really odd but because the civic si is a bit slower, I can savor the sensation of acceleration and that wonderful induction noise for longer before I need to stamp on the brakes. Not to mention that every time you turn the wheel it's like carving a hole in the laws of physics. The trade off of course is ride quality. I would not say it is uncomfortable but you are going to know exactly where the town didn't do such a good job paving the roads. If you value getting to 60 in under 6 seconds, going on road trips with 3 of your friends or being whisked to your destination surrounded by Egyptian cotton and duck down don't buy this car. But if you are someone who says "I GET to drive an hour each way to...", who wants a car that will reward you when you push it and encourage you to push it harder while doing 30 mpg highway and being as reliable as a sun dial on a clear summer day then you really need look no further. If you can find one that hasn't been modded up the yin yang and thrashed by...well me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

absolute best car

medic587, 03/09/2014
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This is the best car I have ever owned, and I have owned several. I bought it due to the gas mileage and reliability and it has held up its end of the deal. I continually get low 40s MPG. I now have 315,000 miles on it and I have only had to replace an alternator (@ 250k). It still has its original clutch! The only thing I have had to do for this car, besides the alternator, is routine maintenance and put gas in it. I still trust it to get me anywhere.... long or short distance. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this car!

Report Abuse

Fantastic Commuter!!!!

honda_life, 01/06/2015
LX 4dr Sedan (1.7L 4cyl 5M)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

My '02 Civic LX Sedan is the most reliable car I have had. Got it for free from my father with 145,XXX miles, since my other car broke down. It does FANTASTIC on gas mileage. I can go to eastern Washington and back on less than 1/2 a tank. I have had no needed repairs. I wish I would have gotten this as my first car.

Report Abuse

They Keep on Running

ngalvan122907@gmail.com, 04/07/2016
EX 4dr Sedan (1.7L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I had bought a 4 door 2002 Honda civic DX that was practically given to me and that car is a trooper it went through two accidents from previous owners and after a few repairs it runs as if nothing happened. The car is reliable and very compact thus it has great gas mileage. Just the other day I took it to the next city 30 miles to get there and 30 miles to come back and the gas needle did not even move for like two days then after that it continued to move down like it normally does. I did not have to fill up on gas for a couple of days. My only complaint is that it takes a few extra seconds for it to pickup speed and it makes this noise but apparently it is normal. Another thing is the steering is not a smooth as other cars and it has nothing to do with the power steering. I had a 1994 Nissan Sentra and the steering on that was so smooth. Those are my only small complaints. I see these cars everywhere. My co worker has a beat up version of my car and my neighbor who parks next to me has his 2002 Honda civic dented everywhere with the lights popping out but none the less their cars keep running like a charm too. I really dont see this model dying out soon.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

4 years and 75K of pleasure

Zeke B, 09/07/2016
Si 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This car is a gem. I've driven it from 55K to 130K in 4 years, and I've had only minor repairs (O2 sensor, lock actuators), plus 4 new struts. The front seats are so good that even a long drive on the stiff suspension feels fine, and the car handles smoothly and well on windy roads, in rain, in wind, even pretty well in snow. The engine has a terrific balance of torque and smooth operation up 75MPH, without having to downshift all the time -- but they should have included a 6th gear; at 80MPH, its revving high and loud at about 4000RPM, which gets tiresome and wastes gas if you're keeping up with fast traffic (e.g., Atlanta). I've fit a mid-sized armchair in the hatch, and had 2 adults ride in the back for an hour (it was cramped, but doable).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Si', Honda Si

hondavet, 06/07/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Purchased after test driving rsx base, protege5 and matrix. far and away above last two; rsx appearance more appealing but interior too plastic and austere (also availability limited and dealers wouldn't.) Made Honda an offer I couldn't refuse (17,800 with tint, mats, mudgards)after pointing out that none of their stock had sold in over a month. Love the car; looks grow on you and it really moves. Not sure what the complaints are about the new suspension; corners and handles as well as any of the other 6 Honda's I have owned.

Report Abuse

Maximum fuel mileage and reliability

2620, 09/18/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

In 02 was considering Jetta, Civic, Saturn. Looking for fuel economy and reliability/longevity. It delivers! 5-speed manual 39 mpg back in 2002 and still 39 mpg in 2010. No problems whatsoever. Gas and oil changes only. New brakes at 150,000. Timing belt and water pump maintenance at 170,000. Mechanic said I could probably get another 100,000 before needing to bring it in again. It's decent in Michigan snow and ice. Road noise from rear end tires or wheels is noticeable. Ride suspension is also harsh over bumps. I feel got my money's worth. I plan to keep it another 4 years (80,000 miles) and then try to find a worthy person to be the second owner of this trusty little car.

Report Abuse

Don't Believe all the Hype

Gabriel Welch, 12/18/2016
EX 4dr Sedan (1.7L 4cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2002 Honda Civic EX with 148,000 miles from a private seller. It seemed like a good deal at the time but a few weeks after purchase things began going wrong. The handling was non existent. Braking was poor. Suspension was stiff. Technology or lack thereof was unreliable. The ride was extremely uncomfortable. The list goes on. I didn't expect much from a used car with high mileage but this was too much for me. I've never had so many things inevitably go wrong on a vehicle. Keeping up with regular maintenance just wasn't enough for this thing. Bad tie rods, tie rod ends, timing belt, water pump, brakes, AC, coolant system, head gasket, everything that shouldn't have gone wrong did. The only thing that made driving this car bearable was the amount of money I saved on gas. The Civic truly is a gas saver. Needless to say I sold my Civic with 156,000 miles and bought something newer.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Hold on to one if you can

indylta, 01/30/2011
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Great car. I had 130k on mine when some very poor driver ran into me and totalled it. Man, I know I had another 150k to get out of it. It is noisy at high speeds, but show me a car in its class that isn't. I drive 50% highway and averaged 37 mpg over the life of the car. I'm 5-11 with longer legs and didn't have comfort issues. My friend who is 6-5 did. If you want a reliable, efficient car that will last you until your tired of driving it and then some, stick with the Honda. I wouldn't recommend it if you are bothered by noise at >80mph (mostly wind).

Report Abuse

Honda = Chrysler now

Honda NoGood NoMore, 06/03/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purchased new with 6 miles on it and drove it for 5 years (80,000) miles. Reliability and Honda service was terrible. At 35,400 miles, third gear synchro went out on manual transmission. I have been driving manuals for 25 years and I have a CDL and I never burned out a clutch or damaged a tranny. Fixed under warranty but never shifted right again (grinded and clunked when going into gear) and shifter was VERY stiff and VERY difficult to down shift. Took back 4 times and dealer said it was fine!? Called Honda Corporate and wrote letters, no help at all. All 4 struts went out at 40,000 miles too ($1300). Road noise terrible, factory tires rated worst on tirerack and hydroplaned very badly.

Report Abuse

New '02 Civic Si Hatchback ROCKS!!!

Eric Smith, 04/18/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

After seeing the demise of the Civic Hatch, I was thinking about picking up a used Hatchback DX or CX from the dealer.... but you can't find them! Honda Hatchback owners are SO LOYAL it isn't even funny!! What can I say... The Rally stick is awsome, the car is fast and handles beautifully, even at 130MPH !!! It looks awsome too!!!! (Especially on the inside). Take a test drive, you won't regret it... Oh, word is there will only be 18,000 of them made/sold in the US, then the Hatch's may be gone for good this time! Pick one up now!!! (BTW, most dealer are tacking on an addt'l $1000 for the privlidge of buying one!)

Report Abuse

Dependable Friend in the Garage

herman_wiegman, 01/10/2013
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The Honda Civic is one of the best expressions of the economy sedan. The basic concept of offering as much room as possible to the passengers, while also providing fuel economy and nimbleness is well served by the Honda Civic.

Report Abuse

Great car

katlotlbra, 05/11/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

If your looking for a great car without paying an arm or a leg. I would highly recommend the 2002 Honda Civic. The car is fun to drive and the engine is quiet.

Report Abuse

Great! ,,but....

ethelip, 07/27/2013
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Had this car for 2 years now - I drive it tough, on tough roads (NYC, dirt roads..) I can accelarate as fast as I need - even though I must use low gears & push it, she goes! Now 86K and still sounds great.

Report Abuse

Pseudo-Ode to My Honda

Honda Honey, 01/11/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Civic you were not the best looking, fastest or not even that exciting, but you were dependable and you gave me a lot of miles off one tank of gas. You had to be pushed up even the small hills and the road and wind noise a nuisance, but you made every trip just fine. Your sound system was just there and comfort could have been better, but I still loved you and miss you to this day. But alas I will try something new and more exciting in the near future even though I will never forget you... the one who I could count on to cheerfully start each morning no matter what abuse I dished out.

Report Abuse

my new Si

Erin Clark, 05/25/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I just bought this car and I love it! It's small, sporty, and fun to drive. However, the gas mileage on the sticker is not what I have been getting around town. I actually get between 18-20 mpg around town. This may be attributed to the use of the airco as I live in Tucson AZ and it is 100 degrees everyday!

Report Abuse

Great MPG!!!

Irishndn22, 04/24/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I was the second owner of this car, the previous people decided it needed some upgrades but never completed with a turbo (pity). I drive 30 miles one way to work and get on average 32-35 mpg, can't beat that! I have never had any major problems with the car, would recommend to anyone looking at a Civic Si of this style or anything with good MPG.

Report Abuse

I want to like it...

Lauren, 01/08/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I got this car from my Mom, and when she had it she had 0 problems with it. Now that I inherited it, I am having all sorts of problems. Car idles VERY roughly at start, bucks and shudders sometimes while accelerating particularly between 50-60 mph, sometimes hard to accelerate. This problem is intermittent so it's been hard to diagnose and so far no one has been able to fix it. It makes driving the car a huge pain when it's happening. Check engine light has been on for a while now. Always took care of it and brought it in for routine care. Really, really disappointed.

Report Abuse

My Honda Civic 2002 Ex (Automatic)

Raj, 02/10/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love my 2002 Honda Civic Ex. I bought this car about 1 year back and already have put 9000 miles on it. Currently the odometer reads 67000 miles. This is a small beautiful car with a wonderful gas millage. With an automatic transmission I get about 25-26 miles/gallon in the city and 32-35 miles/gallon on the highways. Other than the usual regular scheduled maintenance I the car requires nothing and runs perfectly fine. I changed the battery this winter. The only complain with this car is its poor factory installed audio/speaker system.

Report Abuse

Nice car with a nice price.

Patrick C, 07/09/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I just got this car about two weeks ago, and I love it ever since I drove out from the dealership's parking lot. The transmission look weird at first, but once you start changing gears, it'll became second nature to you. And the seat, it's just the best seat I have ever sat in! (Under $20K) It got really good support to your back and torso, and the steering wheel, it's give you the feeling that you are driving an S2000 (no kidding!) To sum it up, the SI might not be the fastest car you've ever drove, but for a car that's give you so much fun (and standard equipments) well under $20K, who really care ;-)

Report Abuse

Better to drive than to look @

Nautiker, 08/08/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

leasing this 02 SI for 3yrs. have had nothing but Honda's in the past. Wasn't too crazy about the looks, but once I drove it. Sold! A great combination of handling, power, and interior asthetics in a fun to drive car. Considered the Protege' 5 and felt more confident in the refinement and dependability of a Honda. Not crazy about the looks, definitely needs larger rims and tires, and maybe a body kit. High cowl doesn't help. Otherwise, a great car for the money!

Report Abuse

so slick

Pony Killer, 09/05/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

i sold my integra gsr, and bought this little rocket. its not as fast as the gsr, and its not quite as fun to drive. i think i like it better, though. the interior is better than that of ANY car that costs less than $50,000. the seats? you can't beat them. while this car usually comes in in the middle of the pack in shootouts, one thing to consider, is that this car is cheaper (mine was $17,300), and all the others come w/ 17" X 7" wheels. the civic comes with 15" X 6"'s. with the same wheel and tire setup as the others, i think the civic would win most of these camparos. when you factor in honda's reliability and resale value, you can't go wrong.

Report Abuse

Great car! Perfect for my long commute!

Jonathan, 08/21/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle off a lease. I have driven it two thousand miles since purchasing it and it has been great. I love this car. Despite gas being $3.30 a full tank only costs me 32 dollars and lasts over 300 miles.

Report Abuse

Civic Si '03

pabloESCABA, 04/28/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is a lot more different than the pprevious Si, but once u get used to the design it seems to be better then the rest of em, its quick but needs some more work done to it to release the power the engine got thats not being used, other than that its a great car.

Report Abuse

Civic Si = GoKart

DynaSpeed, 07/08/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've never been able to throw a car around quite as much as this. A few suspension mods, and this thing really comes alive. Most fun car I've ever driven.

Report Abuse

Overrrateddd

tom237, 09/19/2011
7 of 13 people found this review helpful

I have a 2002 honda civic and I bought it for raliability but the trany at 73 went out while driving in country road So I got standed for so much time having no option except towing it.Now I need a new transmission.So to me Honda is very overrated and it is not worth the price at all.Nothing different than any other american made car or better say it much worst.

Report Abuse

Little car.....HUGE FUN!!!

Caldge04, 06/01/2016
Si 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 11 people found this review helpful

I just bought this magnificent car and instantly fell in love with it!!!.... of course I've owned four other Honda's prior to this one and I am a Honda fanatic!!! Ever since the movie series "Fast and Furious" came out when i was a teenager who was just starting to drive, I instantly became immersed into Japanese cars, more in particularly Honda. For the next three years i wished and dreamed of owning my first honda and on a day seemed for doom with $8k at my side i finally found my first honda.... a 93 Honda del sol with a jdm gsr swap mildly built! When i happily paid the guy the $7500 cash for it, which i drove four hours to get, i felt like i was dreaming!!! With this first honda so many feelings immersed me, but mainly an overwhelming sense of joyous pride....HONDA PRIDE!!! The first 48 hours i owned this car i did NOT get out of it, I drove it everywhere and slept in it the first night in it! Fast forward ten years later and three hondas more in my belt, ive always dreamed of the ep3 si hatchback, in particular a black one with white wheels. On one morning before work I found my next baby....a black 2002 Honda Civic Si Hatchback with white wheels and mildly modded with all bolt ons, a k-pro tuning system, and aftermarket suspension. The week leading up to the buy of my life was the longest week of my life but the day finally came! A day that seemed to evade me for years was finally upon myself and quickly seemed to be set for failure, everything and anything seemingly went wrong...uuuntil... it seemed the Honda Gods smiled down upon myself and made this car destined to be mine! I finally made the 1.5 hour trek to the car...there she sat like the most gorgeous sexiest girl in school back in my high school days...the transfers took place and within the first few moments sitting in the seats of this seemingly rare gem of a Honda ( don't see many if any of this particular models around anymore )my pulse sped up, palms got sweaty just as when i bought and drove my gsr swapped del sol the first time, and in my head all i could hear was the song from the honda commercial with the car driving through the car engineers head and the lyrics all about the thrill of it playing in my head....then with a turn of the magic key there she purred, so elegantly she looked just absolutely astounded i gently pulled out and onto the road, a road that this car was destined for like the curvy roads of a mountainous Japanese back road! I hit the gas and so smoothly glided the s bends and nineties like it was nothing, so with the car seemingly begging for more i gave it full throttle and she ran through that road like a thorough bred horse at the Kentucky Derby! This car is an absolute amazing car, but so is any Honda in my opinion! For only being a 2002 this car was way ahead of its time with all the instrumentation, the cars sleek design is way ahead of its time, the changes made with K series motors and ivtec, this car is an absolute positively beauty!!! Honda you have really nailed it as you always do, and you were my favorite when i was 15 and still so fifteen years later with my new ep3, which by the way only has 60,000 miles, and Honda you will always be my favorite car manufacturers!!! To anyone and i mean ANYONE looking to find something thats reliable, fun to drive, sporty, and has great pop, go look at one of these or any Honda for that matter and test drive it an BUY IT!!! Im really looking forward to the much anticipated Civic Type R to come out but while i admire from afar i will be smiling ear to ear driving this gem for the next 5-10 years easily!!! Moreover in short, this car is as close to perfection as you can get, now dont get me wrong its not as fast as a lambo or bugatti but its got plenty of pop n power for only being a little four banger, but with some serious mods you can make a honda faster such as my buddies seafoam color eg hatch that runs 8.68 in the quarter mile at 175mph! So for all the haters out there....yes ANY Honda has loads and loads of potential!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Still fun and practical

lrxst, 12/13/2014
Si 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

2016 update: I've had this car longer than any other by far, over 10 years now and the odometer shows 115,000 miles. It handles predictably, and has held up pretty well. It's not a common model, so people look at it and kind of scratch their heads. Parts are not difficult to find, but you have to make sure that the car is being identified by the engine size, as only the Si had a 2.0 engine. The clutch lasted 90,000 miles, and was a little over a $1,000 to replace at an independent shop. Other items I've had to replace in the last few years: front struts, two brake calipers, serpentine belt, oxygen sensor, and both electric door lock actuators. Other than that, it's been routine maintenance. Tuners might disagree, but the 2.0 K-series (K20A3) engine is a high-point of this car. This iteration of the Civic (EP3) made its debut in the European market in 2001, along with the K-series engine. Unlike earlier Civics it has a timing chain, so there is no expensive timing belt to replace. The Bosch electronic ignition also helps to make the engine low-maintenance. Besides the serpentine belt, the only other thing that has been touched on the engine was new spark plugs at 100,000 miles. The K20 stayed in production through 2011, and there are other engines in the K-series still in production as of 2016. I do wish this car had a 6th gear for driving on the interstate. The shifter is different than most cars, but I'm not sure why other cars don't have it there in the center. Typical Honda, carefully laid out, and you can make it live a long time with a little upkeep. I live in a wintry area. For a nearly 15 year old car, it has held up better than most. There are the beginnings of rust under the driver's door and rear wheel well. Having briefly driven a number of newer cars recently, this car does feel basic now. This car did not receive Takata airbags. The only recall to date was for headlight switch wiring. My local Honda dealer took care of that. My car also had a worn sensor in the driver seat belt, so the belt receiver was also replaced at no cost.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Honda is definitely overrated

Brendan, 03/02/2016
EX 4dr Sedan (1.7L 4cyl 4A)
4 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used from an elderly woman in Conneticut. She had replaced the rack & pinion before I had picked it up and she had a problem with the gas door not opening once closed. Instead of fixing this I would simply latch it from the trunk behind the carpet to keep it sealed while driving, it's tedious but saves me a fortune than going to dealer to have it taken care of. I originally bought it with 132000 miles and got an amazing deal at $1100 but then it had frozen calipers so replaced both by myself for $200 in parts and three hours in a driveway. After that I resurfaced the drums and replaced the shoes and the front brake pads, the rotors are still original and holding up fine. The car seems incapable of holding any speed over 65 without shimmying back and forth and yet it isn't the tie rods (they're brand new) alignment was also just done along with two matching new tires, so the problem is still unsolved. I great great gas mileage however since I commute 102 miles a day round trip and I average 31-34 mpg not bad for an automatic. Even being the EX model she seems very basic for features and nothing special, the special edition wheels bent immediately upon arrival to upstate New York since the roads are unforgiving so she has four newer steel wheels on her. Just learned she needs a new catalytic converter ($300) new windshield ($250) new bushings and control arms front and back ($500) and new front struts ($200) since I do enjoy the reliability I guess I will repair her but next tax season going to go out and buy either a GMC or a Toyota since believe it or not GMCs have been more reliable than the civic with minimal repairs, the repairs are cheap for Honda I guess that's a benefit? But seem to need more in frequency and just don't enjoy it. Good basic commuter car, it's not a race car guys, sick of seeing them with loud exhausts they aren't meant for street racing, 127 hp is not substantial enough except if you're racing a prius even then it's almost anyone's race haha.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Paid $4800 5 years ago

bstern92, 09/11/2013
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 130k on it and it now has 144k(second car). Now that I gave my sister my car, this will be driven a lot more. I really like the exterior and interior design of the coupe. It's sleek and has a crazy amount of room for a coupe. The only complaint is that it doesn't have an armrest, with the storage compartment. I have replaced the A/C compressor, oxygen sensor, front rotors and brakes, ball joints, control arms, swaybar links, and battery. All parts were cheap because it's a Honda. I don't hold the repairs against the car because these are all parts expected to go after 11 years. It drives very nice and is comfortable. My cousin has the same one, with over 230k.

Report Abuse

Rally/Sport yet economical hatchback

Richa, 06/11/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Want a car that's fun to drive, but need a functional back seat? You've found it! The new iVtec teamed with the close ratio 5 speed gearbox and the short throw shifter make an awsome combination. The tight European tuned suspension make the car highly responsive and agressive in the turns. Yet, besides myself, I can put 3 Lacrosse players and gear in this thing. The SI handles as well as the RSX Type S. If you must have the 200hp w/6 speed, buy the RSX, or keep the 3K or so and get the SI and get the added economy, I'm getting around 29 mpg and I'm certainly not light on the gas pedal.

Report Abuse

Great bang for the buck

Thad, 04/06/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After sifting through several thousand ads/scams for used Civics, I lucked into a cream puff EX w/ 31,000 original miles, w/out a nick, dent, or scratch. (rally red -- GREAT color!) It's the best looking, best performing used car I've ever bought, and now that the weather is getting nicer, I'm loving my sunroof. I put a remote starter (mandatory in Michigan winters),and a new set of tires on her, and she runs flawlessly,without a single rattle. No, it's not a 328i, so handling and performance are held to a different standard. Also, I was surprised to find city mileage at only around 28mpg with the automatic. But I still love this little car, and better still, I love having NO PAYMENTS!

Report Abuse

Great Car!

jmharrell, 04/21/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Has 129,000 miles so far, original clutch, all original parts besides regular maintenance items like timing belt, water pump and brakes. Runs great, handles great, manual gives it some pretty decent acceleration. Get 33 city/40-50 mpg highway depending on speed and type of highway.

Report Abuse

Hot Honda

grenadian, 05/22/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Good drive around car. Not too sporty so not fun to drive. Great mpg. 2000 Civic is better. Can hold a good sound system.

Report Abuse

My Civil Little Civic

Mos Steph, 08/04/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my Civic from a local Honda dealer in 2005, had 36,000 miles on it. I change the oil every 3000 miles. Only had to replace the battery, front brake pads, tires. Only out of the ordinary repairs were the airbag sensor (Honda replaced for free not even under warranty!), a tie rod (wear & tear), and some electrical connection that had to do with one of my headlights. It's not the most flashy, fast car but it's zippy, economical, and just right for me. If I had kids or pets to haul around I'd probably go for the sedan or an Accord but for now I love the coupe. I'm a Honda person for life now after having an Oldsmobile & Chevy. If I had to do it again, I'd get a 5 speed if available.

Report Abuse

Very Nice Car all around

si2002owner, 07/11/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

In over a month of owning this car, i can't tell you enough. Fast, powerfull, descent gas milleage, very well done interior details, etc.. Feels and handles like a real car, not a toy.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Michael Petersen, 11/18/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought our Honda as a 2002 closeout and have never looked back. While the car has picked up a few dings and scratches here and there over the last 8 years, it has not failed to perform. We put 1500 miles on it over 6 days this past summer while running the A/C and got 36 mpg (all before the 110K checkup). Great gas and oil car. Only issues we've had were replacing the front struts and replaced the V-Tech valve. Only complaint is the front disk pads wear all too quickly (40K miles), but other than that, it's a great car.

Report Abuse

Zoom, Zoom Si

Tampajoe, 08/01/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The test drive is what sold me. I test drove the Civic Si and Toyota Matrix xrs on the same day. The fun factor was the difference. The car accelerated to highway speed without any hesitation with 3 occupants and the a/c on. The car has plenty of power. It was a few days until I had driven it at night. The display glows orange. Its pretty cool. The front seats are very supportive.

Report Abuse

Loud noise, when water splases exhaust

Scottwm, 08/05/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Does anyone else have this problem with the 2002, Honda Civic EX, 4dr, 5 speed Man. When driving through puddles the water splashes on the exhaust and has a loud noise, the noise you would here if a car had no exhaust. As it dries, 30 seconds, it goes away. Honda knows of this issue and calls it a "charateristic of the car". I was told by the dealership, after they replaced a strut and the problem still was there. Today, Aug 5, I contacted Majestic Honda,W. Wariwick, RI. (I purchased the car from their Lincoln , RI dealership) and asked to speak with the the owner. I will receive a callback from the owner. Scott,

Report Abuse

It rocks!!!!!!!!!!!

mpeace, 08/18/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

You just have to get one. I can't explain it. It rocks.

Report Abuse

2002 Si 1700 miles

kcma, 08/28/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

From the time I drove it off the lot this car has been a blast to drive. It is my first car and I am very happy with it. Some people think the exterior looks odd, but the looks grow on you. Everyone loves the inside and the shifter never fails to be noticed. I haven't seen any others around where I live in MA, but I enjoy driving a unique car.

Report Abuse

Wanted a Civic EX came out with Si !

CivicSi, 09/06/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I went in to purchase a Honda EX, but with low financing rate and 2000$ off I purchased the Civic Si! It's good on gas, environmentally friendly, fast, reliable and had a decent stereo system.

Report Abuse

Civic Si is a great hatchback

Doire, 09/17/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Buy one, but don't pay MSRP!

Report Abuse

own one and you'll understand

redronin22, 10/19/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got my Si in august and its been a blast to drive since. It handles nice and when you gun it it moves quick. Everyone always comments on the interior and it looks unique from the outside ( guinea pig comments)Over all its a great car.

Report Abuse

Dealers are dealing on these.

Stoner, 10/14/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Had mine a couple of weeks now, very nice car. Got it for 15,885, no one is buying these cars, have not seen any on the road. Very happy so far, car is a blast to drive, very fast. Love the shifter. Gas mileage in not as good as I expected, but I can't keep my foot out of it either.

Report Abuse

Awesome Car!!!

Chris T., 10/28/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Got this car a week ago and it hauls!!! Considering that this car has a base RSX Integra engine in it for $16,000 (little bit more than what I paid for it) you're getting a lot of car for the money. The wheels are really nice, the seats are out of this world. I'm really tall and can actually fit in this car with no serious discomfort. This car loves to rev high and go fast. Salesman let me take the car for 30 mile test drive and he let me race people in city traffic with it! Beat an old Integra GSR and a Jeep GC V-8 with peeling the tires out -but hey, I won them with a car worth so much less?

Report Abuse

kick a** ride

kat, 06/14/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I totally love the stick on the dash as well as the excellent cornering with curved seats to support your body when you accelerate into a turn. The manual T allowes for powerful control of the 4-cyl. making the most of the 160 horse power. An excellent choice for women!!!

Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page:
51050