Used 2000 GMC Yukon XL Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,198 - $4,595

Used Yukon XL for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great Truck

Pshaddock, 03/02/2003
2500 SLE 4dr SUV 4WD
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This has by far been the best truck that I have ever owned. The difference between a 1/2 ton and 3/4 ton is amazing. Better brakes and suspension for starters makes the 3/4 ton worth the extra money. According to Edmunds if I sold it today, I could sell it for almost what I have in it. I guess people are willing to pay big money for 4wd and 3/4 ton features.

Report Abuse

Solid Machine

TG, 01/21/2009
2500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Ordered truck new when 3/4 tons became avaialble. Ordered the 40/20/40 front seating, a big help when using the truck as a P/U filling the entire back, which is why I bought a truck and not a soccer mom SUV. rdered with 3.73 gears and put taller LT235/85/R16 tires. With the combo I get 17 mpg on the highway, with 2000 lbs of stuff and cruising at 70 mph. Has been very reliable, not to say that I have not had to have repairs done, most expensive was replacement of the exhaust manifold bolts, 3 broke off, mechanic said it was a design fault. New bolts were much beefier. Can tow 10K lbs with ease. If you are looking for economy, by a Prius, but I would not want to drive it for 16 hours.

Report Abuse

excellent

manuel, 08/25/2002
2500 SLE 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

i found this vehicle to be far superior to its compeditor the excursion in all aspects including style, comfort, and handling.

Report Abuse

PROBLEMS WITH THE INTERIOR OF THE TRUCK

CMR2366, 01/29/2003
1500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I LOVE MY CAR BUT THE ONLY THING IS THE PAINT ON THE INSIDE BY THE GLOVE BOX IS ALREADY PEELING OFF i've only had my truck for four years and this is already happening but other than that everything else is great.

Report Abuse

Buy One!

Joeqc, 07/20/2003
1500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this used 2000 Yukon XL after researching for a Suburban/Excursion for a better part of a year. Anyways, the vehicle is outstanding, even as a used unit. The 5.3 really pulls in the mid range,and the mileage is about 13.3 in town, and I got 17, and 17.5 highway driving 70-75, with the air on!,,,also the kids love the view from it and size.

Report Abuse

bignfun suv

monkeybleu, 01/02/2004
1500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased my yukon xl to haul myself and dogs to dog shows. Not only was it great for this, but a comfortable car for local driving. It is very convenient that you can fit 4x8 sheets of plywood in the back of the vehicle with the third seat removed and the second row folded down. Love the heated leather seats in the winter. The vehicle has needed a few repairs that no preventative maintenence could have avoided. Other than the reliability issue, it's a great car.

Report Abuse

Suburban's the only way to go

burbs4me, 03/20/2004
2500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I'm now on my 5th suburban/yukon... they are just the greatest..my most recent purchase, 2000 gmc/xl model, w/quad 4 seating is fantastic.. these vehicles can do it all, and with great reliability. i dont think i'll never not own one...

Report Abuse

2000 Yukon XL

Earl RIce, 01/19/2007
1500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is one of the most comfortable trucks I've ever owned. It pulls a 7500lb travel trailer with no problems. The only repair I've needed since purchasing it new is the front hub assembly which wasn't difficult to replace. I did replace the OEM hitch because of failures on other GM trucks. This has been a great truck to own and I will buy another when the time comes. I hope they will put a diesel in the Suburban/Yukon XL line.

Report Abuse

44000 Miles of Fun

wsolveson, 03/06/2002
1500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I think I bought the first Yukon XL in town. This one was built at the GM plant in Mexico and has had the best quality of any vehicle I have ever owned. Awesome sound system. Trailers my 21 ft. boat smoothly.

Report Abuse

Loyal Yukon Owner

JR, 10/21/2007
1500 SLT 4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever for long trips, most comfortable because of the seats. Great ride when replaced original tires with Michelins cross terrain suv's.

Report Abuse

Great Vehicle

rbellfield, 05/16/2003
2500 SLT 4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my Yukon XL. This is my first SUV and I will never go back to a car again.

Report Abuse

So Far, So Good

, 01/13/2003
2500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

So far it has been a good vehicle....had it in the shop once for a exhaust problem...was covered under warranty...there is a noise in the steering column, but not enough to drive you mad...overall very pleased with the truck...only wished it got better gas mileage, if I get rid of it, that will be the only reason.

Report Abuse

Multiple Repairs

neveragain, 08/01/2009
1500 SLT 4dr SUV
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Fuel pump left us stranded 700 mls from home$1000, abs module replaced $1000, it has since gone out again and dealer has no record of fixing it the first time. Brakes wear unevenly, cuts out at stop light, multiple visits to dealer never corrected. Doors make terrible noise, no amount of oil, wd 40 helps. Window motors stopped working. Not a dependable vehicle at all. Cheap interior coming to pieces

Report Abuse

Quality plague first model year XL

skold, 05/11/2002
2500 SLE 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had my 2000 Yukon XL in the shop 14 times in less than 2 years for the same recurring problems; after 5 visits over a 4 month time period the computer climate control still didn't work, loud noises from the front dash, rear pwr windows failing, pwr door locks on rear lift gate failing. GM offered me 7yr/70,000 mile warranty on the vehicle but we were so fed up with the car, we decided to trade it in for 2002. I was really disgusted with the whole affair because it cost me about $10,000 (difference between trade-in and new car). GM did give me a 6yr/60,000 mile warranty on the new car though for free.

Report Abuse

Never Again

riser, 04/24/2009
1500 SLE 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought it brand new. 3 days after driving off the power windows failed and dealer said they already knew of the problem. 6k miles, front tires wore out, 4 sets of tires by 20k miles before warranty replaced the entire front end and steering column, 1st year - fuel pump failed, starter failed, elect system shorted - 4 sets of ball joints, 3 sets of tie rods and transmission failed within 97k miles, rear end is failing now at 202k, great gas mileage though and comfortable when it's running - dealer service abysmal, 1st answer from them on tires was "that is a big vehicle and you're going to have some tire wear", warranty on transmission was GMC's own and poor - never again for GMC

Report Abuse

UNHAPPY Yukon XL SLT OWNER

unhappy owner, 06/11/2002
1500 SLT 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck has MAJOR electricial problems!!! It has left me stranded 5 times. Thank GOD for cell phones. (I am over my warrenty 49,000)The dealer even said when a truck starts blowing fuses left and right and leaving you on the side of the road like mine it is time to trade. They said it could take tons of money to figure out what the cause of that would be. I to have had my rear windows either refuse to roll up or down. It has a loud whine in the engine most of the time as well. I am looking to upgrade to the 2003 asap! I will buy the highest millage warenty though!!! I love the room but I two bought A LEMON!!!!

Report Abuse

GOOD BUY

TCLIF, 08/29/2003
1500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

LAZY BOY ON WHEELS

Report Abuse

So long GMC!

jimb, 09/11/2003
1500 SLE 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We switched from a pathfinder to a yukon for the extra torque and room, but this yukon has been a lemon! I cried the day it came off warranty. Here's what's been worked on: - pasenger window motor failed - brake lines rerouted per recall - steering linkage rebuilt - those darn running lamps - 3 replaced - abs module ($1k) Plus the doors squeek and the car groans on full-rotate-turn. To top it all off, GM service departments are the worst I know in terms of scheduling, turn-around, accomodation (e.g loaner or shuttle)

Report Abuse

Buyer Beware!

Disappointed Owner!, 01/24/2004
1500 SLT 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I spent over $40,000 for this truck and have had MANY problems which have not been fixed. Here is a list of the problems...the fuel pump screams which it did not do when new and dealer trys to claim that it is normal, has major electrical problems which the dealers would do quick fixes that would last a month or so and then the original problems would return, The truck cuts out like it is going to die at a stop and then after a few seconds of pressing accelerator it kicks/jumps back in, both running lamps and brake lights had to be replaced, window motors went out plus much much more. Now surprise surprise, no more warranty! Buyer beware!

Report Abuse

Lots of Repairs

wthtlh, 04/10/2004
1500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle has had many major repairs for the price paid. At first, many problems with the brakes (funny noise),after warranty went out air- ride shock went out (very expensive!), air conditioner unit(very, very expensive, fuel pump along with several little things. Think this vehicle should last longer for what I paid Have 82000 miles and ready to get another vehicle, NOT GMC

Report Abuse

Featured obsolescence

Hooker, 04/19/2004
1500 SLE 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Shortly after purchase the fuel pump made noises, and was informed that they will last 100K+, died at 68K, relpaced for $1K. Routine maintenance discovered bad bearings in front differential, informed that this is not unusual!!! repaired for $1.5K.

Report Abuse

Solid Purchase

JSchaeffer, 06/06/2004
1500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased this vehicle in 2002; serves as my company car and also family trip wagon. Engine and transmission very solid, good handling for a platform of this size. Avg 19mpg interstate, about 14 in town. 4WD very effective on ski trips; upgraded from Firestone to Michelin at 50K miles - worth the extra cost in ride and reduced noise

Report Abuse

Endless Major Repairs

ck123, 08/22/2004
1500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have owned the vehicle for 13 mths. There have been major repairs. I have spend more time and money on repairs on this GMC than on my three previous vehicles combined in 12 years- Acura,Honda and Nissan. GMC repairs include: 4 wheel drive control switch, fuel pump/sending unit, front wheel bearings, power DR-side window motor. The fuel pump has been the most dangerous to date: the vehicle stalled without warning while travelling on I-40. Power brakes & steering were lost; I drifted until the vehicle came to a stop. The fuel pump had already been changed once and all power window motors had been replaced twice because of failure.

Report Abuse

Love My Yukon

Yukon XL owner, 10/04/2006
1500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We love our Yukon XL. There is always plenty of room for all of our kids stuff. It's safe. I can see well down the road to avoid potential problems on the freeway. People don't try to "run me over" like when I'm in a smaller vehicle. Of course it sucks down the gas like crazy, but we still love it. Makes launching a boat a piece of cake too.

Report Abuse

unhappy

Sharon, 03/15/2002
2500 SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had the yukon back to the dealer meny times, for a water leak it took them over one year to fix it also burns oil and front end has a knock, I had ment with gmc and they were to buy it back, and when that day came the went back on the deal. This yukon has had 42 ingeriesas they are called, it has left me stranded two differnt times.windows dont work all the time, seats dont work, Garage door opener dont work but once in awhile.

Report Abuse

Cool

fff, 03/26/2002
2500 SLT 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Cool

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050