Used 1994 GMC Sonoma Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$830 - $1,761

Used Sonoma for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best Pickup I've ever owned

JohnsonLonnie, 07/04/2009
SLE 2dr Regular Cab 4WD LB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Wonderful vehicle there is a reason they discontinued the 4.3 Liter CPI engine. Certain things go out like clockwork but the truck is almost 20 years old now. The thing had over 300k on the engine when some crazy woman ran the truck over while I at a stop in traffic. It folded the bed under the cab area and the frame was bent near double. I walked away from the wreck with a concussion.

Report Abuse

Pete's Review

Pete Matthiesen, 01/06/2004
SLE 2dr Club Coupe 4WD SB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have really enjoyed my Sonoma. It has been a very reliable truck with minimal problems. It has over 130,000 miles now and is still running strong as when I bought it. The only problem I have had is with the EGR on the engine, but they say it is a common problem with it.

Report Abuse

Wow, What A Truck!!

NesBilt.com, 09/19/2002
SLS 2dr Club Coupe SB
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just bought it and LOVE it! I have the V6 and there is plenty of power! It's going to be fun upgrading this bad boy!

Report Abuse

Truck that Won't Quit

cb, 12/10/2002
SLS 2dr Club Coupe 4WD SB
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased this truck new, if now has 211,000 miles without a major repair. While it has been well cared for mechanically, I have hauled countless loads of lumber, mulch, bricks, furniture, you name it. Off-road, it is tough to match, I have reached many fishing spots that would not have been accessible by a lesser vehicle, and some harsh Pennsylvania winters seemed paltry behind the wheel. I was actually asked by a collague if my truck was new after it had crossed the 200K mark. Power is ample (and I sold my 69 camaro SS to but this truck, so that is quite a statement.) All repairs have been electronic, it has never left me stranded.

Report Abuse

Great all around truck

don , 08/09/2008
SL 2dr Regular Cab SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have a 94 Sonoma with a 4.3 tbi engine with 181,000 miles on it and it still gets me around 20 miles to the gallon and runs like a champ. I bought it with 152,000 on it and I've driven it hard as hell and it's held up with no major problems except I threw a clutch once but hey it happens. I couldn't be happier with my truck. It has been such a great truck. I'm sinking almost $10,000 back into it to make it a show truck for me and the family to enjoy for a long time to come

Report Abuse

Great Little Truck

mark455, 02/23/2003
SLE 2dr Regular Cab SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck has been great. I purchased it used with 45000 miles and it now has 90000. I have done nothing but basic maintenace. I have had no problems whatsoever. The truck still looks new.

Report Abuse

Economical/reliable but dull

tuffteach, 02/24/2003
SLS 2dr Club Coupe SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Having owned this truck since it was new, I was impressed with the pep (for a four banger) and economy. Still gets 22-26 mpg with more than 110K on the odometer. GM still needs work on their use of plastic parts. Both outside mirrors have fallen off the truck while driving. Replacement parts are inexpensive, widely available. Big picture reliability has been good. Only big part to go out has been A/C system at 50K. Not the most exciting, but dead reliable.

Report Abuse

Great truck for the price

Josh_, 09/15/2003
SLS 2dr Regular Cab 4WD SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The first year of the new body style, I fianlly traded mine in on the last year or the same body style (2003). My 1994 GMC Sonoma 4x4 had 211,000 miles on it at the time. Only major repair was a new alternator at 160,000miles. Blue Book on these is very underrated.

Report Abuse

poor performance

Eric C, 01/18/2004
SLS 2dr Regular Cab SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well first off the truck is a overall good truck, but the performance stinks. I definatelly recommend the best top of the line tires for traction. The brake system in it is awful, and it will skid or turn sideways very easily. How this truck hasn't caused more rear end collisions is a miracle, and but by God I think it would have. The brakes lock up and it takes forever to get this thing to stop, have been told was a problem with the anti lock braking system in them back them. I suggest you use pleny of room for stopping when driving especially if the road is wet at all, and be very careful, and never ever drive on snow, or else you got really good insurance.

Report Abuse

My Rating

Earl Connell, 04/05/2004
SLE 2dr Club Coupe SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been an excellent vehicle for my use. Good performance and fun to drive. Normal maintanance only for brakes and tires and service. Only major maintenance need was air conditioning leak. Average in excess of 20 mpg.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

blondeinanissan, 04/16/2003
SL 2dr Regular Cab LB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my Sonoma! I would say that the ONLY thing wrong with it is that it isn't the most comfortable truck to be in on long trips. But the power in the 4.3 is amazing! I've only got 95,000 miles on mine and I've never had any problems with it whatsoever. I highly recommend the Sonoma if you're thinking about buying a little truck, it looks little, but it's got the power of a full-size.

Report Abuse

Great Little Truck

Whami, 05/23/2003
SLS 2dr Club Coupe SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been a wonderful little truck. It has been used as a courier vehicle for the past 4 out of 5 yrs that I have owned it. Still going great. Replaced the clutch & starter. Then the engine at 210,000 because of timeing belt. Body has held up great. A/C compressor went out at 200,000. It has carried average of 40,000 per yr in miles and with the newer/used engine will last another 100,000.

Report Abuse

One Tough Truck

wpnsloader, 06/01/2003
SLS 2dr Club Coupe 4WD SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this truck with 33,000 miles and it has 90,000 now. The only complaint I have is the size. I really need more room for the family. The H.O. 4.3 in the 4X4 is one of the most powerful V6 motors put in a truck today and with out a doubt one of the most dependable. ZERO mechanical break downs. Only a few electrical issues. I have towed or hauled everything with this truck from loads of lumber and bags of concrete to a 22 ft pontoon boat. This is One Tough Truck

Report Abuse

BEST THING IN MY LIFE!!!! 348,000mi and still runs

Kristen Ross, 02/22/2018
SLE 2dr Regular Cab 4WD LB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My 1994 has 348,000 miles on it; still runs like the day it came out! Repairs are cheap and easy, just like GMs should. The truck comes in such extravagant colors unlike no other. The nice thing too is since the cab is so small it heats up so quick in the winter and, if you get stuck the snow the 4WD is perfect! Fun to go off roading with and explore the world, this truck just won't stop. Interior is mint and super easy to maintain since it's so small! When you're sitting alone in it, its wicked roomy and even with a passenger, it only gets a little squished when you bring a third person in the mix. You sit at such a good height and it's just overall the the perfect truck. Bed has lots of room and the truck overall is just amazing! Honestly if you get the chance to drive this truck or purchase one do it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The S-Series does rock

Nicholas, 03/22/2018
SLS 2dr Club Coupe SB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

For a old truck this thang can still hammer. The performance doesn’t beat modern cars. But it is definently a work horse. It will get you to point a to point b. This truck is amazing with the features of customization. It’s is very easy to work on. And very cheap. My truck is horrible on gas. It is very fun to drive for weekend getaways. Has a lot of issues but will get you home. The frame does rust easily. My Sonoma runs like it brand new. Brakes do suck so give yourself a pleathora of stopping distance l

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050