List Price Estimate
$7,671 - $12,813

Used Sierra 2500HD for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2008 GMC 2500 Diesel

John, 08/03/2010
SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
34 of 38 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck from a local used car dealer. I drive this truck mostly through the mountains of southwestern PA hauling my travel trailer. I previously owned a 2005 F250 diesel. There is absolutely no comparison between the two trucks. This GMC outperforms the ford in every way possible. I never thought I would say this considering my grandfather, my father, and I have been ford guys our entire lives but the proof is in the way the truck drives, handles, pulls, and the reliability I have experienced with this truck. I have driven this truck for more than 15,000 miles and overall I am completely satisfied. I have to say that this is by far the best truck I ever owned.

Report Abuse

Excellent HD choice & great value

Dave, 07/25/2008
SLE1 4dr Extended Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I got one of the first 08 2500HDs off the line as a custom order back in Aug. 07. For what I paid, this truck is an amazing value when compared to the F250s and Ram 2500s out there. The gas V8 has plenty of power and tows a 5000 lb trailer with ease. At first I had a problem with the transmission not downshifting easily in the 25-50 mph range, but the dealer flashed the ECU and now it's more responsive (although a bit less smooth- shifting - before it was like silk). Fuel economy has been mostly around 10-11 in the city, anywhere from 12-18 on the highway (the faster you go, the worse it gets). Most impressive is the quality. The interior and overall feel of the 2500HD is very solid.

Report Abuse

Not a fan

notafan, 02/13/2009
SLE1 4dr Extended Cab 4WD LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

The fuel economy of this truck leaves a lot to be desired. My truck is GPS'd so I am only able to drive the speed limit without getting in trouble. The best I have ever got for fuel economy is 14.8 mpg (imperial gallons). The quality of the truck is less than desirable. In cold weather (less than -20c) the back doors will not latch completely without slamming them hard. I actually knocked the molding off the door trying to get it latched. When the doors are closed they squeak and rattle so bad you have to turn the radio up. I have had to install a second battery to get the truck to start after sitting for more than 3 days. The airbag computer already stopped working and needed replacing.

Report Abuse

Back to re-review after 6 months

SLC, 12/02/2008
SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I wrote my first review in June after trading in a 2004 F-150. It has only got better and better. Absolutely no issues. Fuel mileage has gone to over 23 MPG on a recent hiway only trip of 600 miles, to between 15-18 MPG back and forth to work and weekend trips. I have not had this kind of acceleration since my '61 Vette'. There are no rattles or any fit/finish problems. Only oil changes and tire rotation. I would not trade this truck for any other on the market. I did extensive reseach and I am so glad I choose this HD2500, Duramax/Allison. I would recommend this truck to anyone, no hesitation.

Report Abuse

A refined, well built truck

MountainMan, 09/20/2008
SLT 4dr Extended Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Well designed, well built truck that is a pleasure to drive, but it struggles to pull my small 6000lb 5th wheel trailer over some moutain passes. ATF temps up around 215 deg although total weight well within published rating. Front end styling is ugly.

Report Abuse

2nd Diesel, I'm keeping this one

Justin, 12/19/2008
SLE2 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is the 6.6L with the Duramax/Allison combination, not the 6.0L. I previously had an 05' with similar features but wasn't worth the buyout at the end of the lease. There are things I liked about the 05 that the 08 lacks but most of all, I'm very pleased with the truck. Towing is great. Crewcab 8' bed is a long truck though. Park it at home if you intend to go into a city.

Report Abuse

Transmission/ride

Craig, 06/19/2008
SLT 4dr Crew Cab SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This truck is by far the worst riding vehicle i have ever owned. I understand it is a HD, but come on GM, you're not always towing with it 100% of the time. I cannot believe the research and development guys at GM designed it that way. The rear end bounces 60% the time when empty or partially empty. tryed changing shocks and tire pressure adjustment. helped out about 5%. The new 6 speed tranmission in my truck needs work. There is a delay in shifting between 2nd and 3rd gear. This happen 10% to 20% of the time but is annoying.When the delay happens engine racing anywhere from 200 rpm to 1000 before the shift takes place.Tranmission engages harshly when shift happens. Look elsewhere.

Report Abuse

Sharp comfortable work truck

efflandt, 01/13/2008
SLE1 4dr Extended Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am just approaching its first 1000 miles, so 13.8 ave. mpg of the 6.0L gas engine in wet to snowy suburban/hwy driving may improve in milder/dry weather as it gets broken in. The SLE1 interior trim is a step up from your average work truck with comfortable seats and leather wrapped steering wheel. A smooth quiet ride for a heavy duty truck under most conditions. Feels heavy, but stable and turns on a dime when you want it to. The 26 gal tank may seem limiting, but that is still good for mid-300 mile range, farther than most people would drive without taking a break. Overall it would be hard to find a better truck.

Report Abuse

08 GMC 3/4 duramax! is it worth it?

qoh322, 11/06/2007
SLE2 4dr Extended Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This truck drives awesome! Holds the road great and very powerful (duramax). Current gas mileage is only 15.5-16.7 still breaking in. Truck only has 600 miles. Color is sonoma red.

Report Abuse

7 months of ownership & still great!

GMCcowboy, 03/10/2008
SLE1 4dr Extended Cab 4WD LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2500HD 4x4 back in August. 8500 miles later, I still love the performance, comfort, and looks of it. I've made one 900+ mile trip towing a 4,000 lb. trailer, and it drove like there was nothing attached to it. The interior comfort is excellent. The seats are very comfy, and the quality is outstanding. I have not had any problems to speak of. I'm real impressed with this truck. The only downside is the gas mileage (to be expected). I average 12/13 in the city, 16-18 highway (depending on speed) and 12.5 towing a trailer on the interstate. Reckon the 6-speed auto helps the MPG a bit.

Report Abuse

Happy I switched to diesel

SLC, UT, 06/11/2008
SLE1 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I traded in a 2004 F150 4.6L with 25,000 miles to get a 2008 GMC 2500 6.6L diesel. The performance is unreal. I am getting over 13 mpg, which is the same as the 150 on Premium and I get 3 times the power. The ride, fit and finish are as good or better and the information center is a real boon. The shakedown will continue for another six months but for the first 30 days I could not be more pleased.

Report Abuse

A Decent Truck With a Poor Drivetrain

Kevin H, 12/27/2009
SLT 4dr Extended Cab SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is a decent truck, but NOT with the 6.0 and GM 6 speed. You HAVE to get the Duramax if you need a 3/4 ton truck. The gas motor with fly by wire throttle, and GM 6 speed, is a horrible combination. It is a death trap when trying to merge with traffic, especially in conditions when you are on and off the throttle. There is up to a 3-4 second lag where absolutely no throttle input is given to the engine, no matter how hard you press on the accelerator. I believe GM implemented this so their tranny wouldn't explode. The engine and tranny computer work together, and the tranny computer tells the engine computer to not give any throttle until the tranny is ready (it never is).

Report Abuse

Great truck but a kidney blaster empty

Steve, 07/16/2008
Work Truck 2dr Regular Cab 4WD LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this truck but when I am not towing or under load she will shake you on bad michigan roads. I decided to weigh it down a bit in the back and that has smoothed it out for sure. MPG is 12. 12 @ 74 towing the boat, 12 at 35 around town. I got 14 on the highway going 65 but that was hard to take for a 2mpg gain. Love the solid feel of the truck!

Report Abuse

15 months later, still a great truck

godblesstx, 12/24/2008
SLE1 4dr Extended Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is definitely a Cowboy Cadillac. Performance wise, the gas V8 has all the power you'd need and tows my 7K # trailer with ease. The tranny shifts smooth but as another reviewer said, make sure you get the TCM flash for better kickdown response. The 2500HD 'pure pick up' interior on the SLE not only looks great, it's durable and functional as well. The front seats are great for long road trips. I'm getting about 12 mpg around town and up to 17.5 mpg highway at speeds up to 65. Above that, it nosedives into the 12-14 range. Overall, I'm completely happy with my truck after 15 months. I've had no problems and plan to keep this for a long time.

Report Abuse

Duramax/Allison combo is a beast!

Mark, 01/09/2008
SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This vehicle was a replacement for a 2005 2500HD Duramax SLE and the engines are nothing alike. The new Duramax and six speed Allison is quieter, smoother and the towing power is incredible. We are towing a 35 foot travel trailer and it is like there's nothing behind you. The Z71 package does increase the stiffness but the ride is excellent. The interior rivals my '07 Denali. If you gotta tow, this is the one to buy.

Report Abuse

Needs Help

Totally unimpressed, 06/17/2009
SLE2 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Before buying this truck I owned a F250 V10. This truck was supposed to have 50 more hp and comparable torque but its lack of power is remarkable. My mpg is ok until I hook something behind it then its 5mpg... I have had no less than 20 warranty claims in 1 year. It absolutly can not handle any hitch weight without bottoming out. The sheet metal used to form the body is so thin the smallest bump and you have a dent. I really had high hopes that GM had a great truck but after the trans went out @ 6500 miles and many many other issues I'll admit I was wrong.. This pickup is fine for pulling your boat or cruising around but if you want a HD pickup do not buy this one.

Report Abuse

My first 3/4 Ton Truck & Diesel

Ryan, 02/11/2010
SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I previously owned a 1999 Silverado 1500 4X4 Extended Cab Standard Bed and a 2007 Sierra 1500 4X4 Extended Cab Standard Bed I wanted to upgrade to something more powerful with more room. While I really don't need it for towing at this point, I can only imagine how great of a towing vehicle this will be. I am very impressed with the power of the Duramax diesel, as well as how quiet it is compared to the Ford Power Stroke and the Cummins in the Dodge. I test drove all 3 brands, and what won me over was the performance and power of the Duramax, as well as how much smoother the Allison Tranny shifted over the transmissions in the Dodge and Ford. The interior is the best of the 3.

Report Abuse

So far, love it.

Woof, 04/11/2010
SLT 4dr Extended Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 08 SLT, Diesel on New Year's eve day, 08. I have put on 17,000 miles mixed mostly highway and suburban with a good bit of weekend warrior hunting and camping trips. I commute in this baby and my combined mileage is 15.7 over the last 9 months. That's with a cap on the back,and with 35 miles a day in hardcore SF Bay Area highway traffic hell. I don't tow but it will haul a back end load of hunting equipment, dogs and coolers full of meat. Honestly, I could use a lesser truck for most of what I do, but when I need to step up this truck takes it and keeps going. I can stick 3 dogs in the back of the cab, w. seats folded and they ride in comfort and one of them clocks in at 120lbs

Report Abuse

Absolutely Amazing!

Roper, 03/02/2008
SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned 6-7 GM products over the last 25 years and I can honestly say that the appointments and driving ability of this vehicle are outstanding. Everything is perfect

Report Abuse

Poor Gas Mileage

Sailer, 03/20/2008
SLT 4dr Extended Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

9.5 mpg city 10.7 highway. Door handle under armrest is a pain to get to. 5.3 engine would give enough power as I run empty 95% of time Needed 2500 to plow snow. Needs cup holders in dash.

Report Abuse

body moulding falling off

dryan3, 10/28/2012
SLT 4dr Extended Cab LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My 2008 GMC diesel pickup has 41.000 miles and has been a good truck. However it will be 5 years old in December, and the body moulding on each side is loose and starting to fall off. The dealer said it is a common problem, but since it is out of warranty they would not fix it. I went to a body shop, and the person there said it is a common problem with that body style. He said a solution is to remove the moulding and glue and buff out the paint. His estimate was $240.00. I'm disgusted that this problem should occur on a $40,000 vehicle. I see 25 year old cars and trucks with the body moulding still intact. I'm disappointed GMC won't take care of the problem.

Report Abuse

2008 2500 HD 4x4 6.6L DurmaxW/Allison

tdust, 11/15/2011
Work Truck 2dr Regular Cab 4WD LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a great truck,This truck was used in the oil and gas industry and it has over 188,000 miles that I put on it.The truck has never been put in the shop for any major repairs.just regular service.Avarage 4000 to 5000 miles a month and it never left me on the side of the road.Tows like a beast! Used to pull loads of 7 to 9 thousand pounds over 600 miles @ 70 MPH.In fact I liked the truck so much when we got our new 2011 GMCs I bought this one from the owner.now she is retired but I would'nt hesitate to drive the truck anywhere.

Report Abuse

One Great Truck

Big Rob, 12/03/2007
SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 08 in October and now have 5000 miles on it. The fuel economy is around 16 in city and 18 on highway, but I am still in break-in period and expect improvement. Economy drops quickly north of 70 MPH. The Duramax and Allison are a great powerteam and while you can hear it shift, you cannot feel it. Interior on the SLT very well laid our and looks like it should be in a luxury car. The GM 100k warranty is a big plus. My only concern is the 26 gallon fuel tank is too small for hauling heavy trailers.

Report Abuse

GMC Sierra 2500HD 4WD 6.6L

James Nichols, 05/12/2008
SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

First off, after researching diesel trucks for over a year, it was clear that the Duramax/Allison power train was the "gold standard". I recently installed a Banks air intake, programmer, and exhaust system ($2500) and the performance is startling. Stock, average fuel economy was 16.2 (70 mph+ freeway); I hope the Banks package increases that up to 2 mpg. I stopped to watch a local, weeknight rodeo event in Paso Robles, CA and there were eventually 40+ trucks with 20-30' trailers, all diesels: 1 Chev, 3 Fords, the rest GMCs.

Report Abuse

Well maintained engine took a crap at 60,000 miles

Roy A. Surges, 09/17/2015
SLE2 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

At 50,000 miles and 6 years old all auto door locks stopped working. At 60,000 miles lifter rockers failed and damaged cam shaft requiring a complete engine rebuild or replacement. I maintain my vehicles meticulously and have a toyota with over 300,000 miles on it. This truck is a huge disappointment and I will never buy a GM product again. Updated review at 80k miles all the other parts of the vehicle have begun to deteriorate. Seats, door handles remote mirror operation. I only keep it because it's paid for and I have 2 kids in college. It has not seen hard use. Goes off road and in the snow a few times a year on my fishing and hunting trips. I will reiterate that I will never buy a GM product again. Changing a burned out front headlight is a 2 hour affair. By a Toyota! It's worth a few extra bucks.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

6.0 L Gas engine no slouch

my new truck, 06/05/2008
SLE1 4dr Crew Cab SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the first 3/4 ton truck I've ever owned and it is great. I've had Fords in the past and know people with both the F250 and F350. They've had too many problems for me to even consider a Ford. The GMC is built stout, and while the gas engine lacks the torque that the diesel engine has it is the perfect engine for someone who does not tow all of the time. It has plenty of get up and I'm getting around 14 MPG right now on the freeway at 75-80 MPH. Many of thr trucks I see pulling large trailers these days are GMC or Chevy, they must be doing something right. PS, while gas prices are high right now the purchase incentives are even higher, good time to buy a gas hog!

Report Abuse

This is one super 3/4 ton truck

Bill, 07/15/2008
SLE2 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought an 08 Duramax 4x4 last month and just love the this truck. Ride is very predictable for a 3/4 ton, little harsh but if you wanted a smooth ride go with the 1/2 ton. The diesel has got a lot of horsepower. I love the quick acceleration this truck offers. I pull a trailer that goes about 6000 lbs. If you're looking for a truck to tow and gets generous fuel economy this is the truck.

Report Abuse

Had to get rid of it

woof_breff, 09/06/2014
SLE1 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The GMC 2500HD is powerful, looks good, and can haul a ton of cargo without a problem. Has a stiff ride and a gas guzzler. The interior is somewhat simple and spartan but has nice accents, very roomy. The gas version has a nice roar to it and it picks up quite fast. The problem was the engine was too powerful for the tranny. The tranny went out a couple times and we had to move on. It was tough as nails otherwise.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

08 single cab work horse 2500hd

Wayne, 11/08/2018
SLE1 2dr Regular Cab LB (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I really can't say anything bad about my 08 single cab 2500 HD GMC Sierra. Reason being is bc I've owned it since brand new, the price was more than reasonable and when I test drove it for the first time it really felt like a truck. Its 6.0 gas with torsion bar front suspension so alittle ruff ride but all good bc its tuff and a ton of power out the whole and beyond. Its ten years later now and I still drive it every day for work and pleasure. Through the years I've put bigger tire,rims,tinted the windows,added stereo and leveled the front end. In ten years I've only had to replace one hub bearing other than I've just changed oil regularly,air filter ,3 batteries and 3 sets of tires and she just keeps going with 185.000miles. Also I've never changed brake pads witch blows my mind with all the towing I do. So to anyone that is thinking about purchasing this particular type of truck as long as it looks in decent shape I would highly recommend it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050