Used 2004 GMC Sierra 2500HD Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$4,849 - $9,248

Used Sierra 2500HD for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Duramax Powered

Montana diesel, 02/24/2010
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have the 2nd generation LLY Duramax engine in mine and i love it. I had to replace the injectors when i bought it at 130,000 but other than that i have just been upgrading. The ride is great, the seats are comfortable, the fuel economy is good, 20-24 highway, 15-18 city, if i keep my foot out of it(hard to do with 400 HP and 600LbFt of torque on tap). I have not had any major breakdowns since owning it. The transmission did blow up at 143,000, but it was a freak electrical short that caused it to engage 2 gears at once(lots of chunks in the pan). It actually got me all the way back to the shop in limp mode which was about 25 miles, 10 of which on a logging road.

Report Abuse

GMC 2500HD 4 years later

Steve Coleman, 04/24/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Truck has been overall a good unit. Windsheild leak when new at passenger floorboard and behind dash. Took 1 year for local dealer to finally fix. Climate Control slow to activate fan, really noticable on hot days, seems I have to press brake pedal to start blower (wierd). Trans will sometimes start in 2nd gear, then shift to 1st. Usual problems with intermiediate steering shaft (now on 2nd fix), driver's seat belt and armrest broke, pass side also (wrty fixes). Also having wierd problem during cold months with intermittent dash light and guages recycling, no fix yet. Orig brakes are still strong at 90k miles, tire wear good, body still tight and quiet, engine strong with no oil usage

Report Abuse

Don's Review

Don Bland, 04/21/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The experience of getting better gas milage with the 6.0 motor in the GMC as opposed to the 4.8 in my Chev, makes me wish I had bought the Chev with the 6.o instead of the 4.8. Factor in the added pulling power, makes it far better. I highly reccomend getting the 6.0 in either model truck.

Report Abuse

Diesel is wonderful

E. Daniel Shoemaker, 06/18/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Traded in my 96' GMC 3/4 ton Suburban, w/ 454 Vortec engine for this new crew cab, Duramax w/ Allison transmission. Wow what a difference in towing power. Previously driving over mountins into Prescott and Payson, from the Phoenix area, we were lucky to keep up 35mph. Now, wow, 65mph over the same roads and mountains, towing the same trailer. Diesel milage is better than the gas by about 5 to 6 mpg. Wish the Suburban had this engine/trans.

Report Abuse

2004 Duramax

LyleT, 09/09/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Absolutely the best truck I have ever owned. During it's maiden break-in run I got 23.8 mpg. When engine is broken in mileage should be even better. I drive between 55-65 mph and this seems to be the "sweet spot" for performance. Got it to haul our slide in camper and this will be no problem now. (Not like our 91 Silverado which on it's best day with only one person got 20 mpg)

Report Abuse

This Truck needs help!

Ron Sanders, 12/09/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Truck rides very rough. Truck's brakes are sluggish. Truck is 6 litre not great gas. Truck has had all kind of problems! If you have to stop fast you are in trouble. That's why this truck has been in 3 fender benders. Had to replace complete rear brakes and rear seals .

Report Abuse

2500 HD SLT

rws88, 10/15/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

During the first 3 months my truck was in the shop 6 times. Radio would not return CD, without it for 3 days. Once for extending camper mirrors, passenger side motor bad. Once for A/C, recall part not replaced prior to purchase. Three times for 4 WD, computer chip keeps going out and shifting into 4WD low on its own regardless of speed. I'll go back to the Ford F-250 with the V-10. More power, better gas mileage and reliability.

Report Abuse

GMC Duramax

chz, 09/14/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This truck is awesome. We pull a 5th wheel camper and it pulls it like there is nothing there at all. Great truck.

Report Abuse

another awesome gm truck

ronald tootle, 10/16/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

this is the fifth (sixth if you count my Tahoe) gm truck that i have had and it is by far the best. talk about reliable. a heavy duty truck that has no problems pullikng my triler in any clime and place. in the snow, on the beach, it does not matter. talk about space, i have two kids and a dog and we travel with no problems, even on long trips. i will never own another type of truck, from any dealer...now a hummer...that is a different issue. ron tootle major, us marine corps camp lejeune nc gm truck owner since 1985 1985 chevy s-10 1988 chevy s-10 2001 chevy silerado ext cab z-71 2002 gmc sierra ext cab z-71 2002 chevy tahoe 4x4 2004 gmc sierra 2500hd quad cab 4x4

Report Abuse

Research Before Buying

Glenn, 10/07/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The quality of this truck is questionable. Major issues include getting only 275 - 300 miles/tank of gas. Serious steering problems with absolutely no long-term fixes. This is a widespread issue which truly makes the truck a misery to drive! Rust at less than two years. Faulty air, seating, and other minor repairs. I can hardly imagine buying another due to GM's lack of being able to warrany their trucks and offering a fix on such a major steering issue. All they offer is a lube which needs to be applied every four to six months and does not really work well.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050