Used 2005 Ford Focus Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,719 - $3,644

Used Focus for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

HOCUS FOCUS WHAT A RELIABLE CAR

HOCUS FOCUS, 09/29/2015
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
62 of 63 people found this review helpful

It is very reliable. I bought my 2005 used from a car rental and I have had it for 10 years now. I have 134,000 miles on it and I don't see myself giving it up for a long time to come! I am short and the seat rises up to where your head basically touches the roof! My parents bought one a few years ago because they liked driving in mine and getting in and out was easy for them. I get 35 miles to the gallon even at 10 yrs. old! They aren't the most quiet cars but they are a good ride and dependable.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good handling, peppy, and cheap!

Justin, 12/28/2015
ZX4 ST 4dr Sedan (2.3L 4cyl 5M)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

I bought this focus so I could gift my 2005 Mercury Mariner to my wife to haul the kids around. It is my third focus and I have loved all of them. The worst part would be the cheap interior materials and the layout of the armrest and cup holders leaves a bit to be desired however.....the engine and 5 speed make those issues simply minor annoyances. Its a 2.3 and it feels faster than it is. It grips the road well and goes where you want it to. I know its boundaries like any car so I have a lot of fun driving it and its a cheap reliable car. I bought it with 119k miles over a year ago and I currently have 141k and the only problem I have had to change was the front brakes, rear wheel bearing, and the alternator. All these things are normal especially a car its age so I don't count those as faults. I would love to upgrade to the Focus ST or wait and get the RS but financially I will stick to my little silver bullet.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

271k and climbing daily

Jake, 06/07/2016
ZX3 S 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

Base model crank windows no power locks car was bought new with 20 miles on it and has been driven on an hour and a half commute to work each way for the past 12 years. Car has 271k original clutch, starter, water pump, alternator, motor has never been opened for repairs. Royal purple oil its whole life and it still doesnt burn any. Has gotten brakes, struts, and an axle seal. Great car interior is junk but it was 12k new so of course it is

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Ford actually got this car right

Spencer, 07/30/2016
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

Early on Ford definitely had a spotty record when it came to building reliable cars. The early Focus models were popular when they came out, but they were littered with reliability issues. 2005 included a major overhaul of the design, engine, transmission, and interior. This car was bought in 2006 with 27k miles on it. I've since racked up over 145k with minimal problems. The engine/transmission mounts failed early on, but were replaced and since have been fine. The only other major repair was the air filter. The air filter built with this car will more or less fail around 100k, and I replaced mine with a K&N intake to resolve this issue. Apart from that, everything else has been routine.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Average car, but will not buy again

magastratus, 07/11/2012
ZX3 SE 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2007 with 30k miles, and had to replace transmission before it hit 70k; set me back about $1200. Previous reviews about the interior being especially noisy are accurate. Gas mileage is lower than what I expected. A lot of minor things go wrong with this car. The vent selector switch broke, so it is stuck on blowing air on my feet. I have yet to get this fixed, so I am uncertain what it will cost. Armrest was also flimsy and broke within 6 months. It also takes a very long time to warm up during the winter, and will sometimes have issues starting cold. It will always eventually start, but not without some hassle. Not terrible, but buy something better if you have the $$.

Report Abuse

2005 Ford Focus ZX4

Bryan, 12/21/2004
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
43 of 46 people found this review helpful

The car looks great inside and out. It drives well and has very nice and quick acceleration. So far, country and city, I am not experiencing the fuel mileage on the sticker. Overall, I love my new Focus.

Report Abuse

Richmond BC Focus

wpgjet, 01/03/2013
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2005 Focus in September 2005. 113,700 KMs later it is running fine. The CD player, however, is prone to failure. I have had SEVEN replacement CD players installed, under warranty. Also, the power door lock mechanism has had to be replaced twice, also under warranty. Otherwise, the car is reliable and fun to drive. No actual mechanical problems. As with any new car purchase, it is a good idea to buy the Extended Warranty, as the electronic gadgets are expensive to replace.

Report Abuse

Great little Wagon, Very Dependable

dantomfin, 03/28/2010
ZXW SES 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

Had it new since '05. Zippy, handles well, decent gas mileage (around 20 in the city, better than 30 on the highway). Have had NO breakdowns or any mechanical issues - an EXTREMELY dependable car. Good points -Front seats are very comfortable. Lots of pep. Brakes smoothly and the brake replacement intervals are quite long. Heat and A/C work great. Good cargo space in the back, especially for a small wagon. Decent in the snow. Stock sound system is okay. Bad points - not much room in the back seat. Cloth seats stain easily. Some body creaks that drive me nuts. Build quality could be better. Tail and brake light sockets distorted from light bulb heat.

Report Abuse

205,000 miles and climbing

Nate Marialke, 02/06/2016
ZX3 SE 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
40 of 43 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 12,000 miles on it in 2006. I now have 205,000 miles and have had no major mechanical issues! I did re do shocks and struts a couple times and I did replace the tie rod ends and axle shafts. (Michigan winters are hard on any car). Other than that the trans and engine are solid. Shifts great, no leaks, drives very well. My only complaint is the road noise and interior started vibrating at around 150000 miles. But it is an inexpensive car and I plan on driving for 3 more years. You can't go wrong with a focus for the money.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

safe and reliable

mesm, 03/21/2012
ZX4 S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I got into a head on collision with a drunk driver in a GMC Yukon while driving my '05 Ford Focus and walked away with nothing but whiplash and a few cuts and bruises. The entire front of the car was flattened, but all of the built in safety features worked and saved both mine and my passenger's lives. In another car, we could have easily died. The gas mileage could have been better, but this is a great car if you're looking for something safe, reliable, and sturdy.

Report Abuse

An Often Overlooked Performer

Michael Mo, 05/17/2010
ZX4 ST 4dr Sedan (2.3L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

The ST is really a hidden gem in the Focus family. With 151 hp it's not exactly a "hot hatch" like the SVT but it's no slouch either. It's very well designed; I'm six feet tall and I have enough head/leg room, more than in some mid size cars. The front buckets are very comfortable and five years on it's been a model of reliability. In heavy city driving mileage has been about 22, not too bad given the car never feels short on power above 3000 rpm. The dash is pretty cheap, the lack of rear headrests annoys and one can't call this a quiet car. Every time I drive something else though I always miss my Focus's driving position and driver connectivity. For me that's worth the ST's minor faults.

Report Abuse

Fifi

djd7241, 04/12/2011
ZX4 SES 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

I named her Fifi. It's short for Felicia Ford Focus. For a car that I am so often complimenting, she needed a name. Pushing 77000 miles and my only only problem EVER was an air bag light that came on and was fixed under warranty. I've gone through a couple sets of tires though. It's a respectable looking car but nothing exciting. It's a little louder than some other cars out there, but nothing unbearable. It's got some serious pep and corners amazingly. Took a 1200 mile trip this past may, cruise set at 90-95, A/C on full blast and pretty much everything I own in the back seat and trunk, I still got close to 29mpg. It may not seem great, but I was sure impressed. Great Auto Trans.

Report Abuse

Great college car

no noburt, 08/20/2015
ZX4 S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

Im in college. I was gifted this car. It was the bare bones model. It had an engine and tranny with the stock radio. The manual windows and locks were annoying but they worked. I replaced the radio and drove from 88K to 120K until i was rear ended and totaled. It gave me 0 mechanical problems. It ran and had A/C. It was great. It looked like shit(due to previous owner) but it got me everywhere with no problems. It was loud when going 80 on the turnpike but I didnt care. I had a radio to listen to. My passengers dealt with the the rear seats so I cant vouch for them. Comfortable, fun, great steering, great brakes, good mpg, good on tires. Would buy again

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

not bad so far

Craig, 01/05/2010
ZXW SE 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I am the 3rd owner of this Focus wagon and bought it for mpg and interior space. Best mileage was 34 hwy and worst was 22 city mpg. I average about 27 mpg. Only problem was a rear door latch failed which was recalled and inspected long before I bought it. Ford refused to reimburse me and it cost me $350 to have it replaced. There are a few interior rattles, especially in winter.

Report Abuse

Electrical system sucks

Terry, 01/08/2016
ZX3 S 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
27 of 30 people found this review helpful

I bought the car used. The battery light came on intermittently. The dome lights and signals would go on for no reason in the middle of the night. I went through 3 batteries in less than 5 years. The electrical issues became worse as time progressed. It was determined that the "cluster" was bad. There was an unidentifiable drain on the battery that got to the point that a brand new battery was burnt out in a matter of months. When a new battery was installed, the car was dead the next morning. Getting rid of the ghost in the electrical system would be a costly repair -- more than the car is worth. My mechanic found that these cars are notorious for electrical/cluster problems.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ford Focus 2005 Automatic transmission

Veva, 03/12/2010
ZX4 S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

Nothing but problems with the automatic transmission, I have put approx. $3000.00 in transmission, today the car will not go in drive over 10 mph. I can drive the car in 2nd gear not over 30 mph. I am today trying to find a garage to have my car towed to. This car is not paid off and I am constantly putting money into. And making a monthly payment, I have had this Ford for 4 years and it has made me a nervous wreck to drive. The throttle cable catches all the time, the worst part with the transmission is you are traveling at 50 mph and the transmission will go into low gear, or neutral when someone behind you is going 50 mph. Not safe on the interstate

Report Abuse

One Year In and Very Satisfied

fcaruso213, 05/12/2015
ZX4 SES 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought my Focus in February 2014 with 66,000 miles on it. So far, I haven't had any issues with this vehicle at all. I am a rather large individual and I'm very comfortable in this car. The interior is very spacious and the Focus fits 4 comfortably. So far, I have only had to perform routine maintenance on this car. The gas mileage averages around 32 mpg and is an excellent choice for a daily commute.

Report Abuse

Great Car

colorsendinink, 06/03/2011
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

My family bought this car new in 2004, and its given us very few problems since then. After making the mistake of buying a 1996 cavalier ( died after 4 months of driving with 78000 total miles)...me and my dad made a deal where i would make the down payment on his new car, and i would get his 2005 focus. best descion i've made. since 2004, we've only replaced the brakes once, which was last year, replaced sway links, and we had a minor electrical problem with the windows. the car works great in our buffalo winters, and currently has 150,000 miles and still drives great.

Report Abuse

Great car

Dbay, 08/17/2010
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This car is actually my wife's car. She bought it nearly new and has done little maintenance and received so much more in return. Just replaced factory brakes at 90,000. No major repairs to date. Handles great in the snow and gets about 34-36 mpg. We love it.

Report Abuse

Satisfied Ford Owner

riraho, 05/07/2014
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used in December 2007 at approx. 32k miles and traded it in today at 72k miles. I found this car to be very reliable for the 7 years I had it. I had no major repairs performed over that time, only small wear and tear repairs.

Report Abuse

Bang for your buck

dumbblonde8, 08/21/2010
ZX5 SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Bought this car because my family has always bought Fords, and I have been impressed with it 4 years later. It's a dream for maintenance. I've NEVER had to had anything major done to it, just the oil and filters changed. I rallied the crap out of it too and nothing has happened. I hadn't gotten a wheel alignment since I bought the thing and just recently got one (yeah, been kinda broke lol) and it was BARELY out of alignment. Doing home maintenance on it is so easy a caveman can do it. The Hatchback gives plenty of room. All in all a very sporty car. HIGHLY recommend.

Report Abuse

Best car I ever owned

asmaestas, 05/19/2012
ZX4 S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Bought my Ford Focus Sedan in 2004 with only 3500 miles. I now have 114000 miles on it. It runs like a champ. I get about 25 mpg around town 40 mpg highway. 29 mixed. Automatic. The only problem I had with it was the sway link bushings had to be replace. My Focus is strip down model, no power windows, no cruise control. I had the cruise installed else where. It's been a fantastic car! I'll drive it till wheels fall off or it gets wrecked. It's very well maintained.

Report Abuse

Great car

Matt, 08/21/2015
ZX4 ST 4dr Sedan (2.3L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new when I was 19 and it never failed me. Outside of regular maintenance I did not have to do anything else. Nothing broke or stopped working and I traded it instead uear for a 2014 Focus ST.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

220,000 Miles and still starts right up!

Shadow2450, 08/07/2018
ZX3 S 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car back when i was in highschool my senior year used for a fairly good price, now since im looking into getting something else I thought I would share my experience with my focus and I want to start out by saying I loved it. I have the 5 speed manual transmission and while theres not much power under the hood its still very fun to change the gears and hear the little car go. reliability is nothing short of amazing. when I purchased the car It had close to about 80,000 miles on it. the only issue that left me stranded was an alternator that needed to be replaced at around 160,000 miles. small things such as the mass airflow sensor ar about 195,000 miles and the rear wiper motor at 215,000 miles. I live in the northeast so I have my fair share of terrible winters, but if you throw on a set of good snow tires the traction is nothing short of great! I would be on the highway on my way to work passing jeep wranglers and other AWD cars because of the confidence I had in my car. I am beyond happy with my focus and I think its nothing short of an excellent car to own.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not worth the repairs

bioc06, 03/24/2011
ZX4 S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

My '05 Focus has been prone to maintenance issues. Despite following the scheduled maintenance guide and having less than 50,000 miles, the transmission has gone. The cause, according to the mechanic, is wear and tear on a band, and nothing could have been done to prevent it. Twice, the alignment has gone out. No cause was given.

Report Abuse

My first car

Taylor, 07/26/2015
ZX5 SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

This is my first car that I purchased in high school. I bought it used for $7,000 at 120,000 miles. I've had to replace the alternator and battery and a part for the fan vents. It sticks and the cheap plastic piece broke so I couldn't use defrost because it was stuck on front vents. The interior is pretty much 100% cheap plastic and everything rattles and makes quite a bit of noise when driving, however, the car has never NOT gotten me where I need to go. On top of that, I love the fact that it has 5 cup holders. January 2018 update: I'm still driving this car 6 years later. It was a fantastic investment!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Focus on the MPG

JOL, 11/14/2008
ZX5 SES 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I initially purchased the car while in the service in Guam back in 2005, and drove it less than 5,000 miles my first 3 years. Now that I'm back in the states, I get to see just how the ZX5 really nandles. I had to replace the original dealership tires at 16,000 miles, otherwise, it runs like a gem. I drove it from Houston to Dallas last week, and still had a quarter tank left when I got there. So, I drove on that 1/4 of gas back to Houston. You do the math. And yes, the AC was on.

Report Abuse

Believe

Believer, 10/17/2009
ZXW SE 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought this wagon used with 32000 miles. It has 52k now. Really a great car for the $$. Maintenance is a breeze, very accessable oil filter, I hand screw on and off. Get 32-34 mpg hwy and 24-26 city. Wagon is great for hauling stuff, I could sleep in if economy totaly folds ;-) It's like a mini minivan/suv that gets 30+ mpg on hwy. Around town easy to park. Don't understand the bad reviews from others but they had bad experiences....I had a 1991 escort before this.....got 200,000 miles on it, and it was still running great when I traded in on this Focus.....Ford is the leader in Europe and Brazil on Fuel effeciency and they sell tons in those countries. I'm a believer.

Report Abuse

Awesome Value

scandalon68, 09/10/2012
ZX4 S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This was by far the best care I have ever owned. It was running great with over 210K until it was totaled. Great mileage.

Report Abuse

My Focus Experience

S. Howe, 09/10/2005
ZXW SE 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Since purchasing my Focus Wagon my great-nephews (in a car seat and boaster seat) have had a great time traveling about in our area. There is also enough room for my niece in the back with the boys. Everything is so easy to get to and to get the boys in their seats.

Report Abuse

Best value I've ever had in a car

Benzin, 09/26/2017
ZX4 ST 4dr Sedan (2.3L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought a used Focus ST with 168k miles, traded it in at 268k miles. Only thing to go wrong was a wheel bearing; everything else was routine wear items and preventative maintenance. Some surface rust started to show on rockers, but no where near as much as a typical car in 12 years in the rust belt. Despite all that wear I still saw 27 mpg highway. Get up and go was not bad for a naturally aspirated 4 cylinder, the 5 speed transmission shifted smooth and the clutch was progressive and quick. Steering was dead on and tight the life of it. Car was comfortable for my 6'2" frame even on long trips, Power windows and moon roof always worked smooth, no switches cutting out or slowness or chatters. It even had a nice stereo. I only got $500 on trade because of the mileage, but I would recommend a Focus to anyone in the market for an economy car. If I wasn't so bored of FWD I probably would never bother with anything else.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Used Iowa Fleet Vehicle- horrible transmission lea

John Mills, 08/21/2018
ZXW SE 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought it used. Right from the beginning, the transaxle seeped. Replaced it twice, along with CV joint twice. Brakes, and engine run well and very zippy on the road. Gas mileage was 30+ on the highway, but 19 or so on the streets. Engine mount bolts kept breaking, or falling out. Three different mechanics said the Focus was notorious for the mount bolts breaking off. Front end requires alignment much more often than Ford recommend. Biggest grevience was trying to replace the headlight bulbs. They are squeezed in between a brace and the headlight assemblies. The only way I found was to remove the assemblies and then have a mechanic realign them. Very poorly designed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Thinks it's a Sports car!

Antarababe, 11/10/2005
ZXW SE 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

I downsized from my much-loved 2000 Explorer for the fuel economy. And though it doesn't seem to get the 35mpg as promised - it sure is fun to drive. Not the least bit sluggish for a 4 cylinder. Fast out of a start, feels like rack & pinion steering, doesn't hesitate to go up hills. Holds everything my SUV did and then some. Perfect car for a single, self- employed, travel-loving, antique addict. And it'll be light enough to tow when I get that retirement motor home.

Report Abuse

Horrible car!!

orionmomof3, 07/24/2009
ZX3 SE 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought this car brand new! Within a year my transmission went out, clutch, clutch cylinder and my front axle broke!! I never drove it rough never got in an accident nothing! It was in the shop for two months!!! got it back two weeks later my clutch transmission was out again! I got tired of waiting and bought a four door 07 focus....all of them are horrible!! door handle has broken off, cant use the key to the trunk, my alternator broke....mind you both were brand new!!!!! Ford is horrible and I will never buy from them again!!!!!!

Report Abuse

Love the 5 door hatchback for hauling

CJ, 09/29/2008
ZX5 SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just adore the 5 door hatchback. I can move most anything, yet it is a classy car and much bigger on the inside than it seems. Great mileage and reliability with over 50K on engine. With the rear lights being so large yet sleek, I never worry about tailgaters anymore. They either stay back or go around once you hit them a couple times. Only problem is the additional CD holder handle broke on me.

Report Abuse

Great American car!

Very good choice! , 09/17/2009
ZX5 SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought my 05 Focus in 06. I have put almost 100,000 miles on it with no major problems.I did have to replace the rack and pinion and wheels after hitting a very bad pot hole (Michigan...)Ford did have to replace the CD player twice, but no problems since it was out of warranty. Drives and handles very nicely. Comfortable and roomy interior for a compact. Great mileage. I average 30 in the city. This is an outstanding vehicle for it's class and price. Good design well worth every penny which is more than can be said for most cars.

Report Abuse

More than expected

CAFFN8D, 01/12/2010
ZX3 S 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

With the understanding that the Focus was an econobox, I purchased one new from dealer in summer of '05. After 4+ years ownership, it has performed without fail and has proven itself to be a very capable daily commuter, with occasional weekend duties as a hauler. I drive 45+ miles daily, and feel quite comfortable with the amenities it has. I especially enjoy the small footprint yet torquey responsive engine. I can zip easily throughout traffic, yet blend in as necessary. The hauling capacity is quite surprising for such a small car on the exterior. People at my landfill have expressed their amazement at how much I can fit in the back. It's very durable and capable - I recommend it.

Report Abuse

2005 Focus wagon

Rainer McGee, 04/28/2005
ZXW SES 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Overall handling and performance with the manual transmission is awesome. Great sound system with the 6 CD radio. For a compact, the handling and performance is more than I expected. The fuel economy is second to none in the non-hybrid class. And that is one of the reasons I purchased the Focus wagon. It's nice and roomy too. When "they" said it's fun to drive, "they" were not kidding. By the way, I'm 65 yrs old and having fun driving it. (and I can afford to drive anything I want and I chose the Focus).

Report Abuse

My 05 ZX3 Review

mwp1, 12/31/2005
ZX3 SE 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My car is the basic S model with air and 5- speed; I bought it as a daily commuter as I drive 120 miles a day for work. Runs well but has had transmission problems beginning at 50 miles, the shifter cable keeps falling off at the transmission, three times now, the dealer keeps "adjusting" the cables but I know that there is a design flaw with the plastic connector. Also the drivers seat frame broke requiring a new seat back to be installed.

Report Abuse

Great Second car

Andrew, 10/26/2016
ZX3 S 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I had the same exact car as my first car and decided to get the same one except everything manual. It was easy to learn on, cheap to own and got me where I needed to go. I would definitely recommend this as a first car. The only thing that I wish ford had done was to install a tachometer as well as keep air conditioning stock. If it had a/c I would keep it but as I drive 25k miles per year it is a needed necessity.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Versitile Economy.

Devon Nelson, 08/06/2015
ZX5 SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought my 05 ZX5 back in 2013 with 76k on the clock, it now has 93k and nothing major has gone wrong.The worst problem being the driver side rear door lock going out, I bought a used part and replaced it myself. I wish the fuel economy was better I seem to get 28mpg max but other then that the hatch has allowed me to haul big items and 4 doors make passengers getting in easier. My friend got a brand new Fiesta ST and its a pain to get in and out of and the car feels downright claustrophobic despite being a great deal faster. The Focus is a great used car bargain.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fuel pump trouble

rurba546, 08/14/2010
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

Bought this car used with 40,000 miles. Drove it to 45,000 and found the factory battery needed to be replaced. It also started to die when it got below 1/4 tank. I replaced the fuel filter and that seemed to help, to be safe I kept it above 1/4 tank whenever possible. A month went by and the trouble returned stranding me half way through a 150 mile trip. Turns out the fuel pump was shot as I feared. Expensive repair due to the fact that the gas tank had to be removed to get to the fuel pump. I hope this is the last major repair for awhile. I like the car a lot otherwise so far. But, doesn't come close to my last car, a 1996 Chevy Cavalier that was awesome and gave me almost no trouble!

Report Abuse

Regret Selling It!!

Diaur, 02/23/2010
ZX5 SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my Focus ZX5 brand new in May 2005. It was such a fun and sporty car. It is excellent drive and has great fuel economy. I sold the car to CarMax in 2007 as I bought another car. It is one of the worst decisions I've made in my life! I regret selling it!

Report Abuse

Comfortable car, fun to drive

WOODVILLENURSE, 03/03/2010
ZX4 SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car wrecked with no warranty with only 20,000 miles. Went to Alaska and back putting over 10,000 miles on it I was having trouble with it dying when I slowed down and sped up the time a bit, then the check engine light came on saying it was revved up too high. Slowed it back down, changed the brain, and every other part that has to do with smooth running, nothing helped. Now, it is skipping when I'm cruising about 50mph, I was told it might be the ignition coil, but changed them out and that wasn't the case. If anybody has any idea what the problem is, please let me know. I have thoroughly enjoyed this car and if I had it to do over again, I would buy it. It is fun to drive!

Report Abuse

2005 ZXW SES

edmar, 02/10/2008
ZXW SES 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Excellent small all-around car. Long distance use at 30%, short distance at 70%,and good at both. Can easily be used for camping(van-ning) by 2 adults, preferably not over 6' tall. Especially good for long distance motel-ing use. Price is right & repairs can be handled by local shops very adequately. 25 mpg overall avg.

Report Abuse

Test drive this car last...then buy it!

VIP, 02/17/2005
ZX4 ST 4dr Sedan (2.3L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I test drove many many cars before pruchasing this car. I test drove a Saab 9-3, Acura RSX, VW Jetta and GTI, and nothing came close in "bang for the buck"! In fact, this car is so nice that Ford should have renamed it something else. I have had many friends of mine wince at my stating "I bought a Focus." Then they get in it and have been amazed. Solid car, great acceleration, great new looks and a great price! I got my Focus ST with side air bags. leather heated seats, Sony Audiophile 6 disc CD/MP3 sound system, moonroof and many other options for way less than $20K! Plus, with the new 2.3L "Mazda" engine with 100,000 mile scheduled maintenance I know I'll be OK.

Report Abuse

Good Basic Car

Joel from IL, 08/31/2005
ZX4 SES 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We owned a 2003 Focus, and we traded for the 2005. We now have 3500 miles on the Focus. The 2005 is fun to drive, but it seems that I have to readjust the wheel for each bump I hit. It may be because of the low-profile tires. I'm surprised at only 21-22 mpg city which isn't good for a 4 cylinder. The dealer reflashed the PCM to see if that helps. One downgrade is cheaper quality interior materials. Also, the door and quarter panels aren't flush which is a build quality issue. This Focus has been to the dealer for a minor issue of rough morning idle. Despite the negatives, driving a 2004 Cavalier left me wanting my Focus back.

Report Abuse

Life with a Focus

Jersey Dave, 10/31/2005
ZXW SE 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My Focus wagon with automatic transmission has a lot of good qualities. It's spunky, offers great driving visibility and has lots of storage room. Little things like the theater lighting are also nice. But, I'm not very pleased with around- town gas mileage in the very low 20's. A 2005 car with a 2.0 liter engine, even with an auto transmission, should do a lot better than that. (My '94 Geo Prizm still gets 25-26 around town). And, I really don't like the European suspension. In New Jersey, we have way too many streets and highways that are in pretty poor condition. I really have fears that my Focus with get beaten or shaken to death way before its time.

Report Abuse

Great vehicle

csteven, 06/11/2004
ZX4 SES 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Consumer reports is correct, ranking ti #1 Ford has come along way. Great value and great vehicle.

Report Abuse

Fun to Drive, Easy to Park

RWGManhattan, 02/05/2005
ZX5 S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great little car with sporty handling, good fuel economy, and lots of flexible space. It parks in spaces too tight for most other available cars except the cramped Mini and cheap Chevy Aveo. It's got better handling than and a ride superior to the Hyundai Elantra, the Scion triplets (though the boxy XB has more and more flexible interior space), and other cars in its class. It doesn't have the cramped feeling of the Corolla, the Pontiac Vibe, the Civic.

Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page:
51050