Used 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Classic Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$6,337 - $10,586

Used Silverado 2500HD Classic for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

New 2500HD

Art, 11/14/2006
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

Great truck! The ride is better than either Dodge or Ford across my dirt roads. On the highway it does not ride as well as my wife's Suburban, but still much better than the other trucks I have. Handles well, better than most trucks that are not "sporterized". I test drove all three domestic truck lines and this was head and shoulders above the competition. Fuel mileage is low, but this is probably due to the engine break in period.

Report Abuse

07 Silverado Classic 2500 HD Duramax

parkerkr, 02/25/2011
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Very impressed with performance. I tow a 10000 lb 5th wheel travel trailer without even a hiccup! Right now I drive 72 miles one way to work each day in the snow, getting 17-18 mpg on a regular basis and have gotten as high as 19.2 mpg, that is while in 4x4 in the snow

Report Abuse

Pulls all Day

Big Bob, 09/20/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Test drove and researched reviews and maintenance histories of the big three, and settled on the Chevy to pull my 5th Wheel. I'm so impressed that I'm taking the time to post this review, and like other reviewers, I have nothing but praise for the Duramax/Allison pwertrain - quiet and dependable, this is one towing beast. Pulled my 14,000 lb trailer coast-to- coast, up and over the White Mountains while passing cars climbing the hills. While the comment about "acres of plastic" is true, and I find the exterior styling less appealing than similar Fords, I bought it to haul and stay out of the shop, and it does both better than the competition. This is a great truck.

Report Abuse

You Can't Beat This Truck!

OC Fire, 11/15/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned this truck for 3 years now and have put over 75,000 miles on it since I drove it off the lot. The Duramax/Allison combo is unbeatable in todays truck market. I have not had a single issue with this truck. I have 3 friends with the exact same model with no problems either. It pulls our 5th wheels with ease and the manual electronic shifting is great for going down steep grades. I just replaced my original set of tires at 70,000! Other people have complained about MPG, but I average 16.6 MPG! I highly recommend anyone looking at this model year to buy it!

Report Abuse

Duramax, Just Awesome

Bootleg, 12/31/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After much discussion between gas and diesel, we went with the Duramax. Just awesome is all I can say. We just pulled a 4 horse trailer cross country, 9 days and 6500 miles later my back was not even sore from the ride. Engine never slowed across any of the mountains. Plenty of room to lay out in the back and sleep while trading off driving. I revamped some built in headrest dvd players from an H3 and they look great. Should be an option.

Report Abuse

Nothing fancy, it just works

BrutusC, 07/25/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this classic 2500 used and it was a steal at the time, as our economy was imploding and contractors were losing their companies and vehicles. It needed tires anyway so I upgraded the wheels/tires quite affordable and it looks sharp. Seat comfort is what won me over. The regular cab is smaller than the Dodge's inside, but with some ingenuity there is space for everything. Ride is firm but tolerable. Loaded it's pretty smooth. Empty you get a little bounce. Steering is work truck vague but it does not wander like some trucks. Reliability has been perfect in over a year of use, though I did have the steering clunk fixed under warranty recall. Great value truck.

Report Abuse

No replacement for displacement

M Humphrey, 03/23/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just traded a Dodge 1500 Hemi for this 2007 2500HD with the Vortec 8100 and Allison six speed automatic. Wow this thing really goes! It is better than the old 454 engine. I needed a lot of pulling capacity but did not need the expense of the DuraMax, this really fills the need. Gas mileage is about 12.5 mpg around town and 14.5 on the highway and it loves regular gas. Drivers seat is much better than the Dodge was. Steering is not quite as good, seems to wander at high speeds. Could be the E load tires compared to the 20" tires on the Dodge. Attention Dodge owners: Chevy dealers will not give you anything on trade if you have a 05-07 Dodge. Overall very strong truck.

Report Abuse

Best Truck ever

Robert, 06/29/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased to pull a trailer and love it so much it has become my daily driver. It has plenty of power and fuel mileage is acceptable due to the diesel and Allison 6 speed transmission. I live in snow country and the 4wd, heated seats, defrosters are all excellent.

Report Abuse

Solid, nothing fancy, just what I wanted

Lawn Ranger, 02/17/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my long bed Silverado 2500 6.0 v8 used. Due to market conditions this truck is now worth more than I paid for it 9 months later. I prefer the looks of this "classic" model vs newer Silverados. It gets about 10mpg in frequent stop use, with about 2,000 in the bed all the time. No complaints, as a previous compact V6 truck only got 12mpg w/ similar load . Comfortable seats, good visibility, I like the tighter handling vs light duty trucks that wallow, but ride is rougher unloaded. Buy this for work, not for macho image, there are better country cadillacs out there. So far, no issues w/ reliability. Def. recc bigger wheels for looks. My new wheels transformed it.

Report Abuse

Great Truck!

Dominic Uliano, 02/14/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am very impressed with this truck. It is the Duramax Diesel(LBZ 6.6l) with Allison Transmission. It's solid truck that drives extremely well. It is very quiet for a diesel. My kids actually fall asleep in it when we are on the highway because it is so smooth. Although, this truck has a lot of power! I like the body style but if I could change one thing it would be the tiny tires they put on this hulking truck. It really hurts the overall look of it and most buyers of this truck change them immediately anyways.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050