Used 2008 Buick Enclave Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$4,042 - $6,539

Used Enclave for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Stay away from the 2008 Enclave,Traverse,Acadia

fr8bil, 02/19/2012
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
111 of 115 people found this review helpful

In '08 models of the GM vehicles sharing the "Lambda" platform including Enclave, Traverse and Acadia, GM built the V-6 using a defective timing chain. These chains are prone to stretching which throws a trouble code 1st or causes major engine damage. GM/Buick's solution is to re-program the on-board oil life monitor to advise owners to change oil more frequently which will not fix anything. If the vehicle is still under warranty when the chains stretch, they will be replaced with completely different part numbers. If not under warranty you are screwed for about a $4-$5K repair. GM refuses to do a recall and there should be a class action pn this issue. Cargo door latch, steering squeaks

Report Abuse

never buy a 2008

bummedcustomer, 05/16/2016
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
35 of 36 people found this review helpful

I was so excited, thought i had found my dream car, an answer to not wanting a mini van. I love the layout of this car, but i swear it is in the shop more than my driveway Leaks water, has had multiple issues including my power steering suddenly going out on me hard to handle this big of a car with no power steering! if it wasn't constantly breaking down or flooding from the rain i would love it but i literally despise GMC for not recalling the whole car!

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A bad investment I still want to love

fortiter, 12/17/2012
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
55 of 58 people found this review helpful

The Enclave is a great car and I do not like speaking ill about it, but our vehicle has been very disappointing in terms of reliability. We thankfully purchased it under warranty at 30K and it required a new power steering pump, rack and pinion, a radio, and other minor repairs all covered under warranty. Since then, several issues have come up which were not under warranty. The moonroof was leaking and require an $800+ repair for a new seal and replacement of some of the drainage channels. The heating actuator failed to the tune of $400+ in repairs. I was quoted a cost of $200 to replace the key FOB which went bad. Overall, not what I expect from a "luxury vehicle" in terms of quality.

Report Abuse

$ 48,000.00 Mistake

jasongr, 05/19/2014
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
58 of 62 people found this review helpful

We purchased our 2008 Buick Enclave in late 2007. It was My wife's dream vehicle until the problems began i.e. Sunroof leaking,trans slipping,rattlle in rear drivers side,liftgate opens on it's own,service airbags light on twice, traction contol light on twice, reduced power on the highway three times,steering wheel rubbing noise,service stability light on,left front stabilizer is loose,air conditioning has been serviced twice for leaking and noise,front shocks replaced,brake rubbing noise,power steering pump leaking,front timing cover gasket leaking,right rear door weather stripping coming loose,noise while driving 50-60 mph on highway.washer heater causes fires, Don't buy this vehicle!

Report Abuse

WHAT A MISTAKE!

The Sarge, 08/25/2016
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
51 of 55 people found this review helpful

I purchased a used 2008 Buick Enclave CXL. It was well maintained and clean. My first trip out of town I got a warning that the transmission was hot and it needed to be idled. I did this several times on my trip hoping that it would not leave me stranded. Luckily, the trip was only 50 miles. I called Buick and they advised me that the warranty had expired. I took the vehicle to a local Buick dealership which could not find anything wrong with the transmission. I then took the vehicle to another dealership and they did discover a problem with the trans. I called customer service about this issue and was given nothing but the runaround. After speaking to 2 "senior service advisors" I was still in the same spot. The Buick is still at the dealership waiting to get repaired (about $3000). To top things off, I received a follow-up call from Buick. Why? they never assisted me on anything. Stay away from this SUV and any other Buick product unless you have extra $$$ and a whole lot of patience and time.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Do not buy a 2008-2009 Enclave

mgaston, 09/24/2014
CX 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
42 of 47 people found this review helpful

Look at Consumer Reports for its ratings on quality as well but you will have nothing but expensive repairs for the early model years. GM knows this but fails to support their customer base. They wanted new customers and got them but we are now leavaing. In later model years it looks ike they have fixed some of the problems but I would not feel comfortable after this kind of hell. I have had (2) transmissions (I paid for one $3200), rack n pion steering ~$1600, power steering pump ~$1200, shocks and struts at 75K miles (too early)- ~$1K, several steering related componens~$500 all within six months ($7.5K). The vehicle is only worth $18K. Be very cautious.

Report Abuse

so far so good...

dpgull, 03/23/2013
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

well dispite all the horror stories I read about a few major issues, I decided to take the plunge and buy a very well equipped 2008 CXL (everything but the folding mirrors, 110volt outlet and articulating headlights). It was a 1 owner car that was dealer maintained and I had access to all the service records. It seems the original owner had already addressed the steering (full replacement) and strut issue, and at 80,000 miles it runs tighter and quieter than the Mercedes M Class it replaced. Also I got an excellent price for the car well below book value. I did purchase a 3/36,000 extended warranty through my credit union which covers all major component, so if that wave plate goes... Update- I owned this car for 30 months, and put on 40,000 miles, besides normal maintenance the only 2 issues I had (throttle body and rear lift gate struts) were covered under recalls. The cost of ownership was incredibly good. I loved the car so much I bought a new 2015

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Trying to be loyal

manymiles, 12/28/2010
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Come on GM, where is the quality? We have 48,000 miles on our Enclave. In the last four months we have replaced the rear HVAC unit, steering speed sensor, water pump, rewired the trailer harness (incorrect from factory), replaced a screw that was loose from the air box and rattling (very annoying), and now a tpms is faulty causing a low tire every morning! Trying hard to remain a GM fan but these problems are making it difficult. If we travel very far these days we always take our Acura, VERY DEPENDABLE!!!

Report Abuse

Great car but....

Jack, 04/24/2018
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

My Buick had a very quiet comfortable ride. Lots of cargo space. Handled well in all conditions due to the all-wheel drive. My only complaint was the car started breaking down after 6 or 7 years. Lots of expensive repairs. Purchased new in 2008.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

119,000 miles in 5 years proves this is an excellent car

tinyelvis, 07/24/2012
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
15 of 17 people found this review helpful

I have updated my Enclave in this forum since newly purchased in Aug 2007. It still rides great. Everything works as well as the day I bought it. Seats are showing minimal wear for the time/mileage. Paint still looks showroom new. Have I had issues? You bet. Have they been resolved? Yes, and not always the first time. Five times a year we head to our vacation home, tacking on 2800 per trip. I can drive the entire 16 hours straight thru...no back or neck or shoulder pain. We easily haul 6 people and all their stuff. Repairs paid by GM: Tranny at 65k; wheel hub assembly at 76k. Repairs paid by me: door hinge; 1 set of rotors; 2 sets of brake pads; Fluids. $1200 for engine gaskets at 116,500.

Report Abuse

Buick Enclave 2008 is a must return

PforPaul, 08/31/2018
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

The 3.6V engine 1st series Buick Enclave/Lacrosse is not worth the time or money. This car looks great and handles great unlit you pull it off the lot. After about 6 months of having the car the traction control light came on in the vehicles dash board. I'm thinking this would be an easy fix but it wasn't, come to find out that this code was for the removal/replacement of the timing chain in the car. A 4,500 job at the Buick Dealership. Okay in my head I'm thinking just bought this car out right and for a pretty good price so I fixed the car. About 8 months later the the transmission went out and this was not my fault because I take care of my cars. I also have a 87 Jeep Chrokee that is still kicking till this day. The job was about 2,100 for the rebuild on the transmission. Drove the car appropriately 1yr after the transmission repair and the traction control light came back on. Took the car to the Dealership and come to find out it's the timing chain again and this time because I'm outside of the warranty the charge would be about 4,500 again. The engine and the transmission in this car has a hard time communicating...and it's in the same vehicle. This car is trash if you're thinking of getting 2008-2016 DON'T GET IT. Get a more reliable care for your family. The 3.6V is better now but it still sucks. I'm not sure why GMC has not did a recall on these cars or some type of Buy Back Program to purchase a new or different car. Moral of the story: this car will drain your pockets and is very time consuming and not worth the hassle. BUY SOMETHING ELSE!!!!!!!!!!! Unless you like wasting money.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

BAD TRANSMISSION!!!!

msgoodie, 04/10/2013
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Buyer Beware! I absolutely love the design of the vehicle. It's perfect for my family. As previous posts mention, the wave plate is a problem. The service engine light kept coming on and it kept losing power. I had to keep bringing it in and they said it was fixed and wouldn't have the problem again. Unfortunately, the problem persisted and after having my transmission rebuilt at only 48,000 miles, I just had it rebuilt again at 56,000 miles. Crazy right!! Unfortunately, I'm now out of warranty. I have to figure out how to get rid of this vehicle that has a carfax report with multiple transmission issues.

Report Abuse

Terrible buy for a senior grandmother

unhappy grandmother, 08/16/2018
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

don't buy unless you have a lot of money to put into a used car, I have put a transmission into this car and still have problems with it. I purchased it because of the room and I picked up my grandchildren after school but now I am afraid to pick them up because the car is so unreliable.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my Enclave!

Matt, 10/21/2015
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

In June 2014, I purchased a 2008 Buick Enclave CXL at around 80,000 miles. It has been a great car. I got it in great condition. Right now it is at around 115,000, and I've only had to replace the spark plugs(due at around 100,000 miles, but got extra out of them), brake pads, and headlamp bulbs. This car was a great buy!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not my luck

Dorathy, 11/10/2015
CX 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
15 of 18 people found this review helpful

I bought the Enclave in Apr 2008, I have only 44,500 miles always to it to the dealership for any maintenace to include oil changes. I have to tell you the car is a money pit. I have had 2 recalls on bought the extended warranty. In the last 12 months I have spent $2500. Last December I had it checked out and they flushed and replaced the brake fluid. Front end alignment. So now I took it in for a check for a road trip. Well I found out the master cylinder and booster on the brakes needed to be replaced. The rack and pinion steering had to be replaced, also the the timing chain cover was leaking oil into the engine and needs the gasket to be replaced, front struts and mounts need replacing and the navigation system isn't working and to fix I would have to replace the entire radio system. I needed a front end alignment after they replaced the rack and pinion, another $90. The buttons to turn the fan up or down turned green after the black peeled off. The car has never been in an accident and kept it serviced and at 44,500 kept in the garage, it falls apart. The air conditioning drain hose and the roof drain hoses all need flushing due to blockage. I will never by a Buick again. The repairs costs as much as the resale value.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Never again

T, 02/01/2016
CX 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
15 of 18 people found this review helpful

Bought this car used. According to car fax it was maintained. Worst car I've ever owned. I have one problem after another. As soon as one thing is fixed another goes bad. I'm exhausted worrying about this car. It depresses me. After this experience I wouldn't even recommend a new one. I wish I could just get rid of it. DO NOT BUY ONE.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Honeymoon is over. Still working on the marriage

grnmama, 03/22/2013
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought 2008 Enclave CLX new. Have since had warranty replacement/repair of GPS (twice), water pump, sunroof leak, and various small things. Many interior trim pieces broke, were glued on in service, only to fall off later. When the warranty was up we started to have steering problems. Found out it was the rack and pinion steering failing at 75,000 miles, a known design flaw for this platform. I have tried to contact our service rep at the dealership and have not had a return call twice. Had it repaired elsewhere. Too bad this didn't happen before we bought the 2013 Buick LaCrosse 3 months ago!!! Would like a GM representative to contact us.

Report Abuse

Aging Enclave

usabill, 03/12/2012
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

We've had the car now for 4 years with less than 40,000 miles and have run into a few snags - all covered by warranty. 1. Both retractable mirrors stopped working. 2. Battery went dead warranty covered replacement. 3. The vehicle one day left me dead in a parking lot and would not jump start. Both ONStar, & car phone wouldn't work but other electrical did. It had to be towed to dealer they stated anti-theft system locked up and "only" dealer could reset. This is a worry if I had been out camping in remote location. 4. GPS NAV system disk error - had to replace entire radio system. 5. Water pump failed - had to pull off road and call for tow.

Report Abuse

2008 Buick Enclave CXL is a Nightmare!

Jason R. Grob, 02/19/2018
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
14 of 17 people found this review helpful

We first started having problems with our car at 6,899 miles, and it continued to get worse. We have a water leak from the sunroof that started at 17,918 miles and is still leaking today at 189,000 miles. The water leak caused a short in the Airbag system. My daughter was rear ended at 50 + miles per hour and our Airbags did not deploy. She was injured and is now using crutches. My wife was almost killed on the highway, doing 60 MPH when the Throttle body froze due to moisture in the cold air intake. She was forced down to 25 miles per hour with a Semi tractor trailer behind her. 46,255 Left front Stabilizer link loose, 56,252 Brake and Stabi-trak light on, 56,453 Poor connection to level sensor, 95,581 A/C inoperable, 96,808 A/C inoperable again, Recall for Heated Washer solvent-Disabled, 105,462 Sunroof leak, 110,504 Service Airbags light on! Code B0021- Removed and replaced both airbag sensors, 124,795 A/C inoperable again, 128,683 A/C inoperable again, 129,216 A/C inoperable again, 153,414 Check engine light on! Throttle body Freeze oil and moisture in tube between throttle body and air cleaner housing-Cleaned out duct. and many more....DO NOT BUY GM PRODUCTS, your life may depend on it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't Walk Away... RUN

dblanchf, 02/26/2014
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Bought this vehicle brand new in 2008. Thank God it came with a 5 year 100,000 mile warranty because we used it. Tires wore quickly even with Michellins and averaged about $1300.00 to replace. Brakes and rotors needed to be replaced and that was just under $1000. I thought that was outrageous until I've heard of people paying more than that for brakes! To top it all off, transmission failed on the freeway at 73,000 going up north with NO warning. Luckily it was covered by warranty, but even the technician said to get rid of it as soon as the warranty expires. I am a believer in the saying "you get what you pay for." Not with this car. Save yourself the hassle, stress, and money.

Report Abuse

Never Buy GM Again

mgarner1234, 09/05/2014
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 15 people found this review helpful

I bought this 2008 Enclave less than a month ago. Brought it in for a slight humming noise at low speed. After "evaluation" they wanted over $2000.00 to "fix" everything. Owned a Toyota that had over 216000 miles and never had to put $2000 in to "fix" it. The Buick has less than 60000 miles. Called and spoke to the service manager at McKinney Buick as they wanted 50% more than a standard repair shop and they will not budge on their over priced repairs. Then they wanted us to pay for a loaner car for the week it took them to diagnose the problems. Any other shop could diagnose and fix in 1-2 days. I have always owned Toyota's and know I remember why. If you value $$$ stay away from GM/Buick.

Report Abuse

Buyer Beware, Extremely Unhappy Customer…

smithe2, 04/10/2013
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I am joining this discussion, as we are also having an issue with our 2008 Buick Enclave. We need a new transmission. We have a 3/5/R wave plate fracture. It appears that this is a very common issue with the 2008 Buick Enclave, yet GM does not see a need to do a recall. I see unsatisfied Enclave consumers, on these forums, that are having issues with their transmission. We brought it to the service department, expecting it was still under warranty. To our surprise it was not, due to the in service date of the vehicle. Due to this date, we had missed the warranty coverage by six months. The service department quoted us $4900 to replace the transmission. We had a friend recommend calling GM direct and see if they had any cost assistance they could offer, let our frustration continue. I would like to cover the pain in detail, but there is not enough time. Basically after countless phone calls and two and half weeks later, I was told that they would not offer any help and per our case rep 70,000 miles for a vehicle, was a lot of miles. Imagine my shock that you could by a $50,000 vehicle and only expect to get 70,000 miles out of it. The woman who handled my case was rude and even suggested that maybe I should have bought a different brand vehicle. I did not expect GM to absorb the full cost, but I was hoping they would split the cost of the repair. I have owned GM vehicles for over ten years and after this experience, I am not sure I will ever buy or recommend another GM product. Any thoughts or help out there, I am open to suggestions.

Report Abuse

Never buy this vehicle

Chris Bauer, 10/11/2018
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

My buick hit 50,000 miles I had to replace the transmission which is still having issues. Now it's 60,000 miles I have had to replace the navigation struts shocks brakes rotors and now the battery isn't charging. This vehicle is a giant Money Pit parts are expensive and there seem to be issues non-stop as soon as these hit 50,000 miles. GMC is absolutely no help with warranties or anything else I will never own another GMC.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice Car, But One BIG Issue People Need To Know About

falconeddy, 07/28/2012
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

There is a part in the transmission known as the 3-5-R clutch wave plate, or just the 'wave plate'. It has been discussed in depth on many forums for those of us that own an earlier GM, Lambda-designed based vehicle. Outlook, Acadia, Enclave, Traverse; not all model years are affected. The wave plate has an exceptionally high rate of failure, and we've speculated the possibly of reverse installation (it's a large toothed ring). They're covered under warranty up until 100,000 miles or 5 years. After that, you get to pay the $3000.00 (or more) bill yourself. So far, GM has refused to acknowledge the problem, but we're still trying to get them to do something about it. BEWARE OF THIS ISSUE!!!

Report Abuse

Liked The Enclave Until Transmission Failed

meycro, 11/29/2013
CX 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

My 2008 Enclave recently required a new transmission. This after only 70,000 miles and several other expensive repairs. Until recently when people would ask me how I liked it I responded, 'I like the way it drives but it's expensive to keep running. Now that the transmission failed, costing over $5,000 installed, I tell everyone this will be that last GM vehicle I will own. I will probably go back to a foreign made brand. It's a shame.

Report Abuse

this car is crap

Steven Shannon, 10/07/2016
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

Several problems with this car and the cost to fix them is high. GM needs to recall this car

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Lomon

Wayne, 10/25/2018
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

Replace transmission @ 120,000 miles, cost $4,000. Engine timing chain needs to be replaced. Why doesn’t GM warranty this when they know that the timing chain are defective???

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2008 enclave worth a sac of potatos

100334665, 01/20/2014
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

My husband bought this car for far more than it is worth, the sunroof leaks water directly into the fuse box which corrodes the relays causing the gages and all the electrical system to shut down. On a 200 mile trip smoke was coming out from the interior and smelled like burnt wires. Took it to the dealership several times only to have them say it is not covered by the warranty or that they cant find a problem. Now at 74000+ miles the transmission has given out. Thank God for the extended warranty. Service engine light comes on and off as it pleases. Had it serviced and the Service Stabilitrak and the Traction Control lights came on. Not worth the money being spent. Save yourself the stress

Report Abuse

Lot's of Repairs Needed

DK, 09/05/2018
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

I've had this vehicle a long time. Bought it new in 2008 and still have it. It has a nice ride and decent features, although it predates most of the new safety features cars have these days. I have had to sink more money into it than I think I should have, but since I owned it, I figured that was better than having to buy a new vehicle. Over the past few years I've had issues with the water pump, air conditioning, navigation system, airbag system, electrical system in general, emission systems, and, oh yeah, I had to replace the transmission. It's always had pretty bad fuel mileage, but lately it's even worse.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

GM Quality gone?

creeker00, 12/12/2010
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Switched over from Dodge/Jeep to GM in purchasing the 08' Enclave and what a mistake that was. Guess next time I will go with a Ford, as GM and Dodge have obviously went way downhill. Car rides better than any I've driven. Seat comfort and features such as dual climate control, heated seats, etc. are great. But, with under 50,000 miles on the vehicle the control buttons have lost their paint, the leather seats are terribly worn just from normal use, the rear climate control has had to be replaced due to non-functioning and is acted up again. Also, the transmission had to be completely replaced after 40,000 miles and the rack and pinion had to be replaced. Poor, Poor quality for $37K.

Report Abuse

Buick Enclave Lemon

bird30, 08/27/2013
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased the 2008 Buick Enclave loaded in 2008 as I wanted a Luxury SUV and wanted to support the American Car Maker's in time of crisis. I made a huge mistake! My car has had every seals replaced since I purchased it and barely has 60,000 miles on it. The car has been serviced and taken care of routinely by GMC since I purchased and babied since 2008. The engine seals went out at 30,000 miles, numerous times the airconditioning system has been fixed over and over for problems (4+ times), steering gear/drive problems, water pump seals, rear tail gate piston's replaced, leaking sunroof due to drain tubes plugging up from bad engineering, etc., etc. etc. GMC has not taken responsibitlity for the sun roof and I will never buy another GMC product again. The car is beautiful and comfortable but the biggest lemon and disappointment I have ever purchased.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

So sad this is happening to a vehicle I have loved to drive

grits18, 01/27/2013
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Mar 2011 power steering whine and locking up repaired under warrenty. Nov 2011 check engine light on, replaced solenoid under warrenty. Feb 2012 check engine light on, service stabilitrack, service traction control, traction control goes on and off, engine loses power, replaced throttle body covered under warrenty. Jan 2013 check engine light, service stabilitrak, service traction control, traction control goes on and off. No longer under warrenty repair is to replace valve cover and seal as the original is a flawed design and has been re-designed. Cost near $1000.00. GM takes NO responsiblity and no recall as not a "safety" issue. No but it is a flaw GM is well aware of!!!

Report Abuse

The Most Awesome Vehicle We Have Ever Owned!

bob_w, 11/01/2011
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We bought our Enclave in August of 2007. We have had only 1 problem. The GPS unit just did stop working. Other than that it has been extremely reliable. It rides like a dream and is very versatile. We keep a car for a long while, therefore we spend a lot of time in selection. We drove all vehicles in this class before making our decision. My wife just knew that she wanted the Volvo before we started. 13 vehicle test drives later we are picking the options and color of our new Enclave. If I had to replace it today, I would probably get it again!

Report Abuse

Buick Enclave

mkhinck, 05/10/2007
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My wife had to get the Buick Enclave. We looked at the GMC Acadia and Saturn Outlook. We just about purchased the Outlook and then found an Enclave that just came into the dealership. Hard to believe that this is a Buick. Finally a reasonably priced car that isn't a minivan and fits our family of 7. Believe it or not my wife hated our Escalade, too big. Now she doesn't have to drive the giant bling bling to fit our family. For the price a much better choice than the Acadia or Outlook. Buick did a good job.

Report Abuse

Transmission Problems, Timing Problem

Frank Arvonio, 09/01/2018
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This model (2008 Buick Enclave CXL AWD) has had constant trouble with the transmission's , it is evident on the internet through reviews! Have had transmission replaced in November 2018 @146,000 miles, no more problem w/trans. Now, March 2019, having an issue with timing and camshaft codes, coming up wit "camshaft position timing over-advanced or system error", also "performance bank 1 error". Have cleared codes and will see if it happens again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Leaking Sunroofs and Whinning Steering

kcosom, 09/10/2012
CX 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is very attractive. "Certified" hah. I purchased it last summer, which it rarely rains in the summer. Unfortunately one rainy day my passenger notice rain coming in mainly from the sunroof and rear interior lights housing, I noticed it in the front, dripping from the visors housing. Apparently the design of this vehicle was not thought out regarding leaks. To top it off the warranty states that leaks are not covered, as if the maker knew it would leak. Not only the leaking the steering in now whinning each time I turn. This vehicle has been one dissapointment after another. My first Buick and possibly my last, sad to say. Mechanic states need inner/outer tie rods:(

Report Abuse

Great Vehicle

Jon, 03/20/2010
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have nearly 40,000 miles on the vehicle. Absolutely no issues and a wonderful driving experience every day. Great use of space in this vehicle. Hard to believe it has this much space, good power and still gets over 20 mpg consistently on the highway. Drives like a car with much better versatility. Home run for GM.

Report Abuse

My finest automobile!

Anon, 05/08/2017
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Know that no other car will live up to all reviews. Very well built and with quality materials. Interior space cannot be matched in any other fine automobile.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Smooth Rider

Carl MOORE, 08/29/2016
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is a very big car that can be hard to park and move around in tight situations. It's strong suite is it is the ultimate turnpike cruiser. Set the cruise control at whatever speed needed and keep it between the lines. We have driven accross country twice and cruised with confidence at 80 in Nebraska and other western states. Be careful in cities and parking garages being big inside means it is big outside as well.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Solid value, comfortable ride

Angie V, 09/20/2017
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Ride is smooth, roomy interior, great storage. 16 mpg town driving, better on interstate.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

More power steering woes

tychain, 12/06/2013
CX 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Our very first American made vehicle. My wife's dream SUV. 73,000 miles she calls me in tears because she is in a parking lot and can't turn the steering wheel and cars are beeping at her and she has a 2 and 4 year old in the car and pregnant with out 3rd child. (the whole reason for getting this vehicle) We have owned it for 8 days... I drive to the store where she is and I can barely turn the wheel! I check the power steering fluid... its fine. Well, to make a long story short. I checked on the internet and found all the other stories about power steering problems and now, $2200 later we have out car back. THIS NEEDS A RECALL!!!

Report Abuse

Just Drove Away with My New Enclave!

kenclave, 04/28/2007
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have never owned a GM vehicle. I have been waiting for this one since its debut at the Detroit Auto Show. Almost bought an Acadia because they came out first and I was chomping at the bit. Am so glad I was patient. It was well worth it. Drives beautifully. Very quiet. Very smooth. Handling is quite responsive. Feels very solid and safe. Looks great. Interior is nice. Plenty of room in all three rows. Traded in a Chrysler Town & Country that I loved. No regrets. Only the third day of my ownership, but so far I am quite pleased. Looking for excuses to drive!

Report Abuse

A home run

Rod, 06/01/2008
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I new I wanted this car before it hit the market. My dealer told me this was coming out in the spring of last year and when he showed me a picture, I was sold. I ordered one as soon as I could. The ride is very smooth, handles well and is very quiet. It definately attracts attention everywhere I go. People are always asking me about it. The Enclave is the best car I've ever owned.

Report Abuse

Awesome & Safe

Awesome & Safe, 06/05/2008
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle in March of 2008. June 4th a storm came through our area and a tree fell on top of my Enclave. I can honestly tell you the car had no (zero) damage. The Enclave is a safe vehicle. This only disappointment I have is the acceleration and gas mileage. Otherwise, everything is great. I feel 100% safe in this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Loving it, now

hawkeye, 06/14/2008
CX 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love the way this vehicle drives! I would have given performance and fun to drive a "7" before I had the May 8th transmission update. This eliminated all hesitation and lugging. It holds the lower gears for instant throttle response. It came with a warning that it may decrease mpg by 0-2 mpg. I saw the 0. I get 22 on the interstate doing 76 mph. My wife got 23.5 mpg on a rural drive with small towns to go through. I get 14 mpg in around town/short trip driving. It's very reliable, too.

Report Abuse

16k And Still Going Strong

Red Jewel Tint, 06/22/2008
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Traded in my 04 Sequoia and have never looked back. Everything about this car is better than the Toy. I can repeatedly get 25 mpg on the highway if I pay attention and keep my speed within 5 mph of the limit. Quit whining about gas mileage in a 5000 lb vehicle! The tranny is designed to max your mpg, not your quarter-mile times. We've had two long road trips, and this is way more comfy than my "class leading" 01 Grand Caravan ever was. This car is drop-dead gorgeous inside and out. Ten months and 16k later I am still in love with my car. I have every option, and all the bells and whistles work perfectly. OnStar seems to have upgraded their nav system as it seems more accurate than last year.

Report Abuse

So far I'm poor

jrs, 06/28/2008
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Although a beautiful car inside and out, don't buy off on the claim that this gets better mileage than most SUVs. The AWD version I have is averaging less than 15 MPG in the city. The car is heavy and takes a lot of gas pedal to get up to speed. I was really hoping to get a little more economy out of this car.

Report Abuse

Greatest SUV ever!

Buickfan, 07/08/2008
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We loved our Enclave before taking a 5400 mile road trip with 4 adults plus luggage, but now we wouldn't part with it for any vehicle on the road. For 5400 miles we averaged 20.2 miles per gallon, which we were really happy about since the vehicle was loaded. We drove through the Pennsylvania hills and the car performed beautifully - not a sign of the transmission hesitancy some people grouse about. The ride was superb, the carrying capacity was more than adequate, and the interior arrangement was really handy for all of the things we took.

Report Abuse

Best Buick Ever

Dick in Colorado, 07/23/2008
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have purchase over 45 new vehicles in my life, this is the best of all. I traded a Toyota Avalon for this Enclave and it is so much nicer I fell bad I ever tried a Toyota. If you are looking for a great vehicle, Enclave is the answer, cannot say one bad thing about it, never had a car/truck to even start comparing with this. Have had several Buicks in past, all good vehicles but this is the first great vehicle! Have 6000 very enjoyable miles on it and look forward to many more. Thanks Buick.

Report Abuse

What a ride!

Deb, 08/12/2008
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my Enclave! Already made one trip from Ontario to Florida with two golden retrievers and a roof rack full of stuff! No problems. Took 6 people out and about down there on day trips, all comfortable. I too can only find the tailgate button on the keyfob while inside, is there a button? Other than on the tailgate? Which also had to be fixed...it would power up then drop closed! Easy fix. Have 23,000 k's on it as we speak and I can go 740 k's on one tank. Did I mention I love my Enclave?

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050