Used 2008 Buick Enclave Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$4,053 - $6,556

Used Enclave for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...28

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Stay away from the 2008 Enclave,Traverse,Acadia

fr8bil, 02/19/2012
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
111 of 115 people found this review helpful

In '08 models of the GM vehicles sharing the "Lambda" platform including Enclave, Traverse and Acadia, GM built the V-6 using a defective timing chain. These chains are prone to stretching which throws a trouble code 1st or causes major engine damage. GM/Buick's solution is to re-program the on-board oil life monitor to advise owners to change oil more frequently which will not fix anything. If the vehicle is still under warranty when the chains stretch, they will be replaced with completely different part numbers. If not under warranty you are screwed for about a $4-$5K repair. GM refuses to do a recall and there should be a class action pn this issue. Cargo door latch, steering squeaks

Report Abuse

never buy a 2008

bummedcustomer, 05/16/2016
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
35 of 36 people found this review helpful

I was so excited, thought i had found my dream car, an answer to not wanting a mini van. I love the layout of this car, but i swear it is in the shop more than my driveway Leaks water, has had multiple issues including my power steering suddenly going out on me hard to handle this big of a car with no power steering! if it wasn't constantly breaking down or flooding from the rain i would love it but i literally despise GMC for not recalling the whole car!

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A bad investment I still want to love

fortiter, 12/17/2012
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
55 of 58 people found this review helpful

The Enclave is a great car and I do not like speaking ill about it, but our vehicle has been very disappointing in terms of reliability. We thankfully purchased it under warranty at 30K and it required a new power steering pump, rack and pinion, a radio, and other minor repairs all covered under warranty. Since then, several issues have come up which were not under warranty. The moonroof was leaking and require an $800+ repair for a new seal and replacement of some of the drainage channels. The heating actuator failed to the tune of $400+ in repairs. I was quoted a cost of $200 to replace the key FOB which went bad. Overall, not what I expect from a "luxury vehicle" in terms of quality.

Report Abuse

$ 48,000.00 Mistake

jasongr, 05/19/2014
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
58 of 62 people found this review helpful

We purchased our 2008 Buick Enclave in late 2007. It was My wife's dream vehicle until the problems began i.e. Sunroof leaking,trans slipping,rattlle in rear drivers side,liftgate opens on it's own,service airbags light on twice, traction contol light on twice, reduced power on the highway three times,steering wheel rubbing noise,service stability light on,left front stabilizer is loose,air conditioning has been serviced twice for leaking and noise,front shocks replaced,brake rubbing noise,power steering pump leaking,front timing cover gasket leaking,right rear door weather stripping coming loose,noise while driving 50-60 mph on highway.washer heater causes fires, Don't buy this vehicle!

Report Abuse

WHAT A MISTAKE!

The Sarge, 08/25/2016
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
51 of 55 people found this review helpful

I purchased a used 2008 Buick Enclave CXL. It was well maintained and clean. My first trip out of town I got a warning that the transmission was hot and it needed to be idled. I did this several times on my trip hoping that it would not leave me stranded. Luckily, the trip was only 50 miles. I called Buick and they advised me that the warranty had expired. I took the vehicle to a local Buick dealership which could not find anything wrong with the transmission. I then took the vehicle to another dealership and they did discover a problem with the trans. I called customer service about this issue and was given nothing but the runaround. After speaking to 2 "senior service advisors" I was still in the same spot. The Buick is still at the dealership waiting to get repaired (about $3000). To top things off, I received a follow-up call from Buick. Why? they never assisted me on anything. Stay away from this SUV and any other Buick product unless you have extra $$$ and a whole lot of patience and time.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Do not buy a 2008-2009 Enclave

mgaston, 09/24/2014
CX 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
42 of 47 people found this review helpful

Look at Consumer Reports for its ratings on quality as well but you will have nothing but expensive repairs for the early model years. GM knows this but fails to support their customer base. They wanted new customers and got them but we are now leavaing. In later model years it looks ike they have fixed some of the problems but I would not feel comfortable after this kind of hell. I have had (2) transmissions (I paid for one $3200), rack n pion steering ~$1600, power steering pump ~$1200, shocks and struts at 75K miles (too early)- ~$1K, several steering related componens~$500 all within six months ($7.5K). The vehicle is only worth $18K. Be very cautious.

Report Abuse

so far so good...

dpgull, 03/23/2013
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

well dispite all the horror stories I read about a few major issues, I decided to take the plunge and buy a very well equipped 2008 CXL (everything but the folding mirrors, 110volt outlet and articulating headlights). It was a 1 owner car that was dealer maintained and I had access to all the service records. It seems the original owner had already addressed the steering (full replacement) and strut issue, and at 80,000 miles it runs tighter and quieter than the Mercedes M Class it replaced. Also I got an excellent price for the car well below book value. I did purchase a 3/36,000 extended warranty through my credit union which covers all major component, so if that wave plate goes... Update- I owned this car for 30 months, and put on 40,000 miles, besides normal maintenance the only 2 issues I had (throttle body and rear lift gate struts) were covered under recalls. The cost of ownership was incredibly good. I loved the car so much I bought a new 2015

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Trying to be loyal

manymiles, 12/28/2010
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Come on GM, where is the quality? We have 48,000 miles on our Enclave. In the last four months we have replaced the rear HVAC unit, steering speed sensor, water pump, rewired the trailer harness (incorrect from factory), replaced a screw that was loose from the air box and rattling (very annoying), and now a tpms is faulty causing a low tire every morning! Trying hard to remain a GM fan but these problems are making it difficult. If we travel very far these days we always take our Acura, VERY DEPENDABLE!!!

Report Abuse

Great car but....

Jack, 04/24/2018
CXL 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

My Buick had a very quiet comfortable ride. Lots of cargo space. Handled well in all conditions due to the all-wheel drive. My only complaint was the car started breaking down after 6 or 7 years. Lots of expensive repairs. Purchased new in 2008.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

119,000 miles in 5 years proves this is an excellent car

tinyelvis, 07/24/2012
CXL 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
15 of 17 people found this review helpful

I have updated my Enclave in this forum since newly purchased in Aug 2007. It still rides great. Everything works as well as the day I bought it. Seats are showing minimal wear for the time/mileage. Paint still looks showroom new. Have I had issues? You bet. Have they been resolved? Yes, and not always the first time. Five times a year we head to our vacation home, tacking on 2800 per trip. I can drive the entire 16 hours straight thru...no back or neck or shoulder pain. We easily haul 6 people and all their stuff. Repairs paid by GM: Tranny at 65k; wheel hub assembly at 76k. Repairs paid by me: door hinge; 1 set of rotors; 2 sets of brake pads; Fluids. $1200 for engine gaskets at 116,500.

Report Abuse
12345...28
Items per page:
51050