Skip to main content

2023 BMW X3 M Consumer Reviews

MSRP Starting at
$72,900

Save as much as $622
Select your trim:

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2023 X3 M, so we've included reviews for other years of the X3 M since its last redesign.
5 out of 5 stars

Bargain Super SUV!

John, 06/22/2020
2020 BMW X3 M 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 8A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

My last car was an Alfa Romeo Guilia Quadrifoglio and was fun and super fast. I traded it for this practical SUV that is just as fast in a straight line and handles turns better than most sport cars. It can haul stuff and I even go camping in this thing. Almost super car speed for a reasonable price! Out performs G Wagon for a fraction of the price and way more fun as a daily driver. Very nimble and has a great exhaust! Not quite the track animal the Alfa is but much more practical. Stick with the M over the M Competition for a little softer ride.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2020 BMW X3 M COMPETITION IS A PERFECT MONSTER

Lord Todd L. , 07/25/2020
2020 BMW X3 M Competition 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I'm a life long Porsche guy and was ready for a change for a daily driver. I'm very brand loyal and had a Cayenne Turbo S that I loved but before getting a new one I wanted to see what else was out there to compare as I like performance. I looked at many options and let me say the x3M competition is scary fast and mind blowing. The technology it so impressive and then driving it I was sold its truly unreal the performance of this thing! DO yourself a favor dont think about it and just buy one!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

A surprisingly good value

Shawnski, 09/10/2020
updated 03/10/2022
2020 BMW X3 M Competition 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

If you need an SUV for whatever reason, the X3M is a good compromise is you are used to sports cars/sedans. Its practical, good visibility and unlike to many cars today (I am looking at you 992 911) it has real character and is fun even when obeying traffic laws. I have to say its an impressive car for the money that is practical and a hoot to drive! Update 3/10/22: We still enjoy the car and fits our current needs. Fuel economy is averaging a little less than 19 MPG, that and expected tire life are the really 2 biggest demerits and worth it if driven the way it’s intended. A hardcore sports SUV that is comfortable.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Just plain awesome, practical too!

MB, 09/29/2020
2020 BMW X3 M 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 8A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

So much fun to drive and you really get a lot for the price! In addition, there is plenty of space in the rear and even more with the seats dropped. I have a car seat installed in mine and I can still fit three across the rear seat. Would buy this car again. The only minor complaint I have is that comfort suspension mode is still really stiff. But at the same time economy engine mode is still really quick. Engineers probably had to stiffen it all up to keep it from rolling when the throttle opens. Which, by the way, it hangs on the road like a high end sports car which is a really strange feeling in an SUV. Awesome vehicle!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Unrivaled blend of size/price/features/performance

Fred R, 12/13/2020
2020 BMW X3 M 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 8A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Before the first one was in the showroom, from looking at the metrics/dimensions of the X3M and comparing it online, this one was going to be very hard to beat. We got ours in September 2019 and now have about 10k miles on it (COVID has curtailed big chunk of commuting). The car is a blast to drive. It’s just that simple. Plenty of room for what you need (unless you have a large family) and the finishing touches are on par with a car costing in the mid 80s. The only thing I’d change would be to add at least 3 gallons capacity to the fuel tank. Designers should ensure their models, whatever they are, can go 400 miles or more on a single tank. It’s a me thing. Otherwise it’s great, and comparing it to similar Audis, MBs won’t get you anywhere but lesser performance. The Porsche Macan Turbo is comparable (or better in some areas), but then you’ll spend maybe another 15-20.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page: