Used 1994 Acura Legend LS 4dr Sedan Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12 reviews
List Price Estimate
$1,468 - $3,540

Used Legend for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car! Best $600 I ever spent!

David Johnson, 03/28/2016
LS 4dr Sedan
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought my 4DR Legend LS from its original owner on Craigslist. It had 196K miles on it and needed head gaskets, which the owner was honest about, and the paint was a little faded. So I spent 2 weekends taking the heads off, and while I was in there I put in new belts, hoses, and a rebuilt alternator and starter from Napa. Contrary to other reviews, the engine does *not* need to come out of the car to do this. That was 4 years and 40K miles ago. To celebrate the fact that I'll probably own this car another 10 years, I had it painted for $1000 by another guy I found on Craigslist a few month ago and it looks like new again! I've driven it from Colorado to California, all over Colorado, Wyoming and Utah, in all kinds of weather, including ski trips to the mountains. It has never let me down and the performance is amazing for such an old car. Even my girlfriend loves it! Update: April 2017. Still driving this car every day. Had a small oil leak at the oil pump gasket over the winter, but it only took me 1/2 hour and a $4 O-ring to fix. No other problems.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Still lovin' it after 6 years

cstien, 07/04/2002
LS 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We purchased our car as a 2-year old and still love everything about it, 6 years later. There have been no major mechanical problems. We chose the tone on tone trim package which was a great choice. I've notice that other '94 models with the black trim look tired compared to my color combo. The paint still looks great and with 123,000 miles on it, it still runs like a top. This is a keeper 'til the wheels fall off!

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

1994 Acura Legend- buttery ride

Rickster, 07/11/2002
LS 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Get compliments every week on how good this car looks... from strangers. White is best color w/toupe interior. The buttery/smooth drive is really great. I have 150K+ miles on it. Needed new transmisssion last year, but that is uncommon. Acura dealerships really provide great service and good value.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Legendary

Legendary, 08/27/2003
LS 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Timeless looks, good from any angle. A smooth ride combined with good noise dampening takes your mind off of whatever traffic conditions you are in. Add to that an 8 speaker Bose sound system with an excellant climate control system and you are in driver's bliss.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Legend Review

WWW, 11/11/2003
LS 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have 2 other friends with the same car and we all agree this is a great car. I will definitely buy another Acura if I ever need to.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

The Legend Continues

Nick, 07/01/2005
LS 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car! Dont know why they stopped making them. Runs smooth. Car feels like it glides on the rode

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Wish Acura Still Made Them...!

cecurr, 07/12/2005
LS 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 1994 LS Sedan used in 1999 from Acura dealer with 52,000 miles. This is by far the most reliable and best built car I've ever owned or driven. The exterior design is timeless. The body and interior components are fitted superbly. The paint is as good as it gets. I have 101,000 mile on it now and it is as quiet and tight as the day i bought it. I've had to replace the master cylinder, but only routine maintenance aside from that. Great looks and great gas mileage (19 city / 24 highway). Everthing about this car is excellent and reliable. I see why it was named "Legend". I don't understand why Acura dropped it. Every time I drive it, someone asks if I want to see it.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

What A Car

Pete, 10/05/2006
LS 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Came out of an 98 BMW 540i. Bought my Acura with only 65,000 on it in Sept of 06. Haven't looked back yet. What a classic design and the interior looks better and feels better than my BMW. I wish I could have had this car years ago.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Very much a Legend

ESP, 05/22/2003
LS 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A great car all-around. Powerful, smooth, elegant-looking, luxuriant (even foe 2003, let alone for 1994), reliable, very well-made. A very satisying car to drive. The gas mileage (15-18 mpg in my experience of mixed driving) can be viewed as a necessary levy for the beautiful and pleasing ride offered.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Why did Acura Stop Making This?

alexgutfleish, 05/18/2011
LS 4dr Sedan
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

I recently inherited my grandmother's 1994 Acura Legend, which only has 42,300 on the odometer. Overall the car is great, I love the handling, the acceleration, and the rear visibility is fantastic for a sedan of that size. The only things I dislike are the automatic transmission, which bucks when going from first to second. Also, the car does not get the best fuel economy and requires premium fuel, which isn't the best when gas is $4.20-4.50 a gallon. Finally, in terms of technology its "outdated" (It has a cassette player and no GPS). Other than that I love it. Great car!

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

beware the Blown Head Gasket of Death

mannydantyla, 01/09/2015
LS 4dr Sedan
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

First off, this is a good car. Great styling, very powerful V6 engine, fun to drive, and (99% of the time) mechanically reliable. I never had to do any major repairs except the CV shafts and a thermostat. That was until THE HEAD GASKET WENT OUT. And, on these cars, that means the entire engine must be pulled out of the engine bay to get the heads off and replace the gaskets. NOT WORTH IT. The speedometer was broken, muffler was shot, door jam was not working, telescoping steering wheel was stuck in the most upright position, seats where worn to shreds, rust was forming, etc. And all of that at ~140k miles. Good car but didn't last long. Beware if buying.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Awesomeness

justASK1, 07/30/2008
LS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has aggressive, yet smooth styling, and is very good-looking inside and out. Great for the value: I think the car is awesome. Many great features like heated leather seats, heated mirrors, 4 wheel abs disc brakes, fully automatic climate control, 6 disc cd changer, etc. Mileage is somewhat poor, but that's to be expected since the car weighs 3500 pounds and has a drag coefficient of .34 (not very aerodynamic even for a sedan). I believe the poor mileage is also due to the ambiguity of the 4-speed automatic transmission, and although the car has a lockup torque- converter, the fact that the engine was mounted longitudinally contributes to power losses in drivetrain.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050