Used 2003 Oldsmobile Alero Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,381 - $3,375

Used Alero for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...9

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

seems reliable to me

geri7, 01/10/2012
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

I haven't seemed to have any serious problems with my '03 Alero, which is now at 201,700 miles. Just some part that needed to be replaced, which included my fuel pump, but that was my fault, because I hated so much to stop and get gas, and my gas will always be on empty. And a harmonic balancer and something that has to do with the drivebelt. But that was just very recent. So, I have to say, my car has served me 'very well'. But, 3 of my windows don't work anymore. But I can live with that. Those aren't the parts that matter anyway. Very satisfied with my car. Oh, love the stereo.

Report Abuse

Absolute Base Model Review

Johnny, 10/18/2015
GX 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 4A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

2.2L EcoTec engine is decently powered for being in a bigger sedan. The instrument panels are very basic like just the bare essentials. Radio is different from the other models. its actually different from the one shown in the owners manual. The window clips that hold the window on a non-power window do become very fragile in advanced age. Only 2 major issues that have happened was transmission lines busting and brake lines busted all in spots which were difficult to repair by myself. There is one nagging issue but is very common and that is the security lock out upon start. The other slight issue is simply the road, between noise and comfort of ride. As the driver i have never had an issue with comfort in the front seat. My passengers tell me the front passenger seat is fine but the back feels like you are dragging the road. I would say this could be suspension. However, i replaced the whole nine yards of it, making it brand new parts. One major recommendation with an Alero (and any car for that matter), is to always do the regular maintenance because as it wears out, the way the car runs and rides becomes rough in this car. I know this due to the Condition of it when I purchased the vehicle in 2012.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Up In The Air

mlzebe, 06/08/2008
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought my Alero last year with 72,000 miles on it. I was loving it I thought it was a all around good car. Well it was until I started having this problem with the security system. Sometimes when I turn the car off, and go to start it again nothing happens except for the dash light coming on. I priced to fix and was told about $300 to 400 to fix. Besides that and the air drafts it's a nice car.

Report Abuse

8 years with a used Alero.

mlrobards, 11/13/2013
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car when it was 5 years old, that was 8 years ago. I have had only one major issue with it. The drivers side window regulator has gone out and cost too much to replace. Never had issue one with the motor, struts, electronics (other than the regulator) If you treat this car right it will not let you down. Keep up with all regular maintenance and it will last years. Handles really well and an easy ride for long trips. Before you buy any new car make sure it was taken good care of. If it wasn't, walk away.

Report Abuse

Not to happy

jasonvqmzm2, 06/10/2014
17 of 23 people found this review helpful

Bought the car this year, 2014. Had 144k miles on the car at purchase. Fuel pump went out at 146k and found it had been replaced before. Now, the anti-theft system is kicking in when going down the hwy and killing the engine. Ignition switch is jamming up and have to wiggle key to turn and start the car. Being told now that the ignition lock cylinder can fail causing anti-theft system fault and no start conditions. Have towed car home twice in last month because of this problem. GM won't issue a recall on this because they claim it isn't a safety issue. What is safe about your engine cutting off, going 70 mph on the interstate?

Report Abuse

I definitely got my money's worth

kjr75, 02/11/2013
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought a new 2003 Alero back in June 2003. I definitely got my money's worth as I just passed the 183,000 mile mark. Sad to say the time has now come to get a new car as there are issues with the cylinder heads under the gasket not responding and long story short Pep boys wants to charge $3,000 to replace. The car itself is probably worth 1k with as many miles on it. After 9.5yrs and 183,000 miles it definitely has done it's job. Looking for either a new Sonata Turbo or used 2012 Buick Lacrosse. I don't think I can go wrong either way as I take these cars to the grave so I really dont care much about resale value.

Report Abuse

Sporty, sporty, sporty

Monet, 12/18/2002
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I love this car. It knocks the Honda Civic, which was my last car, right out of the running. The spacious interior, the cocpit feeling drivers quarters, and convenient placement of the ac/cd/radio is great.

Report Abuse

I love it!

MFB, 06/01/2003
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Between the GM Mastercard rebate and the dealer discounts, I could have bought two-three Alero's for one import. This GLS with the handling package, radio upgrade, minus the tail fin is a clean looking flawless fun to drive car. I cruises the turnpike at 80 with power to spare and plenty of comfort. With the 5 year GM warranty it will be hard to find an excuse to trade it early. This is the best car I have ever owned!

Report Abuse

Nice cheap car

Justin, 09/03/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car's nice. 3.4L v6 it has plenty of power. Good gas mileage 22 city 30 highway. I wish it had ABS or ETS but oh well. Good trunk space. Smooth drive. Poor quality though considering almost every 60degree v6 has a failing lower intake manifold gasket. I replaced mine once I got it around 77000 miles.

Report Abuse

Good All Around Car Except For Seats

Alf33, 06/03/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Everything about this car is good except for the bucket seats which are uncomfortable and way too hard. Unfortunatelly I didn't discover this until after it was too late to return it. The performance is good but accelerating when at a crusing speed of about 50 is sluggish if only moderate pedal pressure is used. It gets moving real good when it drops down a gear when you get into it more. The car has tons of great features, is nice to drive, and is more stylish than a lot of cars out there now. I got 30mpg on the highway during a recent trip and that was doing 70-75mph a lot of the time.

Report Abuse
12345...9
Items per page:
51050