Used 2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class Consumer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
139 reviews
List Price Estimate
$2,010 - $3,520

Used M-Class for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...14

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

2000 ML430

Adam Campbell, 10/03/2015
ML430 4dr SUV AWD
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

Car is a pleasure to drive. Purchased with 76k. ABS pump, ebay 46.00,mechanic 1000-1400 , ps rack 650.00 mechanic 1500.00, front pads, sunroof issues, catilytic converter broke in two, had it tig welded .overall very happy but I am fairly skilled DIY, don't buy if you are relying on dealer or mechanic to fix your maint. issues .

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3.88 out of 5 stars

Nice Car, but Very Costly to Maintain

flomasta77, 01/05/2011
ML430 4dr SUV AWD
27 of 28 people found this review helpful

Although we bought this car used, it has only been fun to drive for the first 4000 miles, then major things started breaking down in this car. Computer Module at 90k, $1000 repair. Then, cracked radiator at 92k, $900 repair. Then, 110k, tension belt and pulley blow out, $550 repair. Also, these repair are being done by mechanic, which is way less than what the dealer would charge. Normal wear and tear items like tires, brakes, and oil changes are very costly. It's a nice car, but it is becoming really difficult maintaining this vehicle. Also, the interior trim was made with cheap plastic, and is breaking. We expected better from a Mercedes-Benz product, and will not buy another.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

No regrets!

palm coast, 03/28/2010
ML320 4dr SUV AWD
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

After 7 years owning this Benz, I considered buying another car, but have doubts that anything could be as reliable, good looking and fun to drive as this one. If and when the day comes that I do buy another car, I'm sure it will be a Mercedes SUV.

Report Abuse

4.13 out of 5 stars

Nice SUV

jreimers, 08/16/2006
ML320 4dr SUV AWD
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I purchased this SUV second hand at the dealer last year. Purchased the extended warranty which seems to be paying off. it drives nice, looks good, and is fun to own. A little high on gas. Last year's repairs, $1200 before warranty

Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

MB= Mucho Bucks in Repairs

Kevin, 09/09/2006
ML320 4dr SUV AWD
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Save your money, buy something else. Repairs are endless. Engine rebuilt by factory at 50K due to high oil consumption (was still under warranty), both catalytic converters replaced. Check engine light is on more then off. Factory brakes replace every 20K miles (dealer says it is normal), and window switch panel replaced 3 times. I've had other MBs, and this is trash in comparison. Nice looking vehicle, fun to drive, but the maintenance is terrible. I use a private mechanic now, put Brembo brakes on, and the brakes last much longer. Engine codes when it is not acting right aren't specific, so you go through a lot of trial and error in diagnosing problems.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

I love the car

Alan Vance, 02/28/2017
ML430 4dr SUV AWD
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I WILL START OFF SAYING THIS IS MY FIRST MERCEDES. AND i FEEL i GOT A GREAT DEAL ON THE CAR FOR 2000.00,AND i HAVE ALREADY GOT MY MONEYS WORTH. AFTER 2 YRS AND HIGH MILES WHEN PURCHASED,IT HASNT GIVEN ME A PROBLEM ONE

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Not bad at all!

coolman, 05/10/2010
ML320 4dr SUV AWD
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 10 years now and i am still trusting it. It had some minor problem but so has every car. The only problem is the interior parts are not very durable. Little things like the door panel, handle, seat panel etc. Otherwise, it is a very reliable car. In fact, it is more reliable than my newer BMW 7 series. I will get another Benz because of the reliable engine and trans and the comfort, not sure if it will be an SUV but might consider the E class. the m class is pretty worth it for the price and re sell is not bad at all.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

500,000 km and going strong

jjroadtrip, 04/26/2013
ML430 4dr SUV AWD
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

Just reached 500,000 km and its still a reliable SUV. Body starting to rust, minor wear and tear repairs. Still getting the occasional recall notice.

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

Mercedes Should Be Ashamed..............

glacierdon, 06/01/2009
ML430 4dr SUV AWD
21 of 23 people found this review helpful

It's apparent that the 2000 ML 430 is a lemon. I have gone on various sites and people from all over are having the same exact problems. The windows won't roll down, the doors won't lock, the brakes always need replacing, the exterior lights are always blowing, the power steering went out, the sun roof gets stuck, the interior is coming apart, and now when I stop at lights it cuts off and won't start for about 30 to 40 minutes. this happens at least once a week. From my understanding these vehicles were built in the U.S. If I wanted an American car I would have bought a Ford. Mercedes should do a recall on these vehicles. The repairs needed on the vehicle are more than it's worth. Seriously!

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Great SUV for MB Enthusiasts

RL_Terry, 07/26/2007
ML320 4dr SUV AWD
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Ever since I saw Jurassic Park II: The Lost World, I have wanted the Mercedes ML. I think the gas mileage is superior to that of other similar sized SUVs. Out of all the SUVs I have owned (Blazer, Explorer, and Envoy), the ML320 by far has the best gas mileage. I average 19-20mpg in town and 27-58mpg on the interstate. If you own an SUV, do not compare the gas mileage to that of a sedan or coupe- obviously the fuel economy will not be as efficient. The spartan interior is a very simple yet elegant design; however, I do find the CD change in the rear a bit on the inconvenient side. It's stylish, comfortable, and a Mercedes; what more could a 24 year-old want. I would reccommend this SUV.

Report Abuse
12345...14
Items per page:
51050