Used 2008 Mazda CX-7 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,330 - $3,653

Used CX-7 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...21

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Fun to drive, not fun to maintain

ShiftLft, 11/29/2010
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
32 of 32 people found this review helpful

The 2008 CX7 is a fun car to drive, but over the years has been less than fun to maintain. Less than 3 months after purchasing it brand new, the exhaust tips began rusting. That was the first bad sign. Since then in just over 2 years, I've had a door replaced after rusting, trailer hitch has rusted, tires lasted a whole 18,000 miles, I need new brakes and rotors already, and the EGR valve has gone bad and needs replacement ($900 repair). After all of this, last week I decided to trade in the vehicle rather than deal with 3 more years of problems on the loan. I'm picking up my 2011 GMC Terrain tomorrow.

Report Abuse

Turbo gone!!!!

nichele, 08/01/2013
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
29 of 30 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2008 CX7 with almost 5k miles. I really enjoyed driving it....until the timing chain had to be replaced at at 40000 miles, which I thought was a little soon but it was covered. About a year ago, I had to have the engine mount replaced, some bearings were worn and there was an oil leak. That was not covered over $1000 worth of repairs. The CEL came on over the weekend. Took it to the dealer ,turbo engine done....timing chain again, The car needs almost 9000 dollars worth of repairs..are you kidding me!!! The service rep told me that I did good for having 95k miles on the car without anyhing major happening before now. Going to get rid of this car!!!

Report Abuse

Surprise, Surprise!!!

Causality of a Bad Design, 10/18/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
33 of 35 people found this review helpful

Bought 2008 CX-7 in '08 with no miles. Had no issues until June 2014 after driving the car 2.5 miles and the car started to overheat. I parked the car and took it to the dealer the next day. Diagnosis, the engine needed to relaced. Never had a check engine light warning or any other indicator for that matter. It is now October 2015, a refurbished engine and new turbo later, the car still does't work. The car has been operational maybe 4 months in this timeframe. A car salesman who was a friend told me to trade it in after paying on it for 3 years back in '11 because he said these engines were bad. I wish I had listened. Mazda should be ashamed of themselves. This model's engine was a lemon.

Report Abuse

Engine Failure CX7 @ 70K miles

ruby23, 05/01/2013
Touring 4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
28 of 30 people found this review helpful

We bought a Certified CX7 2008. A year and a half later the car is completely giving out. We take MAJOR care of all our cars with Synthetic Oil, so when they told us it was due to "Sludge" it was definitely a slap in the face. The engine needs to be replaced at only 70k miles. We talked to a mechanic and he told us that the turbo overhearts the engine turning everything into sludge and even melting it. Although we have a platinum coverage, the insurance is doing everything they can to blame it on us. I've been looking at reviews and it seems ALOT of you are having or had the same issues! It's horrible to keep paying for a car whose engine dies of its own malfunction. Its time Mazda owns up!

Report Abuse

Engine Failure

mazdasrjunk, 04/04/2013
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

We bought a 2008 CX 7 with 62,000 miles on it in April 2012 they replaced the vvt adjuster and chain at that point. It is now March 2013 and 14,000 miles later and the vvt is out again, the turbo is out and after a $3000 quote to repair it my dealer calls back and says "well we made the repairs to your car but it is going to need an engine". That is supposed to cost $6,000. No helpis being brought from Mazda the issue is being pushed to higher up in the world of Mazda. Needless to say Mazda has not impressed me. They are telling me this is caused by "sludge". But in the next breath my dealer tells me "sludge" is normal in this engine. I wonder how this will play out.

Report Abuse
12345...21
Items per page: