Used 1999 Lexus RX 300 Consumer Reviews

List Price
$2,900

Used RX 300 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best Vehicle I have ever owned. I have owned lots.

Jay Alan, 06/25/2018
4dr SUV AWD
36 of 36 people found this review helpful

I have a 1999 and it is going strong with 228,000 miles and the only maintenance so far has been brakes, tires, oil filter, air filter, AC Recharge, and bulbs replacement. Considering it is the first year make and model I would rate that reliability tremendous. I think was is the most impressive feature of the RX 300 AWD is how great it performs in the snow, It has been in 2 to 3 feet in Wyoming and in the Sierra Mountains in California and Nevada. Never been stuck and have never had to chain up. The only complaint I have is the durability of the leather on the front seats. The leather wore out after about 10 years and now have to use seat covers.

Performance
Report Abuse

Good older SUV

krw5, 11/04/2012
4dr SUV AWD
35 of 36 people found this review helpful

I bought this with 167k on it as a "winter beater" three years ago, never thinking that with that many miles it would be as great a vehicle as it is. The only thing that's ever gone wrong is that the ignition coils needed to be replaced. Still gets 20-25mpg, passes California smog with flying colors, looks pretty good for a 14 year old Lexus. It did have the advantage of being a one owner vehicle serviced exclusively by a Lexus dealer (it even has a Lexus brand battery). I change fluids religiously and expect it to go another 100k.

Report Abuse

Affordable Luxury

Cmazanec, 05/03/2006
4dr SUV AWD
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in late Fall from a private party. After much debate about what kind of SUV to buy I can now say I made a great choice! I was comparing it to the 4Runner and other comparable SUVs. I was a litte hesitant about buying a Lexus because of the cost factor and I thought that it may be too much to maintain. Since I bought it all I have done is a front brake job which I knew it needed when I bought it. Of course at first I brought it to a Lexus dealer but after seeing their review and estimates I brought it to my local shop and they did the same work for a lot less. I saved about $150 on the brake job with them. I have been extremely satisfied with it so far!

Report Abuse

Lexus saved our lives!!

lexusluver, 05/14/2012
4dr SUV AWD
38 of 40 people found this review helpful

Owned a 1999 Lexus Rx 300 for five years. Three weeks ago my husband and I was hit from behind by a full sized pick up while sitting at a stop light,then pushed into another SUV in front of us. The police report said that the driver of the pick up never even noticed us and never slowed down and hit us doing 45mph. Although we received back/neck injuries, we feel that because we were driving our Lexus, it saved our lives. A police officer and a fireman both called our Lexus a "little tank" and told me that we were lucky to be driving it. we were told it could have more serious. We are definitely purchasing another Lexus as soon as we settle with insurance co. Miss our Lexy!

Report Abuse

Have owned mine since it was new

fyrcat, 01/18/2012
4dr SUV AWD
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

I had owned my 1999 rx 300 since it was new. I currently have 78000 miles on it. No problems until I hit 65000 miles and my transmission went out. My dealer here in the SF bay area wanted 6500.00, so I shopped around and found an independent tranny shop who did it for 3500.00. Other than that, I love this car! I have never held on to a car for more than 6 years, but I still adore my Lexus. I just repaired the leather on the drivers side that ripped from 13 years of in and out. Otherwise both the interior and the exterior look great. I am hoping to keep her for 2 more years, and when ready to replace her, I would buy another Lexus in a heartbeat.

Report Abuse

Fairly easy to work on

HomeMechanic, 04/08/2009
4dr SUV AWD
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Purchased from a private owner with 135k, now 155k. RX3s can have some small known issues that can be fixed by a competent DIYer. Exhaust leak (have a friend with a welder?), O2 sensors (buy a $5 socket), clean the MAF (simple), spark plugs (a chore but not impossible), suspension noise (disassembling a strut is more than most ppl want to do on their own). Suggest changing the driveline fluids for insurance against trans issues. Consistent 19mpg which I think is fair- if you get less, have it checked out, or turn off 'power' mode! All in all, I think its a vehicle you can become familiar with & keep around for a long time. It's versatile, but not too big or obnoxious. My trusty daily driver.

Report Abuse

Awesome

groverusty, 06/27/2009
4dr SUV AWD
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Just bought this 99 RX300 valued at 10,000 plus for $5500.00 Had to put in valve cover gaskets, timing belt/water pump. This cost $1000.00 This is an awesome car. It is so quiet and fun to drive. Heated seats help our backs, and if I can keep my wife happy, then we are ALL happy. But seriously, I LOVE THIS CAR. The Pre-purchase inspection told us everything we needed to have done but even that mechanic said "If you don't want it, let me know because I do". AWESOME!

Report Abuse

Best car ever built

Bixby503, 10/25/2009
4dr SUV AWD
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have had my RX300 since 2002. It now has 134k miles on it. This is the best car ever built in my opinion. I will not give it up ever, for any price. It is absolutely incredible on snow, ice and rain. It is very safe, drives great and rides even better. I also own an SC430, but I prefer the RX300 to it any day.

Report Abuse

My 99 RX 300 Performance

chev769, 02/12/2008
4dr SUV
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

No major problems. 90,000 miles. Change oil EVERY 3,500 miles. Minor problems: one seat belt, mass air flow sensor, rear trunk latch (asked for fix from day one; it broke after 8 years); am radio poor. Biggest repair has been starter contacts. My wife would never have driven any other car nine years (and counting). Perfect for her, and for two old folks with children gone. I am trying to hold off till 2010 for the next one I MUST buy for my wife.

Report Abuse

Smart Choice

Lexus guy, 03/08/2008
4dr SUV AWD
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Downsized from an LS 430 and love both cars. Seats just as comfortable with just the right height and strong seat heaters. Good stereo/CD. Mileage ranges from 17-18 running errands to 23-24 on the flat highway. Great car for realtor/inspector and practical for bad weather, bad roads. Keep oil/trans fluids changed though. I switched to K&N filter and 0/30 Mobil-One oil and get 1-3 better MPG. Mine has 161,000 and looks/runs like new.

Report Abuse

Caro's 99 Lexus RX 300

caro, 03/17/2008
4dr SUV AWD
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This is a great vehicle if you're looking for a "tall car". It is the size of a sedan, just higher off the ground. One major design flaw which I understand has been fixed, if the rear windows are down but the front aren't, there is a horrible wind-suction noise. Other than that, it is a smooth, luxury ride. Very nice interior leather, comfortable seats and a nice car to drive around town and short distances. Wouldn't recommend for a long drive, particularly if you're stuck in the back seats. Low maintenance, in my experience.

Report Abuse

The RX-300 is a beast!

roverfanatic7, 12/31/2012
4dr SUV AWD
27 of 33 people found this review helpful

Have the 1999 Lexus RX-300 AWD with 260,000 miles running strong. The reliability and safety are ahead of its time! Maintenance is cheaper than any other luxury brand. The car took a massive hit from an escalade, but held up strong and protected us. Don't be fooled, the RX is a good 4 X 4. Held up through the tough winters in NC! Comfortable and will continue to buy Lexus/Toyota. Wouldn't be surprised if this car made it to 400,000 miles. Mechanic expects it to at least drive for a 100,000 more.

Report Abuse

Lexus RX 300 ,1999 RX 300 8 YEAR REVIEW

PowerhousePaluch, 09/19/2008
4dr SUV AWD
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I purchased this RX 300 brand new, this was my first Japanese built vehicle, having owned, VWs, Volvos, Audis and BMWs and one Chev Corsica. Just as we were driving off the lot. I remember the salesperson saying "you will not have any problems with this car for the next 7 years" I thought, ok Buddy, I already bought and paid you stop the sales pitch. He was right, for the next 7 years I only had to do the scheduled maintenance and put gas in it. I am now going to trade it in. It is now 9 years old and has 146,000 km, but still looks good. I will buy another Lexus. Problems that I had with my 1999 RX 300, you ask? See suggested improvements.

Report Abuse

Love My Car!

dgrant1518, 07/01/2010
4dr SUV AWD
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I love this car! I purchased it with 38,000 miles. I am now at 256,000 with no major problems at all. I have only had a couple sensors and the alternator replaced.

Report Abuse

Lexus is the best

LexusCruiser, 02/19/2008
4dr SUV AWD
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Researched them all and bought a used RX with 150,000. Confident because it's a Lexus. No problems at all. Had several Lexus models LS 430, LX 470 and ES 300, all been rock solid. This RX has same motor as ES, Camry, etc. With AWD gets from 17-24 mpg. Seats nearly as comfortable as my LS 430 due to higher seating position and easy in/out and strong seat heaters. Nice size, ground clearance, visibility, comfort, reliability. Sold on Lexus, can't go wrong.

Report Abuse

My Rx Rocks

Jeff, 10/29/2008
4dr SUV AWD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Ok I got a 99 2 months ago. It's got 130,000 miles. Love it. Great power. Lots of options. Seat is worn from last owner pretty bad, drives great. Turning radius is fine. Gas could be better but oh well my last car was a Saturn. I had to tint the front windows to match the rest of the car and I dropped a couple of subwoofers in to juice up the radio. The deck was unchangable which kinda stinks. It's got a stock Nakamichi stereo tho. I bet in 99 this was the hottest car out.

Report Abuse

Great Vehicle for a Great Price!

Satisfied, 12/31/2008
4dr SUV AWD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The vehicle was purchased in 2003 with 89k miles. It now has 150k miles and still runs like a champ. Keeping the regular maintenance, I expect another 150k miles. Hope to give the car to my one year old daughter when she's of age. It's extremely reliable in going up and down Stevens and Snoqualmie Passes in Washington. The AWD allows for great traction even in the most extreme cases, superb handling in inclement weather. The car has needed a new starter, battery, and minor. Belts and plugs were changed at suggested intervals. No major repairs or maintenance. I would recommend maintaining the car yourself, the dealership is just too expensive and not necessary.

Report Abuse

My first Lexus

sp8891, 02/03/2003
4dr SUV
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this used with 50,000 miles...have put on 10, 000 since. Great ride, luxury feel, but still functional. I especially like that it's lower to the ground to get into but high enough to see the road ahead clearly. I drove an Infiniti Q45 before this one, and was sure I would miss it, but I am happier with this small SUV and would buy it again.

Report Abuse

Lexus RX300

Leanne, 06/24/2005
4dr SUV AWD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my Lexus when it was 3 years old. I don't like to buy new cars because you lose so much money on them, I prefer certified used cars. The only problem I've had with this car is that the air conditioning went out after I'd had it a year but it was covered by the extended warranty. Otherwise it's been a great car. I like the way it looks and it feels very solid on the road in all kinds of weather. One criticism of the inside design is there is no in-dash CD player but this is fixed with later models

Report Abuse

Love my RX300 - to sell? or not to sell?

Rob Field, 10/03/2004
4dr SUV AWD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle for my wife 2 years ago. I am the second owner. I have had Jeep's -- Driving in the snow is better then my Jeep. I am debating whether to sell and buy the Mercedes that I have wanted or stick with this most reliable machine. With 64K mil it's like it will go 200K+ It's been such a tough decision. HELP! It was my wife's now it's mine. It's so nice and so reliable! Do I realy want a 2000 E320 or keep this ???!!! Great Car!

Report Abuse

A joy to own

Vssc400, 01/26/2005
4dr SUV AWD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought with 71k on odo. now 103k on the odo. I decided to buy the RX 300 AWD w/LSD because I have been a happy owner of a 92 SC 400 and it was such a pleasure to own so buying the RX 300 was a no-brainer choice for me. My car pool guy who has a 2000 Grand Cherokee LTD w/40k miles who made fun of me drove it for a week and 3 weeks later he sold the Cherokee and bought a 99 RX 300 AWD. I didn't like some of the remote key functions and the dealer re-programmed the CBEST settings for and washed the car for free (I didn't even buy the car or serviced it from them). Awesome performance on snow, ice, hills. I can't believe a 1st year of a new model lineup could be this good.

Report Abuse

Excellent Used Car

Lexus Jay, 07/12/2005
4dr SUV AWD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have owned the vehicle for about a month, and have been impressed with how smooth it handles, how peppy the engine is, and how comfortable the interior is. Many luxury / convenience features make this an excellent choice for a used vehicle.

Report Abuse

Don't Keep for Long

Nikki, 11/30/2007
4dr SUV AWD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The car is good as long as you get rid of it after the 5th year. I had to purchase a new transmission during the 6th year and 2 new cylinders.

Report Abuse

Stay away

Eddie Hairr, 12/23/2009
4dr SUV AWD
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I love Lexus and currently own two. However, the RX has been very unreliable and left us stranded on vacation two summers in a row. I purchased the vehicle with 48K miles and didn't expect any problems; however, that was short lived. Everything from electrical issues to fuel system issues has plagued the vehicle. In the last two years alone, the maintenance costs have exceeded $6K. I know, I must be an idiot for keeping it this long. The longer I try to keep the vehicle to receive a return for the maintenance costs, the more it burns my wallet. Believe it or not, the vehicle is 10 years old, very well maintained and doesn't even have 100K miles yet. The repair costs far exceed the miles driven.

Report Abuse

Mobile money pit

Foggy, 10/25/2010
4dr SUV AWD
8 of 13 people found this review helpful

This is a terrible car. I bought a Lexus for the reliability, but spent a fortune on repairs. Air Compressor, Transmission, would be the 2 biggies. Check the lexus owner website about the complaints on this model. I was lucky that the tranny went out at 145,000. My Compressor went out at 59k. Transfer case died at 185k.

Report Abuse

Great Car!

Terry Feldmann, 09/18/2005
4dr SUV AWD
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This was my first "luxury" vehicle. I bought it used and have never had any trouble with it. Smooth, beautiful ride, and nice to look at; just a little too "big" for me, especially with gas prices the way they are. I'd love to have a Lexus SUV down one size like the Jeep Loredo or Ford Escape. Automatic window buttons can be funky to operate.

Report Abuse

Best car I've ever owned

M Royal , 07/08/2020
4dr SUV AWD
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

What a great suv. Traded a problem ridden German car for this. 313k and still driven daily. Everything still works. Sure some things had to be repaired or replaced along the way like transmission at 150k, but Lexus helped with cost. I've replaced struts and radiator now and few other suspension parts but generally every else is original including the 3.0 liter by motor. It's amazing how quite it still rides after 21 years. I recommend Lexus to anyone that wants a comfortable and reliable luxury suv.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it....but it has ISSUES!!!!!

14ktlady, 01/13/2010
4dr SUV AWD
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

I love driving it in the winter, I had some problems in the beginning, but the recall took care of the oil clumping problem at Lexus's expense. They also fixed the sensors but, the oxygen still causes the engine light to come on.

Report Abuse

18 years

Fran Prestia, 03/03/2017
4dr SUV AWD
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

This was my dream car. I owned her for 18 years with little or no problems. Loved the car, loved the color drove to Florida to upper Wisconsin to North Carolina and everyday driving. she is still great.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Disappointed

kristal1, 07/28/2011
4dr SUV AWD
7 of 15 people found this review helpful

Bought the Lexus Rx 300 because of Lexus' reputation of being a reliable vehicle, sadly disappointed with our experience. We bought this car 5 years ago with 48K miles on it and hoped to drive it over 200K miles. Unforunately at 100K miles the car had a steering column failure, the worst the dealer had ever seen. Car was unsafe to drive. Cost of repairs $1,700. Less than 12 months later at 112K miles the engine went. Expected cost to replace $5,000 for a used engine, significantly more for a new one. Never expected this from Lexus! at 112K miles... are you kidding me. Should have read reviews before buying it.

Report Abuse

My Favorite Vehicle...Until

bridgils, 11/06/2010
4dr SUV AWD
10 of 29 people found this review helpful

I have loved this vehicle since the first test drive. It exceeded my expectations for years until today. This SUV is notorious for costly transmission failures - today I join this club. It would have been the perfect vehicle if the tran would have held up. The repair cost is anticipated to be the blue book on the vehicle - tough call.

Report Abuse

Held up well in wreck

M, 03/16/2009
4dr SUV AWD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I enjoyed this vehicle until the day it was totaled. It held up really well in the accident. Airbags deployed as designed, side door panels kept interior safe. Gas shut off switch functioned properly. Seatbelts locked. Did not roll over. I'm looking for another one to replace it. Only major trouble that I had was the transmission at about 150000, but car had 170000 on it at time of wreck.

Report Abuse

Love this car

LexusLover, 01/11/2008
4dr SUV AWD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought new, have had for 9 now and still in love. I now have 245k on the RX 300. I just bought an RX 350 to replace my first love. The old RX 300 is going to my daughter, and insurance rates can't be beat with this car. Expect 19-24 mpg using mid-grade.

Report Abuse

1999 Lexus RX 300

EAC, 09/09/2009
4dr SUV AWD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great SUV. No Major problems besides an oxygen sensor needing replacement. Acceleration is not great and fuel economy is not great either. Fuel consumption got worse when I bought new tires. Only dislike is that servicing is expensive and dealership cuts no breaks even for long time customer like me.

Report Abuse

Don't judge an RX by it's cover

J the Cube, 08/24/2002
4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The car looks and feels great. But I am truly dissapoimted with Lexus. The laundry list of problems has me running from Lexus. From the now twice broken back hatch door shocks, the dried out & cracked front window channels, the needed lubrication of the back windows, the bad idle control valve, the noisy brake pads....and this car only has 31K miles!

Report Abuse

Love It

HTown, 02/05/2003
4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased a RX300 with 50K + miles, but to this day not problems. The comfort is exceptional and it handles really well, with the exception of U-turns the raduis is not that good. All in all I have enjoyed and people are very impressed with it's luxurious feel and look.

Report Abuse

Lexus RX 300. The right Rx for the blahs

Zelion, 08/16/2003
4dr SUV AWD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Having driven almost every type and year of automobile ever made, I have found the RX300 to be the best all around car to have. It's versatile in every dimension. It has everything NEEDED and most WANTED features in one reasonably affordable package. Some people accuse us of being rich. They spent more on their Chevy pickup or custom van, which doesn't have the versatility or a "WOW" factor of 1, than we did on a "LEXUS". Luxury, quality, dependability, versatilty all in one. What a great concept!

Report Abuse

The Best SUV ever!!!

vinster29, 11/04/2003
4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Lexus RX300 sets the standard for all of the other SUV's on the market. Even with all of the copycats out there, their is still not other cross- over SUV like the RX300. People are always telling me how nice my RX looks even though they just came out with the RX330. Lexus has outdone themselves with this vehicle!!

Report Abuse

Good Car, Bad Gas Mileage

ctchanimal, 11/22/2003
4dr SUV AWD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

With 71K on my RX, I can't complain of any mechanical problems. However, I'm only averaging 11-15 mpg on premium gas. This is big enough of a problem for me to consider selling. Other than than that, great acceleration, looks, reliability, and comfort

Report Abuse

Lexus rx300

judibutz, 09/21/2004
4dr SUV AWD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The most reliable car I have ever owned. I wish the look had been changed so I could buy again. Am going for the Murano. Handling was a draw back to the rx although I love this car - turning radius leaves a lot to be desired.

Report Abuse

99 Lexus RX300

Lyle D. Mitchell, 11/17/2004
4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

2nd owner of this 1999 RX300. Everything was fine until the auto trans went out at 77,800 miles with no warning. Lexus remanufact trans costs $5000. This failure was very disappointing.

Report Abuse

RX300 Pretty Damn Fun

acknbad, 04/15/2003
4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

As a devoted Chevy truck man, it was fun and easy to switch over to the front-drive RX.

Report Abuse

I LOVE my Lexus!

bradley_k_335, 04/01/2007
4dr SUV AWD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had the car for about four years and it has never let me down. With countless trips over Snoqualmie pass to our lake house, it drives great in the snow with the all-wheel-drive system. It is a very inspiring vehicle to drive. I have loved it for as long as I have owned it.

Report Abuse

1999 Lexus RX300

R Giles, 04/16/2003
4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a luxurious car that still has the size and safety of an SUV. The car has been very reliable and almost defect free. Lexus did do warrenty repair work on the fuel intake system and the exhaust manifold. I would definitely buy another one.

Report Abuse

alot of trouble

a/l, 03/26/2002
4dr SUV AWD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

are wheels of our car needed to be fixed almost right away. we needed them a again. when the engine on and the car is stoped it hurts our ears. although it is a safe car. the dealer dave mungenast lexus of st. louis is a rip off so dont buy there.

Report Abuse

okay car

dake, 03/16/2002
4dr SUV AWD
5 of 15 people found this review helpful

this is a nice car. the dealer dave mungenast is not a good dealer. the car milage is wrong. we all exepet that love our lexus rx300.

Report Abuse

Lexus, NEVER AGAIN

RX300, 07/18/2010
4dr SUV AWD
3 of 10 people found this review helpful

The Lexus RX300 is all about look and false reputation. I bought this 99' RX300 108K 8 months ago hopping to have a reliable vehicle at least for 50K based on Toyota/Lexus false reputation and transmission blew at 120k, then I saw on the web forums that is very common on RX300 transmissions blowing under 100K (90, 80 or 75K). Lexus RX300 is a piece of crap. Overpriced to buy, insane to fix. Next time I will definitely go with Ford or Chevy family. I will recommend it to my worst enemy.

Report Abuse

RX 300

Disappointed, 01/14/2007
4dr SUV AWD
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

Paid cash for this beautiful car in the summer 2.5 years ago. I have since put so much money into repairs that I don't know what to do. I've put less than 12,000 miles on it in 2.5 years and spent thousands. First - O2 sensors (TWO) at once, then electrical, which NO one but Lexus will touch and will probably run me thousands at 90 an hour. I suddenly had no control over heat, radio, - anything on the console. Now, as of today it is parked because of yet another problem. Seems like horrible mix of gas - O2 sensors again??? I can't even limp it to the dealer this time. Second owner. Now I know why he got rid of it.

Report Abuse

Any older Lexus may be tempting, but don't do it..

Kevin, 04/06/2017
4dr SUV AWD
1 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought my 1999 RX300 for peanuts and thought it was a killer deal. Low miles, dealer serviced. But save yourself the headache and just don't do it. Yes these are technically "Toyotas", but the newest RX300s are now over 14 years old. They are a PITA to work on. Mine just went into limp mode due to bad knock sensors, and I just spent $685 for that. Parts were only $185, but it took ten hours of labor to change them. Drove it home, and when I parked it, it started idling at 2k rpm. Back to the shop it went! I've now been without my Lexus for two weeks. Fuel economy on my AWD model is terrible and it has very little power. It's comfortable and safe, but expect to spend ALOT on repairs.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Hasn't Lived Up To The Lexus Reputation

Vivvy, 03/16/2004
4dr SUV AWD
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Legendary Lexus quality--the total ownership experience--has turned out to be more legend than reality in this case. The dealership's service dept has been less than stellar, far surpassed by the local Accura dealership--and even the local Honda dealer. What's wrong with the car? Lots of little things, surprisingly too many to write down. An overall disappointment.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050