Used 1999 Lexus RX 300 Consumer Reviews

List Price
$2,900

Used RX 300 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...9

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best Vehicle I have ever owned. I have owned lots.

Jay Alan, 06/25/2018
4dr SUV AWD
36 of 36 people found this review helpful

I have a 1999 and it is going strong with 228,000 miles and the only maintenance so far has been brakes, tires, oil filter, air filter, AC Recharge, and bulbs replacement. Considering it is the first year make and model I would rate that reliability tremendous. I think was is the most impressive feature of the RX 300 AWD is how great it performs in the snow, It has been in 2 to 3 feet in Wyoming and in the Sierra Mountains in California and Nevada. Never been stuck and have never had to chain up. The only complaint I have is the durability of the leather on the front seats. The leather wore out after about 10 years and now have to use seat covers.

Performance
Report Abuse

Good older SUV

krw5, 11/04/2012
4dr SUV AWD
35 of 36 people found this review helpful

I bought this with 167k on it as a "winter beater" three years ago, never thinking that with that many miles it would be as great a vehicle as it is. The only thing that's ever gone wrong is that the ignition coils needed to be replaced. Still gets 20-25mpg, passes California smog with flying colors, looks pretty good for a 14 year old Lexus. It did have the advantage of being a one owner vehicle serviced exclusively by a Lexus dealer (it even has a Lexus brand battery). I change fluids religiously and expect it to go another 100k.

Report Abuse

Affordable Luxury

Cmazanec, 05/03/2006
4dr SUV AWD
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in late Fall from a private party. After much debate about what kind of SUV to buy I can now say I made a great choice! I was comparing it to the 4Runner and other comparable SUVs. I was a litte hesitant about buying a Lexus because of the cost factor and I thought that it may be too much to maintain. Since I bought it all I have done is a front brake job which I knew it needed when I bought it. Of course at first I brought it to a Lexus dealer but after seeing their review and estimates I brought it to my local shop and they did the same work for a lot less. I saved about $150 on the brake job with them. I have been extremely satisfied with it so far!

Report Abuse

Lexus saved our lives!!

lexusluver, 05/14/2012
4dr SUV AWD
38 of 40 people found this review helpful

Owned a 1999 Lexus Rx 300 for five years. Three weeks ago my husband and I was hit from behind by a full sized pick up while sitting at a stop light,then pushed into another SUV in front of us. The police report said that the driver of the pick up never even noticed us and never slowed down and hit us doing 45mph. Although we received back/neck injuries, we feel that because we were driving our Lexus, it saved our lives. A police officer and a fireman both called our Lexus a "little tank" and told me that we were lucky to be driving it. we were told it could have more serious. We are definitely purchasing another Lexus as soon as we settle with insurance co. Miss our Lexy!

Report Abuse

Have owned mine since it was new

fyrcat, 01/18/2012
4dr SUV AWD
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

I had owned my 1999 rx 300 since it was new. I currently have 78000 miles on it. No problems until I hit 65000 miles and my transmission went out. My dealer here in the SF bay area wanted 6500.00, so I shopped around and found an independent tranny shop who did it for 3500.00. Other than that, I love this car! I have never held on to a car for more than 6 years, but I still adore my Lexus. I just repaired the leather on the drivers side that ripped from 13 years of in and out. Otherwise both the interior and the exterior look great. I am hoping to keep her for 2 more years, and when ready to replace her, I would buy another Lexus in a heartbeat.

Report Abuse

Fairly easy to work on

HomeMechanic, 04/08/2009
4dr SUV AWD
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Purchased from a private owner with 135k, now 155k. RX3s can have some small known issues that can be fixed by a competent DIYer. Exhaust leak (have a friend with a welder?), O2 sensors (buy a $5 socket), clean the MAF (simple), spark plugs (a chore but not impossible), suspension noise (disassembling a strut is more than most ppl want to do on their own). Suggest changing the driveline fluids for insurance against trans issues. Consistent 19mpg which I think is fair- if you get less, have it checked out, or turn off 'power' mode! All in all, I think its a vehicle you can become familiar with & keep around for a long time. It's versatile, but not too big or obnoxious. My trusty daily driver.

Report Abuse

Awesome

groverusty, 06/27/2009
4dr SUV AWD
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Just bought this 99 RX300 valued at 10,000 plus for $5500.00 Had to put in valve cover gaskets, timing belt/water pump. This cost $1000.00 This is an awesome car. It is so quiet and fun to drive. Heated seats help our backs, and if I can keep my wife happy, then we are ALL happy. But seriously, I LOVE THIS CAR. The Pre-purchase inspection told us everything we needed to have done but even that mechanic said "If you don't want it, let me know because I do". AWESOME!

Report Abuse

Best car ever built

Bixby503, 10/25/2009
4dr SUV AWD
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have had my RX300 since 2002. It now has 134k miles on it. This is the best car ever built in my opinion. I will not give it up ever, for any price. It is absolutely incredible on snow, ice and rain. It is very safe, drives great and rides even better. I also own an SC430, but I prefer the RX300 to it any day.

Report Abuse

My 99 RX 300 Performance

chev769, 02/12/2008
4dr SUV
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

No major problems. 90,000 miles. Change oil EVERY 3,500 miles. Minor problems: one seat belt, mass air flow sensor, rear trunk latch (asked for fix from day one; it broke after 8 years); am radio poor. Biggest repair has been starter contacts. My wife would never have driven any other car nine years (and counting). Perfect for her, and for two old folks with children gone. I am trying to hold off till 2010 for the next one I MUST buy for my wife.

Report Abuse

Smart Choice

Lexus guy, 03/08/2008
4dr SUV AWD
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Downsized from an LS 430 and love both cars. Seats just as comfortable with just the right height and strong seat heaters. Good stereo/CD. Mileage ranges from 17-18 running errands to 23-24 on the flat highway. Great car for realtor/inspector and practical for bad weather, bad roads. Keep oil/trans fluids changed though. I switched to K&N filter and 0/30 Mobil-One oil and get 1-3 better MPG. Mine has 161,000 and looks/runs like new.

Report Abuse
12345...9
Items per page:
51050