Used 2008 Land Rover LR2 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$4,076 - $6,200

Used LR2 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Some good, some bad

Ellie Higginbotto, 12/21/2015
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
104 of 106 people found this review helpful

Bought in 2012 with 94,000 miles. Currently at 120,000. The Good- This car is my personal listening room; the sound system is incredible, one of the best I've ever heard in a car. I have the cold weather package and the seats warm up so fast and the defroster a for the windshield and rear are quick as well. Off road, this car is a beast! Even without mudding tires I have never had a moments hesitation, from knee deep mud to deep snow to off roaring on the side of a mountain. It's so comfortable and the way it handles has me weary to ever let the car go. The double sun roofs bring tons of natural light into the car and the visibility is excellent. I turn heads when I drive around town. Tons of small perks as well. I really do love this car. Now, The Bad-EXPENSIVE to have worked on. Most mechanics will not work on them as the software required is incredibly expensive for them to purchase. Since I bought the car I have had to replace- Brakes, rotors ($800), new key fob ($425), gear shift spring broken ($800), fob insert detector ($600), rear ball joints ($1200). Also, the spring is broken in my front right; sheared right in half. I'm driving with it now and it's fine: no sounds or decreased performance, but I'm looking at $2200 plus to have it (and the other front) replaced. Yow. That's a lot in 30,000 miles in my experience. Resale is rough on them because of the cost to fix. I love how this car drives and I can haul kayaks, SUPs, my dog, etc.. Without problems. I want to keep fixing it forever, but I will eventually have to make a smart fiscal decision. Oh, and for the gas haters--I get about 17 city and 23-24 highway. Not bad, considering the car weighs 2 tons. You will win if you are in an accident. That alone makes me feel so safe, and if you've ever been in a bad car wreck you know how important it is to feel safe afterwards. Update-car is now at 126,000 miles and the rotors are toast. That's 30,000 miles on them. O2 sensor went out ($500) replacement and the exhaust is getting noisy. Someone also keyed my front right panel, but I'm not even going to try to figure out how much that will cost. Probably going to sell the car soon; cost of fixing everything will total the car out. It still drives nice and is so comfortable. I will miss this car, but not the expense.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

worst car ever

dk, 09/05/2010
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I purchased the LR2 last year and it has spent more time getting repaired than a car should be. Factory tires were wore out at 16,000 miles. Constant software and electrical issues. There has been a code that trips the check engine light that is apparently cannot be fixed until new software is produced. So the engine light comes on and off. Now the latest which happened today. Went to start the vehicle and its like it shorted out everything. Will not start and would not eject the key fob. This car looks great from the outside but what a mistake I made trading in our STS for this thing. About to move cross country and now I cannot trust this car.

Report Abuse

205,000 and still a nice vehicle

mks9, 03/15/2013
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
57 of 61 people found this review helpful

205,000 miles. Been a great vehicle. Only thing that has gone wrong is AM radio, a broken spring on the shift lever and 1 wheel bearing. Have only done routine maintenance. On 4th set of tires, brakes replaced at about 75K & 185K and oil changes. Best vehicle I have owned and have been driving for about 40 years. Lots of nice little features, and well designed. Handles great and has been reliable. I tow a small boat, carry bikes, kayaks and stand up paddle boards during the summer. Average about 21 mpg, mostly highway. Interior & Exterior are still in great condition. Not even close to considering selling it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

94,000 mile review

mks9, 02/01/2011
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
39 of 42 people found this review helpful

Been very reliable. Only routine maintenance. Oil changes, brakes at 75,000 miles, tires about every 42,000 miles. Fun to drive, good gas mileage for it's size. Still don't like te key, but it seems to be the new trend. At the moment, it's the nicest vehicle I have ever owned. It's my 6th vehicle and I never get rid of them with under 150K miles on them.

Report Abuse

My First Little Landie!!!

kcheree, 12/24/2015
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

What can I say, I have driven' a lot of trucks, fire trucks, suvs, cars, sports cars, customs, and off road vehicles. I Love this LR2. I am short so as I love a lifted truck I no longer love to climb in or out of any vehicle. This, I just slide in and out with no trouble. Every control is within comfortable reach. Living in Minnesota and as cold as it gets here I was thinking of installing an automatic start to this beauty. I found it heats up so fast I shouldn't even bother, especially with the cold climate package. It picks up speed right away, highway driving is a breeze with lane changing, merging, she gets along great with all weather driving on the hwy too! The Alpine sound system is so clear I often thought I was hearing other noises, nope, was so crisp I never noticed all the sound in a piece of music in another vehicle. Best purchase of this year. Ok, for the tough love, if it is not taken care of properly, it will cost more than other domestic suvs/trucks but with all of the amazing features and feel, to me it is worth it. I will be looking for another when it is time. *****Update **** It has been one year now and I love this LR2 as much as the day I bought it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Over 230K and still "truckin"

LR2 Driver, 07/25/2017
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent value. Vehicle maneuvers like no other, engine still very strong and does not burn oil. We have had some smaller issues, post warranty expiration totaling $3000 out of pocket spend. No complaints. Car is paid for, and looks and runs super. Would buy another LR2 in a flash.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Initial impressions

Chris, 03/03/2010
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
26 of 29 people found this review helpful

Just purchased an 08 SE model with 20k on it. Glad I didn't listen to the elitist, jaded reviews of car journalists (this site included) and decided on a test drive. The LR2 is a 4200 pound truck, it is not meant to take off like a rocket ship or handle like a Ferrari. That said, anyone not pretending to be Mario Andretti should be well satisfied by its power and cornering ability. The ride is very comfortable even on cratered NYC streets. Had a great time passing people who were out of control and stuck during a recent snow storm. Good fit and finish to the interior. The controls are a little busy and some are hard to use/find without looking. Will submit an update after a year.

Report Abuse

1,000 Mile Review

roverfanatic7, 12/20/2012
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I just bought this car a few weeks ago. I wanted an SUV and was having trouble deciding. First, I looked at the FJ Cruiser. Love that car, reliable, safe, fun to drive and a great offroader. However, the visibility was horrible. Next, I looked at the Nissan Xterra. The price was very high considering the features. Then, I looked at the Acura RDX. I liked it, but found it small and didn't have a strong offroad capability. I also looked at the Jeep Liberty, but found the ride horrible despite the nice interior and features. So, I stumbled upon this LR2. I wanted to stay away from Land Rover because of the reliability. However, this car has it all. No problems yet! Look below at the features!

Report Abuse

I really like mine!

Erik Rooney, 03/10/2016
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I've owned my LR2 for just a couple of weeks. I'm really impressed with the overall quality and craftsmanship. I do my own maintenance so I can't say the repair cost is out of range. I would recommend this to a family member. I'm sure there are better SUV's, but if you don't want to blend into the crowd, I recommend the Land Rover product. I did have to have a pulley repaired. It cost $300. I don't necessarily agree with the engineering. It seems to be over complicated. I still love my Land Rover though. Also my starter failed. The engineer is have it right at the bottom of the motor. It took me about 5 minutes to change.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My First Rover!

Monebyrd, 07/24/2016
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
28 of 32 people found this review helpful

When I went to the dealership in April,I was looking at an X5 but it was a diesel engine and I was nervous about put gas in it by accident. I was very skeptical of this Landie due to the poor reliability reviews. I made sure I was able to check the history of the truck and it was corporate for 9 months then the owner had it for 6.7years was serviced in the here in the Northeast. I bought it with a warranty as well as my mechanic went over it and changed the oil and brakes for me. I have the cold package with heated seats as well as heated windshield. Love how high it sits. The ride is awesome. Not quick as the Beamer but I luv the fact you can go anywhere in Style and safety. The previous owner took very good care of it! was not afraid of the miles. It does burn oil. I had to replace a quart before oil change (synthetic)premium gas.Plan on keeping it for awhile.update 9 months with 121k driver window regulator is going out but the truck is sound. Stay on top of maintenance. I plan on keeping this until the wheels fall off. If you find a well taken care of Rover, you will be fine. Update: 150 k no significant work except oil change. Runs great!!will keep until the wheels fall off!!1/25/18 Update 1/25/2019 truck has 156890 motor mounts replaced in October 2018. Oil changed on the regular. Battery changed in April 2018.Runs great. Have to change the muffler but does not affect the truck. Luv it! If you take care of it, it will take care of you. Never left me stranded 🙏🏾Update 7/2019 synthetic oil change every 5-7 thousand miles. Replaced the muffler . Luv it! No problems🙌🏾🙌🏾Update 1/2020 Computer module had to be replaced at dealer bc my mechanic didn’t have the software. Key fob had to be replaced bc the original was worn out. Battery had to be replaced $1155 at dealership very expensive bill and that was a break bc the key fob is normally $500 diagnosed $205/hour then two weeks later starter went out towed to mechanic $540. Not including tow from my mechanic to Dealership $160. I really didn’t have any expensive repairs until going into year 4 . When they hit they hit hard so beware. I will Rock it . It is unique looks good and I wasn’t stranded anywhere( i was at home , nothing would come on) the alarm randomly goes off reading it could be a sensor so watching. Daily driver but I do have a 2016 Acura MDX for back up.7/29/2020.radiator system replaced $1500 and coil packs $160 each with spark plugs. Still got him but pricey.still got the MDX as back up. 174k solid truck still turn heads but now after 4 years of ownership. I am fixing things and the mechanic say it’s a Rover.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fantastic SUV for City or Mountains

Bill H, 02/22/2016
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Find a good mechanic. Land Rover parts are pricey. But otherwise, this is an awesome vehicle that looks great, drives great, handles about anything you throw at it... from snowy mountain trails to looking good when handing the keys to a valet!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Cons and Pros

mgur1, 05/18/2010
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Just returned fully loaded LR2 after lease with 32K on it. After first six months was thinking to keep it. Sluggish acceleration was only one thing bothered me. On a highway you can use a sport mode to go uphill or to pass another vehicle, but in a city it doesn't help. Soon multiple recalls and electronical problems started building up like snowball and that turned me off. Steering pump broke, heated seats element burned, sunroof went off the rails, check engine light, air pressure gages mulfunctioned, fuel gage drops on zero and "Low Fuel" warning beeps with more than half tank of gas. Dealer fixed it, after two weeks got same thing. Bluetooth drops signal very often

Report Abuse

Reliability is the problem

BAD choice ;LR2, 10/25/2010
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 17 people found this review helpful

Once i saw this car i loved the exterior and interior and lots of extras it came with. So i dropped my first choice back then which was the vw Touareg, as i had a concern about the vw reliability. Unfortunately i was totally wrong cause it i never suffered with a car like this LR2, every now and then it should be towed to the dealer for electrical problems, that actually there is no real solution for them. Engine fault and transmission fault are keeping flashing in your face! tail gate got stuck more than once. What a great loss i had spent a fortune to own this LR2 and i cannot depend for long journeys in it.

Report Abuse

24 months and still going strong

Land Rover Lover, 09/03/2009
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have had my LR2 for 24 months now. This was my 1st land rover purchase but definitely won't be my last. The only problems I have had over the past 2 years have been very minor and very easily and quickly resolved by excellent service at my dealer. I still get many admiring looks and questions about my Tambora Flame colored LR2. I would have paid thousands more for a comparably equipped X3, Q5, or RX350. Considering that routine maintenance was also included sealed the deal. Overall, I have been very happy with my purchase and am always surprised to hear stories of "bad experiences" with LR2's since my experience has been the exact opposite (dependable, comfortable, and reliable).

Report Abuse

3 Year Report

Rick G., 08/24/2010
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My 2008 Tambora Flame LR2 just turned 3 years old. I am still completely satisfied with this vehicle. It has remained very dependable, comfortable, and fun to drive. Outside of regular maintenance, it has only been in for service for a couple of very minor issues over the past 3 years. It still gets lots of looks and I still get lots of positive comments from people. It is a really nice mix of a rugged "go anywhere" SUV and a comfortable luxury SUV at a very reasonable price considering all the standard equipment it came with. I am still very happy with my purchase.

Report Abuse

LR is slipping

Jeff, 08/20/2010
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

3rd and last Land Rover! For such a stunning car (we had the cool orange, one) what a pile of poo! Bought it new and almost an instant headache. I broke down in SEVEN different states! From NC to CA! Left a LR service center in NM, 6 hrs later I was broke down again in CO! Constant PRICEY services, and with the sporadic dealer locales it can be a bit of travel. Inside, the car is very cheaply "thrown together." After 20k miles you never ride in silence!! With everything rattling inside and wind noise it can turn a grouchy morning into an epileptic fit! If you're looking for a car to look at then look no more! If you actually use and DEPEND on a vehicle for more than an eyegasm steer clear

Report Abuse

REAR END ISSUES

Michelle Davis, 06/09/2017
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 17 people found this review helpful

PLEASE HAVE THE REAR END CHECKED!!! We bought our car at 90,000 miles and needed to replace the rear end. It is common in these vehicles:( After 3,500 dollars it is fixed and we ended up with 8,000 car at 11,500 + . The interior is falling apart also, sun roof leaks. The car is a LEMON and shame on Land Rover for not doing a recall on the rear end.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The worst car I've ever had

julie, 01/01/2009
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

This car is a joke. The battery died after 1 year as did the brakes ($1100 later) I need new tires at a cost of $1200. For the better part of leasing this car I had trouble starting it. I just returned again from the dealership yesterday and it stalled in the parking lot and now a new problem my driver window is no longer working. I really give up. I am putting a sign on this car to advise all never to own a Land Rover.

Report Abuse

LR2

obie, 04/05/2007
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Drives like a car,very quiet. Turns on a dime and can tow 3600 pounds with trailer with brakes. A fun luxury SUV

Report Abuse

Love my LR2

Nick Soo, 07/07/2008
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I got my LR2 as a winter car last October. I was well aware of Land Rover's past reliability problems. I have to say that I love my LR2. Some claim it has poor performance for a luxury SUV, but I think it does fine. I have a G35 coupe as well, and I don't think the LR2 is slow for an SUV, and I don't expect it to be a race car. Overall, it's a great ride for someone who wants a very comfortable plush smaller SUV with eye-catching style and lots of technological bells and whistles without paying a fortune. If you want a full-size SUV, it'll disappoint. If you want a car-like SUV, probably not for you. But if you want an SUV for winter driving and occasional trips, the LR2 rocks

Report Abuse

i'm smitten!

sherry heverly, 06/30/2009
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I just bought my lr2 last week and love it! it is my 2nd LR. it looks great, handles great, and i feel very safe in it. i'm sure there will be some quirks.................it is a landrover, but the dealership is wonderful and really takes care of the cars and their customers. i'm smitten!

Report Abuse

62000 mile report

mks, 12/08/2009
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Still love it. All I have done is change the oil and tires. Average 21 mpg, comfortable and fun to drive. Best vehicle I have ever owned. Would buy another in a minute. Runs great, lots of great features and everthing is wo easy to use.

Report Abuse

Totally disappointed

Totally disappointed, 04/06/2010
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I loved the looks of the SUV. But the maintenance is terrible. New brakes and Rotors at 22,000? Never before in a vehicle Have I had this happen and then New tires needed at 28,000. I was Told that I got the average life out of brakes and Max out of Tires. I had problems with air noise and with the front end steering from day one. I have traded car for BMW that has showed me a Rover is not the way to GO. Very disappointed in the up-keep of this SUV. Glad to no longer be an owner of this SUV.

Report Abuse

Awesome Luxury SUV for the Money

Mark Bulleri, 07/28/2007
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We love our LR2. We tested the MDX and Nissan Murano and as soon as we got into the LR2 and started it up, we were hooked. Our eyes said it all and our salesman knew he hooked us. There are 2 improvements that I would have wanted, more horsepower for changing lanes on the highway and the bluetooth doesn't work with my blackberry. But all in all, I would highly recommend the LR2 it is fun to drive and is super stylish.

Report Abuse

Dont Buy!!

caroline shek, 08/19/2008
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my second LR2--the first one (brand new) needed a transmission overhaul after 2 weeks. They gave me another one that has overheated twice. Just this past weekend, it overheated while I was driving and smoke began coming out of the hood. Stay away from this car! Its unsafe and unpredictable.

Report Abuse

Anywhere anytime

GeoSmart, 07/08/2019
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I've always had beaters and when I had a chunk of money I bought it. It wasn't on the list of acceptable cars to buy but fell in love with its style. Now, 120K later and about 7k maintenance I still love this car and would recommend it to anyone and am thinking about buying another one of the same year just because I love the style and shape of it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Had to let it go ...

MrNapa, 11/06/2015
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

As I thought, and wrote in my last review, the costs of repairs (parts & labor) finally forced me to put my little rover up for sale. It really was a great vehicle while I had it. but I had to finally make a decision: keep putting money into it or purchase another vehicle. I went with the latter choice.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

UNRELIABLE LEMON

Mike, 09/09/2010
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 13 people found this review helpful

This is my wife's car. She acknowledges that it was a bad choice. Like someone else said, this is not a real SUV. This is a very low car that should really be a station wagon, but a wagon is better because it has more cargo room. The cargo room in the LR2 is a joke. What were they thinking? You could fit one stroller in there and that's it. This is a city car. It will get you from A to B in relative style, and it's easy to park. That's it. It is not a good grocery getter, not a good family car, nothing like that. This car is really meant for single young professionals who are frugal with their money and want to drive a brand name. Electrical left us stranded more than once.

Report Abuse

Worst Car Ever

unhappy customer, 12/08/2008
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is the worst care I have ever had. Land Rover is buying it back as a lemon. The car constantly cuts out while driving, the gas gage constantly tells me I have no gas even when the tank is full and I have taken the key out of the ignition and the car stays on and tells me the key is still in the ignition. I have had nothing but problems, it has been in the shop more than at my home and the guys at Enterprise are my new best friends. I would never, ever buy another Land/Range Rover again, or for that matter even take one if someone gave one to me.

Report Abuse

Very Disappointed

West MI Car Owner, 05/14/2010
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Good looking and fun to drive when it works. However, this is the least utilitarian sport utility ever. Clearly a vehicle designed as a tall station wagon for soccer moms and was a big let-down as my first Land Rover. Second sunroof was a cool feature until I discovered that prevented me from having a roof rack, and bumper design made a putting on a hitch a very expensive custom job. The seat heaters drained the battery if you forgot to turn them off and the crazy windshield wipers are $60 each. Also, dependability was surprisingly poor. 2nd week off the lot the car stalled and died on me and wouldn't start again. Pretty embarrassing as I was on a 2nd date. I will NEVER buy LR again!

Report Abuse

Quality not so good

Mary, 09/14/2008
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am very unhappy with the quality of my SR2. The exterior paint is very thin, the drivers side seat has torn, the performance is horrible, the only good thing is the fuel economy. I have never been this unhappy with a vehicle in my life, I paid approx. $39,000 in Aug. of 2007. I was recently offered $25,000 trade in from the same dealership I paid $39,000 only a year ago. Wow! I have to take a $14,000 loss on this vehicle. I am so unhappy with this vehicle I am going to take the $14,000 loss just to get out of it, however I will never ever purchase another Land Rover or Range Rover ever!

Report Abuse

Love my LR2

Nick S, 01/10/2009
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased my LR2 SE in October 2007 as a winter vehicle to get me around while in graduate school. I looked at Nissan Pathfinders, and a few other SUV's in the mid $30K price range. The test drive sold me on the LR2, and I couldn't be happier. It's a great car. Fantastic on road trips, and very easy to drive. The seats are very comfortable, and while it's not a tiny SUV, it's not huge either. Enough space to carry whatever I need, and compact enought to drive in town every day. In bad weather, it gets an A+. The snow terrain response setting is phenomenal, as are the headlights and nav.

Report Abuse

Sorry I did not buy another BMW

Chris, 03/12/2009
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My BMW X5 was coming off of lease and I decided to be practical and buy an LR2 - a 2008 "leftover". I previously owned a Discovery and a Range Rover (no problems with these). After 650 miles, the LR2 started to burn oil. The dealer's shop said they could not find the problem. After 1700 miles it started to burn oil again. The car is in the shop for a week as they take the engine apart to find out why it's burning oil. Not happy with this lemon. My BMW has 56000 (3 years old) and NO problems ever. I have opened a case with LR and have demanded they take the car back. So much for being practical!

Report Abuse

45K Report

DH, 05/29/2009
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Beenn nothing but perfect so far. Average over 22 mpg and the only problem was a clip in the tailgate came loose. Great comfort and visibilty. Easy and fun to drive. Best vehicle I have ever owned. Sound system is great as well as the lighting system. Not so sure about the key. Several times if you install the key and hit the start button prior to getting your foot on the break the computer gets confused and it has trouble starting. Take the key out and get the sequence right and it just resets. Not a big deal if you know about it, but otherwise you could sit for a while. Just a really nice small sized SUV.

Report Abuse

Fantastic SUV

MarkHalp, 01/25/2008
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I traded "down" to the LR2 from the Range Rover Sport and love this SUV. In some ways it is a more enjoyable vehicle. It has more interior room than the Sport, a comparable stereo, looks and for 2/3rds of the price. Although I have only owned this vehicle for a month it has had no problems which is better than I experienced with the Sport in the same time period. Recommended.

Report Abuse

Good choice

LROwner, 11/05/2009
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

New owner of a "new" (never registered) 2008 HSE. Had been shopping for a replacement AWD vehicle for a couple months, test drove the ones I thought would fit my needs (I ski, camp, fish, and commute). I tried Tiguan, Forester, Patriot, GLK350, etc... nothing was "the" vehicle. I happened to drive past a LR dealer near work and the lightbuld went on. Test drove it and knew it was the one. Great style, great off road ability, gas mileage I can live with. Very surprised by the agility of the vehicle on paved roads. If the first month is an indicator this should be a good and long relationship.

Report Abuse

Pleasantly Surprised

Curt N., 12/29/2009
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just purchased a used 2008 LR2 HSE with 18K miles in October 2009 and have been extremely happy with the purchase. Had concerns about purchasing an LR based upon reports of mechanical and reliability issues, but after speaking to LR owners and mechanics, it appears the newer models have come a long way. Owner loyalty appears to be solid. Positives: handles great, comfortable to drive, great front seats, gas mileage (18- 24), Engine Power, Alpine Stereo, and Bluetooth Technology. Complaints: Need 1-3 feet of more rear cargo space to help with storage, and rear seating space to allow for rear seats to recline for passenger comfort. No roof racks and no mud flaps came with my HSE model.

Report Abuse

I think I bought a lemon

DLW, 01/28/2010
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I loved my LR2 so much, until numerous electrical issues, having to get it towed twice, $900.00 break jobs. The car looks great inside and out, but I have had nothing but problems with it and it is exceptionally expensive to service. Even oil changes...can only be done by the dealer. I would not recommend this car, unless you have a lot of expendable income you would like to blow on service issues!

Report Abuse

Best Vehicle owned

Trevoro47, 09/27/2010
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I work out of town for a living and average around 40,000km a yr on my vehicles, the Land Rover LR2 has been the best vehicle I have owned and I have owned everything from trucks to cars to vans and I wouldn't drive anything other than my Land rover. admittedly the cargo space is a little tight but aside from that this vehicle is solid! I live in Canada and going through the 7 months of Canadian winters you need a reliable vehicle. Aside from the schedule maintenance I haven't had a single issue with it, even after putting 30000 km on it in 9 months the engine still purrs like a kitten. Love it thanks for the dependability Land Rover. Good job!

Report Abuse

Good! but could have been Great

PC, 02/09/2008
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the LR2 inspite of its poor reliability reputation. It was the right size, price and looked great. I compared it to X3, RDX, RX350,CX7 and it drove and felt the best overall. I would have rated it excellent but for some irritating issues that seem to magnify each day. First off the gas mileage I've been getting for in-city is 12.5. . Secondly there is no storage area for the driver. All my other cars had something on the dash or below the right arm to store sunglasses,CDs, papers. The bluetooth on this car does not sync w Smartphones which renders it useless. And the Cold Climate package gets you a windshield that produces glare from oncoming traffic. Other than that it's great.

Report Abuse

Should've bought an X3

Joe Marton, 08/06/2007
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Car is 30 days old, been in to the dealer for service 3 times. First 2 times for a faulty passenger seat air bag sensor, now suddenly it has refused to start 3 times in 2 days with the check engine and battery lights coming on. First time it was in for 2.5 weeks, LR didn't have have a P/N for the part that had to be replaced then when they did they shipped it all the way over from the UK. The price of the LR2 was great, but perhaps "you get what you pay for." Beginning to wish we would have just purchased an X3.

Report Abuse

Great SUV----Fix the Bluetooth

dsprga, 05/26/2007
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I'm ending my first month and 1000 miles. I get great comments on the look of the car and I like the ride more than I thought I would as I was changing from a sedan. Great visibility and very comfortable seats. For tall people, there is more than enough room in the driver's seat. I purchased the upgraded sound system and lighting package. I'm glad I did. Great sound and great visibility at night. My main complaint is with the bluetooth phone system. There are very few phones that are compatable with the LR2 and no PDAs. Hopefully, LR is working on a fix for this. Other than the bluetooth issue, I think LR has done an excellent job in this redesign.

Report Abuse

Must love bumps!

Nlighten1, 07/30/2007
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is amazing at making bumps feel insignificant on the trail. I got 24 MPG highway on my first tank on the highway up to northern Michigan with cruise set at 70 MPH. The bad part is my 2002 Ford Expedition can climb a sand hill way better since the LR2 doesn't have 4 wheel low but has the power to weight advantage. The second day I drove it there were three things wrong with the vehicle. The air bag system warning light is on, a 12 volt power outlet quit working and the MP3 jack quit working. The key (Landrover calls it "the unit") has to be inserted into "the reciever" and then you push the start button to start the vehicle. This process doesn't always work. Bad luck or quality?

Report Abuse

Broke Down at 2800 Miles

Samuel , 09/11/2007
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Beware. Look elsewhere. Car completely broke down at 2800 miles. Excuses from Land Rover have been key fob software problem. How does a key fob effect coolant being burned out of the engine at 2800 miles? Car would not start looked under hood coolant below way below minimum. Car in shop now for 3 weeks. Land Rover clueless as to what is going on and wants us to be the Test Pilots. No Thank you. Same problem happening with other buyers. Land Rovers Solution is that when your car stalls on the freeway to just pull over and take the key out and let it reset and then try again! Would not be good if the car stalls on incline doing off road excursion. Looks like an accident waiting to happen.

Report Abuse

LR2 2008 mixed feelings

pmtjrt, 05/02/2008
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Delivered in Late November of 2008. Ride and design is great BUT currently having major issue with the Car shifter getting locked into Neutral. It will fo into reverse, park and neutral but will not engage into drive, sometimes as long as 20 minutes before it releases. I am having to shut the car down and restart, not once but several times. This has happened 6-8 times and have gone to the dealer 2 times in less then 2 weeks, and am having to go again. Dealer is telling me no problem showing up when checking system. Has anyone else had this problem? Or does any one have a solution.

Report Abuse

3 x Electronic Meltdwn ongoing Nightmare

CALandRoverHell, 05/18/2008
HSE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Briefly- This SUV's electronics systems are defective, and LR must know it! I have had 3 different, brand new models 2-LR2's and 1 LR2 HSE. Similar issues have re-occurred with all 3 vehicles: 1) passenger front seat airbag/seatbelt sensor malfunction even after fix, comes back on. 2) nav screen freezing and not moving forward 3) gas showing EMPTY when is 1/2 or more full 4) sound system muting after rear 'sonar' has engaged 5) rear latch when opening at night, turns on ALARM 6) incompetent service people. their 'systems' never seem to find the problems, and I have to have solution for them by finding on internet

Report Abuse

2008 Land Rover lr2

Kevin, 10/01/2020
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just bought it with about 220,000 km on it sure you might think I was crazy to buy this but I think a big element before buying is knowing how the previous ownerMaintained it which he did very well very little rust and maintained consistently no accidents and it’s been awesome car other than some bearings and some reasonable repairs That had to be done and it’s no driving just as well if not better than the day I bought it

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it, but worth the $$$ ?

bluerover, 08/28/2009
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I leased this car in CA in Sep '07. WE LOVE IT! Simple yet elegant interior. Handles extremely well on and off road. Moved to New Orleans, handles the killer pot holes so well and takes water half way up the doors w/o flooding! So far, not a single problem. Looked at BMW and others, LR2 was hands down the best deal. Lease is up and gf is so upset about turning it in, we are looking into buying it. But I am concerned about maintenance expense as it ages. (We only have 21K miles and all maint was free during lease.) If money was no concern, I would keep this car without any hesitation, but for the pot-holed street of New Orleans I would rather have a cheap beater.

Report Abuse

Give 'em a second chance

wilson, 04/15/2007
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Why did we buy an 08 LR2? I love my wife and she never forgave me for dumping the '03. I drove a DKW cross country in the 60's and had less trouble than the '03. After several weeks of ownership I can say that I thoroughly enjoy the styling, ride, performance, and ergonomics of my wife's gray/alpaca LR2.Check back with me on reliability.

Report Abuse

BEWARE OF THIS CAR!

mtd130, 10/19/2007
SE 4dr SUV AWD (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car and have had nothing but major saftey issue. It just died on me while I was driving before I had driven it 2000 miles. It got towed to the dealership and they had a software update for it. I then took it back and then less then a week, it died again. The tech at Land rover told me it was a "docking of the key" problem and it loses communicaton with the fuel line! No fix out there for this computer- key problem and yes there are getting more complaints about this issue. As of right now, I am not getting into this car.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050