Used 2016 Hyundai Accent Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,900 - $13,599

Used Accent for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

What a deal.

JPady, 02/05/2017
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
47 of 49 people found this review helpful

I got lucky. I needed a car and there just happened to be a lot of leftover 2016 Accent's so I scored an incredible deal. $3,000+ off (including rebate) on an economy car is huge. Plus when the dealer couldn't get a manual transmission for me, he threw in automatic for no charge too. I researched it as much as I could in a week. I considered the Rio, Versa, Fit, and iA, and the Accent won hands down. I was looking for low price, long warranty, and I wanted power doors & windows (the entry Versa & Rio did not have those). The reliability (JD Powers, Consumers Report) was above average for the group, and I think it's the best looking too - very stylish for an econobox. And you can't beat the warranty. The two things I didn't like were: No spare tire and no covered console storage with manual trans. I won't drive without a spare, so that became part of the negotiations (spare tire kit was $400 list). And as a final bonus, the car I got had Option Group 2 which has the console bin. ...And cruise control! So far, I love it. This car is a real pleasure to drive. I've only had it a month, but I like it more now than when I bought it. It's the most competent sub-compact I've ever owned. No, it's not the perfect car. Heck, it's one of the cheapest on the market. But all things considered (price, features, looks, reliability, warranty, performance, economy, etc.), I would give it 6 stars if I could. UPDATE 8-11-18: So far, so good. Still love it (but still wish it was a manual trans :-). The only problem so far was a sensor in the steering wheel needed replacing, which was covered under warranty. Overall MPG is 34.1, and the best I got was 42.5 on road trip. I alternate turning the ECO button on every other tank and the difference has been negligible (less than 1 MPG).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Outstanding Value

Marc Brunetti, 09/13/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

Purchased 2013 Accent Sedan, and very happy with it. 116,000 miles in three years and not one problem. Drove from Florida to New York with two adults and two teenagers fully loaded and got 42 mpg on highway. Got the mpg on highway up to 51 mpg by coasting down hill. Just bought another, 2016 model. Stability control and anti lock breaking a plus. Downside: fabric on seats gets stained too easily. Comfort on long rides. No rearview camera.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Accent-u-ate

gary dirisio, 08/29/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

It's a good car for getting from point a to point b. It's solid but does have vibrating issues due to light material used. It gets great gas mileage. Not fancy but a good value for the money. Plus great warranty

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great compact car with a few exceptions

Dillon75, 12/15/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

I had just got this car a week ago brand new first thing I want to say this car is lower than my sister's civic in the front the car might be an inch from the ground my bumper is already a little scraped from bottoming out on entrances. This car performs great I raced my friend at a light in her impala in the manual mode and it took off before hers. The seats are okay just a little firm gets great gas. Safety concerns you hardly have a hood you can't see the hood of the car in front of you not really a crush zone. But other than that it's great but once again super low front ground clearance don't get mad if you scrape it up a little

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Value, but sedan was more practical

Carolyn S, 08/29/2016
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Its a great little car for the price. I had a 2012 4 door 4 1/2 years that I loved and the dealership had a special. I had wanted a hatchback. Found out after delivery the hatchback is 10" shorter than the sedan so I really did not get the additional space I was looking for. Gas mileage is less than the sedan, averaging about 28 unless I am really conscious of how I am driving and coasting (I have a manual stick) There is a bizarre film that keeps creeping up on the inside of the windshield that is driving me absolutely batty. I clean it and days later it returns and I can't figure out if the defroster, heat or AC i causing it. but cleaning the inside of the windshield always leaves greasy streaks. Very Bizarre. I had the Simonez coating put in and on the car. not impressed by that - ended up putting seat covers on it anyway and its the only logical cause I can think of for the film being greasy. Sluggish acceleration. Pretty much get what you pay for. I did get the bumper to bumper warranty for 100,000 miles over the 50,000. I wish I had gotten it on the 2012 instead. I probably would have held onto the 2012 longer had the warranty not run out. This has less rearview visibility because of the tiny hatchback window. I had driven the '12 63,000 and loved it. This turns tight, stops on a dime, great for parking in small spaces but interior space is disappointing. Car is comfortable, AC is very cold, heat is great. Stops, goes great.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

THE GREAT SEARCH IS OVER - HYUNDAI ACCENT WINS

Leah Nikaidoh, 08/25/2016
Sport 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
13 of 16 people found this review helpful

Hi all. Okay I REALLY don't write reviews because I usually think they are biased, but here I go. This is the first time I've done a serious effort in test driving cars before buying one. Prior to this, I only leased or bought VWs - however, my last one (a beautiful 2012 GTI that was red and had plaid interior) required 3 MAJOR repairs in six months, so I had to bid her a fond farewell. So, my uncle and I did test drives (separately) of the following cars: Hyundai Elantra GT, Hyundai Accent hatch back, Mazda 3 hatchback, high end Toyota Prius, and Kia Soul. I narrowed search down to the Mazda and the Accent. The Mazda had more bells and whistles, but the Accent was a lot less expensive and the biggest selling point was the 5 year bumper to bumper warranty. I actually upgraded to the 10 year warranty for only $1800 (which is partially refundable if I don't keep the car). The mileage on both cars were about the same - if I wanted leather seats I would have had to spend more money and get the Mazda or the Hyundai Elantra. I definitely wanted a hatchback and the Accent's cargo space seemed a lot bigger than the Mazda. The interior gadgets are minimal - while I miss my hands free calling, I don't miss it enough to spend another $5-8K. So, I'd recommend you consider this car - my purchase price was great and I have to honestly say that the car dealership has been terrific.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

All Air bags didnt deploy

chrystal pruitt, 05/03/2019
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I was making payments to own this car, well let me get to it. I was hit by a box truck going 55mph on the driver side, my steering wheel air bag didnt deploy nor did the air bags on the passenger side of the car. The only one that did was on the driver side. The doors were crushed and it was darn near crushed completely in half. I almost died in this car as well as my kids that were in the back seats in car seats. We all suffered serious injuires, spent atleast 3 to 4 days in the ICU and 2 of us were recommended to have surgery. This car may look good but take it from someone that almost died in this car....no way the safety is 4 out of 5. If this allowed to me post pictures I would, I have proof of what I claim

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Reliable,SAFE good looking car

Clay streetman, 11/06/2017
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2016 Hyundai Accent with lifetime warranty in may. I was wanting a nice looking reliable car with good gas mileage,escpecially having to drive back and forth from north Mississippi to Texas after moving.After debating between the Accent, chevy Cruze,and versa, the Accent to me was by far the best looking and I loved the test drive in the Accent the best. The interior of the Accent is very nice, seats good and looks quite fancy,inside and out. Equipped with satellite,auxiliary,Bluetooth, radio sounds great with the 6 speakers. There is more than enough room inside, including the cargo area. Very spacious. It has about all the features you could have except for backup camera and automatic seats. Handles beautifully! Love driving it. Handles great in any condition.very reliable.the only downfalls that I have is there is it gets just a bit noisy on rough roads, though it rides very smoothly. Fine finish on doors and dash scratch rather easily, engine noisy when accelerating heavily. Awesome car.safety is VERY great. Ended up in a horrible accident in my first 2016 Accent. Flipped twice and rolled four times. I unbuckled and reached in the backseat, and run off the road in a ditch at 70mph. Keep in mind, I wasn't buckled. All that happened was I fractured some vertebra in my back, still have trouble with it to this day. For it to flip and roll that many times, UNBUCKLED, That is definantly a safe car. When all the airbags deployed, it's like I was in a big bubble. Hated to lose my car(thankful to be alive!) ended up getting another Accent, a silver metallic looking one. My first one was white. If I could give it 6 stars I would. I give safety a 10.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Look and drive like a brand new car

Avau Faaesea, 12/19/2018
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We purchased this car in December 2017 for my birthday. My husband and I are moving overseas and we are selling the Hyundai Accent and keep the KIA Sportage. We love both cars. If we didn't have to move we wouldn't sell the Hyundai. Even though it is a 2016 vehicle, it runs and looks like a brand new Hyundai Accent or better. It's a well maintained, updated on services, no accident, no dent, no tear, clean, 49,000 low mileage, beautiful candy apple red beautiful car. Whoever the future purchaser of this car is the most luckiest person in the world to have such a perfect well maintained vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

First car I've ever owned

April, 05/04/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
18 of 30 people found this review helpful

I just got my 2016 accent two weeks ago and I absolutely love it. It takes a minute to get up to speed as it is a 4 cylinder vehicle but I get about 35-40 mpg! Absolutely love it. It is quiet and comfortable and the AC will freeze you outta the car!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050