Used 2012 Honda Civic Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,495 - $14,984

Used Civic for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2nd review-crash result

carlonz, 12/30/2012
89 of 91 people found this review helpful

I submitted a review previously, just after purchasing my new 12 civic. I thought I should submit another after recently totaling it. It was a great car, in fact I have replaced it with the same exact model and color. Whats important to know is that I was hit (t-boned) on the passenger side at about 35 mph. Side impact air bags went off and car spun 180 degrees. I walked away with only a bruise to my right foreman, no other bruisers, breaks or next day sorenss, with the driver and passenger seating areas fully intact. It's not often someone submits a review on safety in a real world incident. Above and beyond its strengths and weaknesses, this car is built for safety. Thank you Honda.

Report Abuse

Lesser of the evils

dannerd, 07/07/2012
37 of 38 people found this review helpful

I based my car buying decision on my experience with owning an assortment of different beaters, and that this time I was going to buy something new. Out of all the beaters I've owned, Hondas always got the best gas mileage, were the cheapest to fix, were easy to sell. If you read the bashing reviews for the 2012 civic, you'll notice the gripes are mostly about the cheap interior plastic and road noise. If you compare the reviews to other competitors like the 2012 focus or elantra, they are having serious issues involving the transmission, and check engine lights coming on recent to the purchase of the vehicle. That should tell you something. No car is perfect, but Honda seems to get close.

Report Abuse

So you want a Hybrid....

hybridman2012, 05/06/2012
64 of 67 people found this review helpful

If you are on your first mission to buy a hybrid, this article will help you! I started my quest to find the "gas mileage" car I needed by going to a Toyota dealer and driving the famous Prius. After being unimpressed with the style, power and certainly the price, I went back to Honda. This would be my third Honda if the 2012 Civic was the one I was looking for.Here are some facts that accually are true to help you make your decision: First - Honda has a Lithium Ion battery back weighing 20lbs. Prius has a NiCad battery weighing 200lbs. The NiCad has a memory and won't last as long as Honda's Lithium Ion with a warranty of 10yrs or 80,000 miles! Last - More power, most quiet, NICE!

Report Abuse

I am a Car Guy!! Love the 2012 Honda civic LX A+

William, 05/09/2016
LX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
46 of 50 people found this review helpful

First of all i am a car guy and a old school mechanic i worked on many cars the last 20 years.,since i was a teen in the 1990's i own my first car and worked on my 1966 volkwagan classic beetle and turn it into a super bug with a 1915cc 94mm pistons and double carb 45".had 150hp. And drove many cars and my project cars.anyways loved working on cars. classic old school Muscle cars ,from toyota,Honda,ford mustangs,vw, old and new chevy Camaro and other model types big list I was a craftsman, technician who uses tools to build or repair machinery i have many trades within. Some on specialize in the electrical aspects and specialize in the mechanical aspects. i done in the Past. I and my wife bought our Like new 2012 Honda civic Lx with 41K we need a gas saver car. i own many older Honds cars 89'civic hatchback and 88"Honds accord over 200 to 300 miles on them and still running and very reliabe cars.I read many blogs on the website on these models i seen them rated poor. i was shock this is not true. the Honda civic Lx 2012 is a beauty i can trust on reliability this is car everyone can trust . gas saver,39 to 41mpg.we took it on a road trip did a 157 mile drove on a flat highway 168 in California Los Banos we when up steep hills and had no problem on speed my wife was not pressing on the accelerator full she press on it and the rpm jumps on 4ooo it the pedal was not to the floor. we were going at 77 which its normal speed for a 1.8 ivtec engine with 140 hp and 128 lb.-ft. of torque .which will do on any other car with same hp power.ll depends age and engine, carburetor or fuel injection can give the power and transmission type, is highly debated question among car enthusiasts that drive with same hp and different car model.it can handel the hills and transmission shift smooth and the turns Stability control excellent Well-performed. and with the help of Traction control. This 2012 Honda civic Engine & Performance can Handel the highway and back roads very well! I love the 5 Star crash safety test. it has Front and rear head airbags and Dual front side-mounted airbags. its a A+ for our family.And the Interior Features and the Tachometer it was lite bright and easy to read i and my wife love the inside interior simple and easy to use. never had no Eleterical issues. it has everything you need It's no secret that Hondas are arguably the most reliable car. The Honda 2012 civic still perform very well” despite what other said on the website or blog .Honda Civic offers excellent fuel economy and is well-known for being a vehicle that you can trust on the road. all you do is take care of the updated the maintenance requirements it will take care of you. "in my opinion" when I encountered many cars in my past history working on many differnet style vehicles and upgrading them. Honda Civic reliability ratings results is a A+. only con on the 2012 civic is the front Suspension designed by the vehicle manufacturer, springs are and shocks are weak. on the road you can feel the almost every bumps on the road. easy fix replacing them. This Honda is worth it! test drive one you will see . like many people out there they are very picky!There is no such thing as the perfect car. No disrespect intended. But you know how it is. Your car is never quite perfect. Nothing mechanically wrong!Nothing you can ask the garage to fix!(update 11/10/2016) just an update 8 month owning our honda civic still running strong engine, outside body,inside interior no issue at all, Best Honda civic LX & very Reliable car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Car I have ever owned!!

yaltabei, 06/05/2011
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

I have owned alot of cars. I have never been as impressed with a car as much as this Civic. it is fuel efficient, built tight, reliable and fun to drive. I had a Nissan before I bought my first Honda. I thought that Nissan is as good as Honda but I was wrong. On my brand new Nissan, I had to replace an Axle, the rubber silicone cover on my driver side window because of a Wind Tab poor design, my fuel pump twice, an exterior trim twice and my Air Bag passanger sensor and then I hear rattling noise, paint chips off. I decided to switch to Honda based on the advice of close friends who owned Honda for years. Yes, It is alittle more expensive but this car will save you alot of money on maintance

Report Abuse

Best in Class

kerpalsingh, 11/09/2011
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I needed a reliable commuter car. I looked at the Mazda 3, Hyundai Elantra, VW Jetta and Mazda 6. The Civic's handling is just as good as the Mazda 3 and the LX has way better standard features. I've driven almost 1000 miles and have very few complaints. I drive about 60 miles a day (mixed) and with the 'Econ' feature off I get about 36 mpg, when it's on I get about 38mpg. The handling and build quality of the car are outstanding. The seats could be more comfortable and the standard speakers have muddy mids and highs, but good bass. I paid almost $1000 less than INVOICE so that was a huge factor in me getting the Civic. I have no complaints about road noise but the engine can get loud.

Report Abuse

The Best Yet

nmskies, 12/27/2011
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I have owned seven Civics: an 83 hatchback, a 91 DX sedan, a 95 hatchback, a 99 LX sedan, an 05 hybrid, an 07 EX coupe and now, my 12 EX Coupe. I loved my 07, and I believe the 12 is an upgrade on the gen 8. What has improved? I like the softened lines, the road noise has decreased, and the A pillar blind spot has been eliminated by thinning the pillars. Streaming music through Bluetooth from my iPhone is incredible. The quality of the Bluetooth is exceptional. I don't believe the dash is busy at all. The control buttons for the iMid on the steering wheel are intuitive and extremely ergonomic. I have never had a problem with my Civics, and I expect the same from this one.

Report Abuse

LOVE this car!

shootingstar3, 04/24/2012
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I wasn't even going to look at this car due to poor reviews, but my hubby had to take his CRV in for service and I was killing time browsing the lot, sat in one, drove it, loved it and traded my 07 RAV4 on the spot. Super glad I did! Don't understand the knocks this car is getting. Over the last month, I drove a Prius, Fiesta, Focus, Elantra, Mazda3, VW GTI, and Volvo C30(loved that one, but $$), and ruled them all out. Was just going to keep the RAV until this car. It is comfy, sporty, and OMG, the mileage! I just filled it for the first time and got 35mpg in TOWN people! This is an automatic and not a hybrid. It rides smoother than my RAV and handles great. Not a rocket, but adequate power

Report Abuse

wow!!! impressive!!! got our $$ worth!

bnward1988, 05/16/2011
39 of 43 people found this review helpful

Was looking to downsize with an economical vehicle and had looked at many other economy cars (mazda 3, hyundai sonata, toyota corolla) before looking at Honda's Civic. Have been impressed with the engine's performance...Living in Co. thought we'd have to buy a standard to provide more power to drive over the mountain hwy, yet, was impressed during the test drive..that we bought an automatic and have not been disappointed. Enjoying the interior layout! Feel we're getting our $$'s worth and if we decide to trade in later, we know that we'll get a better trade in value compared to other vehicles.

Report Abuse

Should not have strayed from Honda

tamie45, 08/25/2014
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

I started out the summer with a pre-owned 2013 Ford Focus SE. I was swayed into buying the Focus because of all the great tech and the quality interior. Unfortunately, all the comforts in the world could not make up for the awful DCT. Two months into owning the Focus I decided that I needed to trade it away as soon as possible. I went with a pre-owned 2012 Civic with 22,000 miles on it. I could not be more happy with my decision!! I first felt that the interior was a downgrade to the Focus until I actually drove the car for a while and found it to actually be much better in all respects save for the hard plastics. The smooth driving experience is much better than the Focus!

Report Abuse

The Way Car Driving Should Be

kkal, 07/06/2016
LX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
21 of 23 people found this review helpful

You will read many reviews on how the 2012 lacks when compared to the 2013 and newer models. For instance, Bluetooth is not standard on the LX model, and the back-up camera became standard on all 2013 and newer models. With that being said, I was able to use this information to my advantage and bought the 2012 LX model at a very nice discount! I spent $50 and bought a good quality Bluetooth headset, thus saving quite a bit from having to either get an EX or higher model or buying a 2013 and newer model. Regarding a back-up camera, there are kits available that will actually connect with the I-MED screen on the Civic and the cost is fairly inexpensive. Basically, you can purchase a 2012 model using these key points at a huge discount and just pay a little bit more out of pocket to incorporate Bluetooth and a back-up camera! What I love about this Civic is how simple, yet refined it really is. I feel like cars nowadays are driven more by computers than the actual driver! I really like how I feel so much more in control of driving, yet at the same time, I have those basic electronic features that keep me safe (ABS, Traction Control, Many Airbags, etc.). The Civic is also surprisingly very smooth even at high speeds. The stock tires are great for gas mileage, but only so-so with wet/winter roads, so definitely look into some better quality tires (make sure they are low-rolling resistance to maintain high MPG!). The backseats surprisingly have a decent amount of legroom, though it would have been nice if the Civic had cup holders integrated in the side door pockets like other vehicles (however, you can fit small plastic bottles on the side). The trunk size is decent for a compact car and I have been able to fit 3 medium-large sized suitcases for the airport just fine. Really, all this vehicle should ever need are fluids, tires, brakes, and other basic maintenance, and it should last forever (I change my transmission fluid every 30K, Synthetic Oil every 5K, and other fluids every 60K or as recommended). After driving this car for 1 year/17,000 miles, I would give this car a 4.5/5, showing that although there are a few minor imperfections, remember, this is a Civic, and this car will get you from any Point A to Point B! Simplicity, with a few nice toys, at its finest!!! Update: Civic now has over 50,000 miles and not a single issue. Just drove through a rough winter storm, unplowed highways with winter tires and the Civic handled the roads very well at around 45 MPH and barely felt any skidding. Update: Civic now has over 64,000 miles and still not a single issue. At 60,000 miles I changed the transmission fluid and coolant. To my surprise, I found out that because the car has electric steering, there is no power steering fluid, which means one less cost! I also did a 500 mile trip on back roads and state highways averaging 44.7 MPG with the A/C on! Yes, this car is basic and lacking in technology areas as opposed to other competitors but you can tell that the money is really well spent in the quality and durability of what is under the hood.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Economy Car Ever!

mickyboy1, 06/25/2011
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I was getting pretty sick of the up and downs in the gas prices and really got concerned when gas approached $4 a gallon. I decided that my 22 MPG Santa Fe had to go. I shopped around and fell in love with the 2012 Civic. I gave up the power of a V6 for the fuel economy of a 4 cylinder and I don't regret it. I cruised from Cleveland to Columbus at got 41 MPG. Take that Big Oil! I don't need my wallet sucked dry every time I fill up. The Focus was interesting but the cockpit was cramped. I did not like that the auto transmission chattered on my initial test drive. The Hyundai Elantra styling was too extreme and the KIA Forte looked cheap on the inside.

Report Abuse

Best of current alternatives

mhoffman2, 06/27/2011
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a state of the art vehicle for the early 21st century, this is the best of all current alternatives. Reasonably comfortable, roomy and well designed, with excellent engineering and attractive interiors, it is difficult to argue that any other 4 door sedan would be superior. Even though a 2012 model, dealer provided discount, good trade in value and .09% 5 year financing. It is difficult to comprehend the criticism of this vehicle. If you want a sports car, buy a Miata or a Ferrari. If you want comfortable, dependable and reasonably roomy transportation with a good list of features such as bluetooth and a sunroof, AND great fuel efficiency and reliability, buy a Civic.

Report Abuse

2012 Honda Civic EX Best Buy!

gruel, 12/08/2011
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

I just got a new Honda Civic EX from Bergstrom in Oshkosh, WI. They called me, suggested I come in and trade my 07 Honda Fit. I went in, and test drove the Civic. I really noticed a couple of things immediately..the dash reminded me of the wonderful Mercury Cougar I had in 1990, and the ride was very similar...Quiet! The dash features looked complicated, but the menu took me through it all, and was not any harder than programming my cell phone. Speaking of cell phone, the Blue Tooth hookup in the Civic not only worked first time, but every time I enter the car, it automatically hooks up. I tested it with my wife in the car, watching the dash, and it mated when I was 40 feet away. BUY IT

Report Abuse

Great Buy!

dmski, 07/24/2011
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I was in the market for an econo car and Edmund's site was a big help. Narrowed down my selection to Jetta TDI, Elantra and Civic. At the end of the day, went with Civic and can't be more pleased. The car is VERY comfortable even for 6ft+ individuals. I can't get over how well this thing rides. I've owned a TL & MDX in the past and this car is a pleasure to drive! Fuel economy is also great. I'm averaging 35+mpg to the tank on mixed driving. I do spend a lot of time in traffic during my daily commute. If you're look'n for a great econo car that drives well, is reliable you will not go wrong with selecting this car. It's not flashy but gets the job done.

Report Abuse

excellent car

edlchiang1962, 12/20/2011
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

My wife and I purchased our EX sedan 4.5 months ago and we currently have 8500 mile on it. We both love the car. It drives well, it is quieter than our previous Hondas, and the fuel economy is excellent. It is true that the interior has suffered from cost-cutting such as the dashboard, carpet, and roof liner. However, I really don't touch the roof liner, our all season floor mats cover up the carpet, and even though the dashboard is all hard plastic it still looks o.k. to me. The stereo sounds pretty good and the bluetooth phone connection is great. I am very impressed with all the safety equipment that it has and the fact that it has great crash test results.

Report Abuse

Love my Civic Si

buckeye99, 02/23/2013
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

This Honda is a great car. The 2.4l iVTEC is an absolute BLAST to drive. The 6spd manual transmission is fantastic. While not the fastest car in this price range, I believe it's the best all-around vehicle in its class when considering price, gas mileage, reliability, 4 door practicality, and performance. I live in the midwest and weather is not always ideal. With the FWD, the car works very well as a daily driver. The new 2.4l engine offers plenty of torque and power for a vehicle in this class, but with the limited slip and stability control, torque steer is almost non-existent. In spirited mixed driving, I've averaged 28MPG. In highway driving, it's easy to get over the rated 31MPG

Report Abuse

Baby Blue 2012

babyblue2012, 09/08/2011
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

My new 2012 Civic replaces a beloved 1995 Camry and it immediately felt as comfortable and solid as the Camry. It handles well, is easy to drive, and gets 32 mpg in the city. On a recent road trip, we fit in three adults with luggage, camping gear, and extras. We got 38 mpg on the trip, and it was quiet enough to easily have conversations with our back seat passenger.

Report Abuse

Smart Purchase

cathy51, 01/11/2012
35 of 41 people found this review helpful

I have been looking for a while to a secondary car for our family that will be used mainly in town. I have test driven Corolla, Mazda 3, Elantra, Sentra, and Focus. I could not fall in love with any of them either due to comfort level, suspension issues, reliability, or re-sale value. Our primary car has always been Honda (our latest is a 2012 Accord LX) and my husband suggested that I consider the 2012 Civic. Though I drove a Civic few years ago, I was hesitant because of all the talks in the media about the new geneneration of the Civic. However, as I had nothing to lose, I went ahead and actually test drove the car both in town and on highway for 20 miles and was pleasantly surpised.

Report Abuse

No more Hondas for me!

ravfjr, 05/30/2014
16 of 18 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd civic, and will be my last Honda. It appears that Honda has (sadly) taken the road to greed by offering an inferior product for profit. At 500 miles the traction control unit failed, then at 13,000 miles the A/C unit wouldn't work, followed by an emission control failure at 15,000 miles. The car is extremely noisy and uncomfortable to drive. The stereo is one on the worst I've ever heard. I really can't believe this car is a Honda product.

Report Abuse

2012 Civic

virgie, 09/01/2011
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

We bought a 2012 Honda Civic back in June. It is just my husband and myself and we decided to downsize. We had a 2003 Chevrolet Impala. We were disappointed with the service we got from the Impala. I was interested in buying a Toyota Corolla. My daughter has a 2004 Corolla and has gotten excellent service. For example she still has the original battery. The Corolla has only had to have routine service work (oil changes, brakes, and tires). When the time came to ditch the Impala we had trouble finding Corolla's. So we went and looked at Civics. I loved the dash inside the car. I love the Econ. feature. We loved the way the car handles.

Report Abuse

2012 Honda Civic

JoJo91, 07/31/2015
EX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Great, solid vehicle. I had this car for closing in on two years and it never gave me an issue. I purchased it with 7700 miles and put nearly 33,000 miles on with not a single major problem. The biggest issue I had was having to change a fuse. Great car, took me and my sibling from New Mexico to Nevada with not a single hesitation. Drove it 70 MPH is pouring rain and there wasn't a single near accident scare. I loved the heck out of this car and I miss it every day. Never gave me a problem, gave me great gas mileage, and still got many compliments over our year and eight months together. This car was my baby and I think I will always miss it. He got totaled in an accident and I was (and still am) devastated. Airbags deployed perfectly- no question. Great car. I would highly recommend.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good Car With Some Notable Exceptions

terrainorg, 06/14/2012
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I've driven Hondas for a long time now, so had high expectations with my Civic EX sedan. Unfortunately, I find the new Civic pretty underwhelming, based primarily on two factors: 1) Road noise, caused by a cardboard-thin floorboard. It's not wind noise but rather noise coming up from underneath; loudest sedan I've ever driven in that respect. 2) I'm 6'5", and had no problem with comfort on the test drive. But after several weeks I still cannot find a comfort zone with the seat (headroom is fine). That could easily be solved by an electronic seat, which the Civic EX (like the Accord) should offer. There are lots of things I really like, but if I had to do it all over, I'd get another car.

Report Abuse

loving this car

12civicowner, 12/11/2011
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I gave up my aging 2000 accord ex-v6 for the '12 civic and have no regrets. Originally my goal was to get a Honda fit which handled nicely and had good utility space but when I sat in a Civic, it was a whole different story. The drivers seat felt great(fit's seat felt stiff) and my eyes were drawn to the dashboard. Immediately I was impressed. I test drove it twice at 2 different dealers and fell in love with it and knew i had to go home with it that day. The gas milage is excellent and when I'm sitting in it I don't feel cramped at all. I will be enjoying this car for a very long time.

Report Abuse

Best value for money plus gr8 ride&handling

hondaowner12, 08/03/2011
16 of 19 people found this review helpful

We have been honda customers for a while..own a 99 accord (has crossed 225000 miles) which stills runs nicely and gives 35mileage..had leased 2007 accord which we loved. I recently bought 2012 civic and I love it. Moving from accord to civic may seem like a downgrade, but the priorities have changed, mileage and monthly cost being the top. The other option we considered was prius..But $7-8K additional price gives me -ve NPV over 5years..also I got 0.9 APR from honda financial My new civic gives me avg 42+mileage (I am mostly on freeway)..comfortable and spacious seats (for my 6'1" hubby too)..smooth ride&handling..

Report Abuse

great car so far for first 5 weeks

yarruhs, 11/18/2012
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoy this car. The fuel economy is far better than i expected. I have gotten as high as 40 mpg , and with each gallon of natural gas costing $2.05 , this has translated into an mpg equivalent of gasoline of 80 mpg ((when gas is at $4.00 for unleaded gas). I am waiting for the diamond lane sticker which will save me at least 10 minutes each way to and from work. One thing to note is in California there are many natural gas stations. The lowest price stations are the actual gas companies at 2.05 per gallon. Others will charge as high as $2.99 which is 33% more

Report Abuse

Disappointed,

matt144, 10/09/2011
29 of 36 people found this review helpful

I purchased Civic LX (1.8L 4-cyl Automatic) in August 2011.The first impression was the car looked sharp and the price was reasonable. However, after driving it for about 2,500 miles, the biggest problem is excessive road noise. I drove Toyota, Ford and Nissan before but I never had such a noisy car. The mpg is 35 to 38 which I expected but I didn't expected such a excessive road noise.

Report Abuse

Civic - better than ever!

winkr22, 11/03/2011
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

We bought the car a few months back with overall value in mind. Overall value, for our purposes, was defined as a combination of reliability, gas mileage, safety, long term cost of ownership, and comfort. I would say in that order -- but really all of them were high on the order list. We were not looking for the type of car to modify or look thuggish, and we did not want the type of car that gets stolen for that purpose like some of the older Japanese models like Civics did. As a VALUE oriented car, this vehicle is spectacular and exactly what we wanted. We have stopped subscribing to CR as their quality of reviews over the last couple of years has gone more the way of sensationalism

Report Abuse

Forget Consumer Reports

subarubiker, 01/02/2013
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

The fact that Honda only made slight changes to the Coupe for 2013 shows the 2012 was a great car. I have a Dyno Blue Coupe EX with the 5-speed manual, absolutely stunning and sporty looking. This is my first manual car and I love it; it has a smooth-shifting stick and a very easy to modulate clutch that's a breeze in traffic. It gets great mileage on regular gas, getting 28mpg combined in winter temperatures with snow tires. The ride is a bit loud, but it handles very well and is a big upgrade over the past Civics with the handy i-Mid and the great 7-speaker sound system. Seats are very comfy! The only thing that lacks in the Civic is winter handling- winter tires transformed my Civic.

Report Abuse

So far so good

montrealcivic, 02/11/2013
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Been driving a Civic for years. This is my third consecutive new Civic. Previous models were the 98 and 05. Unfortunately this model has impressed me less than the 05. I am 5 foot 11 and often hit my head getting out of the car. They seem to have decreased the cavity opening by 1-2 inches. The carpeting is not really carpet - more akin to a dish scrub brush. This was easily fixed by adding the rubber mats with the protection package. The dash is one huge mass of not so pretty plastic. The plastic on the prior models at least resembled the texture of leather. I find visibility reduced with the long window frame pillars. The good points help reduce the negatives however.

Report Abuse

Great Value

thumper16, 07/21/2011
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Hard to beat these things for value. Traded in a 2009 civic exl with 30,000 only because I have to be the first to buy anything updated. Cost me 4500 or 1500 per year. Lota nice new in electronics, softer handling and little less road noise. Downside......no standard xm in exl and the cupholders redesigned for cups that I don't have nor have yet found in stores. The center consel in my 09 was deep and big, this one is small and shallow. storage sleeves on doors have also been downsized. Have 1700 miles and at 32.9 mixed. I drive aggressively and seldom engage econ, also live in hilly area of western Pa. Aside from the storage issues love the car and would buy again.

Report Abuse

Great Car

tedert, 01/07/2014
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 2012 Honda Civic for approximately 7 months now and I love it. I get around 27mpg and anywhere from 35-42 on the freeway. Like most people have said, you know what you're buying with a civic. It doesn't have the flash of a Mercedes or the quiet road noise of a Cadillac but this car is definitely worth every dollar. I'm 6'2" 240lbs and the vehicle fits me comfortably. I traded in my 2010 Accord for this vehicle and barely notice the interior size different. Bottom line, I would recommend this car to anyone.

Report Abuse

exl w nav coupe

adansereau, 10/04/2012
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have had the exl nav coupe now for 6 weeks and about 1500 miles mostly city and averaged about 30 to 33 mpg. traded a 2010 coupe for this one. This car is quiter, more comfortable, and has more mid range torgue than the previous one. The leather is top notch and seats are great. The electronics from nav to i mid screen are easy to use and radio functions displayed are really nice. This car feels very luxurious. Its sporty, looks good, has cool electronic dash with lots of color and looks very upscale and space age. This was a good choice and i am very happy with this car.

Report Abuse

2012 Civic Sedan EX-L Still running great.

martin13, 06/10/2014
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought my Civic with 9k mile on it. Was concerned because I had no idea what may have happened with the original owner. Did he unload the car because of problems (I don't trust Carfax)? So now the car has 30k and has been very reliable, fun to drive, and very economical. Just came back from road trip to North Carolina - cruise control most of the way at 50-65 mph (I know, very slow, I wasn't in a hurry to get anywhere) gave me 44 mpg. Usually I get 37+ while driving at speeds 70+ mph and no cruise control use. Car had a little rattle coming from the rear that was eliminated under warranty (seat belt mechanism was the source). Otherwise, not a problem whatsoever (knock on wood).

Report Abuse

Nice redesign

eddyc1, 05/04/2011
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Took delivery of a beautiful blue EX-L last night. Love the redesign. The 5 inch information display is a very nice addition. Performance and fun to drive didn't get high marks. I mean, it's a Civic and my other car is a 335I. But for what I was looking for in a commute car, it fills the bill. Hitting the ECON button does in fact make it noticeably harder to accelerate, but it should be great for best mileage and you can turn it off quickly. Seats not all that comfortable, but my wife thinks they're fine so could just be me.

Report Abuse

Traded my 2008 Accord for the 2012 Civic

misiu2, 06/29/2011
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

The MPG is what they claim on the sticker but you have to have the econ mode on in order to achieve 30 in the city and about 40.5-41 on the highway. I have not tried to drive the Civic on the Off mode of the econ because I do live in Chicago and the gas prices…, well you can fill in the blank. So if you are looking for a gas savior and do not want a hybrid then get the 2012 Civic without a question. I do have a word of caution…if you are driving on the econ mode and you are on the highway, do Not expect acceleration or getting in front of a Camaro. The good thing about the econ mode is you can turn it off whenever you want to including when you’re driving.

Report Abuse

Reliable, Solid Transportation.

richssss, 02/15/2015
LX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I really just wanted something that got great gas mileage and was a car that will last me for years. I HATE car shopping! My reason for selecting a Honda was my last car was a CR-V that had 324,000 when I traded it in.

Report Abuse

owned 3 years

Sfic, 02/07/2016
LX 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is a base model car, runs great. Had to upgrade tires because traction was poor in snow. Interior is plastic looking. If you are not looking for beauty but want reliability this is your car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

review of my 2012 civic

yann grenier, 05/01/2016
EX 4dr Sedan w/Nav (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Excellent millage 32-45 mpg, excellent safety and road handling but very low to the ground, has no clearance in the snow or on uneven roads

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2012 civic Si - from Hell.

James, 07/06/2016
Si 4dr Sedan w/Nav (2.4L 4cyl 6M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this; all my life I've driven RWD performance cars (multiple 350z 05, and 07, s2000, eclipse v6 , 08 corvette) - this was my first FWD sporty car and IT DID NOT dissapoint comparing to all of those cars, which tells you a lot. The biggest issue you will see people mention is the bad interior quality, yes if you are coming from a BMW or a Lexus it will feel bad, but coming from the cars I listed above it felt like a definite upgrade. Key Pros: MPG, Torque (yes its not a v8, but a 4cyl pumping out 170 ft lbs in a lightweight sedan (2900lbs) is superb, transmission, handling. For the price & honda reliability/resale value it CAN NOT be beat, sure there are faster cars for the same price - but you won't get the reliability or the resale (gti I am looking at you) - Should you buy it ? YES. I can't wait for the 2017 civic si.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

NOT DISAPPOINTED!

Cameron, 01/21/2019
EX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought my Civic coupe pre-owned with 54k miles. Over the course of the past 2.5 years I have driven it quite a bit. Odo is currently at 113k and she has never required any repairs other than general maintainence. The only lights I've seen lit up on the dash are the TPMS and low fuel light. The car is a great value and has plenty of tech considering it's almost 8 years old. Bluetooth connectivity is easy, but callers have a hard time understanding me while I'm driving at highway speeds. The stereo is nothing to sneeze at. 360w and 7 speakers is more than enough for a two door coupe. It's loud but bass is a bit lacking for me, considering it has a sub in the back window sill. Comfort is an easy 5 out of 5. I'm six foot but can easily sit comfortably in the back seat. The trunk on the other hand is a bit on the small side, but the rear seats do fold almost flat. Fuel milage combined for me is about 31, mostly highway miles ranging between speeds of 75-90. Not shabby. Only complaints I have are minor. With only 140hp and and the 5spd auto, the car is quite frankly a bit of a dog at times. I have no problems getting up to speed, but the car does feel under-powered occasionally in hilly areas. Also, the traction control cannot be disabled if the tire pressure is low enough to trip the tpms. Found that out when I got stuck in snow. Great car overall. I would recommend it to anyone!

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

best Honda I've bought

lotsahondas, 06/23/2011
48 of 62 people found this review helpful

puzzled by "meh" reviews. 2nd Civic hybrid, 5th Honda I've owned. This is the best since my '77 Accord, and I've liked them all. They've all been reliable. Note that JD Powers elevated Honda to #2 today. Style: other than tail looks like a Camry, no complaints, but I wasn't in market for Corvette. "Cheap plastic"? plastic is plastic, it doesn't pretend to be burled wood or silver. And it is matte finish dash, which means less sun in the eyes. Comfort: supportive seats, roomy cabin front and back. Ride: incredibly smooth. Steering: responsive with very tight turning radius. Acceleration: adequate. Not a BMW, but hybrid owners don't burn rubber. Mileage: after 600 mi, 42+ MPG!

Report Abuse

2012 Civic EX 4door

dickbrub1, 08/01/2011
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Disappointed to hear CR wrote a poor review. I had an 06 same model, sold to grandson, bought 2012. Not a lot of difference. The dash display encourages thrifty driving; ECON setting really works. Good handling, etc., but perhaps it just "stayed the same" in many respects while competition improved. Get 40+ on highway, 30 in city. Seems quiet enough. Have to program door locks, sort of annoying the way they work. Hard to program radio. Recommend the car. Seems a bit roomier for the driver, seatls are better than '06.

Report Abuse

Not your son's Si

jsevier14, 01/21/2012
13 of 16 people found this review helpful

Having driven an Acura RSX-S for 11 years I expected a lot from my new ride. In the end, I like the 2012 Civic Si, but ultimately it doesn't feel quite complete. The TSX engine and transmission are definitely improvements, and the fuel efficiency is pretty amazing for a performance vehicle. The electronics package is adequate, but the rest of the interior is cheap and frustrating. Compared to previous Si's, the 2012 is way less juvenile, and delivers a fun smooth ride for my long daily commute.

Report Abuse

The 2010 Ex got even better

jabutix, 08/17/2011
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

The Civic EX 2012 exceeded my expectations. It drives well and is quite responsive, making it a fun ride. Mileage got even better and the Economy button works very well for slow traffic conditions. The interior design is attractive and the accessibility to all commands makes it quite functional. It is a good buy for the money.

Report Abuse

2012 This Hybrid is Awesome!

peter789, 09/07/2012
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I just purchased at a fantastic price. Deal hard. Hybrids are not selling as well because old reviews were bad. So I did not pay the hybrid premium that I would have to make up with gas savings. I do 70% city and 30% highway and getting between 45 and 47 mpg so far. This Civic is made in Japan and sells very well there. Hence the Japanese near 6 dollar a gallon gas. I am sure that in my state the cost of gas will be in the 4.50 to 5.00 range soon which will make this purchase so much more justified.

Report Abuse

It's The Best In It's Class

dagoomba, 07/04/2011
36 of 49 people found this review helpful

I have had my 2012 Civic EX-L W/Navigation for about a week now. I have never owned a Honda before and for my 65th birthday I decided to get me a new Civic. My criteria for a new car was fuel economy, performance and resale value. The cars I considered were Elantra, Focus, Cruze and Civic. I read volumes of reviews and came to the conclusion that the so called expert reviewers felt the 2012 Civic did not make much of a change to the previous years and therefore they felt that Honda had taken a step back to the other models I was considering since they had surpassed the Civic in styling. Since styling was not one of my criteria points those reviews did not stray me away from considering a Civic. In fact since I never have owned a Honda I thought the styling was perfect for best fuel economy. Without going into all of the reasons I decided to buy the Civic (Elantra comes without a spare tire) I will give you my impressions of the first week of owning one. The Civic is very roomy and comfortable. I do wish the glove box and center console were a little bigger, but I can live with the size they are. The I-Mid and navigation screen give you more data than you could imagine. Some reviewers call it cheesy. I think it's pretty cool and very informative. Civics come with an "ECON" button that optimizes your fuel economy. When your ECON button is activated your performance takes a hit and acceleration is not as good as it would be with the ECON button not in use. Some reviewers say they can't see any difference between having the ECON button on or off. Well, I'm here to tell you there is a difference and it's noticeable. But, if you are trying to get the best possible fuel economy that you can then using the ECON button will save you fuel. On my first tank of gas I used the ECON as much as possible in city and highway and got a combined 34.3 mpg. In that first tank I drove from Sacramento to Reno and got 37.5 mpg ( lot of driving uphill and ECON was off while climbing those hills) Coming home from Reno I got 45.5 mpg ( lot of going downhill and had ECON on) So far I am very pleased with fuel economy. The Civic handles well in the turns and with the ECON off it has plenty of pep as far as I'm cornered. The air conditioning works great and cools off the cabin nicely. Those in the back seat were very comfortable in 97 degree weather. I do see me tinting the back windows though. The Bluetooth was easy to sync up with my Droid and call quality is very good. I'm impressed with the sound system and love being able to use a USB drive. I still have much to learn about this car but so far it is everything I was hoping it would be. I got the EX-L W/Navi for $22,500. I added some other accessories and of course tax, license and doc fees. I also got an 8 year 100,000 extended warranty for $1,200. If you decide to get yourself a 2012 Civic you will not be disappointed. You may not have the sexiest looking car on the road but you will have a solid car that you can depend on now and in the future.

Report Abuse

EPA estimates are way off

pstanger, 09/15/2012
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I was hesitant to commit to the 2012 SI because the EPA estimates are not very impressive. But I took a gamble figuring if I was disappointed, I could easily trade due to the high resale value. I have just under 6000 miles on it so far in about 6 weeks. In mixed driving my worst tank of gas was 32 mpg. Best so far was over 37 (with a bit of neutral coasting at exit ramps, etc). As the car "breaks in", it really feels like it's getting quicker. It's great fun to drive. Much more torque than my '08 EXL. Interior noise is not quite, but is acceptable. My '08 interior is a bit classier. But I'm getting used to the '12.

Report Abuse

Best in Class!

kaneohe00, 07/05/2012
21 of 28 people found this review helpful

I test drove a hyundai elantra, a corolla and corolla S before I drove the Honda. Didn't bother with Ford, Nissan or Kia because I wanted a car that would last for a long time without a doubt. The Hyundai drove well and had a lot of extras but based of past performance and current reviews I felt like they were trying to sell you with extras versus a solid performer. So it came down to the corolla and civic. The civic drove better, had a more attractive and functional interior and I felt Honda put a lot of effort into the design of the civic while it seemed Toyota hasn't done anything to improve the Corolla since 1985. It reminded me of the Tercel my mom had when I was 10 years old.

Report Abuse

No odometer

softailguy, 08/27/2013
11 of 14 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2012 Civic LX in July 2012. It now has about 19,000 miles on it. It does well on gas but I think the fuel guage is inaccurate. It supposedly has a 13 gallon tank yet even when I'm on E and the range says 9 miles I am never able to put more than 10 gallons in it. And then today I left work and noticed I had no odometer display, no maintenance minder info, no fuel mpg info or range info. It just disappeared from the menu. So now I have no way of knowing what my mileage is or when to change my oil. This is my first Honda after driving Hyundai Elantras for 15 years. I should have stuck with Hyundai. Better car for less money.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050