Used 2010 Honda Accord Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$7,500 - $10,985

Used Accord for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...23

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Buyer Beware!

tflower, 04/16/2013
EX-L V-6 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
25 of 25 people found this review helpful

I am a three time Honda buyer because of the reliability of the vehicles. This car has major issues with oil consumption due to poor engine design. At three years old and 50K the engine has to be replaced. I had the oil changed 4 weeks prior and the car started running rough and check engine light came on. There was not any oil on the dipstick! Honda knows there is a problem but has not issued any warnings or recalls. The fact that they are not forthcoming has really angered me. This is not Honda quality or reliability. Buyer beware and do your research before buying this vehicle.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Great car - avoid it anyway

welltraveled, 12/03/2014
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

Bought this car used with 35,000 miles on it; the car burned a quart of oil in 1,000 miles consistently. Check engine light came on and the car began running rough on a long trip; stopped into a Honda dealership who told us that there was a class action lawsuit over this car, and Honda extended the warranty for this issue to 8 years / unlimited mileage. The piston rings fail and oil enters the engine. This fouls the spark plugs, and the engine fails. Remedy was to rebuild the engine with new rings, gaskets, etc. - four days worth of work. No guarantee that the issue won't recur, so I would avoid this car. This is my second Accord and third Honda / Acura. Disappointing.

Report Abuse

Great car with minor faults

tominnh, 02/27/2015
EX-L V-6 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
40 of 44 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 2010 Accord Coupe EX-L V6 for 5 1/2 years. Outside of the rear brake issue that Honda had with this model, I have nothing but praise for this car. It's has smooth and quick acceleration. It's well put together and nothing has gone wrong mechanically. It's classified as a large car so there's plenty of room everywhere. Gas mileage is acceptable and on a 1400 mile trip I got 26.5 MPG thanks to the cylinder deactivation feature. My only real gripes are that the compass is useless. Whenever the car goes under an underpass that has electrical conduits under it, the compass goes haywire. Over the years, it seems to me that driver seats got so hard that a I had to get a cushion.

Report Abuse

Ridiculously Dissapointing

Courtney, 07/14/2015
EX-L V-6 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
31 of 34 people found this review helpful

I am a first time Honda buyer. Purchased this vehicle with the knowledge that I commute 100 miles a day. Wanted something large enough to contain passengers comfortably and was reliable and going to give me a decent amount of years before needing to purchase a new vehicle. I have had nothing but problems from about 20k miles. It has had several "safety bulletins", basically Honda recognizes there is an issue and doesn't fix the problem until you are in the dealer complaining or broke down and have been towed in. I have broken down 7 times in the last 5 years, 4 times in the last 2 years since getting a new engine. I was breaking down on the freeway about 2x a year, everything was blamed on oil consumption after several fixes and "safety bulletin" fixes Honda agreed to replace my small block since I had purchased the extended warranty. Since receiving by new small block I have been stranded or limped my vehicle to the dealer 4x from a busy metropolitan freeway in the bay area and still received an oil consumption explanation. At one point I was told that I needed to be checking the oil in my 2 year old vehicle every time I pumped gas, umm NO I am not making a payment on a new vehicle to treat it like a 1970 Nova. Im now at 100k miles and am still breaking down. I know have unexplained engine issues that the codes will not translate. I feel like I am the one in a million people that hate Honda and have had a horrible experience. I am convinced it has to do with the fact that I got the V6 instead just the basic 4cylinder!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very reliable

ndskimr, 07/03/2011
31 of 35 people found this review helpful

Great car except for all the road noise and the seats are not the most comfortable. Very reliable and good on gas. Would recommend for anyone looking for a sedan that will last.

Report Abuse

A Very Good Car

John, 12/04/2010
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Traded in a '99 Accord, which served me well, so I was looking for the equivalent. My coupe has ample power, excellent handling, good fit and finish. The cloth seats are reasonably comfortable, but would have preferred the looks and feel of leather. The ride is smooth and quiet, transmission shifts smoothly, and the brakes are very responsive.

Report Abuse

BUYER BEWARE

Ashley Chalmers, 08/03/2015
EX V-6 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Do not buy 2008-2010 Honda accords! There is a defect with the engine. You can read about it here http://topclassactions.com/lawsuit-settlements/lawsuit-news/1713-honda-accord-oil-defect-class-action-lawsuit/ I bought my car "gently" used 7 months ago and am having all of these issues. Honda was kind enough to replace my engine block, but all other damages and bills incurred BECAUSE of the initial issue with the engine fall back on me. Cause I'm the sucker who purchased a vehicle from a "reputable" dealership, trusting that they'd put me in something SAFE and RELIABLE. I learned my lesson. Currently looking at trade in value of my vehicle. Will NEVER purchase Honda again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

GREAT CAR

bolivero25, 12/10/2010
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

This car is wonderful. I bought it brand new about 2 months ago. So far so good. Engine is strong for a 4-cylinder. The seats are a little bit uncomfortable, but you eventually get use to them. For the most part it is fun to drive. The V-6 must be amazing. Honda has one of the strongest re-sale values, so that's a plus. It get's you from point A to Point B with a sense of style. It is definitely a big car, so if you like small sedans this is not the car for you. Gas is great but the tank is huge, you put 20 bucks and the needle doesn't move. This is my first car and it looks like I will be a Honda Lover for the rest of my life.

Report Abuse

Accord EXL v6 wNavigation-Love it

Simon, 11/10/2015
EX-L V-6 4dr Sedan w/Navigation (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

Specification of my car Date of Purchase Oct 10 2010 Honda Accord EXLV6 Navigation Color Black Leather Seats Michellin Pilot original tires Miles put on the car 644288 miles of highway driving Let me touch wood, I have owned Honda Accord 1991 and used it for 12 years with 275K miles and it was running like new, I just donated it because I felt that someone who needs ot could use it for another 250k miles.,and in 2010 Oct bought another Honda Accord but this time with some bells and whistles like Navigation leather seats V6 some luxury. on 2015 Oct me and my car celebrated our 5 year anniversary, I never took it to dealership for maintenance even though they sold me the extended maintenance package (I was a sucker), Just changed my nreak pads once because of mountain driving. Original tires still looking good will change in another 5000 miles and use thr full warranty of Michellin Pilot tires. I would like to know suggestions what other owners think of replacement tires should i stick with Michelin or try BridgeStone? I intended to drive thos baby for another. 10years and this time. I am going to enjoy it UPDATED: May 20/2018 After I bought this car, around 2015/2016, one day my car started stalled and the engines started pistons started jerking, immediately there was a engine code I think it ended with 6 code, anyway took it to the dealership, and "viola" there was a recall for these car modle on that particular issue, the issue was the spark plug associated with the Engine cylinder 6 (The one which provides the extra boost when driving in the V6 mode) ,seems the Computer was not programmed properly when this cylinder should kick in , and that caused this cylinder to not to properly ignite causing sometimes the carbon deposit to accumulate and clog the cylinder and thus causing a "Mis-Firing", this has been a BIG issue in posted in many HONDA Forums and people have complained about it, and HONDA has been very quite about this. (Now the CAT is out of the box). They went ahead and reprogrammed and replaced the "Spark plug" for that particular cylinder, this is the cylinder on the back side right side (last one). Once that was fixed the problem seems to have gone away. Well it has been 8 Years 6 months, and I put in about 110,000 miles so far, recently in the past year I replaced the Airflow sensor (There was nothing wrong with old one),replace my 4 tires with Michelin Sports Pilot A/S 3+, I have to say these tires are the BEST tire set replacement for a Honda Accord EXL V6 , the road grip and the ability of tire to hold the road in steep inclination at 60 miles is amazing, runs smoother and quite compare to original Michelin XT Radials. Changed it when the original tire was about 70,000 miles. I went ahead and replaced the Power Steering fluids with original HONDA Power steering fluids (Replaced it myself after watching Youtube video..anyone can do it..not a rocket science). I asked the dealership to replace the transmission fluids, I bought the original fluids but asked my dealership to replace it and charge me only for the labor. Works!. The most important change I did was not to take to the dealership for every oil change, but at only important milestones, and started using CHEVRON top of the line gas, you will see the difference driving this car. The second important change I have made in the way I do my oil change is to make sure change the oil every 5000 miles (In some case I change oil every 7500 miles) I have heard of horror stories of the car burning engine oil every 1000 miles of use, yes this car does burn oil, the best way to avoid this in my experience is to use the what many of the "High Performance" car mechanics have recommended to use a additive product made by a company called BG Products( I am not a PAID endorser of this product), I learn this technique, after using these products on my spouses 2004 Toyota Camry LE with 240,000 miles. I only use the best oil on the market (Royal Purple Synthetic OIL and Royal Purple Oil Filters FYI I am not a PAID endorser of this product),The biggest difference is to prepare your car before a major oil change by following these steps. Step 1: Just before the next oil change pour BG Product EPR (Removes all the carbon deposits, you will notice the black oil when you drain the old oil) in to the engine block where you add oil, and run the engine for about 20-30 minutes at about 1200 RPM or higher. Step-2: Take to the any reputable oil change facilities (Make sure you purchase your own Royal Purple oil and Royal Purple Oil filter), if you are a DYI kind of person, make sure you follow your procedures. Step-3: Drain the old oil and let the engine cool down. Step-4: Add 11-oz of the BG Product MOA (Oil additive which enhances the oil life and seals the gaskets and piston leaks) Step-5: Fill the remaining with the new Royal Purple Synthetic oil 5W-30 to fill it to the proper marked level. Step-6: Add BG Product 44K to your gas tank also.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This car is awesome!

herb, 08/01/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This car is absolutely awesome! I love both the interior and exterior looks. It is wonderful to drive and quick. The build quality is evident as has been the case for Honda for many years. I traded in a terribly unreliable Cadillac cts for this auto, and do not miss the Cadillac at all! Also, the seats and climate control system are excellent. Beautiful car! I look forward to driving it every time!

Report Abuse
12345...23
Items per page:
51050