Used 2006 GMC Yukon XL Consumer Reviews

List Price
$9,995

Used Yukon XL for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2nd GM car And love It!

poneill466, 11/25/2008
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I bought this 2006 GMC Denali back in September as a Certifed GMC. So far everything has been great no complaints. I have to disagree on what people have say about the gas. You don't buy a 5000 pound car for fuel economy. I avg 14.8 around town and 19.7 hwy. Love my car! Will buy another one

Report Abuse

now the engine... when does it end money pit

kingspark33, 05/16/2012
SL 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

New transmission at 54,000 ($1500.00), new harmonic balancer at 69,000 and now a complete engine overhaul at 82,000 ($2400.00).

Report Abuse

Fully Loaded Yukon XL Denali

Doug, 12/17/2007
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just a fantastic vehicle, drives wonderfully, handles well, never any problems. Love the GPS system, very easy to use.

Report Abuse

Love my truck!

shelli, 09/06/2009
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've had my Yukon since April 04 and have not had any problems with it. It's got over 45,000 miles on it and everything is still like new. We have 4 children and often take trips that last over 5 hours each way -- the DVD player is a treasure. I love the heated seats and Stereo too!

Report Abuse

Denali XL

dave klinsmann, 10/04/2005
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Our family purchased a new Denali XL in September and are very pleased with it so far. The navigation and XM radio are great features. Very functional vehicle and well appointed. The extra money you pay is for the features you dont see, stabilitrack, automatic leving, auto- folding mirrors, and the 6.0L engine, and side impact airbags. With 4 kids, this is one of the few vehicles we could fit into and still have room to bring home the groceries and shopping bags. Only thing so far is the fold down rear entertainment DVD obstructs the rear view mirror when the DVD is in use. You have to get used to using side mirrors if the kids are watching a movie.

Report Abuse

I LOVE MY DENALI

Denali Lover, 04/23/2010
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've driven this vehicle up mountain roads, cross-country, my own driveway 1.5 miles and a 1,500' climb in elevation in snow, sleet, rain, ice, black ice and it has never failed me. I am in love with this extraordinary vehicle. Comfortable, heated seats, dvd player for the grandkids, manuverability, tight turns, easy to park, manage and haul anything. I've never had a problem with it. Forget everything else, I'd buy this all over again. 15.6 mpg at 4,500' average elevation and I am safe. I traded in a 1998 Suburban that my Son still drives, our rigs are trouble free, no problems, change oil every 3,000 miles and you're good to go. GMC you've got me.

Report Abuse

2006 - GMC Yukon XL

kingspark33, 12/21/2010
SLE 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

New tranny at 71,000. Now offers a 5 year/100k warranty for all cars 2007 & newer. Did not help me and my $2000 bill. My tranny guy told me last year that these trucks only last till 70,000. He was off by 1k. Merry Christmas. Thanks GMC!

Report Abuse

Denali is an Escalade

Kingoftheroad, 09/26/2005
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I really wanted an Escalade ESV, but did not want to make my ride or my family targets for unlawful acquisitioning of my truck. My Denali XL has topped all of my expectations, including fuel mileage.

Report Abuse

Big and Beautiful

Kimmers, 09/27/2005
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This SUV rides so nice you'd never know that you have all that car behind you. A pleasure to drive and own. Especially the heated seats. Thank you.

Report Abuse

Satisfied Customer

Dacius, 12/09/2005
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this vehicle. It fits my whole family, plus relatives in town, plus all of their luggage. The fuel mileage is better than I expected on a 4wd and the Onstar phone system is very convenient. Most people that see me think I am a football player because of this car. I simply agree and then walk away. If you are in the market then buy this car.

Report Abuse

Great for my bad back!

Sean, 12/15/2005
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Since back surgery a few years ago, I've been lucky to be able to sit in a car for more than 3-4 hours. With the Denali, that is a thing of the past! I've had a couple of 10+ hour days behind the wheel and felt great once arriving to my destination. This alone justifies the cost to me, as I can now visit clients further away more often. And this thing is FUN to drive! You don't really notice all the size except when parking, and the car has a very responsive and solid feeling while on the open road. My favorite car yet. Sad to say, the classic exterior styling of the Denali is gone in favor of a more "Ford" look in the 2007 line.

Report Abuse

Awesome Vehicle

Denali XL 2006, 02/09/2006
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Denali XL is the best on the market. Even though it is expensive it is worth every penny. I searched for a vehicle that would be suitable for the entire family for 2 months. When I saw the Denali online I told my husband this is what I want. The drive is beyond smoothness. Very comfortable.

Report Abuse

GMC Yukon XL Denali

mascot, 03/01/2006
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The only thing that seems to be missing is the "back-up warning system". Why GMC and Chevrolet have not included this feature (especially for such large vehicles) is beyond me.

Report Abuse

EXCELLENT X 10

Jerome, 09/21/2005
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 99 Denali and had many problems with brakes, batteries, transmission etc. I purchased a 2003 Denali XL on the advice of a friend and the suv is totally awsome, from the engien to the rear end no problems, none for the past three years so I decided to purchase a 2005 Yukon Denali XL same color. I personally don't like the Captain chair in the back so I ordered a bench seat. The car is Off the Hook. (excellent). GMC has repaired all problems since the 99 Denali. I am so impressed that I have convinced 6 clients to purchase the same SUV but in different colors

Report Abuse

Best Large SUV in it's class

John Mearis, 10/13/2005
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The comfort and ride is unmatched for its class. The Denali beat out Excurison, and Surband hands down.

Report Abuse

Big... Old.... and Nimble!

Denali Nick, 07/18/2019
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my 2nd used 2006 GMC Yukon XL Denali. 1st one was 8 yrs old when I got rear-ended at a red light (totaled). They were lost and going 50 mph when they plowed into truck. Searched high and low and found its exact replacement at Chevy dealer in Memphis. I am still stunned at how nimble this 7,000lb Man-cave is. Stuck in traffic for 15 minutes. Traffic opened up and started to stretch our legs, got up to 60 mph, and decided to change the radio station, that's when I noticed traffic was stopped. Only option? The Breakdown Lane. Whipped the vehicle to the right and then back to the left and I was stunned and surprised at how easy it was to avoid the accident. I could go on and on and on. But if you're not afraid of big vehicles and you want all wheel power with 300 horsepower, get this truck! Only downside? No Bluetooth. But that's fine with me.

Report Abuse

Yukon denali xl Limousine Like SUV

Sebastian Vanderwolf , 04/26/2020
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The 2006 GMC yukon denali xl It's quite a good vehicle..but GMC could and should have made it so much better. For one the sound proofing should have been doubled" the top engine choice should have been the 8.1L vortec with 500 hp and a 6 speed allison automatic transmission and all wheel drive' next the paint job is horrible how it fades and clear coat peeling off' should have had 4 coats of the very best paint and 4 coats of the very best clear coat' then there is the air suspension that was made very cheaply' could and should have installed the very best four wheel air suspension system' the rear third row seat should have folded flat' and the rear lift gate door should have been power opening and closing' and the bumper to bumper warranty should have been 6 years or 100,000 miles and the drivetrain warranty should have been 7 years or 150,000 miles. The cooling system should have been made more heavy duty' this includes for the engine' transmission' oil' and power steering systems. Overall this vehicle rates a 4 out of 5 because there is so much room for improvement..still much better than so many other SUVs out there

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Greatest car I have owned!

Nik, 11/15/2005
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This our 3rd Yukon and I have had a great experience with each one! Between carpooling and out of town trips we are in this truck all of the time and it is always comfortable and reliable!!

Report Abuse

Money pit

jmulvihill, 12/23/2011
SL 1500 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Lets start by saying I bought new and right out of the dealer it was problems. 1) Front end will not stay in alignment / 4 set of new tires with now 103,000 miles. 2) Transmission is about to go but has always been hard to shift. 3) Every thing in the cabin shakes, breaks and falls apart ( trim pieces ect. ) 4) Both A/c units have failed due to some electrical part,,,$ over $ 2000.00 to fix both. 5) Water pump out at 32,000 miles, driver & pass window regulator replaced $$$. This has cost me more in repairs than my 32 foot sail boat ! GM has ZERO customer service when it come to warranty, ZERO confidence in their product but damm I love this 12.5 mpg beast. I pack 4 kids / 2 dogs and

Report Abuse

My Yukon XL Denali-disappointment

C Falls, 08/20/2005
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my Denali. I couldn't wait to get it. I tossed around the idea of the large Escalade but it was about $10K more than I was willing to pay. The Denali was perfect for a mom on the go who wants a bit of luxury when taking the kids on playdates. As a former Suburban owner, I thought I'd won the lottery. Instead, I was disappointed. My Yukon XL Denali makes a whistling sound when sitting idle. I have taken it in and the dealership claims not to know what it is. Ironically, I know someone with the exact same model that is having the same problem. I've owned my truck for less than 8 months and I wish I would have bought the Escalade ESV.

Report Abuse

Satisfied Yukon Owner

happy owner, 08/04/2009
SLE 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have owned since new. After almost 3 years of ownership. I have not had it in the shop at all. I have the fully loaded SLT model, except for the sun roof and really enjoy it. The 4WD works great in the snow and I get a constant 17.2 mpg. Perfect for my family.

Report Abuse

Never Again

Paul J. Lecker , 02/10/2010
SLE 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great design.This is the third Yukon. 1995,2001 and now a 2006. This one has been extremely disappointing. Had to rebuild the transmission at 58000 miles. The truck hauls kids and groceries. Dealer actually charged me $100 to tell me the transmission was broken. I don't understand why the company doesn't stand behind the truck. Cost $2,500 to repair. Would not purchase another one because of my experience.

Report Abuse

Love to tow our Correct Craft

bmcveigh, 09/24/2005
SLE 2500 4dr SUV 4WD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Yukon works like a dream. Load up 8 with gear and the Correct Craft behind it and it is effortless even going into the winding mountain roads of Napa.

Report Abuse

Lemon XL

james, 08/14/2006
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We traded in our 2004 Dodge Duango Limited in November on a 2006 Denali XL. The ride and comfort is much better in the Denali and it's packed with features for only being priced in the mid 50's. Our new found love for the Denali did not last long. We have had problems continuously. Some as minor as the radio freezing up to severe problems such as a transmission replacement at 14,000 miles! The DVD system acts up, the Nav only works about half the time, the transmission still shifts hard, the radiator and hoses were replaced at 14,500 miles, you name it, it's been worked on!! The quality of build is poor for the price and I wish we would have considered Lincoln, Infiniti a little more.

Report Abuse

Denali - Utilitarian Comfort

DwS, 01/26/2007
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Denali is a great vehicle for someone looking for a long term vehicle that can handle anything you through at it. It can tow. It can haul. It can deliver you to far away destinations with supreme comfort and entertain you and your passengers on the way. It even tells you how to get there.

Report Abuse

Piece of Junk

bill rose, 03/22/2007
SLE 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have had numerous repairs to brake system rotors pads to no avail. Brakes squeak like crazy. Tires wore out at less than 15,000 miles. Replaced with Michelins and rotors warped and brakes still squeak. GM says brake noise is normal. Not for what I paid for this piece of junk!

Report Abuse

Grandma’s Fun!!

MaryBeth , 12/09/2020
SLE 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

2006 GMC Yukon XL Has made me feel like I can safely take all 5 of my granddaughters anywhere! The dogs got the back to themselves. The girls can pick from any of the 5 car seats with 5 point seatbelts ( even my 10 year old, 125lb girl ). This means the access seat is folded forward for easy 3rd row seating. If desired I can take another adult. The interior seating is all leather but because I’ve got the kids I have all seating and floors covered- I’m not the get upset about spilling type of grandma. I’m not the rich grandma either, I take the kids camping, to rodeo events, fishing and Desert museums. I got a Water Proof rack bag for our tent, kitchen, food & other needed equipment. I also got a hitch rack- what a great idea this is for supplies that you can access quickly, like snacks and lunch! That’s all we need to have great adventures together! If you want to seat 8 adults comfortably or just take your grandkids somewhere you will enjoy the size of this interior. I looked at other models and they all came up short on interior space. Well, I suppose they would have room for 8 people but the center would only be skinny kids & you would never be able to take the dogs.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

16500 and still going strong.

Melle, 12/14/2020
SLE 2500 4dr SUV (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought our Yukon new in 20O6. 165000 miles later, only repair, other than maintenance, was one fuel pump at 95,000 miles and this week, a small inexpensive gasket. 2nd Yukon we have owned and both great SUVs.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050