Used 2004 Ford Freestar Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,113 - $3,442

Used Freestar for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...15

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

195000 miles and still alive.

Zach, 12/07/2015
SEL 4dr Minivan (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
36 of 37 people found this review helpful

I have a 4.2 l sel that is almost ready to roll 200k. I read the reviews on the transmission mine is original at 200k. I had the tranny flushed every 50k miles and done maintnance and here we are. The van has been exceptional. So if you take care of your car and do maintnance your car will take care of you. This van has a lot of negative reviews but has been great for me and my family. Im willing to bank i will get my freestar over 250k and will report back when I do. Outstanding vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

276,500

Debra, 04/05/2016
Cargo Van 4dr Minivan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

Bought the van with 260,000 and only thing I have had to replace was brakes, alternator, and a water pump. Everything works great. Going to try and keep her going for another 100,000 miles

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ford KNOWS the transmission SUCKS!

glowmomnmy, 12/31/2011
29 of 32 people found this review helpful

This is a dangerous, nightmarish, horrid and horrible vehicle. Broke down yesterday in the middle of a major highway intersection- slipped out of gear and would not get back in gear. Took 20 minutes and a lot of praying to pull it off the road. It's in the shop AGAIN- just had to replace the tranny less than 2 years ago at less than 60k miles and replaced cam shaft sensor as well just a year ago. There is a class action lawsuit out because of the trannys- but like most of my fellow co-owners, who among us has the $$$ to get the lawyers Ford has at it's beck-and-call. There was no warning- just accelerated through intersection and it stopped- the motor was still on, but no gear! SCARY!!!

Report Abuse

Transmission

Arlington, 11/22/2010
17 of 19 people found this review helpful

I had a little over 92,000 miles on the van and the transmission went out. A list of problems was wrong with it for one is the torque converter. got it back and the EGR Valve went out.

Report Abuse

Love My Ford Freestar SE 6 CYL

Marian Crawford, 05/02/2016
SE 4dr Minivan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

There is or was a RECALL on the TORQUE CONVERTER and Installing Seat Belts Safety Latchets or Locks for the third row seats.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Recent Purchase, WARNING DO NOT BUY!

amcrowe, 10/24/2011
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

While driving home, my driver side window quit working. The buttons on my radio quit working, although it randomly kept trying to reprogram "preset 2". Finally, at 65mph on a busy road, I rapidly lost all acceleration. Almost exactly like many of you have explained with the erratic RPM. I flushed the transmission fluid, hoped that it was a fluke. Fixed a loose connection on the driver side door, got the window working again. The radio was still acting up, but feeling confident I hopped into my ‘NEW’ van only to have it NOT START AT ALL. [violative content deleted]

Report Abuse

Waste of money

cwiley4l, 06/02/2011
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I will never buy another Ford. My transmission went out @ 76,000 miles. Cost almost 3K at the dealer to replace. My trac control light goes off and on at will. now I have a check engine light on.. God only knows what that is ... will find out today. I'm so frustrated and for the actual cost of the van and to have all these repairs.. ridiculous. There should be a recall on the transmission. Oh and I need to mention.. when I'm driving now, it sounds like whales singing. I'm fed up.

Report Abuse

Transmission Out at 97,000 miles

jayman1201, 12/13/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought this thing in '06 with 67,000 miles on it. 1 year after purchase the AC went out. In '08 coming home from my sister's wedding in Canada, the transmission went out. Torque converter broke apart and screwed the Transmission. On 2nd one now and the 4th gear is shot in that. Worst vehicle ever. Ford should have had a recall notice on the transmission. Too common a problem not to address.

Report Abuse

I have a Lemon! Do you?

Rock'n Ark, 02/27/2005
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2004 Freestar Limited after an accident ruined my mint condition '94 Aerostar from the rear. As of 02/01/05 the dealership has replaced the CV joint twice(1st one fell out at the dealership; 2nd one was found to be defective by my husband). It took 14 days to repair it the 1st time (going on their lot and taking one from a 2005). On Monday it will have been at the dealership for 8 days because the right passenger tire must be replaced due to vibration while driving at 45mph. I have owned this car for 57 days and it has been at the dealership for 22 days of this month. I call this a LEMON!

Report Abuse

One of the best Ford products I've owned

chilcutt, 03/17/2013
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

Been a ford man my whole life. Never owned a van till now. Bought a 2004 Freestar over a month ago. Got a good deal had 178,XXX miles on it yet drives like it has 10 miles on it. I did have to put new brakes and rotors on the front. And replace the drivers side CV axle. This is very minimal repair for a vehicle with that many miles on it. The trans runs very smooth and it is the original, I must have gotten lucky after reading the reviews and knowing very well about Fords trans problems. I love it. I haven't even used all the features this van has yet. The previous owner had to keep it in a garage, it's rust free and I live in MI. Good looking and a pleasure to drive.

Report Abuse
12345...15
Items per page:
51050