Used 2004 Dodge Neon Consumer Reviews

List Price
$3,500

Used Neon for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...31

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Been Amazing for the 8 years I have had this car.

Amanda, 03/17/2016
SXT 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used back in 2008, with about 33k miles on it. Now it is 2016 and only at 119k. Was mostly for college and getting to all my jobs during that time. Now I am out of college, with a good paying job, and I could buy a new or used car that is up to date and shiny, but the Neon is still going. I have never had to repair a single thing motor/engine wise except for the timing belt (obvious maintenance) which I made sure to do around 90k or a little earlier (not sure exactly when). My car has even been hit by drunk drivers and many idiots and yet still holds strong after body repair. The only issues I have had was the sunroof and leaking. It went off the track and broke. Instead of getting it fixed, I just had a body shop place the roof back in and remove the fuse that allowed it to open and close. It leaks around the sunroof, and weirdly around the passenger side area where the feet go. I think its just blocked up and moves into the floor. Besides its lack of physical beauty at this age in the game, it has done me very well and I will drive this car until the wheels fall off. :}

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car !!!

debby_robinson, 12/30/2011
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2004 Dodge Neon new and now have over 210,000 miles. The only maintenance other than routine, has been the replacement of ball joints and the sway bar link and bushings. If they still made this car I would buy it all over again.

Report Abuse

Great! but do not buy it, please read.

diego_cid, 04/06/2011
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

the car was great, until 100K miles. It first started as slightly rough idle, and then it got worse. I had it check and it was determined that a valve was leaking and therefore it would misfire. It failed the wet compression test and the computer code backed the mechanic's claim. Miss fire cylinder # 2. The repairs would cost me 1.5K on a 3K car, it was not worth it so I traded the car still owning like 2K, I got 800 for it in the trade it since it was broken, the check engine light would flash during idle so there was no hiding it. The car was fun to drive and very very practical, gas mileage was about 28 hwy and 23 city. It could be a lot better for an engine that small.

Report Abuse

Honest Opinion

Vinh, 11/30/2015
SXT 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Overall this car has served me well. I bought it brand new back in highschool ,in 2004 for 11k that's including taxes. When I first got it the O2 sensor needed to be replace which isn't a good sign around 20k. Luckily it was still under warranty. Since then there has been no major issues until now but right now at 220k its expected. At the moment, the reverse cable probably has to be replaced or at least one of the pins or bushing. The drive shaft also needs to be replaced which is normal for the a vehicle with the amount of mileage this car has. Both issues occurred around 219-220k. I had to replace the CAM sensor at 110k and oil switch at 185k. Changed the battery twice .Other than that no major issues. I have drove this car from -CA-TX-MT and CA-FL with no problems. I hit a deer at 40mph with only hood, fender, bumper damage, but nothing was damaged under the hood. The car gets good MPG on the highway but not too good mpg for its class in the city. I usually get between 35-44 on the highway and 25-29 in the city. Since its high mileage the values have been 25/35 unless I go on a long distance trip. The interior looks good the only thing a bit worn out is the arm rest and front driver seat.Acceleration and handling is also good and I do like the tow capacity this vehicle has. Overall I got my moneys worth but at this point its time to move on.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I love this car!

spooledup, 03/19/2015
SRT-4 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I can't get enough of this car. I've owned it for a little over 6 years and now have over 170,000 miles. It still runs smooth as it did with 65,000 miles and I've never had an issue with the car other than regular maintenance. I've changed the timing belt, water pump, clutch/fork, spark plugs, oil, and cam shaft sensor twice, battery and tires. That's it! All those things would need to be changed on any car so I would say this car is extremely reliable. It's never once left me stranded, and I don't drive like a grandma either. Speaking of which, the performance of this car is amazing. My car is still stock and I've beat everything from ls1 camaros, to evo's and sti's.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good little car

kevin, 09/15/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Just turned 76,000 miles and have had to do nothing other than change the oil. Car has had an occasional engine knock for a few seconds right after start up almost from the beginning. Was pretty concerned about that at first, but apparently some Neons just do that. Started using synthetic oil and it has pretty much stopped. I have had minor brake squealing issues like a lot of other people have reported here but it usually only lasts a minute or two when first taking off. AND I've still got over a quarter inch of pad on THE ORIGINAL brake pads! I'm hoping to make it to 100,000 miles on the original pads. Anyway, the car has been great. Reliable, fun to drive, great gas mileage. Buy one.

Report Abuse

Lasts forever

5speedmanual3, 06/26/2015
SXT 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Totaled my first 03 Sxt with 240,000 miles on it but I bet she could have gone way longer. Then bought an 04 R/T with 100,000 on it for a great price it now has 136000 and I love it, I don't babg this thing either its seen many track days and the shifts are still great love the car And I get about 30 mog city and almost 40 highway

Report Abuse

Best Car I Ever Owned!!!

Mr L, 07/18/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought the '04 SE base new as a "leftover" in 2005 for $11,200. Although i had good credit the dealer told me it wasn't good enough (720) and charged me 2 extra points at the very end of the deal. I had already sold my old car so i needed it. After i figured how much money they screwed me for i vowed never to visit the dealer again. Guess what? I didn't have to! Now it is July 2016 and the Neon has 209K miles on it and has only broken down once. The nylon clip that holds the shifter to the cable under the boot fell off or broke. The repair was $125 total including $65 for towing. I have kept up with all the maintenance (timing belts, fluid changes, strut changes,etc.) and i would take the car on a 5,000 mile round trip tomorrow if i needed to. I am 6 foot 4 tall and age 56. The car is comfortable to drive and sit in for long drives. I love the manual transmission as i consider myself a spirited driver and 2nd and 3rd gear pull really good although i don't have a tachometer. Although i live in the south i have driven in deep snow in NH and good quality tires help. The only recommendation i can make is to change the coolant every 2 years vs. 5. I think i replaced an o2 sensor and a knock sensor in 2012. The a/c works great although summer mpg's are about 25 and winter is 30 or 32. Book value now is about $1000 but i couldn't buy one this well maintained for the price. I will say if mine gets totaled for any reason i would probably buy another one. New car prices are ridiculous and i don't ever want to finance a car again. I will keep it until the wheels fall off. Even if the motor blows i might just buy another motor. I still see a few 1st generation Neon's driving around; how many miles are on them?

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Ebay Buy

mopar5711, 01/11/2012
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

I bought my Neon from the original owner thru Ebay in 2005 paid $8400.00 - drove it from Phoenix AZ to Dallas , Tx. it had 18K original miles. As of today 01/10/2012 it has 74K - repairs consist of new wheel cylinders and brakes front and rear and a crank sensor. I put a K&N air filter in it and have had the transmission and coolant serviced on the factory schedule. I use Pirelli tires and I always run middle grade gas. Most of the miles are hiway @ 34-36 mpg. It handles like a small Porsche and has plenty of zip. My only complaint is the seating - not terribly comfortable. It has been a truly wonderful car and an excellent investment.

Report Abuse

Hate to say it.

Carlos, 05/30/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have seen nothing but good reviews and thats why I bought this car. I have put 7k on it. Turbo leaks are infamous. The tranny is a headache also. Many many people report tranny issues and I'm one of them. This car is a blast to drive but I feel like its going to fall apart anyday now. It has a stubborn transmission and shifts like crap especially in the cold. Maybe I got unlucky.

Report Abuse
12345...31
Items per page:
51050