Used 2008 Chrysler Pacifica Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,600 - $4,649

Used Pacifica for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great driving experience!

twistedtoes, 02/23/2014
Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
46 of 47 people found this review helpful

I, for the life of me can't understand why Chrysler stopped building such a great driving experience of the Pacifica. I'm totally amazed at how well this piece of equipment handles itself on the highway as well as in town. It's not sluggish when you want to pass another car and the fact that it's interfaced with Mercedes - Benz technology only adds to the driving experience. I just paid mine off, so the ride just got better!

Report Abuse

Please start making the Pacifica again!

Russ, 10/04/2010
Limited 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

We bought a 2007 base model for our son to tour with his band and we had been looking for a late model Pacifica for a while ourselves. A loaded Limited fell into our laps. We could not have been more pleased. Ride is great. Seats and all the adjustments and memory are required for us with me 6-4 and wife 5-4 although I don't give up the driving duties much. It is our long distance car and I love to drive it. Chrysler HAS to reintroduce this car!!

Report Abuse

Sad to see this baby go

jtg1961, 03/05/2009
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

This is the second Chrysler Pacifica I've owned. I was happy with my 05 but wanted to upgrade to the 08 with 4.0L engine and 6 spd transmission. The difference with the extra power and smoother shifting is incredible. Too bad they didn't get it right initially but they have it right now, just in time to discontinue the line. What a shame, this is one of the best vehicles Chrysler has ever made. I bought one of the last of the 08 model year and hopefully it'll last a long time. The lifetime powertrain warranty should ensure that it does.

Report Abuse

Love my Pacifica

Hunts, 08/06/2010
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

I own two Chryslers; one pacifica and one pt cruiser. I adore my pacifica so much. When we heard they weren't making them anymore we turned in our 2006 model for an upgraded Touring 2008. I can't even compare the two cars because they are so different. This is definitely my favorite car i have ever owned and love the comfort and feeling of safety traveling with my family. i hope it lasts forever, or they decide to start making them again. I wish both my cars were pacificas.

Report Abuse

I was foolish enough to get rid of 2004...

chinatown, 10/27/2013
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

I had thought it was using oil. However, I later found out that it is normal with these cars as the lighter weight which improves the mileage is the reason. Oh well. Anyway an earlier post indicated the MP3 problem. I also experienced same. I later found this solution, after I had traded it in. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=294TFX3b5-A Hope this is viewed by the current owners.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

So far, so good.

cstrait37, 06/21/2008
Touring 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Got out of a lease on a 2005 Grand Cherokee (HEMI) and moved to more space, better MPG. Got 0% 60 months and a GREAT deal because of edmunds.com Wife loves the 6 sp tranny and the 4.0 L combined with the AWD. Signature Series a MUST! GREAT CAR! Downside: Anyone in the CT area should NEVER deal with Action Motors of Danbury, CT. Not enough space to explain all. For instance got out of the Jeep (gave it to the dealer), 2 months later we get calls from a collection agency asking for the balance of $$$ owed on the Jeep. Dealership never paid it off. 3 weeks and a LOT of phone calls later, it was taken care of. They are a MEAT MARKET. You are just a number at Action Motors. Go elsewhere.

Report Abuse

Safe & Beautiful

Sandi, 05/26/2008
Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We bought this car for its high safety rating. We are tall people (5'9 6'3") and can fit very comfortably in the front and second row seats. The gas mileage we get is not very good. This is our one disappointment. The extras (which came standard on this model) are outstanding.

Report Abuse

It Saved My Wife's Life

Mark G, 11/19/2009
Touring 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

My wife has driven 3 of these vehicles, 2004, 2006 and now the 2008 Touring W P Chrysler Edition. The car is one of the safest vehicles on the road and it built like a tank with Mercedes technology. My wife was rear ended (high speed)in a mulitiple car pile up on the freeway 5 months after getting the car and then hit a second time. She walked away without a scratch or bruise and the car survived quite well !! Why stop building this car? We would have bought them forever! Maybe decisions like this is why Chrysler went bankrupt. This car was heavily influenced by Daimler and was the best product to come out of their influence.

Report Abuse

Comfort Plus

Delores C Daundivier, 04/02/2008
Touring 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This car is great for over 65 folks as it is comfortable and spacious. Very nice crossover. Room to travel long distances plenty of room for everything and easy on tired old bones

Report Abuse

A problem no one can fix

Bob, 01/08/2010
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

When first starting my 2008 Pacifica, it sounds like the starter remains engaged with the flywheel for a few seconds. More so when cold than subsequent attempts. Starter replaced, problem not solved. Dealership is now saying the power steering fluid maybe thickening up due to the cold weather and the power steering maybe causing noise. Find this hard to believe for a car with less than 25k (or at all). Had other problems (tie rod, brakes, rattling noise in the interior) since purchasing vehicle with 18+k miles on it. Too many for a such a newer vehicle in my opinion.

Report Abuse

Finally getting rid of it.

robrob1, 06/22/2011
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 12 people found this review helpful

Only the tip of the Iceberg. After 3,000 miles, they tried to fix the dreaded chronic transmission problems . (do a Google search).The sight of seeing the tranny in pieces from my new car made me regret my purchase instantly. They never really fixed the problem, so I was frustrated for 48 months. This car is also a MAJOR GAZ GUZZLER. In cold weather, the ''dual-exhaust'' system makes an unbelievable racket. Radio controls (and sound) are worthy of a '70's Corolla, cheap plastic and all. The idea for this car was right, but implementation was an unfinished nightmare. Too bad, it was full of promises. Pros: good ride, seats ok, roomy. Returning it next week, at long, long last. Good riddance.

Report Abuse

Not recommended

Yolanda English, 10/09/2010
Touring 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought my Pacifica for my birthday earlier this year. I was interested in it because I needed the 3rd row and was tired of being in a many van & I though it was cute. But having the 3rd row seat, it has no trunk room. You can't ride with the back windows down because of the noise the air pressure makes and it's a gas guzzler. I wouldn't recommend this car to my worst enemy. Also, when my batter died, I couldn't even turn the key to put the car in neutral to roll it back. To me, that's just not right.

Report Abuse

Piece of junk

Cliff Fortuno, 06/02/2018
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 10 people found this review helpful

The Pacifica is a piece of junk! The vehicle has had electrical problems where the dashboard lights first flicker, the radio goes static before finally the engine abruptly dies. It happens when driving in the freeway and in city roads. Replacing the transmission module, battery and cables as recommended by mechanics did not help at all. It is very unreliable. Besides that, the handling is like that of a school bus. The gas mileage is also pretty bad. I wouldn't buy a Chrysler product again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Touring 2009 Model

Ani, 11/05/2009
Touring 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have to post this here because there is no place to do the 2009. Our daughter bought the new 2009 Touring Model in January. She loved it at first but it has given her nothing but grief. Bad motor mounts. Transmission knocking and dealer says that is normal. One more thing also that I can't remember. She is so disgusted. In the garage again and again.

Report Abuse

It's A Keeper!

Bob R., 06/07/2008
Touring 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Quiet, solid, comfortable ride while driving. After test driving several mid-size SUV's (Toyota Highlander, Subaru Tribeca, Infiniti FX1, Suzuki XL, and the Veracruz), I settled on the Chrysler Pacifica. I think this is an excellent automobile. Chrysler should continue to produce it. It would be a shame to discontinue such a fine vehicle.

Report Abuse

Satisfied, Great vehicle

Trail, 07/02/2008
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My first Chrysler and I feel we made the right choice, Great price with the features to match. Great acceleration, drives like a family vehicle without the look of a van. Plenty of interior space and leg room for even the third row passengers.

Report Abuse

Great Crossover

2nd Pacifica, 01/08/2009
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2004 Pacifica AWD when they came out. Great crossover! My family and I have driven all over the U.S. no problems. Lots of cargo space. Just traded in on a 2008 because of all that is on it unlike Ford/GM. A lot for the money. Sorry that Chrysler is not going to continue building them.

Report Abuse

Great vehicle!

Dianebkht, 01/18/2009
LX 4dr Wagon (3.8L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Really nice vehicle, inside and out. The down side to the Pacifica is fuel usage. Drives great! Interior is protected, therefore making it easy to wipe off stains. Lots of space, no outside noise like the Town And Country I just traded in. Lots of leg room. Cargo is huge enough for a body (example people only) My Pacifica did not come with DVD so I will have one installed along with rims. I really got a great deal on my new Pacifica with me trading in a Chrysler. Now is the time to buy! Love the safety features as well! No bad experience at dealership nor with vehicle so far!

Report Abuse

We love it

Retired, 03/13/2009
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Replaced a 2006 3.5 4 spd with this 2008 4.0 6 spd. '06 had a transmission problem that could not be fixed before we had to travel. What a difference. Must faster from the light, better milage on the highway but about the same mpg here in the Arkansas mountain community. Did replace air filter with K&N and use synthetic oil. Rides and drives better than any vehicle we have owned. Can drive 800 miles a day with no problem. Sorry they're going to discontinue. Guess with the bumper to bumper lifetime warranty we'll drive it until it won't go.

Report Abuse

Investment

hmg, 03/30/2009
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Traded up from a GM product. This vehicle is fun to drive and the interior is great in the touring signature series. Chrysler can't fail with more cars at a good investment price and this stand behind bumper to bumper warranty coverage. No more pacificas, too bad. At least I got mine! Can't wait for a summer road trip.

Report Abuse

Extremely Pleased

Vincent Black Shadow, 05/26/2009
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Traded an 03 Town & Country that served us very well. Couldn't be more pleased with the Pacifica as a replacement. Refined and quiet, well done interior and great performance for a vehicle of this size. Haven't had it long enough to judge the fuel economy but I'm really not concerned. This is a very well made and well thought out car. Not to mention 30% off sticker from a dealer that was on the "list".

Report Abuse

Love Our Car!

AccordingtoHez, 06/25/2010
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this 6-passenger car because as a family of 4, it's not too big, but there's room to grow (and carpool in the meantime). We have LOVED it! Definitely an upgrade from our economy car before ;-) If you're looking for a car that's just the right size with lots of amenities, give the car a look. *Disclaimer: Have only owned a few months, so I cannot attest to long-term reliability, but we are not worried about it ourselves.

Report Abuse

Dream Machine

Stephen, 02/13/2008
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Wonderful automobile. Too bad Chrysler has ended production. Well designed interior and a first class ride. I've had many Chrysler products and this one is my favorite.

Report Abuse

What a vehicle!!!

Jonathan Nugent, 04/12/2008
Touring 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Blew out the Town & Country van for space, quality, comfort, and definitely the appearance. Doesn't look and feel like a van neither. Sits higher up than usual vehicles, feels safe with all-around airbags

Report Abuse

best crossover ever

mark times, 04/30/2008
LX 4dr Wagon (3.8L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Well when I first went to the car lot I was looking for a Dodge or a Jeep because I thought a car like that wold be very hard to get to so when he told me that hey young men it is possible to get a crossover like that I was so happy he said that he so the light lite upon my face then I still said to myself that there no way in god's holy world that I could get a car with sleek body style and hard cover face and a banging grill with wood all over the place and with also comes with a tv and also comes with a navigation system and so much of room also to top it off it also comes with a sun roof I also like the way that the dashboard is made how goes around

Report Abuse

Nice Car

Steve, 05/14/2008
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

What a nice vehicle. Powerful comfortable. Just a treat to drive until you pass a gas station. I thought with the 6 speed transmission it would get halfway descent gas mileage. About 16 in the city, 27 or so on the road. (I'm sure I can do better on the highway). My 96 Grand Caravan did better in City driving. Overall this is a very nice car. I really like it!

Report Abuse

looks are deceiving

D, 10/05/2008
Touring 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

Nice looking car, but it's only skin deep, interior is cheaply made, gas mileage is poor, lots of things missing that should be there like a glovebox light, ipod input, switches to shut of dome lights. The absolute worst car I ever bought. Tranny shifts hard, car starts roughly and stalls sometimes.

Report Abuse

Mom is Happy

Happy daughter, 07/30/2017
Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The adjustable foot pedal sold it. Safe and comfortable. Mom is over 80 and still going strong. Short but she can reach with the pedal and wheel adjusted. Still Happy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Ride Ever!

Kimberad, 11/26/2007
Limited 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Rides like a car with the extra room of an SUV. Sits up higher so I can see better in traffic, parks in parking garage at work with ease! Fabulous vehicle - with lifetime powertrain warranty - I will keep this forever!

Report Abuse

I've said this before...

OhNOO!, 05/17/2008
Touring 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

But this time I promise never to buy another piece of c**p from Chrysler ever again! Antiquated engine and transmission. Lumber wagon ride and handling, really poor mileage from the very old design PUSHROD engine that has been around since 1989! And talk about quality, it is not anywhere to be found! Misfitting dashboard, poor assembly, mismatched colors, really bad leather that appears fake in the way it wears and fades. We bought it new and the depreciation really hit hard. Sold it for penny's on the dollar! Avoid at all costs, it does not even belong in a rental car fleet!

Report Abuse

2008 Chrysler Engine Dropped Out

Do not buy!, 11/04/2019
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is a dangerous rust bucket. FCA will not stand behind and Chrysler is bankrupt. Stuck with a rust infested pile covered with rubberized spray to cover the rust. The engineers should be shot but they are hiding behind the bankruptcy laws. Hang them all!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Junky Car

Johnny, 05/21/2008
Limited 4dr Wagon AWD (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 8 people found this review helpful

The car may look nice but it is a piece of junk. I bought this thinking I got a steal but this has been the worst car I have ever driven. The brakes are very very bad, the acceleration is decent, the steering is not up to crossover standards. It's an overall piece of junk.

Report Abuse

Great Car! So Far...

Brennen, 09/22/2009
Touring 4dr Wagon (4.0L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love my Pacifica. I have the Signature Series with all the extras. Although I was worried that having so many power features could potentially mean expensive repair bills, this has not been an issue thus far. The Pacifica is extremely comfortable for four passengers, but it could have used a little more leg room in the third row. The seats are supportive, the the ride is smooth and quiet, and the engine and transmission perform well. I have had no problems at all with this car. I am extremely pleased my purchase.

Report Abuse

Love my 2008 Chrysler Pacifica

MamaD, 10/15/2020
LX 4dr Wagon (3.8L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Pacifica handles well on the roads. It's spacious but still looks classy. I like the armrests. No real concerns other than blind spots. I would buy again if they were still making them.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050