Used 2007 Audi A8 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,752 - $7,391

Used A8 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best car I've ever had

Justin Fontaine, 05/24/2010
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

I've had the privilege of owning/leasing BMW's ( 5 series ) a couple of 911's and a Mercedes S class and I have to say that this A8 is tops for performance, class, reliability and most of all individuality. In LA there are thousands of S Class and 7 series. I can honestly say I've not seen one other dark blue short wheelbase A8 with the performance 20" wheels in 3 years of driving here. The car is special in every way. The handling for a large sedan is spectacular due to the aluminum body and quattro. The fit and finish inside of the amaretto interior are awesome. Power is smooth and refined. Great Bose system. Biggest issue will be whether or not to buy it after the lease! Not one problem

Report Abuse

120K miles retrospective

boyracer3, 12/07/2014
L quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
24 of 25 people found this review helpful

Finally retired my 8 a few months ago. Absolutely beautiful car. Loved driving it. And still miss it greatly. The expense of repairs quickly exceeded the residual value of the car. The car was very reliable and honestly the issues that I had with it were worn part maintenance issues. But items like the suspension repairs @110K for $7400. Other small issues for another $7500 soon followed. $15K for a car I then traded for $12K. But I did get a new S7 so obviously I still think they are great cars. Really had no problems at all until 100K. I don't really think Audi's are that expensive to maintain, either, nothing like Porsche or BMW in my experience.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Luxury Value

Jerry R, 02/20/2010
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

After selling my 06 A8L I realized what a wonderful car it was and found an 07 A8L with an MSRP of $90K, with 12k miles for $50K. New was out of the question due to initial loss. These cars are an absolute remarkable value (used). I don't know how Audi is able to get the mileage out of a 4000+ lb. car with all wheel drive. Both comfort and performance are unsurpassed. B & O radio is a must . Rear seat leg room is better than a new Rolls- Royce Ghost @ $300K, and anyone who rides in it (who doesn't know Audi) is amazed.

Report Abuse

40k-110k review

boyracer3, 01/20/2013
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

Bought a preowned A8L '07 a couple of years ago. Have put 70K on car since. It has been remarkably reliable. The build quality is excellent. I don't get the gas mileage it promised unless driving over 70. I have all service done at dealership, and have been very surprised at the low cost of maintenance, and the quality of service. Had a new A4 in '07, hated it, swore I'd never buy Audi again, got bad service. Bought the 8 because I needed big and 4WD. Expected many of the same problems I had with the 4, but it is a much better car. And I think Audi is a much better car maker and has made huge efforts to improve customer satisfaction.

Report Abuse

Fantastic Car..

J Montana, 05/26/2010
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

This car has it all. Looks, performance and there are not many on the road. Every other car in LA is a 7 series or S550. This is one amazing car. Tight , great motor, short wheelbase handles great. Bose stereo is more than adequate.

Report Abuse

Truly fine automobile

swissman564, 01/28/2012
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

I bought my '07 A8L a year ago at Tyson's Audi in Virginia. It had 61,000 miles on it and although it looked practically showroom new in every way, I was a bit worried about spending serious money on a 4-yr old car with that many miles. My worries have been laid to rest 20K miles later. I have owned 4 BMW's (7, 5, and 3 Series) and one Benz. I never liked the Benz but loved all of my BMW's and never thought I could appreciate a car more than a BMW. The 1st time I laid eyes on this car I fell in love with the looks. Mechanically, fit & finish and handling, this is the Ubermachine from Germany. Simple as that. No use enumerating it all. Enough said. I'm in love.

Report Abuse

4th and best Audi

Capt John, 12/24/2007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

My black on black A8L is built like a bank vault, is quiet except when accelerating, when it has a nice little throaty tone. I've had an A6 2.7 which was fun; still have an A6 4.2, (2002) which is still solid and fun to drive. I had a 2006 A8L, which was great, but the 07 car is even better. It is understated, sumptuous, quick, and solid. Everything one could want.

Report Abuse

All around best daily driver.

Sold on Audi, 04/25/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The Audi A8 Sport is one of the most aesthetically pleasing cars I have ever seen. The real surprise however is the combination of ride, quiet and predictable handling in all conditions with high limits for a vehicle of this size and class. I expected competence, but I was surprised by the "fun to drive" aspects of this car. The longer I have owned the vehicle, the better it gets. I drove the MB, Jaguar, BMW and Lexus - there was no question before I purchased the car which one I preferred - but I am even more convinced now that I have more than 14,000 miles on the vehicle and continue to explore its capabilities. I hope Audi doesn't change much before I am ready for my next one!

Report Abuse

What can be finer?

Carl R, 02/09/2007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I love this car! After driving a Jaguar for 3 years I was able to see the difference with my first test drive. This car is wonderful. The fit and finish is second to none. The drive is terrific and the quality of the leather and wood cannot be matched, other then perhaps a Rolls Royce. The power is great and the looks equate to understated elegence. Every two or three years I purchase or lease a different type of luxury vehicle. I truly believe from now on I will always purchase an Audi. It's a great car!

Report Abuse

Your luxury car has arrived

blkhemi, 07/15/2006
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

This car is what luxury cars are all about. The interior fit/finish is second to no car on earth. The exterior design is flawless, even the grille is growing on me. The incredible power of the W-12 powertrain is nothing short of amazing. The ride and handling balance is perhaps best in class. I absolutely love it.

Report Abuse

THE BEST EVER!

Brian, 11/30/2006
24 of 33 people found this review helpful

I just picked up my A8L 4.2 V8 2 weeks ago and it is THE most luxurious car I've ever owned. The attention to detail of the interior leather and wood is sheer perfection. The drive is amazingly smooth but as precise as a surgeons scalpel. I can't believe that a large luxury car like this handles so well. Not to mention the all wheel drive gives me a feeling of confidence on the road that is a true benefit. Mine is Black with Amaretto Leather and the B & O stereo! The rear seat room is amazing and my girls love the power rear seats!

Report Abuse

Audi A8 L Luxury for Life

Strausburg, 06/01/2010
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Better than a Benz, BMW, Acura, Lexus for the L body style and large class of cars.

Report Abuse

A Great Car

TDL, 06/02/2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my third Audi, and I find them to be a superb balance between a luxury and sporty design philosophy. The vehicle feels like a smaller, more nimble vehicle, but has more room than practically anything else in this segment. The interior design and fit and finish are best in class. The S8 variant is an attractive alternative, but we also had a sporty car in the garage, and decided to go with the long wheel base and the extra rear leg room which precludes the S8 package. But, I also feel the extra length gives the car a more flowing appearance in the side view. Fuel economy is what you expect in this class, and when considering the performance (and the way I drive), it is rather good.

Report Abuse

Reliable, Safe, and Comfortable Land yacht

Mo, 04/04/2020
L quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Here is my review on my 2007 Audi A8L. I bought this car from the original owner on June of 2018. My car has been serviced its entire life at the Audi dealer in Oakland CA. All service records on hand from day of import up until I purchased it at 94,000 miles. Today at 130,000 miles; it still drives like a dream. I have an independent mechanic that does all the work and recently had the intakes cleaned up. MPG is possible to achieve when the intakes are clean of carbon deposit. 2007 A8 and up have Direct injection FSI VS 2006 have port injection which keeps the valves clean. Though I can achieve 29-30MPG on long drives to los angels from the Bay Area you definitely will see approx 17MPG City and 26 Highway average. Prior to carbon deposit clean up i'd average 14 city and 20 highway. I do have a led foot. Biggest maintenance I have run into with my Audi is the front air suspensions gave up at 110,000 miles. Online you can find cheap rebuilds with life time warranty. I spent $600 on two front air suspensions and they are still holding up despite my "Transporter" Driving style. Over all this car has been very solid. The original owner of the vehicle had the car repaired at the dealer and much of the repairs he ordered the dealer to do when it was not necessary per mechanics comments. If your the type of person who is looking to have the car serviced at the dealer be ready to pay a lot as Audi Parts and the dealer charge more than the rivals Mercedes Benz and BMW. Having owned the 750LI from the same era and having a relative who owns a S430 of the same era I will say the Audi A8 is the most comfortable car of them all. The driver and front passenger seats can be in any position to help support your back and during the winter time the heated front and rear seats keep all occupants extremely cozy. This car being a L means you have A LOT of leg room. More than the Mere and BMW of the same era. One issue is this car is meant for two people in the back and not three as the middle back seat is not comfortable. Behind the wheel the car does not feel like such a land yacht and more like a smaller car but a ultimate cruiser. I average approx 90 MPH and this car does not give the driver any hints that your at such speed. Its that smooth. The Audi A8 does come with many standard features like power folding mirror, power trunk, soft closing doors, and rear power sun shade and manual side shades. I have the optional solar panel sunroof and during the summer time this car is always cool as the solar roof kicks on the air in the cabin to keep temperatures lower. I so far have had no issues with any of the mentioned items except the power trunk has gotten a little weak. Now for the Quattro system. Audi has a reputation for AWD. Having taken this vehicle up to the snow in the Sierra and taken sharp corners in the dry I can say this car definitely can turn into a Sport Sedan and grip the roads to such an extent that I don't know why people buy the BMW. Snow no prob. The steering of the A8 is extremely responsive and the engine puts out the exact power that the driver needs depending on how much power is applied to the gas. The 4.2 has enough power to pass other vehicles and with the air suspension can have enough clearance to clear small obstacles on the road. Their was a reason why the Audi A8 of this era was found in many of the Transporter Movies as it can do a lot safely and comfortably. Overall my car has been solid. Its been driven up to 145MPH and it is a dream and pleasure to drive. Again Audi Parts are not the cheapest compared to Mercedes or BMW but I did notice that they do tend to last a long time. On a side note make sure to have your car intake cleaned out at the earliest 50K miles and latest 100K miles. Carbon build up does dramatically reduce the performance of the vehicle and gas milage. Is the A8 a car you can do a lot of Do it yourself work? The short answer is yes. Tune ups are definitely possible but beware that a lot of jobs that involve working on the front of the car may result in the front bumper being removed. Spark plugs on BMW and Mercedes need replacing at approx 75K to 100K miles but on the Audi A8 its every 40K miles and if you have a lot of carbon deposit build up be aware that you'll be going through plugs much much more frequently. Lastly I do oil changes every 5,000 miles with mobil 1 0W-40. Im on the same timing chain and plan on keeping it that way. Keep your oil and filter changed every 5,000 miles and you won't be disappointed. These V8 don't burn oil so you shouldn't be adding any oil between oil changes. For fuel use I use chevron and shell only to keep the high pressure fuel pumps clean at all times. These cars have two high pressure ones on the top of the engine and one low pressure in the tank. They are not cheap if you have to replace them so I keep clean fuel in the car and add a additive every 5,000 miles from Audi. Over all this car is a 10/10. Buy one with service records.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Excellent Touring Car

bigdognc, 02/02/2007
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

The Audi A8L is the perfect vehicle for me. I drive about 50k miles per year between North Carolina and northern VA/DC and it can get very tiring in the wrong kind of car. The Audi is fun to drive and is very quiet and comfortable. The quattro drive is great when there are some icy conditions on the VA highways. The bluetooth connection with my phone works superbly and keeps my attention on the road while driving. The rear camera and front and rear parking sensors are very handy when parking and backing out of crowded parking garages. The rear seat area is very spacious and will seat 3. The rear leg and shoulder room is unbelievable. I can easily fit my 2 biggest clients back there.

Report Abuse

Bellisimo!

Svetlana B., 11/19/2006
10 of 16 people found this review helpful

The most beautiful car I've ever owned. Stunningly luxurious interior, classy exterior, polished demeanor, great acceleration from 350hp V8, dazzling 19" wheels that turn heads, super attention to detail, nimble handling that belies its size, and so much more. I bought it last week, and already took it across the state line!

Report Abuse

Love this car!

Royal, 01/12/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is beautiful, inside and out. It feels classy rather than flashy. We just had a major snowstorm here in Seattle and while everyone else, including lots of 4wd SUVs skidded off the road, I drove right home!

Report Abuse

Perfect

huntin, 03/05/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car drives like a sports car and has the luxury you wish was in other sports cars. It has great speed and acceleration and can turn with ease. The leather seats are just fantastic for comfort.

Report Abuse

Best luxury car for the money

KEN O'BRIEN, 03/20/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I looked at all the luxury models in this class, this car can't be touched for the money you pay. It's all I expected and more!

Report Abuse

Luxury without flaunting your wealth.

DLBoston, 07/23/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned Jags, Mercs, BMW, and Cadillacs and they all have their outstanding features. The regal look of the Jag, the comfort of the Merc and the Cadi's smooth ride. The Audi L W12 (my first) took the best features of luxury automobiles in its class and built a car that has lived up to my expectations. Yes the car has a six figure price tag fully loaded; however the car delivers on all its promises and gives the driver a senseof royalty without being to flashy. Would it be fair to say that I am an Audi man for life? YES!!

Report Abuse

Excellent car

driver, 04/01/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've owned a 1979 5000S and a 2002 A4 1.8T, among other makes/models. This car is truly "the ultimate driving machine" bar none (sorry BMW). I've blown away many wanna-be's in BMW's from 3-series up to the 7-series on both highway and backroads with this baby and it's never misbehaved or thrown me a surprise. Incredible power, positive steering, and an amazing ride.

Report Abuse

MPG or GPM?????

John Ebin, 09/22/2015
L quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
5 of 11 people found this review helpful

19 MPG advertised for City Driving but now with 2000 miles getting 10-12MPG. What a Scam!!!! Now see what VW has done with emissions . Did they do the same with MPG???????

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sporty A8

JRH332, 11/11/2006
4 of 10 people found this review helpful

I purchased my A8 on 11/04/06. This is not the long wheelbase model but the shorter A8. If my dealer told me the truth this the only A8 in the Audi Central Region with the 20" Sport Package. The car is not only a knock out in looks but a blast to drive. Great performance plus all the luxury you could ever want. I traded in a 2006 Infiniti M45 Sport so you know I had to go some to find a better vehicle! Audi needs to advertise this model more.

Report Abuse

The perfect luxury car!

F1 Man, 03/29/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car represents the perfect blend between luxury accomodations and sporty performance. While other luxury cars (S550, BMW750 & lS460)seem to be good in some areas and weak in others, the A8 is excellent in every single area and weak in none. The ride is superb, design flawless and the handling is simply amazing, extremely nimble for a large car. The attention to detail is impeccable everywhere you look and the ergonomics is simply fantastic. The interior will put "anything" south of 200K to shame. These days I find myself running more errands. I wonder why..

Report Abuse

Awesome Car

Brian Luedtke, 03/23/2016
quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Do your maintenance and the car will last, We have changes the fluids often and are nearing 200,000 miles with no major problems, All aluminum car with direct injection, way ahead of if its time compared to the other manufactures.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The way to build all cars

Aleksandar Blagojevic, 09/13/2017
quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had many VW products but Audi A8 is buy far the very best they made. I got mine with 55k andnowisat95k. Only maintain that I have done is brakes ,oil and battery but if anything else needed I would do as well. This car elevates the expiriance of driving and is a bond of class taste and karizma topped of with talent. And then there is a Quattro ..... LOVE IT

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bought back in 2013 and still strong!

Desert Driver, 05/09/2020
L quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased my Audi A8l with 35,000 miles on it years ago with no major issues except for the air suspension. Replaced spark plugs the next day of purchase. It was my daily driver until 2018. I even used it for long road trips and desert off road driving. Replaced the front air suspensions once when I first bought the car (2013) which costs a few thousand bucks and within a year (2014) the suspension quit working. I ended up taking the air suspension out and replacing it with coil strings. Yes the handling was not as great, but I saved myself some money for the years to come. I live in the desert so the temperature is over 100 F during the summer (AC always blasting) and we only get 2 months of winter. The roads are rough, high traffic, and the car has been in 3 minor accidents; cars that rear ended the Audi or bumped into it in a round-about have their bumpers break, the Audi just gets polished and all is intact. A very strong exterior. I had to replace most of the engine rubber gaskets because of the heat in 2017. Other than that, it withstood my accelerations and rough driving. Interior is not as great anymore due to age but mechanically, the car is wonderful. As we speak, it is parked and used twice a week, I prefer taking the SUV around now due to the tires getting damaged because of pot holes in the streets (rims are large). This was the maintenance schedule I used since I bought the car: - Change engine oil and filter every 3500 miles (Castrol) - Fuel filter, air intake filter every 20000 miles - Brake pads every year (a few hundred bucks) since 2013 The Audi has 100,000 miles now, mostly city and high temperature driving conditions. Still starts right up and ready to go, great acceleration and fun to drive. So if you're looking into buying the A8 make sure you have some money around for parts, they tend to be more expensive than BMWs and Benz. As far as I'm concerned, it has done more than enough for me. Although it has been 7 years since I bought the car, it still turns heads and gets compliments so I assume it ages well. I only take it out for fun now and is not my daily driver anymore.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Never ending money pit!

Jon, 03/28/2018
quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Car literally has another issue everytime I take it on the road. I've owned many cars and this is by far the worse for reliability.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car

John N. Hill, 01/02/2007
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

Purchased in Sept 2006. Third Audi I've bought in past 4 years. A6 2.7T and A6 4.2 and now this A8L. I still have the A6 4.2, which is 4 yrs old and in top shape with 54000 miles on it. No problems. The new A8 is rock solid, and just as peppy as the A6. Interior is absolutely top quality. MMI is a bit daunting for me, but I am working through it. (Never had one before.) I think the side mirrors could be a bit larger, but I love everything else, including the massage seats and front and back "radar" for parking. I will buy another in 3 or 4 years.

Report Abuse

$90,000 piece of junk

W. Stiles, 07/12/2010
5 of 26 people found this review helpful

I bought this CPO 2007 Audi A8L with 33,000 miles on it and have had nothing but headaches since owning it. It has been in the shop 4 times in less than a year for numerous electrical problems. The Audi A8 customer service line is a complete waste of time as they do nothing, but come up with excuse after excuse as to why the car is not performing as it should. We have had 2 aluminum wheel failures where the tire immediately loses pressure. One of these episodes almost caused my wife to be in a serious car crash on the highway. Audi says it is still safe and I completely disagree. I am now in the process of selling and getting a more reliable car (Mercedes or BMW)

Report Abuse

2007 Audi A8L 4.2L Quattro

MotorStreet, 03/08/2009
7 of 66 people found this review helpful

The A8 never fails to amaze us. On a recent vacation we drove 700 miles north and on the way the kids never asked "Are we there yet?" once. The car is so relaxing to travel in and makes any journey comfortable. The gas mileage is equally impressive, on our vacation we averaged 28 mpg and drove most of the way at 80 mph. The 350hp direct injection 4.2L V8 has immediate power and even more refinement. The MMI is easy to use and just makes sense. We looked at the Lexus LS460, but it felt big, heavy, and was worse to drive than the old LS430; the Lexus had too many features and had millions of buttons. The 2007 BMW 750i had the stupid I-drive and the S550 was too expensive. The A8 is brilliant.

Report Abuse

love my A8L

Steve manuel, 07/27/2016
L quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 6 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Three months with the 07 A8

cctdi, 01/26/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in October last year; after three months I have yet to find a thing that I don’t like, it took me no time to get used to the mmi, and the voice command is very responsive. I got the black/ black in and out which shows the crafty, style and quality more apparent. I like the A8 that much… Now, I am dreaming the S8!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050