Used 2008 Volkswagen Touareg 2 Consumer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
36 reviews
List Price Estimate
$4,760 - $7,462

Used Touareg 2 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
3 out of 5 stars

Maintenance is rough... but Lovely Look and Ride

Heather, 07/28/2015
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
48 of 50 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Touareg used with just 50K miles. I was so impressed by the style, handling and features. I am short, 5' and I can see out of this SUV perfectly. I can get in and out and the seat adjusts wonderfully. It has nice appointments like a sun roof, leather seats, and rear heat and air. All of these bells and whistles; however, are costly to maintain and fix. Let's start with the smaller issues. The headlights frequently go out. They are $25 each and a major pain to install. As soon as I bought the car, it had to have a complete break job. $750. Some more major issues have included the radiator caps breaking and causing leaks and the transmission fluid lines breaking. The most major repair was the Drivetrain which went out at 65K. Had I not had the extended warranty it would have cost between $2,500-$3,000 to fix. Overall I love Volkswagens, and I love this car. My suggestion would be to buy with a warranty. Be aware that the maintenance costs are in line with any premium brand - Audi, Mercedes, BMW.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

No Coincidence!!

TFH, 07/10/2015
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
31 of 33 people found this review helpful

My 2008 Touareg 2 was in excellent condition, well maintained and well within a reasonable amount of miles. Minimum wear and tear. On July 3,2015 at just over 100k the drive shaft broke down!! ! 100k miles I said! Two days prior, I had performed an oil change and service at a local VW dealership located in Charleston SC. At 600 miles over 100k, the car crapped on me. I bought the vehicle used with under 40k miles and in certified pre owned condition(2012). Since then, I have had nothing but headaches and nightmares with what should be considered minor routine maintenance at the VW dealerships. Horn, Side view mirror, wipers, tire pressure sensors, airbag sensors, brakes, tires, headlight bulbs. You will not find a reliable VW dealership capable of servicing these basic needs. And if you do, prepare to spend and arm and a leg and tremendous amounts of time waiting! I have filed several claims with VW America who by the way in my opinion does a poor job standing behind their product. By the time I was finished cursing and screaming at anyone who came across my path, I was told the repairs would cost $1500.00 to repair. Remember now, the drivetrain warranty expired at 100k miles! A really hard and expensive reality to face. What to do? What places the mind goes when coincidence's like these occur unexpectedly. On top of no sense of urgency from the people who manufacture the product. Looking back on my experiences, I would advise anyone considering this vehicle to purchase as close to new as possible, if not, purchase the extended warranty. Other than that, find a German car specialist who has experience with these type of vehicles. I regret getting rid of my Touareg in many ways however, the quality of the vehicle is undermined by both the dealerships inability to service and the manufacturer!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Beware the total cost of ownership!

jtmke, 01/16/2011
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

I have driven my Toureg for 39 months and 39K miles. The only reliability issue I have had has been the tailgate lift. After 36 months, the dealership finally showed me how to reset it myself. I was very disappointed by the $1k brake job and $600 tire replacement at 25K miles. This made my "affordable" lease payment not so affordable. I wasn't really expecting to put any maintenance costs into it for the first three years. I have loved driving this car. The base T2 is very nicely loaded, but I am happy to turn it in before anything else wears out. I will be switching to something with lower maintenance costs.

Report Abuse

4.25 out of 5 stars

Fun "Mom" Car

OnlyGerman4Me, 06/27/2010
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

I drove an Audi TT prior to purchasing my Touareg, but once I decided to start a family I knew it was time to say good-bye. Coming from such a fun, sporty car, not just any replacement would do. I wanted something attractive with great handling and good acceleration. I also wanted some FEATURES. My Touareg has not disappointed. Any time I need a little extra power, I just throw her into Sport and take off. Is she as fast as my TT? No, but I don't expect that out of a SUV. The dropoff is not as significant as what I experienced when I test drove the Audi Q7. 2 years in, I have had no problems with the car at all. I just take it in every 10K miles for scheduled maintenance.

Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Made a bad choice

Dave H, 09/09/2015
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
21 of 25 people found this review helpful

Purchased the vehicle with 80,000 miles on the odometer. Drove off the lot and the next morning discovered a problem. After the car sits for an hour or more when you starting and put it into into gear the car rough idles and jerks. I took the car back to the local VW dealer where I bought it. The first repair attempt took 3 weeks because the dealer had now idea what the cause of the problem was. They called the VW corporate tech support who told them to replace some part. Did not solve the problem, but I got to pay $650 for the attempted repair. The car is back in the shop (1 week now). They still have no idea.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Mike, 08/19/2008
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Amazing on road and off road: This is truly a hidden secret from the American public. A true road car in the German tradition plus a beast off road. This midsize suv is the weight of a full size American truck. The 6 cylinder is reasonable power for all duties and will politely utilize 19.7 MPG on the highway at plus 65 MPH. Giving in to conservation you can get 21 MPG easily. The off road ride quality is one of the best. Trim and finish are what you expect in a fine German product. This suv is a dressed down Porche "C" not a dressed up Toyota. It is too much suv for the grocery but the right choice for the professional who has business off road as in RE development, engineering etc.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

We love our new Touareg!

TTpilot, 11/11/2008
V8 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

We were looking at the Nissan Murano and Lincoln MKX before picking up our Touareg at a staggering discount in October. (Basically, we got a brand-new loaded V8 Touareg for the price of a medium-level Murano AWD or MKX AWD.) The interior quality is first-rate, with high quality materials, and fit and finish that is really precise. The sound system produces very clear, crisp sound. The Touareg drives very comfortably and smoothly, and steers precisely. It's a vast improvement over the 1997 Chevy Tahoe we bought it to replace. The earlier Touaregs had a reputation for mediocre reliability, especially with the electrical system, so I'm hoping VW fixed the problems with this updated Touareg 2.

Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

Should be better for the money

loreleipta, 02/26/2010
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Traded a Durango for this. At first, I really enjoyed the Treg, but now extremely disappointed. Every week a new dysfunctional symptom appears. Sometimes the push button start doesn't work, the lift gait doesn't open or won't close, the transmission downshifts very hard, on and on. Took to the dealership with a diary of the problems but was told the problems couldn't be duplicated. Had to replace the tires under 20k miles with no help from VW of America. Are Pirelli tires really that cheap?! Felt the warranty should have covered part of the replacement. I have started comparing vehicles to trade the VW. Can't wait for it to go!!

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

LessthandependableVW

Bill, 01/27/2010
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought this VW used w/14k miles on it.That low mileage should have made the alarm go off, but I "assumed" the low mpg rating was the reason for the early trade-in.The first item was an engine hesitation from a cold start.Three trips to the dealer and a power pack was finally replaced. Then the first time I needed the AWD to get thru some snow/ice for work, the alternator went out (23K miles).Of course VW doesn't have repair parts in the US, so I had to wait 10 days for the alternator (actually a generator) to be shipped from Germany. I was given a rental car (Toyota Corolla) to drive. I guess they wanted to make sure I could get back to the dealer's. And I replaced the tires at 21K.

Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

get something else

omg, 10/24/2010
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

first of all i had to change brakes at 16000 miles .the 19" tires stink, i blew 2 of them already.had timing chain replaced at 22000 miles

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Amazing Treg

Vorsprung, 10/08/2008
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

An amazing ride. Pick up, even on the V6, is fast & amazingly smooth. The lines are beautiful yet beefy, seriously fat tires without upgrading to 18 or 19 inch wheels. The lux package is a must, lights that turn with the wheels, side headlamp spots that turn on when turning left or right. The interior is just like Emirate Airways, or Virgin Atlantic Upper Class. The double french stitching, ambient lighting, the texture of the leather dash, walnut and brushed metal trim, the stereo system, lumbar supported seats, deep window sills make driving a pleasure again. This is an utterly awesome car, you really have to test drive one to fully appreciate it, do it at night, you'll be truly blown away!

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Not a luxury car

Jeff VW, 01/03/2009
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I had owned two passats prior to this. Both were great. I thought I would get the same experience with the Touareg. Not exactly... I have not had any major failures. However, many cosmetic parts are not put together and have had to be repaired over the past year. The dealerships treats you the same whether your leasing a bug or treg. Not cool. Summit VW is great for service not for sales. You have to piece together a complete dealership. Either they service the low end and you get a good deal. Or, they service the high end..no price movement but excellent service.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

A Great One

Y, 06/15/2009
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Overall the vehicle is great. Very well designed from inside to outside. VR6 gives enough power already, the handling is fine too. Performance is great in the snow. Feels very safe and comfortable when driving. The fuel economy is ok considering the huge weight. Might consider TDI if buying this year, though...

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Best for 2008

jjmky, 09/27/2007
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 2000 Passat for this new guy. The V6 engine in the Touareg 2 gives it plenty of punch and reasonable gas mileage, especially considering the vehicle's weight. With weight though, comes safety. The list of standard features is enormous; I only had to add one or two options for it to be the perfect car; a sunroof is standard! The leather seats are very comfortable, and the rest of the cabin is nicely trimmed. The navigation system works great. The Touareg 2 is great for off-roading, and is still agile in city driving. The exterior styling is pretty cool, with the new chrome shield. It makes the vehicle seem a bit more sophisticated and modern, and turns heads.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Midsize Contender

Doug, 11/27/2007
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

After looking at Lexus, X5, Cayane, MDX, and the Audi. The Touareg is the smartest choice! VW did the right thing on adding the much needed horse power to the SUV, and the interior is nice and functional. VW is great but I would recommed the extended if you will keep for more than 5 years.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

One of The BEST

Kazi Gaos, 01/16/2009
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am owner of this car for five months and tell you the truth it is an amazing SUV. Car is strong, stylish and Awesome. When you are driving the car off road ... this is the car you want. Much more safer than the other suv's.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

My T2 1 year review

c thelen, 09/01/2009
V8 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Had my t2 for about a year now. This is my first suv and I am very pleased so far. The car handles very well and the drive is very comfortable. My friends are impressed by the handeling and I love the interior design. I have the tan interior with dark Grey exterior. The car still looks and and drives like it just left the show room after about 12,000 miles. Also love the overal size and dimentions of the car. Love the width of the hood.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

A great non-grocery getter

2VT6, 02/06/2010
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is a great SUV but it is not your typical soccer mom grocery getter. Volkswagen designed this to be one of the best off-roaders in the world, while providing exceptional comfort on the road. The 4x4 system is unmatched by anyone in its class and it WILL get you there and back in comfort. This is also one of the safest SUVs on the market. It is over engineered through and through. It may not be the roomiest, cheapest or most readily available but that is not what its built for. Get a Suburban for that. The Touareg mixes a blend of comfort, high class quality, luxury and unmatched off road prowess that very few SUVs on the road even come close.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

better than cayenne

gtnoe, 03/20/2010
V8 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Puts a smile on my face everytime I get in it, especially at night. Sold a 2004 v8 cayenne loaded to buy this. Maybe the only vehicle available that has a center and rear differential and can operate in 22" of water. The key to this suv is, that like a Porsche, it has true dual air in and out. Quieter than cayenne and exterior looks better.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

LuvMy2008Touareg

BestSUV, 04/15/2010
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I enjoy my Touareg because it the easiest SUV that I've ever driven. It actually drives like a sedan. No other SUV that I've ever driven compares to my 2008 Touareg. Handling both on and off road is superb. Can't wait for the next model.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Great suv to have

Fred, 02/29/2008
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I test drove Touareg 2, Volvo XC90, and other SUVs, Touareg is really fun to drive. I wanted to buy the V8 model in the beginning, however after I tried VR6, I found its performance is amazing even on the high way. It's also very easy to control, even at the sharp corner. It consumes gas a lot, but remember, this is a 5000+ lbs solid suv, not a 1500 lbs hybrid japanese car. It's a must to test drive suv.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best Powerfull SUV

Luis Hernandez, 05/16/2018
V10 TDI 4dr SUV AWD (4.9L 10cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

An amazing SUV, V10 super powerfull excellent handling, I love my Greg.

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Great SUV, most of the time!

Jonathan, 07/13/2009
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Very fun to drive. This vehicle is rock solid! Love the safety features and excellent ride. Don't waste money on the V8, the V6 runs fantastic. Interior gadgets make trips even more enjoyable. Some bad: VW should put on much better tires than the Pirelli Scorpion. Road noise is completely unacceptable when the vehicle approaches the 20K mark. Watch for transmission problems. The first time it was a electrical sensor that prevented the car from upshifting from 1st. It took the dealer a week to figure that one out. The next was a rubber bushing on the drive shaft failed causing the car to vibrate extensively upon acceleration.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

My best SUV yet!

Alex, 12/13/2007
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have owned several SUVs, Honda CR-V, Jeep Liberty, Nissan Murano and the Touareg is the best SUV I have owned so far. The 3.6L engine works fine even if we wish it had just a little more power and the 6 speed automatic is a charm. The back is roomier than the Jeep Grand Cherooke. When I purchased this vehicle, I was also considering the Honda Pilot, Jeep GC, Porsche Cayenne, BMW X3. I finally opted for the touareg because it's fun to drive, the 4WD is phenomenal in snow and the back window is straight so you don't loose 50% of the trunk space with the back window that is at a 45 degreee angle.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

VW review

VW Driver, 11/20/2009
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Saddened to write this: Potential buyers beware, dont let the streamlined good looks of this car fool you; its not as fun to own as one would think. For starters, insufficient interior storage- be it for your cell, sunglasses or misc supplies (definitely not a mom friendly car). The owners manual is HUGE, poorly written and time consuming to find what you are looking for and you will be looking. And it lacks basic answers. "Warning" lights are a constant. Needed new brake pads at 12k miles- $600 bucks! An oil change is $100+ and gas, OMG! Also, this car is not intuitive- things are not where they should be and I find driving it annoying on most days. I SO wanted to love this car...but DON'T!

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

My 5th VW

Love this VW!!, 11/20/2008
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan of VW. This is actually my 2nd touareg and my fifth VW. I owned an 04'also. My first had the four corner suspension which I miss terribly. So I would suggest that option for sure. I love the in and exterior. Its super comfortable. I considered the Audi q7 and the touareg is a better buy if your not obsessed with a name. I do have a few negatives. Its got a higher price tag than others in its category. I'm at 3100 miles and the back seat latches are squeaking which is driving me nuts. The power rear liftgate is great but I have come out to the car and the damn thing is wide open so watch the button on your key. Leatherette on a 40k is not acceptable! Leather should be standard.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

VW Touareg is a terrific vehicle

HappyVWowner, 07/26/2009
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I test drove 10 SUV's Nissan, Cadillac, Lexus, Mercedes, Volvo, Buick,Honda, Acura,Infinity and then I went to Vw to take them off my list. I fell in love with the ride, the ammenities, the style, and over all performance and stopped at that point and purchased my Touareg. I have owned it for 6 months and I LOVE my Touareg. 73% of the parta are the same a s the Porsche Cayenne but the Touareg is less $$ I like it's style better. Never been happier with a vehicle. My last SUV was a Mercedes ML 350 and I hated that vehicle it was always in for repairs. I'm so impressed with VW I don't think I'll ever get anything other than a VW in the future.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Fun SUV

kw27, 09/03/2007
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After looking at the ML, X5, and XC90, the Touareg proves to be the best value. Performance is equal or better than competitors, not to mention the top-notch build quality and great looks.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Lives up to expectations

Beefoe, 10/13/2007
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have driven my Touareg 2 around 2500 miles, mostly highway, and I'm very happy with the car. It has plenty of power and unless you're towing a boat, you probably don't need the V8. Styling is great, interior is clean and functional and overall fit and finish are flawless. Gas mileage has been 19-20 and 26 gallon gas tank comes in handy. Ride is very much softer than other SUVs I've had (Pathfinder, Rodeo) and certainly much softer than my A4 so if you're expecting a tight German ride you won't get it in a Touareg. Power steering is kind of overpowered, like a Ford pick-up, but I think they do this for off-road capabilities. If this is going to bug you, maybe look at the Cayenne.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Great purchase but a few issues

gtopaul, 08/02/2021
V8 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I was looking at a BMW X3 or X5, used, for my next purchase but all that I looked at in my price range were either unmaintained, or had serious issues. Airbag recalls on the X5 when no replacement airbags available. Just happened to look at this 2008 Touareg V8 on the lot and gave it a test drive and boy was I surprised. All the build quality of a BMW or Mercedes and enough horsepower (350hp) to keep me interested. It was a one owner lady owned vehicle with spotless dealer maintenance history since day one. 92k miles on the clock and just had it's 90k mile service. Made the dealer an offer and drove it home the next week. I've had it five years now and the only thing I would consider a warning is the headlight wiring within the headlight units. The wiring was disintegrating and had mostly bare wire and certainly a fire hazard. I replaced both headlight with new Hella (VW) units. The vehicle is a pleasure to drive even at almost 6k lbs. The V8 engine has all the power you could want but the best I've gotten on the highway is 19mpg. Not a surprise but ok for my needs. The factory 19" wheels limit the tire choices available so I upgraded to a set of Touareg 20" wheels. Better tire choices and less costly. Mine is a fairly basic model but has a great sound system and a very high quality leather interior. Very happy with it.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

Very poor gas efficiency

bochencz, 07/21/2012
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 28 people found this review helpful

If you want to live at the gas station, go and get VW Touareg. Very poor poor poor gasoline efficiency. I don't recommend this car to anybody. It's not worth money you paid.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Great SUV for your money

harumy k, 08/20/2007
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 19 people found this review helpful

I had been looking around for an SUV since May 2007. I was looking for reliable SUV, preferably a hybrid since you get more miles for your money. I went to check out the Lexus RX 450, Toyota Highlander and the Touareg2. Since I previously had owned an ’03 Jetta and since I never had any problems with the car, I thought of checking out the Volkswagen Touareg2. As soon I sat in the SUV, I knew it was the one for me. It was very comfortable inside and I loved how the outside looked. Compared to the other SUVs in the market, this one had more room inside and I felt safe.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Love this SUV

Susan, 06/04/2008
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I looked at several other SUVs and this was the best buy without a doubt. I love it, it is fun to drive and I am impressed with the fuel economy.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

2008 Touareg 2

TOUAREG, 08/08/2008
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my touareg. However at the countryside dealership, the service has been horrible! I could not believe how rude some of the customer service people have been. I wish I had bought the suv at some other place. I have had problems with the fuel gauge, the seat belt cracked piece broke off. So far. However, my friend told me once you buy a German or Japanese vehicle you will never go back to anything else. I got the fully loaded v6 edition. Thanks to edmunds, I got the touareg at cost. The ride is smooth I have the Sirius radio and is the best option ever.

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

Tire wear

da fonz, 09/30/2008
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Be prepared to replace the tires on this vehicle approximately every 20,000 miles due to the weight of the vehicle and possibly to its design. Volkswagen however does not bear any responsibility for the unusual tire (camber) wear.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

2008 touareg purchased used 2011

roger c tucker, 09/05/2019
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Almost from the start after purchase at 42k miles car jerks at takeoff at times unpredictable at times and can totally stop at times putting you out in traffic. Car now has around 74k miles on it still does what it has always done and you have to drive it knowing it reactions. spoke to VW of America and they approved trying plugs and timing to no avail. Dealer spoke to VW engineering and they had known of problem but had no fix and still do not and will not admit their is a problem. So if there is an accident due to this ongoing problem then they will know it. I stlil have an open ticket thru VW of America and have kept all receipts. Vehicle is still a good vehicle to me and have lost so much money as to depreciation, I am riding it out for now.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050