Used 2011 Volkswagen Tiguan Consumer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
34 reviews
List Price Range
$7,995 - $12,000

Used Tiguan for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Love it

stavrosk, 04/28/2011
SEL 4Motion SUV AWD w/Prem Nav, Dynaudio (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

I have my white SEL now for 4 months with 4000miles. It is really excellent from every aspect. Friends and colleagues that have riden with me were amazed about the sunroof and the quality of the interior. It is really a high end SUV. Driving and handling is also amazing. Maybe a little bit delayed response on the gas until the turbo kicks in, but on the other hand I have not really tried to drive it with the stick on the S position. The only complain really is that I do not get anywhere near the promised consumption, usually average about 3mpg less than what is advertised for city and highway. Just wish VW would bring the turbo diesel in the US.

Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

Safest car you can buy

Paul, 11/30/2010
SE 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

This is actually the second Tiguan we've bought in 4 months. The first was totaled with a head on 45 mph crash with a vehicle twice its size. We survived because the crash cage is 3.9 times that of the federal safety standards according to the police officer. Hence when it came to a replacement, it was this, the Volvo XC60 (or if we could wait for it Saab 94X). We chose the Tiguan as its more fun to drive than the XC60, has a nice interior, and although the ride can be firm (along with the seats). It eats through the miles quickly. The interior is slightly different to the 2010 model. I prefer the old steering wheel controls and stick shift, but ipod/phone integration is a lot better.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Excellent Choice

M Webber, 11/20/2010
S 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
28 of 30 people found this review helpful

have about 1200 miles on the Tiguan so far. i looked at CRV, RAV4 as well before buying. the RAV was too "loose" in driving, and the honda was nice, but the Tiguan is a lot more fun, and tigher (great german engineering )to drive. Dealership was amazingly easy to deal with in Belleve WA.

Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

Love it!

rufus, 09/11/2010
SE 4dr SUV w/Sunroof, Navigation (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

Having driven a mini cooper S for the past five years, I was dreading the thought of driving something even as big as a crossover. However, the Tiguan feels almost as sporty as my mini. The handling is terrific! In my comparison shopping, I didn't find anything else in the crossover segment that compares to the interior quality and zippy nature of the Tiguan. Get it.

Report Abuse

3.13 out of 5 stars

Air Condition

dn5053, 07/16/2011
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

The German engineering on the air conditioning has a lot to be desired at 90 degrees and up - very inadequate!

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

It is spacious inside!

Anna, 09/14/2010
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

For a long time, I didn't think this car would offer enough space, so I didn't bother to look at it. I considered Subaru Outback, Volvo, and simply did not bother to check what this car has to offer. Turned out, it was just what I needed! Rear seats slide forward to offer more cargo space, the leatherette trim is easy to clean and didn't cost any extra (for 2011 model), the AWD is just fantastic. The car drives like butter, and is quiet. My previous Jetta was just the opposite. Lots of annoying, unnecessary beeping sounds. The Tiguan is smarter, it knows not to beep when I unbuckle on a parking lot! And for all the moms out there - there is plenty of space

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

joefrank64k, 11/18/2010
SEL 4Motion SUV AWD w/Prem Nav, Dynaudio (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I was looking to downsize from my Audi Q7, but I really grew to dislike the MMI interface for the radio/nav, so that ruled out the Q5 as well as the BMW X3, with it's similar iDrive interface. I saw the Tiguan at the LA Auto Show last year and really liked the interior, both the layout and touchscreen nav. I had heard that the 2011 was going to have some updated features so I waited, and I am so glad that I did! I love this SUV...roomy, quiet, great tech that's so much easier to use than the Q7, the interior build quality is easily on-par with Audi.

Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

Do Not Buy This Car!!!!

ronanjryder, 01/21/2021
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD w/Sunroof, Navigation (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I don't know what these other reviews are talking about, but this car literally is a disaster waiting to happen. I was gifted this car used for Christmas from my parents (very sweet), to bad they were handing me a ticking time bomb and didn't know it. The person before had put about 30,000 miles on it from 2011-2016 AND it was serviced on the very day it was supposed to be every single time. Yay for responsible people. Everything is fine w/ it until around 95,000 miles, apparently this is the death number for Tiguans, and then boom, the car turns into a Michael Bay-esque nightmare. The electrics of the car went haywire, the cog-spring in the steering wheel tripped something and that sent the car into a round of hysterics, then the timing belt blew, then the cylinders had carbon build up, and then turbo went out. At one point it died on the freeway and I limped it to a taqueria. Not to mention the window stopped rolling up on the drivers side, the sun roof cover thingy jammed, and my cousin and I spent an afternoon trying to get it unjammed - huge waste of time. Then there was one day where it decided it wasn't going over 25 mph... I thought I just got a lemon at first, but then I was informed from multiple parties that Tiguans do this... after they get over 95 thousand miles they die over the course of time and make life miserable. Finally, the EPC light went on (Epically Poised for Catastrophe light, as I call it) and it officially died (aka it needed a new engine, another new turbo, and a new timing belt), and I am now driving my cousin's car. And perhaps I live in some diabolical alternate universe, because I am driving another Tiguan (2012), and shockingly enough, this car is having the same exact problems. So yeah, it's not my driving, or the fact that I got a lemon, or two, it's this car!! Do NOT buy this car if you plan to drive it over 94 thousand miles. Anyways, off to buy a new car.

Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

2011 VW Tiguan SE - Fits the big and tall!

thegrick, 03/24/2011
SE 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
15 of 17 people found this review helpful

I just leased my 2011 Tiguan SE last week after many months of deliberation. First off, I am 6'5", so that basically eliminates 40% of all cars right off the bat. The Tiguan has more than enough leg and head room for me, and someone can realistically fit behind me when my seat is all the way back. That puts the car at an A for driver and passenger comfort. Also, when you are in the Tiguan, you absolutely know that you are driving a European auto...the way it handles, the solid build quality all around, and the feel of complete control over the road. Overall, VW put a huge emphasis on attention to detail with this vehicle; every function is useful and well thought out. Great interior!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

best in class of small SUV's

docbeaumont, 12/31/2010
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

my not so old explorer died suddenly and we had no option than getting a new car. contrary to their ad, fords escape was a bare bone for 400 lease, plus "some other"....rav 4 is nice but quite "wild" and my wife got scared to drive it...nice car if you are into something with bigger trunk. by chance we got to service our jetta and while waiting i have discussed with the sales person....again true as advertised, sam e as 3 years ago with our jetta. they matched toyota price of a car that is immensly more mature and settled. it is a joy to drive it and the satndard looks like an audi class....driving is unbelieveble, you can turn it almost on the spot, sprints into hwy fabulous. benchmark SUV

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050