Used 2008 Volkswagen New Beetle Consumer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
28 reviews
List Price Range
$5,900 - $9,317

Used New Beetle for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
2.25 out of 5 stars

Got a Smoking Hot Deal!!

karinalynne, 01/05/2014
S 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought this car less than a month ago, the second day I drove it, it stalled out at an intersection and I had to have it towed back to the dealership (burnt a coil and blew a fuse). Within a week later, the same thing happened again and again. Finally had to take it to a mechanic, said all 5 coils and spark plugs needed to be replaced. A week after that, I decided to just trade it in for something more reliable. On the way to the dealership, it stalled, started smoking and then caught on fire. It is now totaled and it is the worst car I have ever purchased. Save your time, its a cute car, but its NOT worth it.

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Steer Away If You Want a Safe Car

Hayley, 08/24/2015
Black Tie Edition 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
15 of 21 people found this review helpful

I am 19 years old and received this car as a birthday present less than 2 years ago, the car seemed great at first running fantastically until small little headaches started happening. First it was my keys getting stuck in the ignition when trying to turn the car off, i couldn't even go to class that day because i couldn't turn the car off. Then it was the multiple windows breaking in the car that would go down but then not come up (driver, passenger side, and driver's back window). The car did fairly well in the snow, coming from Connecticut we get our fair share- the car has good control but there's absolutely no weight to the car so i found myself skidding and struggling to get up hills. My last experience with this car was the accident i got in it about a week ago. I rear ended the back of a pick up truck on the highway going 40 miles per hour, easy to say my car was totaled. It was a horrifying experience because i felt no security in the car whatsoever when getting into the accident, there's so little to the car if i hit any harder the entire front of my car would've been gone probably. It's a cute, fun summer car that's nice to drive around if you live in the right conditions. But please take this from me, if you're considering buying your child this car, PLEASE look into better safety features. This car has absolutely no protection to it if you were to get in a serious accident.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

The Volkswagen Co. Not What It Used To Be

George Lafont, 10/17/2008
S 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Day one from picking up the car from the dealer the handbrake came off when I parked. The car doesn't feel at all like a German car, in fact it feels like it's coming apart. About 2 months later on my way home (45 min. commute) on a very hot Summer day, the underneath engine cover came loose fell off and broke into many pieces. When I took it to the dealer, they accused me of running into something and refused to fix it. The service manager even went through the trouble of fabricating a story that I ran over a parking turtarrier with a piece of rebar sticking out tearing the cover off and again refused. Both their customer service and chairman of the board also refused to help

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Great Time Travel

OBX NC, 01/02/2009
S 2dr Convertible (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Love the car, brings back super memories, makes the day fun and exciting. . My fuel mileage averages 25-29 mpg without pampering. Have owned a Miata, will take the Beetle any day,anytime.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

2008 New Beetle Conv

airbornediver, 11/09/2007
SE PZEV 2dr Convertible (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I traded a 2004 VW Touareg for this conv. I love my new Beetle. I got the triple black model. It gets attention everywhere I go. The 150 HP engine has enough juice to move. It would be nice if they had a turbo. Maybe they will come out with a sport model. I miss all the comfort features that the Touareg had. Power seats and lumbar would be nice. Also a nav system. I ride hard all the time so fuel economy is not the best. No this car is lots of fun to drive. It beats my Touareg in that department. Having a rag top is awesome. That is the main reason why I got my new convertible. It needs some nicer wheels. I'll be investing in some chrome wheels soon to bring out the bold looks on this bug!

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page: