Used 2010 Volkswagen GTI Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
70 reviews
List Price Range
$7,719 - $13,695

Used GTI for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.63 out of 5 stars

All I can say

jmroberts1, 02/14/2012
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

After owning this car for two years with absolutely no problems I am happy! I am a very satisfied with my 2010 GTI 2 door. Pretty much a base model with the dsg transmission. 35000 miles later and I am now a VW convert, I bought this as an emotional buy knowing VW's hit or miss reliability. The fit and finish is second to none and I have still not heard any unexplained rattles. Mileage has been outstanding, 32.1 overall with about 85 % being highway miles. I can get about 37 to 39 MPG's highway when I do 60 consistently and high 20's around town. Fun to drive factor is great, power is always on tap with minimal turbo lag. It handles well for fwd. Highly recommend!!!!!

Report Abuse

4.25 out of 5 stars

One Year Later--grin still plastered on face.

mjjackson76, 01/06/2011
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I've had my GTI (4dr, manual, 18s) for just over a year, and I'm still enamored with the car. It's solid, speedy, handles amazingly well. Yes, could use more power, but I don't need it. Handling is what makes the car so fun. Ride is a bit harsh on bad pavement, but who cares? Buy a couch on wheels if you so desire. Stereo is fantastic but touchscreen is difficult while driving, shifter precise, engine note perfectly tuned and gas mileage good on the highway--26-28mpg on spririted freeway stints at 90mph; 33 best; 13 in city worst. Two issues: brake pad came apart at 4000 miles; rattles from pas. b-pillar at 8800 miles. No big deal--all replaced under warranty quickly. Can't wait for R20.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

What a car!

cobraboy1, 12/02/2012
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

Wow, this car is totally amazing! I spent 3months test driving all different cars in the class, bordering the class, and in classes above and beneath just to narrow down everything. In the end I decided on the Certified Pre-Owned 2010 VW GTI, which I bought for 19.5k with just 16k miles on the clock. The top three for me were, in the end, the GTI, Mazdaspeed 3, and the WRX Hatch. Third place was the WRX because while I loved the AWD and the power. I really didn't like the price, nobody orders the base models. the Speed3 was close but didn't have the refinement of the GTI.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

One HOT little number!

Dustin, 12/28/2015
PZEV 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this GTI about a year and a half ago with 55,000 miles on it. I have done some scheduled maintenance at low costs by myself. Fantastic fun and absolutely no problems at all. I have put 15,000 on it already. This was not my dream car but it's all you need under buget. Vw GTI owner for life. You will not be disappointed, and everyone will notice you in your 6 year old car:))

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

Refined Gem

vw_gti, 03/27/2011
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

The GTI is easily the best combination of refinement, speed, value, and driving pleasure on the market. I cross-shopped the car with various others and the GTI was the winner with the closest runner-ups being the BMW 328i and the Mini Cooper. I honestly don't think the GTI competes against the various Japanese cars (i.e. Civic Si, WRX, Evo) because of its level of refinement. No, it's not as fast as the WRX or the Evo, but it provides a level of refinement and all-around usability that both of those toys can't match. It's less isolated than the luxury cars but is still blessed with a remarkably high-class interior that should be the envy of most entry-luxury drivers.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Spent half my $50K car budget

milleman, 03/10/2011
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
11 of 15 people found this review helpful

I had spent a year test driving 20 cars over 1000mi to decide on the car that would last me the 20yrs my last car did, a VW Corrado. Life's too short to keep driving VWs, but the final shootouts for months were between the '10 GTI and different flavors of 1 and 3 series BMW coupes. I was not cross-shopping any of the Japanese "hot hatches".

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

50 more horses please, no problem!

dsatl, 08/30/2010
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I love everything about this car except that it needs more power. Well, I found out, before I bought it, that you can get a software reflash that ups the turbo boost to 19 PSI instead of 10 PSI and you get 54 hp and 80 lp-ft of torque. All this is from a company that works directly with VAG (VW of America) and develops racing concepts for them. All this is safe for the car, but dealers don't really like you to do it for obvious reasons. The car now runs 0-60 in 5.8 instead of 6.6. It's a monster and that's why I bought it. It also has a stealth mode for when you bring it into the dealer.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The Best GTI in Years

Ian, 12/01/2009
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my third GTI(still own my MKI, sold my MKIV), this car is exactly what the GTI should be. The MKVI GTI is fun to drive anywhere, easy to use as a daily commuter, a blast to use in the mountains, excellent compromise between performance and gas mileage. Interior amenities are excellent, touchscreen stereo is awesome, stick shift is smooth and feels comfortable in your hand. Lateral support is top notch in a car that urges you to rip it through corners, and once you do, the XDS makes you feel like a pro coming out of them. Not sure why so many people fear VW reliability, I’ve driven them for years and never had any major issues, must be lucky.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best car for the money

H-DUB, 06/12/2010
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

As I get older, I place a lot more emphasis on value. In terms of what I value, I wanted economy, acceleration, utility, and styling. In my opinion, there is not another car that can beat the GTI. When I did my research, the two most important criteria were gas mileage and acceleration. So I came up with my own measure, which was average gas mileage divided by the 0 to 60 time. The GTI was far away the best performer in that measure. I've owned BMWs exclusively up until this purchase. I've got to say that I enjoy driving this car more than any of my previous 7 BMWs. I've had this car for a month now and still can't get over the great VALUE.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Obsessed with my car

npsgti, 01/28/2011
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Got this car CPO with 9k miles on it a month and a half ago and have put about a thousand miles on it since. This car is incredible. I was in a Mazda3 for a while before this car and this car just blows it away on every level. Interior is high quality on par with Audi etc. Excellent touch screen stereo and iPod interface with a very high attention to detail from the leather wrapped flat bottom steering wheel to the subtle red stitching throughout. Very comfortable seats etc. The engine (2liter turbo) coupled with 6 speed manual (how could you get the DSG??) is a dream. Seemingly bottomless torque and plenty of power when I need it with a nice exhaust sound. Excellent exterior design. Grade A

Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page:
51050