Used 1998 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class Consumer Reviews

List Price
$8,995

Used SL-Class for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

MB's Finest!

MThompson, 12/04/2007
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

This is the first Mercedes I have owned and I do not believe I will ever own another type of vehicle. Both interior and exterior design are excellent and the overall quality is exceptional. The handling and reliability far exceed any expectations. This is a true driver's car! Definitely worth the price! This car is rock solid - built like a tank but handles like a sports car - feels very safe. The mechanics of the soft- top and ease with getting the hard-top in place are a true testimate to Mercedes fine engineering capabilities.

Report Abuse

My SL500 is my baby!

jmarichard@yahoo.com, 12/22/2015
SL500 2dr Convertible
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car since 2001 and I can say that it is still a thrill to drive every time I get behind the wheel. This car has been super reliable and almost maintenance free. Just regular care as you would do with any car, and no major repairs. She has a little over 80K miles on her now, and still runs like new. I also own an '06 C55 AMG as my daily driver. Very fast and stiff ride. Also enjoyable, but I would take the SL500 any day, if I had to choose just one. I love how this site has 100% 5 star ratings from owners of this car. I totally understand it too. Cheers!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

LUV this car

Jimbo, 11/03/2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought car 2 years ago with 13,000 miles on odometer. May have paid too much from dealer but what a great car! Knowing repair cost can be expensive I opted for extended warranty-waste of money so far. Great power, smooth ride, classic design, handles well. Probably be buried in this auto.

Report Abuse

You should own a V12 once in your life!

BillC, 08/03/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Just bought this beautiful SL600 Sport, all black. With only 52k miles it drives like a new car! After considerable research, I went with the 48 valve V 12 because the newer bi- turbo versions are much less reliable and have far more plastic. If you drive one, you will fall in love with it. Driving reasonably I am getting 17 mpg with 70% around town, 30% highway, what a nice surprise for a 400 hp V-12. These cars had 1 man who built each engine and the smooth delivery of power has to be felt to be believed. I know they are expensive to repair, the drive is worth it though. Awesome stereo with Sirius radio (highly recommended). Just driving the car feels special.~$125k when new. A bargain now!

Report Abuse

The Best Sports Car I Have Ever Had

John1, 04/02/2002
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

If you want a well built car have is expensive but performs very well this is for you.

Report Abuse

sl500 is a gem, I will forever own one!

troy lair, 07/06/2016
SL500 2dr Convertible
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

These cars are amazing, and to buy one now, you can be sure to get a much better deal than the brand new price tag of $100K. Not alot to warn you about other than you will be at the gas station more frequently than the average car as this baby likes gas a lot. other than that, she is a beaut. for someone like me, 6.4 tall, she can be a bit snug getting in and out of the drivers side, but the passengers side is not a problem at all.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nothing Else Compares, Nothing

John-Rodger, 09/04/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am the original owner of this car, my last SL I kept for 16 yrs; I plan to keep this car, hell I plan to be buried in this car. It is a head turner, a turn taker, nothing is safer. After 10 years I still think 'wow' every time I climb in and crank it up. I don't even look at other cars on the road, and I have owned them all. PS In ten years, aside from regular service the car has been 'in the shop' ONCE

Report Abuse

SL500 SL1 & Panoramic Roof

Barry, 09/17/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I had driven a 1984 380SL for a while in 1987 and fell in love! Fast forward twenty years, and I decided to go with the R129, and 1998 was the last year for the twin cam 48 valve engine, so I looked for the Sport model with a Panoramic roof. Love the car! Very glad I went this route. The hard top still feels more "open" being mostly glass, so winter is less of a drag. I just feel good driving it, anywhere, anytime. I've had a number of nice cars, but the SL is extraordinary in so many ways that I believe I will always want one. My wife and I take trips with our 45 pound Golden Retriever and even she loves it! Service is costly, but not frequent, so I highly recommend this fantastic machine!!!

Report Abuse

not to be missed

Syl Stys, 03/24/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I owned a 1956 190SL while stationed in Germany when I was a much younger man and always wanted another one. Well I couldn't afford that '56 now but the modern engineering, comfort and style of my "new" SL make up for it. Sitting in this one I can see and feel the DNA connection to that beautiful '56. You will not regret owning and driving this masterpiece. Shop wisely, do your homework, then enjoy. Very affordable.

Report Abuse

A SUPER AUTOMOBILE

WIL, 07/14/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is a thrill to drive and it is everything Mercedes says it is. I was very impressed with the power and quick response. If there is any down-side...it would be shoulder/hip room; I am 6'6" about 270lbs and it's just a fit.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050