Used 2002 Lexus SC 430 Consumer Reviews

List Price
$12,900

Used SC 430 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

'02 SC430

jdleroy, 08/23/2014
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
55 of 56 people found this review helpful

Bought the car 1 year ago @ 12 years of age with 100K and loving. All original equipment is still functioning perfectly and car is running strong, with the exception of 3 busted speakers that I replaced.

Report Abuse

great car

Dave Iwinski, 03/07/2016
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

I never keep a new car past 4-5 years. I have owned my 2002 SC430 14 years. I still struggle if I want a convertible again, what is better?? I have pampered it like a baby and it still looks new. If you can find a well kept one, buy it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My fifth one

CHUBBY4323, 03/09/2010
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

I just purchased an 02 SC430 and I am loving it!! Let me start by saying this is my 5th Lexus. I've owned 2 LS400, SC400, GS300 and now this SC430. I had no problem purchasing this vehicle w/98,000 mile on it and it looks brand new. (Garage Kept) The car has had every scheduled maintenance service since the car was purchased. It drives just like the 2010 and I saved thousands.. I've owned many other brands, but Lexus is my favorite. Now that I'm hitting mid life crisis I will stay w/Lexus from here on out!!

Report Abuse

SC 430 ("02")

I.G., 07/16/2010
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

Ok, I've owned this "02" for only about 3 months, but only drives it for weekends only. I also own a "91" LS400 which is still running like new with a 140K plus. The SC is a all that and more from the modern exterior to the flawless interior (except for the cup holder, no biggie). Every time I drive, I'm always stopped to ask whether it's a 2010 or what? This most definitely was ahead of its time for a "02" I'll tell anyone, once you drive a LEXUS, you wouldn't want to drive anything ELSE!

Report Abuse

What a car!

Phillies40, 02/23/2010
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

Just got the car this morning and drove it to work! What a fun drive! Noise is little high but the ride is very smooth! I think I got a great deal for 2002 SC430 with 23000 miles for 25K. Not bad! I love it so far!

Report Abuse

Almost Perfect

Jeff, 01/17/2010
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Love this car. Fast, fun top up or down. Quiet. Bulletproof. Love the exotic wood look of the bird's eye maple. Wish I could add about 100 more horsepower just for fun but then that would be a 911S, wouldn't it? Seriously if you are considering an SC430, it's a great 2 seater with a lot of package room. (Don't think of the rear seats as seats, they are simply insurance lowering devices). The Mark Levinson sound system is the best I've heard in a car. Get rid of the run-flats and put Michelin performance tires on for less road noise. The best compliment that I can give this car is that my next car may be a newer one with 6-speed automatic and satellite radio.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Amy, 12/26/2015
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Bought this car used in 2006 from Lexus dealer. Absolutely love it and looking to sell now that I have to use a car seat for my grandson.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

185,000 - reliable and fun to drive

Steve G, 04/13/2017
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have an ES 330 with 165,000 and love the quiet reliable ride of the Lexus - I took an SC 430 for a test ride and really liked the comfort and power but especially the retractable top. Tires that have worked well are the Bridgestone Turanza Serenity Plus - makes all the difference in the world on the ride and handling - I get compliments all the time! Great car and so fun to drive! Lexus quality and reliability beats BMW hands down. With 178k, drives like new A year later - this car can average 24 mpg or better on the freeway. That’s amazing. I enjoy driving it around town and handles like a dream Take it up a windy hill and absolutely holds the road with power to spare This car is a keeper!

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Dream Car

David A., 10/01/2016
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Just bought a 2002 SC 430. I have been wanting this car every since it came out in the early 2000s, so my review may be a little biased lol. It has high mileage, 218,000 to be exact, but the previous owner has taken meticulous care of the car, and it still looks and drives like its new. With Lexus/Toyota reliability, this car is only at middle age! lol. No, its not a "barn burner".....you wont be able to outrun a corvette at the stoplight, but the V8 is quietly powerful and the power is there when you need it. for me, its definitely a keeper....will run it until the wheels literally fall off. Then I will just replace the wheels and continue on lol. One drawback: I do agree with the other reviewers in reference to the harsh/rough ride due to the run flats....

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Timeless Classic

Timeless Classic, 02/12/2010
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

When a car doesn't change its shape for the first 10 years it tells you something. They got it right the first time. This car gets the same admiring looks as it did in the fall of 2001 when introduced. Its the perfect combo of luxury, style and performance. Its not a pocket rocket but it is a luxury cruiser. You can take a 10 hour trip and not feel fatigued. That cannot be said about too many two seaters. This is one of the sexiest looking cars on the planet. The darker colors like Indigo Blue with saddle are the best looking color combos.

Report Abuse

Close to Perfect

Lexus_B, 06/23/2009
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This Lexus is outstanding. My sc430 handles nice, is comfortable, and is very reliable thus far- all of what you would expect from a Lexus. The hardtop operation is stunning. The luxury appointments are breathtaking. In terms of performance, the car won't blow you away, but the sc430 is adequately powerful and fun to drive. The car also feels very safe and drives very strong in the rain and snow. I immediately changed the run flat tires to Kumo Grand Touring Platinum tires, and the new tires greatly improve the ride, traction, and handling. Even with the new tires, the ride is a bit harsher than I expected for a Lexus. Overall, this car is as close to perfect as you will come for the price.

Report Abuse

A prodigious achievement!

toyotas1, 02/27/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Thank you, Lexus, for bringing 21st century style and luxury to the FULL-SIZE luxury convertible class. The one who compared this to the Audi TT needs to drive BOTH cars before making a fool of himself. Just wish that instead of the fake back seat, we could get a parcel shelf, more front egroom, and a pop-up rollover bar, like the SL. But this car is a stunner, and an incredible value, at over $25k less than an SL, it's onlt real competition.

Report Abuse

Practical, Fun car

Bill, 04/23/2016
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Had this car for 12 years, trouble free, fun. Best car we have ever had. Moving to snow country, not practical, so with sadness, it must go!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car!

Valerie, 05/05/2010
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new in 2002 and have driven it almost 100,000 miles. Still love it. Other than the CD player becoming inexplicably inoperable recently (I spent $800 to replace it), it has never had any major problems. Lexus hasn't changed the body style at all since 2002, so with a recent paint job, the car looks brand new.

Report Abuse

Super Car!

Tim, 06/03/2006
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I drove standard shift sports cars for 17 years prior to getting my SC 430 and was thrilled with the reliability, style, acceleration capability and comfort of the SC 430. A great car that is exceptionally fun to cruise around in with the top down, and a grand road car with it up. However, there are some improvements that can be made.

Report Abuse

Greatest head turner

John, 12/31/2008
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Even though several auto companies are now making hardtop convertibles, people are still amazed whenever the top goes up or down. Great fun to drive especially in sunny California. in 25 seconds the roof is down with the push of a button. Great mix of luxury and sport with the best reliability of any hardtop convertible. If you buy it with runflat tires, immediately change them out and you will find it has the most incredible ride. INCREDIBLE CAR!!

Report Abuse

Purchased with 85,000 miles.

Used 85,000 miles sc, 02/23/2007
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car because I was looking for reliability in a pseudo sports car. I am 50+ and I wanted to gracefully move through midlife crisis in a sporty car. I have owned three Porsches for over 25 years, and then a Mercedes. Since 02 I've owned an Acura TLS. Reliability was one of the major considerations to purchase this car. It's too soon to tell, but for now this Lexus still runs like new.

Report Abuse

The greatest Lexus ever

Ross Doebel, 04/02/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The Lexus SC 430 is one of the best luxury convertables i have ever driven. Top quality build with Lexus reliability!!! A little pricy, but what do you expect from a top of the line Jappanese cars!!!

Report Abuse

Sunshine driving

Pat Griffin, 02/21/2017
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

New rims, new battery. Interior is in excellent condition. Everything works well. Love this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun and finally affordable!

Linda R, 01/06/2019
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Fun little sports car that is becoming more affordable. While it's technology is now dated, it's a fun weekend car. It is SOLID and will last you forever. Back seats were put in to make insurance of vehicle cheaper, but are not usable for people. It does provide added storage over cars with no backseats (ie Miata). So you can stop at the store and get a few things and put them in the back seat. Cup holders are too small for today's fancy bottles and flasks, but there is a cup holder at the end of the armrest that will hold big bottles - just awkward to reach. The leather is wonder and holds up well. Love the wood trim. The navigation door on mine would only open some of the time, but it was too dated to be useful and Lexus was unable to update it. I am sure you could get an aftermarket system to put in. Acceleration isn't fast compared to new turbo vehicles - my Ford Escape accelerates faster! But it's a V8 and brings up nostalgia fun. Handling is great, it sticks to the road and brakes stop it well. Mine rode a bit rough and bumpy compared to my Infiniti SUV, but for the price of a used one, it didn't detract from what a fun little car it is.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Favorite car I've owned!

Jim, 06/18/2019
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've owned MANY cars in the last 30 years, most I bought new. This is the oldest used car I've ever owned by a long stretch. I lusted after this car when it first came out, but there was no way I could afford $65,000 in 2002. I found this low mileage VERY well kept used 2002 in now 2019 and I LOVE it. I grade cars on what they are meant to be and do not compare them to things they are not. This is a luxury, sporty 2 seater (for all practical purposes) convertible. I think it's a beautiful design and has stood the test of time. Reviewers calling it "ugly" is silly to me. Everything is subjective, you can say you THINK it's "ugly" or "beautiful" but saying that it IS something is only your opinion and not an objective review. I read tons of reviews from real owners before I bought this car and hands down the votes are in, owners LOVE it and I'm one of them. The ride is smooth and the seats are beyond comfortable, there is so much noise dampening material in this car and it's design that with the top up you would never know it's also a convertible. That being said it's still amazing with the top down. The 300 HP make it dreamy to drive and the V8 is whisper quiet. It doesn't handle or accelerate like some SPORTS cars its often compared to, but again, apples and oranges. In 2002 technology was not the same as 2019 so dinging the car for not having bluetooth etc. is ridiculous. I replaced the stereo with a Sony apple car play receiver (doesn't even have CD or DVD, who uses those anymore anyway?) for under $300 and it sounds AMAZING using the Mark Levison speakers and amp!!! In a couple of years this car will be considered an auto classic and I'm guessing demand and prices will go way up. You can have Lexus reliability and engineering in a high end luxury convertible for around $14K-$17K, It's a win win in my book!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A GENTLEMAN'S LUXURY RIDE

Larry, 07/26/2019
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Not a sports car as some originally thought. It got bad reviews by those who thought it was. To the contrary, it is a quality, comfortable cruiser. Everything is designed for smooth, quite running. Its modest V-8 is so well done, that you hardly know it's running. One of only 2 cars to have a hard top that folds into the trunk when it was introduced. Its Mark Levinson sound system is one of the best available. It still sounds great after 17 years (door mid-range speaks did need replacing after being stored outside in the Florida heat for 10 years). Never had a single maintenance issue other than routine maintenance with this sweet car. Update as of 1/29/2020: Car still running great with no repairs necessary. Had body painted after being parked outside in direct Florida sun for over 15 years. Paint on sides was still in good shape, but paint on hood, top, and trunk showed fading and lines which the painter told me was normal with the Florida sun. Outside rear view mirrors are spotty from the sun eating off the coating and the rubber door edges at the bottom of the side windows are eaten away a little at the ends, but other than that there is no sign of deterioration. I still love this little gem and it is fun to put the top down into the trunk and buzz the beaches. She's not for sale as I intend to keep her until either her or my wheels fall off.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2002 Lexus SC430

4NBellinghamWA, 12/09/2019
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've had my eye on an SC430 for over a decade. I pulled the trigger. No regrets. Very nice car. Very much a Sport Coup... not a sports car. Think touring. And that is what I desired. I'm interested in comfort, reliability, ride, sound attenuation on tour...not hare-pin curves. Very satisfied.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

What a find

Kurt, 04/16/2020
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I had owned 2 SC400s (loved them) and decided I wanted to try a convertible/hardtop so the natural progression was an SC430. I searched for almost a year for the color combo and low mileage I wanted. Found a 2002 silver over ecru leather in No Carolina in fantastic condition. with full service documentation and only 20,400 miles. Bought for about $19K in 2017, best auto purchase money I ever spent. Have driven for 3 years now and at 58K miles the car just purrs along, solid with top up or down. It is not a "sports car" but for an utterly reliable sport tourer for 2 people and a little luggage it can't be beat and is utterly reliable. No one can believe my car is 18 years old.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

222,500 and Still turning heads...

Ryan C., 10/08/2020
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have owned my 2002 since Aug of that year and it still drives better than BMWs 10 years newer and many of the rental cars (2019s and 2020s) I've driven while traveling. Bottom line is that this car was engineered to perfection as a touring sports convertible. The windows still roll down and up with Zero problem and the engine still is as quiet as the day I bought it. I've done the timing belt twice (3rd one coming soon) and the starter once. That is It. Original everything and to this past weekend, people still take 2nd looks at this car. It is destined to become a classic car and my only wish is that I had lower miles to keep its value but Ive had many a great seasons with this car and glad today to say that it's one of now 2 weekend cars we own. It won't go over 3000 miles a year until whenever it decides it doesn't want to run anymore. That could be a Very long time. 2002, Twilight Amethyst on black interior with 2007 updated wheels. If you don't own one, get one and get one soon. The values are already taking a turn for the UP.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Timeless Luxury & Dependability

Chris Benetos , 03/26/2021
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Aloha, for my 62 Birthday I purchased this Fine Grand Touring Land Yacht. She is certainly not a Sports Car, but She; Lexie is my Beauty's name is a Lady. In my almost fifty years of driving I have owned many vehicles, none has impressed me as much as this car. Granted it's not the quickest or sleekest vehicle out there but still after almost twenty years on the road my 2002 SC 430 in White Gold Crystal turns many a head. I'm still surprised how many people believe she is brand new. I bought it about two months ago from a BMW Dealership here in Kona Hawaii. The dealer explained to me that it had just come back in. It turns out a Gentleman purchased it for his Wife who had difficulty getting in and out of it. She has certainly not ridden in a Miata. I was Blessed to have noticed it during my almost daily, year long search for a convertible. I apparently got bitten by the dreaded Convertible bug when I purchased my Wonderful Wife's 2004 Mazda Miata for her 60th Birthday last year. In the paperwork I received from the dealer was almost all the dealership maintenance records for the car for almost 20 years. I decided to contact the original owner whose name and number was on the first ever maintenance record and the subsequent ones. I'm so Happy I did. John a Japanese Gentleman, explained to me that he purchased the car for his 60th birthday and only traded it in for a vehicle easier for him to get in and out of for his 80th Birthday. In my many years of driving I never wanted a Convertible, and in my past as a New York City Highway Patrolman I didn't trust a Convertible nor SUV's. Funny how our taste changes as we grow more mature and refine ourselves. Every day since I brought Lexie home I have had the top down loving the sun on my face and the wind in my hair. Although it takes me less than ten minutes to go back and forth from work I put the top down. In the morning the weather is usually clear so I know I won't get the interior wet. But around five o'clock I could see the rain clouds rolling in; so I check my home video surveillance cameras to make sure I have clear/dry sailing home. I've never really pampered myself but now every time I get in, strap on the seatbelt and count to 25 while I hold that Convertible top button down I feel a sense of ease and calm. I'm not sure if in my youth I would have appreciated such a body style or luxury but now I absolutely do. I just did something I've never done, purchased after market wheels and had them installed. Gone are; to me the ugly Pizza Pie Plate Dish Silver Rims. I purchased White Rims with Silver accents on the front to match the White and Chrome of the exterior. My next project which again I have never done is to paint the brake calipers, Gold to tie in the Gold flakes of the paint. Then another First for this once poor kid that grew up on welfare and was homeless at times, will be participating in a Car Show with Lexie. Please understand my Wonderful Wife and I are both still working full-time jobs, living paycheck to paycheck and barely making our mortgage at times but still are able to enjoy the fruits of our almost; for me 46 years of full-time employment. Hawaii is expensive, certainly more than places I lived in New York or Sedona Arizona where I moved from, but it's worth it for us especially since my Wonderful Wife's entire biological Family and children from a previous marriage live here: including 14 Grand Children and 3 Great Grand Children. Okay back to the SC430. Every day I see the rental Convertible Camaros, Mustangs and Beemers, but yet have I seen a SC430 unless it's my Chariots reflection. If you have been on the fence about this car just put yourself at ease. I was Blessed to find one with approximately 77k original miles basically with one owner in Pristine Condition for a reasonable price. I've also see many online with well over a 100k that are still on the road. Remember it's a Higher end more refined Toyota which are extremely popular here in Hawaii and are very reliable. If you can Treat Yourself to one of these, eventually they may be collectors cars and don't believe the hype from those that actually did us SC430 enthusiasts a favor by saying the Lexus SC430 is the worst car ever made.... God Bless all who may read this message and your Family's, during this very uncertain Covid situation: there are a few things I know first hand... God is Great and he has Blessed me with a Wonderful Wife, Good Health, Great Furry Children, Nice Home, Good Job and a Beautiful Automobile... amongst the many, many countless Blessings he has bestowed upon me.... Mahalo for your time. ♡

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best car ever!

empty nest momma., 12/29/2008
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I had to drive this car in a massive rain storm while 18 wheelers were pulled over, this car hug the road and never once did i think it would lose control. This car is a head turner and also extremely reliable. I feel certain I can get a couple of hundred thousand miles on it like my other Lexus.

Report Abuse

2002 SC 430

jon, 04/05/2009
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great car, fun to drive, lots of looks. Car has 132,000 miles now. All maintenance preformed by dealer. Drives like a new one. Ave mpg 22 city 26 hwy. Great nav system, stereo.

Report Abuse

Nice Car

bgelso, 04/15/2009
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love my sc430. I bought this vehicle about six months ago with 72K miles from an independent dealership. This Lexus is not as fast as some sports cars, but the luxurious interior, unique exterior, comfortable seats, and retractable hardtop makes up for any shortcomings. I changed the runflats to grand touring "Platinum Kumo All-Season" tires. With the new tires, the traction is greatly improved and the ride quality is slightly improved. Overall, as a used vehicle this car is outstanding given the price, features, and Lexus reliability.

Report Abuse

SC 430

The Haz, 02/12/2008
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Comfortable, quiet luxury grand-touring convertible. Combined city/highway mileage 21.5 mpg. Solid body, no squeaks or rattles. Excellent performance from V-8. Bulletproof reliability. Handling good, but not true sports car handling. Very safe handling and crash protection. Overall a delightful and enjoyable automobile!

Report Abuse

2002 SC430

K Cooper, 01/05/2006
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Acceleration is moderate at first, then strengthens considerably. The ride is very comfortable and the car responds quickly and surely to sudden changes in direction. The hard top convertible is a real plus. Quiet as a coupe when up and very easy to get up or down. Quality is expectional. No repairs needed thru the first 35,000 miles. Maintenance costs are very high if serviced by the dealer. The summer run-flat tires that came with the car were useless in winter, wore out in about 25K miles and were expensive to replace at $300 per tire.

Report Abuse

My First Lexus and First Convertible

LexLaw, 04/12/2006
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

First off I could not have made a better choice. Mine is Indigo Blue w/ Saddle. I've driven various high end cars in my brief life (28) and have never experienced the kind of attention I get when driving my new SC (top up or down). My first Lexus and enjoy the headache free ownership that comes with it. I was previously in a Range Rover, nothing but electrical gremlins among other things. I wanted a MB CLK initially but wisely opted not to go with a softop or it's German Gremlins. I knew coming in that I'd have minimal space and could care less. I don't have any kids so it's just me and my Girlfriend and she loves it. The Interior along with its curb appeal are its best features.

Report Abuse

Does it get any better than this?

aldog, 03/17/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

After owning a CLK 430 and an SL500 I cannot imagine buying anything else.This car is better than the new SL..faster from 0-60,smoother ride..more wood..bigger tires and $25,000 less. Lexus has found a way to take the very best of Jag and Mercedes and make it better.After driving my SC430 now for 3 months,I like it more now than the day I bought it.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive and be in with top down

Marvin Roffman, 05/23/2008
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I just love this car. Fun to drive and is one of the best looking cars on the road. Very high quality.

Report Abuse

bucket list csr

gls1, 01/04/2017
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I now have 51000 miles on the car and still love it. I am battling chf and when I get down , I drop the top and go for a ride. The Mark Leveison sound system is great. Every body calls it the "James Bond" car. Absolutely no problems. In the 7 months I have owned it, I have only seen 2 others so if unique is what you seek, its the car

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nothing but love

SCDVR, 12/07/2008
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car today and am nothing short of ecstatic about this vehicle! It's fast, fun, and looks great. Has one of the most amazing sound systems I've ever heard from the factory. If you're buying and have the choice to get mark levinson upgrade, just do it! You will be very happy with your choice.

Report Abuse

A head turner

eaglesteve43, 07/05/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this car. It is extremely comforable, quick and with the exception of the noise from the run flat tires, it is quiet. Top is amazing and the heads continually turn. Not good for the self conscious driver. Had people chase me to get a better look. Great car for the GT drive who is tired of making compromises and excuses for the discomfort of his sports car. Great mid life crisis toy, with Lexus fabulous quality

Report Abuse

so glad I bought it

oakland_dad, 07/06/2006
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the SC 430 used from the dealer. The car runs great, is comfortable and enjoyable and never breaks down. Tires are expensive though.

Report Abuse

A timeless beauty! Lexus 430

psitzmary, 02/27/2008
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A dream come true! A car that is worth 65k for 33k! Looks great and rides like whipped butter. It's a 2002 & the only difference between the later models are the mileage, price, voice activated nav and the bluetooth. Save yourself thousands, get an early model with low mileage. Get a good earpiece for your cell phone & save. It's the same car though 2002 was the best one, research it! Though I must be practical and balance mileage and gas because of high gas prices for premium, it's totally worth it! When gas is high, ride around town! When gas is lowered, hit the road! You will look good and feel great doing it! I LOVE my Lexus 430!

Report Abuse

SC 430 is a fabulous car!

tmetty, 09/02/2006
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The SC 430 is the most exceptional and fun vehicle I have ever owned. I'm hooked for life!

Report Abuse

SC430

S HARPER, 03/17/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Always draws a crowd. Drives well especially when accelerating through turns. Not really a sports car, but it'll do considering cost to purchase.

Report Abuse

Incredible Car with roof rattles

Chartist10, 03/24/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is so fun and special to drive and everyone is looking at you. Ultimate in luxury. The car, however, suffers from roof liner rattles. The top, itself, is solid. The interior liner of the top, however, is an engineering disaster. The roof liner is a separate piece from the side liners, therefore, as they rub against each other, you get rattles. Believe me, this is a problem that needs to be addressed by Lexus. The "fit" lexus designers must have been absent when this liner was created. However, the car is so special that one can overlook this. Just play that incredible sound system at a resonable level and all will be well!

Report Abuse

Asian answer to European standard

E Beyler, 11/02/2016
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Nice v8 power with great fuel economy. Very stiff chassis for a convertible, no cowl shake. Always a crowd pleaser when lowering / raising the top.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

THE RIDE

greg, 02/10/2018
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

great car and it so fun to drive

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Reliable

gary kolb, 01/08/2019
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

have owned for 15 years with no problems.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lexus SC430

Ron Whitmer, 07/15/2020
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Wonderful and powerful car. Unbelievable for one 18 years old. Fun to drive!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mostly positives, a few negatives

carl lee, 05/27/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I just bought a silver w/ black interior. I have about 1000 mi on it. The negatives are the cup holder is to shallow and drinks can spill out or tip over on turns. I here a metal on metal clink when I go over speed bumps from under the car, dealer said they will fix but thay have not as of yet. Run flat tires are stiff and all road imperfections are transmited to driver and so you feel every bump, pot hole. Otherwise I love the car and am happy I bought it. Very comfortable/

Report Abuse

Almost Perfect!

therocker, 03/17/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Don't be swayed by the low marks some have given to this vehicle. Most are not owners of this car & probably have never been in one, let alone driven one. Few cars on the road that elicit as many stares, thumbs up, cat calls and compliments as this car does. This car is powerful but it is not a true sports car. It has some sports car qualities but it is more of a touring roadster. This car is a super convertible but when the top is up it is a fully functional coupe without any compromising. Ultra luxurious, finest audio system around, 6 cd in-dash changer, best DVD navigation system, ulra-low emissions, smooth ride, quiet and no wind noise with the top down or up.

Report Abuse

LEXUS 430

LINDA BROWN, 07/09/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

PRO'S FAST AND GOOD LOOKING CONS SMALL LOW TO GROUND NO BACK SEAT TOO MUCH MONEY FOR CAR

Report Abuse

They dont make them the way they used to

jambo, 09/16/2002
2dr Convertible (4.3L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 6 people found this review helpful

Lexus cut corners with The switches and controls. They appear to be straight out of a toyota corolla. I think the steering wheel is too. Ride is harsh on the run flats. They last for about 5000 miles and then start rumbling really bad. Paid $1600 for new tires in less then one year of casual driving. Dealer says this is normal. The seat belt position is to low for taller drivers. The 1991 LS 400 we bought new was a much better car. Clearly, corners were cut on this one. I will be getting rid of this car ASAP. Anyone want to buy a Nieman Marcus Silver Belle Edition SC430 with new tires?

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050