Used 2018 Lexus RX 350 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$32,000 - $45,880

Used RX 350 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Nice, comfortable ride with a few minor flaws

AL, 06/25/2018
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
54 of 61 people found this review helpful

Coming from 2016 Accord V6-EX sedan, which is already a very feature packed vehicle, the first impression on 2018 RX 350 AWD is the much smoother and cushy ride. Accord had a very jerky transmission I had to fight with and an aggressive fuel savings (25-35 MPG on Accord vs 15-20 on RX) from which the gear switching and the ride comfort suffered. RX seems to have a much better sound system - at least it has the mids, comfortable and more adjustable seats - compared to the headrest tilting too much forward, and a large 12 inch entertainment screen (comes with NAV) - though it is not a touch screen and the controls are awkward and sluggish as compared to the touch screen and nearly perfect integration with smartphones as well as fast response time on the Accord. RX has a much larger and versatile storage / hauling capabilities, although the two are not in the same category. Looking further, the RX has a working Sport mode, where on the Accord the sport mode seems to ride two gears down from where it is supposed to be - driving at 4-5k RPM at 40-60mph makes one look like an idiot on the Accord. The Accord seems to have better dash and door materials and they are not as marr prone as on RX where after a week you can definatelly notice dust and smudges in places you touched them with your hands. No wonder my neighbors are washing and cleaning their RX every week. Paint seems much better and thicker on the RX where as on the new Accord models it is skin deep - after two years of driving on the highway, the front is littered with paint deeps and chips from tiny road dirt. One thing however that is not acceptable from Lexus is the requirement to pay to use the remote starter ($80-96/yr, even though it is already installed with push start) and the fact that once the vehicle is remotely started the vehicle shuts off as soon as you enter it - some safety nonsense. Accord also has a remote starter built in and it works at get go from the key fob; you can get into the car and press break+start to continue without the car ever shutting off - again this is the ideal implementation here and shame on Lexus for making us pay for a half baked nickel and dime solution. If you leave the remote inside Accord, the car won't let you lock and will beep at you, while the Lexus does none of that. Another thing to note is how loud the engine is on the RX from outside compared to the other new cars which are barely audible when new. There is also some loud knocking heard from the engine while parked as well as some whining when driving at 70 mph or higher and slightly holding the gas pedal - it generates noise similar to engine being revved up and let go (like it is running out of gas), all the while you are pressing the gas pedal consistently. Read some reviews and some suggested to wait a few thousand miles at which point the noises should disappear. Until then, these are my observations. To be continued.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great, comfy, premium SUV

Zoolander090, 10/14/2018
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
26 of 29 people found this review helpful

We bought this 2018 RX350 in June of 2018 so we've had it for almost 4 months and 3000 miles. My wife is the primary driver but I drive it about twice a week. The reason I give these details is because while shopping for a car for her, we agreed that I also had to like it. We test drove the 2019 RDX with SH-AWD and the 2018 Q5 with Quattro. We opted for the RX because it has a great interior design and quality of built in all areas. This is my second new Lexus and have owned new Acuras, BMW's and Audis. So far, Lexus has been our best ownership experience and together with the interior, we opted for the RX. Audi offers better exterior design but their reliability is poor in my experience and we want to keep this car past its initial warranty where Audi just falls apart. The RDX had the best drivetrain and handling but I couldn't get over the interior and center stack. Our RX comes with the premium sound, premium interior (I forgot the name of the packages) but it does have the wood accents and nicer leather as well as the Navigation package. It's a FWD. We live in sunny California and the AWD system of the RX is a snooze compared to Quattro and/or SH-AWD and only activates upon slipping so not much use for us that justified the premium pay.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

3rd Lexus, 2nd RX F-SPORT...

ACBENOVA, 06/03/2018
F SPORT 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
31 of 36 people found this review helpful

My 2015 RX350 F-SPORT was almost done. Lexus was offering to pay for last 3 months and disposition fee if I stayed loyal to the brand. Normally I would've just leased another Lexus but the spindle grill had me on the fence. I looked at 2018 Range Rover Velar and 2018 Audi Q7. The Velar was a stunner but questionable reliability and first year production scared me. I actually looked at the Audi Q5 first but liked the Q7 better. It was a toss up between the RX and Q7 but I would've had to buy the 4 cylinder Q7 just to be close to the RX's lease deal and that's not even counting the the 3 payments plus disposition fee Lexus was giving. In the end I couldn't pass up the Lexus. I leased an F-SPORT because I actually liked the aggressive design. The 2018 RX F-SPORT is better in every way to my previous RX F-SPORT except for seat comfort. I think the new seats are a tad bit too aggressively bolstered. I'm getting used to it however. I also highly recommend getting the Levinson stereo . It's simply divine. I'm happy with my decision. Lexus service is second to none and they make the best vehicles.

Report Abuse

WORST LEXUS EVER OWNED!!

KMRice, 03/14/2019
F SPORT 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
40 of 49 people found this review helpful

This is our 4th RX350. I have loved every one until this one. It drives HORRIBLE. The transmission is HORRIBLE. It's as though it can't make up its mind where it wants to go. When you are attempting to accelerate, the transmission has downshifted so low that you can't go at all. The anti collision has come on and attempted to break on the highway when a car was at least 2 or more car lengths in front of me (and turning off the highway) nearly causing an accident. When you attempt to accelerate to get on a highway, it will very often loose traction and spin or skid while accelerating. We have had the vehicle into the dealership multiple times and they had kept it for several days. They said they could see and feel all the things we complained about and that they had communicated with Lexus and that it was just how that model was and there was nothing wrong with it. Also they drove another vehicle on the lot just like ours and it drove just the same. This car is dangerous and I hate to say that if it causes me to be in an accident someday, Lexus will be paying out a nice chunk of change!!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Away from my sports car era

Tyler Toby, 05/22/2018
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

Pretty awesome car, or SUV, depending on your view. So please to move from Audi A5 which I loved to this new beast. Comfort level is extraordinary and a drives very easily. Very happy with this purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Well rounded vehicle

Denver Commuter, 07/10/2018
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
16 of 19 people found this review helpful

Extremely quiet and comfortable. Insulates driver from the drama of city driving. Love the aggressive styling. Mileage ratings not accurate. I'm getting 17 to 18 mpg in pure city driving, and 30 to 32 mpg pure highway. Carving canyons is the lowest priority for me, much prefer a luxurious ride and a car that can easily go 200k miles with a line of folks waiting to pay top dollar to buy it from you when you get there.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just don’t look at the front grill

David C, 08/21/2018
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
29 of 36 people found this review helpful

I’ve had this car for almost 6 months now and I am still not used to the front grill. Everything else is great. It really drives fine and the interior is gorgeous. However that ugly front grill, ugh. I actually looked for replacement front grill in the after market. I just avoid look at the front part of my car.

Report Abuse

Enjoy the ride daily, commute now bearable

Marius Figueredo, 08/25/2018
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
15 of 18 people found this review helpful

Powerful and smooth engine, best HP in class and it doesn’t end there. A very pleasing sound and slight feel, soft Roar of the engine as you accelerate, more than makes up for reduced acceleration. Super mileage can’t be beat, I easily get 25-26 mpg city driving on economy + a/c and navigation screen. Love the cockpit, front luxury seats with frills, good looking steering wheel lovely leather wrapped look and nice feel, even the shift sticks a beauty, with front dash slightly angled towards driver are luxurious for Dads daily commute as also luxurious headroom + legroom at the back compared to other competitors for the family outing on weekends. Rear screen entertainment is really not needed as everyone inside is relaxing even bask in comfort. The quiet cabin has to be seen to believe, the difference is awesome. A really wide cargo bay makes up for the least space available compared to others, as is easy to simply dump lots of grocery bags for the entire family on the way home on weekends. And the touchless liftgate is highly thoughtful for this reason. Nothing left to chance every feature including design inside and out are well thought out. Love the hands free bluetooth can hear calls so clearly and never take hands off the wheel, also no text messages on the go unless the vehicle is not in motion, must mention that the infotainment system is a big letdown as is slow and cumbersome, but I must add the screen just can't be beat . Music system that comes is another poor feature as sound is lousy. Even for the price am sure they can do a lot better as everyone is an audiophile. BSM, RCTA and Park assist are great utility features in use for daily driving as also the cruise control and brake hold at the lights are perfect for city driving. Loads of other features as well The exterior has beautiful lines to look at daily even after 6 mths. not just the floating roof. Even the cons are not hard to imagine why.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Many great features but. . .

Kathy, 12/31/2020
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This was my first Lexus and I was excited about purchasing the 2018 RX 350. It had been a leased vehicle at the dealership for a year. I love many things about the car -- it has a nice ride on the interstate, love the design and overall looks. My biggest disappointment is the erratic nature of the transmission as you try to accelerate, especially at lower speeds. I had my car serviced several times for other things (recalls, scheduled maintenance, etc.) and always had them look at why my acceleration was not smooth. Finally, after having them look at it for a third time, the service manager was honest with me and said they had changed the engine/transmission on the 2018 and later models. He explained that the engine was designed to constantly be looking for the best gear/speed/rpm, etc. to get the best gas mileage. I had been given a 2017 RX 350 courtesy car while mine was in the shop and I'll have to say that I felt it was a much smoother ride, smoother acceleration, quieter engine and it even felt heavier. I still enjoy my 2018 but I will certainly be much more careful if I purchase another Lexus. I wasn't prepared for it to be a somewhat disappointing experience after paying what I felt was a premium price.

Report Abuse

Lexus RX350 premium package

GFrank, 10/07/2018
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

The RX350 has a higher horsepower than most SUV's in this category. Better power and smoother on the freeways. Probably too much technology at least for me. It is now 6 months later....still love the car....I actually had the car stop on me in reverse to prevent an accident...car speeding behind me in a parking lot.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Totally regretting my purchase and stuck!!!

UpsetLexusowner, 10/25/2018
F SPORT 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
26 of 33 people found this review helpful

Lexus RX350 and its sporty version F-sport, both have a noise factor that is extremely annoying. I own a FSport which is even worse. I have been to the dealer 5 times in 3 months due to excess noise caused by the engine, exhaust and several other noise generating features they have. Nothing can be done by dealer, they say. Also most annoying is that dealer denies that no other customers have reported the issue like us, when every forum is talking about it since 2016. Big fat lie! BMW and Benz have sporty noise that is very natural with the engine performance. This is artificial in lexus and everyone who rides with you will pick up that its noisy and question you. I wish lexus kept their traditional performance and didn't copy other luxury vehicles to just be "cool". Plus mileage is below 18 easily. Please don't buy!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

RX350 #6 for me and the BEST one yet.

rmcarr12, 03/05/2018
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
16 of 20 people found this review helpful

Exceeded my expectations at every level. Awesome car, great price, straightforward deal. This vehicle is so much more than the prior versions. Most notably, more powerful engine and EIGHT gears for VERY smooth acceleration.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love This Car

Laurie F., 10/11/2018
F SPORT 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Ok - this is my first NEW car I've ever purchased AND I've only owned it for a whopping two weeks - so keep that in mind. I love the Lexus line and have owned several of the sedans (three ES and one IS). They have always been reliable, drive nicely, and have a classy presence. I bit the bullet on this car due to decent rebates and such for end of the year new cars. I LOVE the red interior of this car. LOVE the way the seats mold around the body in the front seats of the FSport. While the car is a mid-size SUV - it just feels more substantial to me. Drives beautifully - but I'm can't really speak to 'performance' when I don't really +go out and 'test' a $60K+ SUV out in the dirt and sand or race around on city streets. Turning radius, though, is awesome. Mileage thus far is marginal; 18-21 city, but did get 28 on a road trip. So far, I'm very happy with this car - after two whole weeks.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Problem with acceleration - otherwise great car

Ken, 10/04/2019
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my 2nd RX350. I super loved the first one that I had 3 years. This one is a constantly frustrating driving experience over the past 12 months that I've had it. The engine / acceleration surges and chokes the entire time, which is significantly worse when the engine is cold, and consistently annoying when trying to drive. I've had it in the dealership, plus Lexus Corporate had a field service technical evaluate it. I was told the same thing others have reported here online, that it was typical of the model and nothing wrong with it. It makes the other small issues seem worse. The anti collision has come on and threw me into the steering wheel (yes I had my seat belt on) because it mis-read the parked car next to me. Conversely, several times it didn't work when it was supposed to, which almost caused me to hit someone. I have a safety concern that the surge will cause an accident.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not as good as it should be

JLFAustin, 12/29/2019
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my second Lexus and it has disappointed. As another reviewer commented, the transmission really is annoying. It doesn't know where it wants to be. Another irritant is the creaking in the rear tailgate that is about to be fixed for the 3rd time. The inside trim is also buzzy. On the plus side, the seats are excellent and the Mark Levinson sound system is top notch. I'm sure reliability will be great. Too bad it has some really annoying problems.

Report Abuse

Away from my sports car era

Tyler Toby, 05/22/2018
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Pretty awesome car, or SUV, depending on your view. So please to move from Audi A5 which I loved to this new beast. Comfort level is extraordinary and a drives very easily. Very happy with this purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

going back to Cadillac

Salvador Ruiz, 10/02/2018
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
6 of 13 people found this review helpful

I had to have the windows tinted, something I have never done with any vehicle, no wi-fi and I miss OnStar a lot. the navigation is out of date and it stays out of date , every time I ask the dealer for an update , they are never ready. every time I go for service they always try to sell me a deal of goods, even though the vehicle was supposed to be new . Cadillac gives me a lot of perks, I don't get here, including free Valet, every time I need service

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Simply Unbeatable

Yosef Khorramian, 02/07/2019
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Quality, Comfort, Style. This sums up my experience with the RX350. I have no regrets whatsoever in purchasing this Lexus and would recommend to anyone no matter their situation.

Report Abuse

Love my RX 350 F-Sport

Melissa, 09/28/2019
F SPORT 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the first Lexus we have owned and I don't think I can ever go back. It drives and turns so smooth and I feel so comfortable in it, whether I'm driving or in the passenger seat. I like all the safety features and airbags throughout. The vented seats are such a great feature as it helps cool off in the Florida heat. There are so many features that I don't think I'll ever figure them all out, but that's a minor issue in such a great ride!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Questioning Lexus

tmac4718, 12/14/2019
F SPORT 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just want to start of saying I really do love this car but there are just a few things that in my opinion are an absolute disgrace for any vehicle of this price range but especially Toyota/LEXUS. 25,000 miles 350 Fsport. My #1 complaint and it is a huge one is the absolute god awful transmission!! What a complete joke. I spent allot of time driving this car before buying plus the hybrid. It’s impossible to find out how awful the transmission is until you drove it daily. The only way the tranny is tolerable is in sport or sport plus modes. Normal and eco mode is a flipping disaster under normal acceleration and daily driving. Like another review said it has no idea what it wants to do. How hard can it be to figure this out in the 21st century. The eight speed tranny sure doesn’t help the mpg any that’s for sure so take out 1-2 gears so it’s not totally confused. Hard acceleration is ok, normal is just a miserable experience for any vehicle. Enough said on this topic, no excuse Lexus it’s just awful! Second complaint is the rattles, what the F...? We have a section of freeway in our city that is pretty rough from studded tires and it brings every rattle to life in this car. Every door panel rattles and goes away with slight pressure. Bad rattle coming from the right rear passenger seat belt holder. This is my 6th Toyota product and the first Lexus. By far the most rattly car I’ve ever owned and all my other vehicles from Acura, Nissan, Toyota’s are nothing like this. Dealership says they know about the door rattles and have fixes for them when I take it in for the next service. They said Lexus’s manufactured in Canada versus japan are known for more rattles and mine is a North American VIN #, lovely. MPG sucks by the way. Not even close to what the sticker says. Thank goodness for regular gas at least. Average since I’ve owned the car says 20.5mpg. Winter average is worse. Cmon Lexus that is a joke for a 2018 car. I was fully expecting around 23 average but haven’t even come close to seeing that. The ventilated seat on the drivers side is noise as heck compared to the passenger side and will be having them look into it, again where is the quality control? Rotors.... 18,000 miles and road trip down a steep grade into Lewiston, Idaho and the vibration/shake that feel like warped rotors was very present. Are you kidding me? $55,000 brand new luxury car and it already has a brake/rotor issue? The lumbar support/adjustment is god awful as well. Impossible to use anything other than it being all the way down or else it feels like someone is pushing a 2x4 standing on edge into your back, unreal. Plus I’m not kidding you when I say the lumbar area/cushion is poppy, noisy, whatever, just not quality. Been a very interesting experience for sure. RUN away from a 350 and go for the hybrid for sure, hands down, without a doubt go for the hybrid, don’t even think twice no matter what the cost difference. It’s not about the mpg difference which is big but the overall daily driving experience has to be better than this. I love the car and would buy another in a heart beat BUT it has to be a hybrid and I would look for a Japanese built VIN #.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

great comfortable ride

Stephen, 10/13/2020
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have the Canadian executive model. I absolutely love this SUV, the ride is smooth, quiet, gas consumption is acceptable and run on regular gasoline. Fit and finish is impeccable and the service is equally impeccable. Its great to walk in and be handed the keys of a loaner so you do not have to wait around or have someone pick you up / taxi. I have the atomic silver, I loved it at the beginning however if I had to do it again I would get the Fseries black with red interior. The only problem is the seats for the F sport are narrow for NA folks. I don't find my seats in the regular version to be stellar. I wish Lexus would give something a bit more upscale at that price range. Some of my passenger find the seating hard on long journeys. Definitely recommend the RX. In Canada get at least the Luxury for the triple beams.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my Lexus

Gary, 06/11/2018
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
3 of 9 people found this review helpful

Love everything about it

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Outstanding 2018 RX350

Hilton, 08/30/2018
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 6 people found this review helpful

It pays to shop around and it’s a big benefit to have been a prior Lexus owner / lease. The added incentive for being an owner plus the golden opportunity discount made the lease of the 2018 RX350 a no brained. Got the color combo I wanted with the options I required.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good riding and handling. Soundss system was grea.

Fay, 02/14/2019
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Easy driving, riding and handling. Fuel efficiency.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Dashboard issues

Ruth, 08/04/2019
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I actually love the ride of this vehicle and have only one complaint after a year of luxury riding, and that is the matte finish vinyl. It scratches very easily and looks like I put an angry cat, with claws, on the dash. Even the dealer cannot help me with anything that can make the scratches look a little less noticeable. So, if anyone else has had this issue and has found a solution, I would appreciate any suggestions. Otherwise, except for the remote start, or lack thereof, I love the vehicle.

Report Abuse

LOVE this car!

DJB, 10/20/2019
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I cannot think of a thing that I don't like about this car. Its a bit pricier than many in its class, but worth it. My body shop man recommended that I consider Lexus after my dismal Mercedes experiences because he sees so many Lexus' with lots and lots of miles on them and still running well. .So glad I listened. The vehicle is heavier than most, feels more solid and is fabulous in snow and strong winds. Comfortable and quiet ride even in the back seat. Planning to keep it.... Well into year two with this car and still love it! Only routine maintenance needs every 5k miles. With my last Mercedes I was in the shop 5x in 6 months for the same issue.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it. 6th one

Sandy, 10/24/2019
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Go for it

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good to almost great vehicle

ljpzap, 11/03/2019
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Car rides well considering the 20inch tires on it (Bridgestone Ecopia). These tires are not good at all and have had lots of tires in my 50+ years of cars. With only 12,000 miles on them they slip with acceleration with just a drop of wetness on the road. Also, like others have written the transmission shift points are all over the place and make it feel like it doesn't know what gear to be in. However once at Cruise on the highway car is quiet and rides well. Finishes inside the cabin are good as Lexus has always been good at that. Also the 2018 model did not have Apple Car Play which I knew buying the car (but come on 2018 and no Car Play? OK they have it now on the 2020 model...but still) . Anyway these are the main reasons for the 4 stars. Otherwise the car is quite good

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car

Barbara, 11/27/2019
F SPORT 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The quality of these vehicles is superb. When I was in an accident with my previous Lexus I wasn't hurt at all. The safety features were wonderful. I returned to Lexus and purchased another.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050